DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, in which a new prior art rejection has been made using newly found reference Manke et al., (“Manke”, US 2012/0012719).
On page 5 of the Remarks section as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant discusses the claim status, as well as support for the added amendments to the claims.
On pages 5-8, Applicant argues that the previous prior art does not disclose independent Claim 1 as presently amended. Specifically, Applicant argues that previous anticipatory reference Lundkvist, (US 2012/0043450) does not disclose the first and second gripping surfaces are adapted to hold both a first and a second chromatography column. The Examiner notes that while Lundkvist does not disclose the newly added limitations to independent Claim 1 as indicated, newly found anticipatory reference Manke discloses independent Claim 1 as detailed in the prior art rejection section below. Thus, these remarks by Applicant applied toward Lundkvist as a whole are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 11 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manke et al., (“Manke”, US 2012/0012719).
Regarding Claims 1-4, 6, 9, & 11, Manke discloses a clamp, (See Abstract, See paragraph [0009]), wherein the clamp comprises:
- a first gripping surface comprising a first recess for accommodating a support, (Upper Support Plate 30 and recess accommodating Mounting Shaft 26, See Figure 1, 2, See paragraph [0027]);
- a second gripping surface comprising a second recess for accommodating the support, (Lower Support Plate 31 and recess accommodating Mounting Shaft 26, See Figure 1, 2, See paragraph [0027]);
- the first gripping surface and second gripping surface being connected at one end to a hinge, movable between a first position and a second position, (Locking Lever 50 connected to Upper/Lower Support Plates 30/31 via Vertical Stabilizing Pins 56, See Figures 3, 5, See paragraph [0033], [0034]);
- the hinge defining, in the first position, a first angle between the first gripping surface and the second gripping surface, (Lever 50 moves up/down in at least two positions shown, See Figure 5, 6A/B, 7, 8, See paragraph [0033]-[0036]), wherein the recesses provide a clamping force against the support, and defining in the second position, a second angle between the first gripping surface and the second gripping surface, (Lever 50 moves up/down in at least two positions shown, See Figure 5, 6A/B, 7, 8, See paragraph [0033]-[0036]), where the clamp is slidable along the support within the recesses, wherein the first and second recesses align such that the support fits within both the first and second recesses and the clamp is slidable along the support within the first and second recesses, (Aperture 84 formed by recesses in each of Upper/Lower Support Plates 30/31 through which Shaft 26 is placed, and Carriage 15 (including Plates 30/31) positioning varies up/down (slides) as desired, See Figure 1-3, 5, See paragraph [0031], [0033], [0034], [0036]),
wherein the first gripping surface further comprises at least one first protrusion extending from the first gripping surface, (Upper Support Plate 30 with series of Indentations 38, See Figures 1, 3, 5, See Figure 1, 3, 5, See paragraph [0027]), wherein the at least one first protrusion is adapted to receive a first chromatography column, (At least one Indentation 38 for Upper Support Plate 30 can receive a Cylindrical Apparatus 27, See paragraph [0027] & [0009])
wherein the second gripping surface further comprises at least one protrusion extending from the second gripping surface, (Lower Support Plate 31 with series of Indentations 38, See Figures 1, 3, 5, See Figure 1, 3, 5, See paragraph [0027]), wherein the at least one second protrusion is adapted to receive a second chromatography column, (A differently aligned Indentation 38 for Lower Support Plate 31 can receive another Cylindrical Apparatus 27, See paragraph [0027] & [0009]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the second angle is smaller than the first angle (Lever 50 moves up/down in at least two positions shown, See Figure 5, 6A/B, 7, 8, See paragraph [0033]-[0036]; angle formed in one position is smaller than the other).
Claim 3: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the hinge is biased to the first position, (Lever 50 moves up/down in at least two positions shown, See Figure 5, 6A/B, 7, 8, See paragraph [0032], [0034]; spring force urges/biases locking lever into a certain position against which operator must pull upwards against spring force to change position).
Claim 4: A clamp according to claim 1, the hinge is biased to the first position by a spring, (Spring 52 for Lever 50, See Figure 5, See paragraph [0034]).
Claim 6: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the hinge is moved to the second position by compression of the first gripping surface and second gripping surface towards each other, (Lever 50 moves up/down in at least two positions shown, See Figure 5, 6A/B, 7, 8, See paragraph [0032], [0034]; spring force urges/biases locking lever into a certain position by compressing springs 52 in turn securing Plates 30/31 towards each other).
Claim 9: A clamp according to claim 7, wherein the at least one protrusion extends in substantially the same plane as the first gripping surface, (Indentations 38 level with Aperture formed for Shaft 26 for each of Support Plates 30/31, See Figures 1, 3, 5, See paragraph [0027]).
Claim 11: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the support is substantially perpendicular to the first and second gripping surfaces, (Support Plates 30/31 with apertures each are horizontally formed versus Shaft 26 which is vertically formed, See Figure 1, 3, 5, See paragraph [0027]).
Regarding Claim 12, Manke discloses a method of attaching the clamp of claim 1 to the support comprising: moving the hinge from the first position to the second position, and positioning the clamp such that the support is positioned inside the first and second recesses, (Release lock/Pull Lever 50 from first biased position to realign with Shaft 26, Figure 5, See paragraph [0034]); and returning the hinge to the first position, (Lever 50 urged into locking engagement with Shaft 26 back to first biased position, See Figure 5, See paragraph [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manke et al., (“Manke”, US 2012/0012719), in view of Lundkvist, (US 2012/0043450).
Regarding Claim 5, Manke discloses a clamp according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the hinge is biased to the first position by a solid state hinge.
Lundkvist discloses wherein the hinge is biased to the first position by a solid state hinge, (Resilient Arm 1a/Grip Arm 15a are joined to Resilient Arm 1b/Grip Arm 15b via Bend 19, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0016] & [0013]; the arms are joined via this bend, a unitary “solid” hinge that can be squeezed or compressed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the clamp of Manke by incorporating wherein the hinge is biased to the first position by a solid state hinge as in Lundkvist for an “attachment arrangement that can be attached easily and kept firmly in place”, (See paragraph [0004], Lundkvist), in a manner that is “fatigue resistant”, (See paragraph [0019], Lundkvist).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779