DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the third sentence lacks a subject-verb grammatical structure, and is a long run-on sentence. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 2 of the Specification, please delete the phrase “is support” from the phrase “is support is slidable” in paragraph [0012].
On page 2 of the Specification, please replace the word “maybe” with the phrase “may be” in paragraph [0013].
On page 7 of the Specification, please replace the word “place” with the word “placed” in the second to last paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the recesses” on line 8 & 11 should be rewritten as “the first and second recesses” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the gripping surfaces” on line 2 should be rewritten as “the first and second gripping surfaces” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the recesses” on line 4 should be rewritten as “the first and second recesses” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 9, 12 and any of their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the bias”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the bias”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the surface”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a clamp” on line 1. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as the “clamp” that is later imported from Claim 1, or if it is different.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a support” on line 1. It is not clear if this limitation is the same as the “support” that is later imported from Claim 1, or if it is different.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 & 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lundkvist, (US 2012/0043450).
Regarding Claims 1-3 & 5-12, Lundkvist discloses a clamp, (See Abstract), wherein the clamp comprises:
- a first gripping surface comprising a first recess for accommodating a support, (Resilient Arm 1a which has Locking Part 7a which includes recesses, and Column Grip Arm 15a, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0016] & [0013]);
- a second gripping surface comprising a second recess for accommodating the support, (Resilient Arm 1b which has Locking Part 7b which includes recesses, and Column Grip Arm 15b, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0016] & [0013]);
- the first gripping surface and second gripping surface being connected at one end to a hinge, movable between a first position and a second position, (Resilient Arm 1a/Grip Arm 15a are joined to Resilient Arm 1b/Grip Arm 15b via Bend 19, See Figure 3 and See Figures 2a-d, See paragraph [0016] & [0015]);
- the hinge defining, in the first position, a first angle between the first gripping surface and the second gripping surface, (Resilient Arm 1a/Grip Arm 15a are joined to Resilient Arm 1b/Grip Arm 15b via Bend 19, See Figure 3 and See Figures 2a-d, See paragraph [0016] & [0015], in Figure 2d the open default position has a wider angle), wherein the recesses provide a clamping force against the support, and defining in the second position, a second angle between the first gripping surface and the second gripping surface, (Resilient Arm 1a/Grip Arm 15a are joined to Resilient Arm 1b/Grip Arm 15b via Bend 19, See Figure 3 and See Figures 2a-d, See paragraph [0016] & [0015], in Figures 2b & c, the arms are pushed together in a closed/secured position, smaller angle), where the clamp is slidable along the support within the recesses, (Resilient Arms 1a/1b each have Locking Parts 7a/7b which each have recesses/notches in which they are pushed together, put into the T-groove 11 of the support and turned/slid to secure the overall column holder to this support/groove 11).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the second angle is smaller than the first angle (Resilient Arm 1a and Resilient Arm 1b with their Locking Parts 7a/7b are squeezed together forming a second, smaller angle as particularly shown in Figure 2c versus the wider, open angle in Figure 2d, and See Figure 3 and See Figures 2a-d, See paragraph [0016] & [0015],).
Claim 3: A clamp according to claim 1 or 2, wherein the hinge is biased to the first position, (Resilient Arm 1a and Resilient Arm 1b with their Locking Parts 7a/7b are set in the wider, open angle in Figure 2d, and See Figure 3 and See Figures 2a-d, See paragraph [0016] & [0015],).
Claim 5: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the bias is provided by a solid state hinge, (Resilient Arm 1a/Grip Arm 15a are joined to Resilient Arm 1b/Grip Arm 15b via Bend 19, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0016] & [0013]; the arms are joined via this bend, a unitary “solid” hinge that can be squeezed or compressed).
Claim 6: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the hinge is moved to the second position by compression of the first gripping surface and second gripping surface towards each other, (Resilient Arm 1a and Resilient Arm 1b with their Locking Parts 7a/7b are squeezed together as particularly shown in Figure 2c, See Figure 3, See Figure 2a-d, See paragraph [0016] & [0015]; the arms are joined via this bend, a unitary “solid” hinge that can be squeezed or compressed).
Claim 7: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the first gripping surface further comprises at least one protrusion extending from the first gripping surface, (Resilient Arm 1a with Locking Part 7a have protrusions extending in the form of Column Grip Arm 15a, See Figure 3, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0016] & [0018]).
Claim 8: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the second gripping surface further comprises at least one protrusion extending from the second gripping surface, (Resilient Arm 1b with Locking Part 7b have protrusion extending in the form of Column Grip Arm 15b, See Figure 3, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0016] & [0018]).
Claim 9: A clamp according to claim 7, wherein the at least one protrusion extends in substantially the same plane as the surface, (Resilient Arm 1a extends roughly parallel to Column Grip Arm 15a, See Figure 3, 4, See paragraph [0016] & [0018]).
Claim 10: A clamp to claim 7, wherein the at least one protrusion is adapted to receive a chromatography column, (Column Grip Arms 15a/b grip/hold Column 33, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0018]).
Claim 11: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the support is substantially perpendicular to the gripping surfaces, (Locking Parts 7a/7b and Resilient Arms 1a/b extend outwards from Groove 11a which is perpendicular, See Figure 2a-d, Figure 3, See paragraphs [0016], [0018]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lundkvist discloses a method of attaching a clamp to a support comprising: (e) Providing a clamp as defined in claim 1, (See rejection of Claim 1 above); (f) Moving the hinge from the first position to the second position, (See Figure 2b, See paragraph [0016], [0015]), (g) Positioning the clamp such that the support is positioned inside the recesses, (See Figures 2b/2c, See paragraph [0016], [0015]); and (h) Returning the hinge to the first position, (See Figure 2d, See paragraph [0016], [0015]).
Claim(s) 1-3 & 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Prentice et al., (“Prentice”, US 2006/0008390).
Regarding Claims 1-3 & 7-12, Prentice discloses a clamp, (See Abstract, SEe Figure 8), wherein the clamp comprises:
- a first gripping surface comprising a first recess for accommodating a support, (Grasper 24 with Orifice/Recess 30 for interacting with column fitting, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]);
- a second gripping surface comprising a second recess for accommodating the support, (Latch 50 with Channel/Recess 52 for interacting with column fitting, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]);
- the first gripping surface and second gripping surface being connected at one end to a hinge, movable between a first position and a second position, (Grasper 24 and Latch 50 joined by nut/hinge that slides/turns, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]);
- the hinge defining, in the first position, a first angle between the first gripping surface and the second gripping surface, (See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; open position, wider angle), wherein the recesses provide a clamping force against the support, and defining in the second position, a second angle between the first gripping surface and the second gripping surface, (See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; closed/secured position, smaller angle), where the clamp is slidable along the support within the recesses, (Grasper 24 and Latch 50 joined by nut/hinge that slides/turns, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; clamp is capable of sliding along column fitting).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the second angle is smaller than the first angle (See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; open position, wider angle vs. closed/secured position, smaller angle).
Claim 3: A clamp according to claim 1 or 2, wherein the hinge is biased to the first position, (See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; open positio).
Claim 7: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the first gripping surface further comprises at least one protrusion extending from the first gripping surface, (Orifice 30 is defined by protrusions on either side on Grasper 24, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]).
Claim 8: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the second gripping surface further comprises at least one protrusion extending from the second gripping surface, (Channel 52 is defined by protrusions on either side on Latch 50, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]).
Claim 9: A clamp according to claim 7, wherein the at least one protrusion extends in substantially the same plane as the surface, (Protrusions extend in same perpendicular plane as rest of Grasper 24/Interface 14, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]).
Claim 10: A clamp to claim 7, wherein the at least one protrusion is adapted to receive a chromatography column, (Column fitting which includes column is received into Orifice 30, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; See Figures 9-11 for further demonstration).
Claim 11: A clamp according to claim 1, wherein the support is substantially perpendicular to the gripping surfaces, (Column fitting is received into Orifice 30 will be perpendicular, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; See Figures 9-11 for further demonstration).
Regarding Claim 12, Prentice discloses a method of attaching a clamp to a support comprising: (e) Providing a clamp as defined in claim 1, (See rejection of Claim 1 above); (f) Moving the hinge from the first position to the second position, (Column fitting which includes column is received into Orifice 30, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; See Figures 9-11 for further demonstration), (g) Positioning the clamp such that the support is positioned inside the recesses, (Column fitting which includes column is received into Orifice 30, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; See Figures 9-11 for further demonstration); and (h) Returning the hinge to the first position, (Column fitting which includes column is received into Orifice 30, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0047]; See Figures 9-11 for further demonstration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundkvist, (US 2012/0043450), in view of Loraing et al., (“Loraing”, US 2022/0236235).
Regarding Claim 4, Lundkvist discloses a clamp according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the bias is provided by a spring.
Loraing discloses a clamp wherein the bias is provided by a spring, (See paragraphs [0075] & [0102], Loraing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the clamp of Lundkvist by incorporating wherein the bias is provided by a spring as in Loraing for operating with “an additional biasing force” that will be “advantageously…biased…for further strengthening created connections”, (See paragraph [0102], Loraing).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779