DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A1, polyethylene (Species B), 1,2-Dimethoxyethane (DME) (Species D), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide) (LiTFSI) (Species E), and polyethylene (Species F) in the reply filed on July 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-7 and 10-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-II and Species A2-A3, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US PGPub 2003/0180623 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yun discloses a composite solid electrolyte (CSE) ([0037]), comprising:
at least one polymer ([0040]-[0042]);
at least one lithium salt ([0043], [0046]);
a substrate ([0038]).
Yun further discloses wherein the CSE may further comprise a solvent plasticizer, at least one inorganic additive particle, and one or more liquid or solid additive (e.g. initiator for UV curing, curing accelerator) ([0048]-[0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a solvent plasticizer, at least one inorganic additive particle, and one or more liquid or solid additive in the CSE, as disclosed by Yun, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the CSE desired by Yun.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yun discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the substrate may be chosen to be a continuous porous webbing of polyethylene ([0038], [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a continuous porous webbing of polyethylene as the substrate, as disclosed by modified Yun, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the CSE desired by Yun.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yun discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the CSE is configured to prevent short-circuit of a battery by serving the function of an ionically-conductive but electronically-insulative barrier between a cathode and an anode of a battery cell ([0038], [0011], [0055], wherein the UV-cured electrolyte layer is ionically conductive and the substrate is electrically-insulative).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Yun discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSE mitigates dendrite growth on an anode of a battery cell and prevents dendrites from short-circuiting the battery cell by maintaining an operating rigidity which is impenetrable to dendrites.
The Examiner notes wherein the claimed CSE mitigates dendrite growth on the anode of the cell and prevents dendrites from short-circuiting the cell by maintaining an operating rigidity of which is impenetrable to dendrites ([0039], [0157]).
Thus, because modified Yun discloses a CSE comprising at least one polymer ([0040]-[0042]); at least one lithium salt ([0043]), [0046]); a solvent plasticizer ([0048]); at least one inorganic additive particle ([0048]) a substrate ([0038]); and one or more liquid or solid additive (e.g. initiator for UV curing, curing accelerator) ([0048]), such necessarily and inherently mitigates dendrite growth on an anode of a battery cell and prevents dendrites from short-circuiting the battery cell by maintaining an operating rigidity of which is impenetrable to dendrites, as evidenced by [0039], [0157] of the instant specification.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US PGPub 2003/0180623 A1), as evidenced by Takamiya et al. (US Patent No. 6,150,455).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Yun discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSE mitigates dendrite growth on an anode of a battery cell and prevents dendrites from short-circuiting the battery cell by maintaining an operating rigidity which is impenetrable to dendrites.
Takamiya teaches that when a polymer solid electrolyte is used in a battery cell, the polymer solid electrolyte prevents the formation of dendrites or gives no such formation at all, thereby preventing serious problems such as short circuit and rupture of the battery cell (C1, L66-C2, L11).
Thus, because modified Yun discloses wherein the CSE is a polymer solid electrolyte ([0037]-[0043]), such necessarily and inherently mitigates dendrite growth on an anode of a battery cell and prevents dendrites from short-circuiting the battery cell by maintaining an operating rigidity which is impenetrable to dendrites, as evidenced by Takamiya (C1, L66-C2, L11).
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725