OBJECTIONS
2. The specification is objected to because of the following informality: the continuation information must be updated to indicate the issue of the parent ‘000 application as US 11,834,708.
3. Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
NON-PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) Claim 7 is indefinite because ‘the plateau’ lacks proper antecedent basis. Correction is required.
B) Claim 9 is indefinite because ‘the Mg++ concentration’ lacks proper antecedent basis. Correction is required.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 4 recites ‘no more than 0.73 seconds’. Claim 14 recites ‘no more than 56 seconds’. No support has been found for this language in the specification, so these claims comprise new matter. Regarding claim 4, page 30 of the specification refers to an example of 0.73 second cycles, but there is no support for a cycle of ‘no more than’ 0.73 seconds, which includes less than 0.73 seconds. Regarding claim 14, page 28 of the specification recites an example in which ‘fifty cycles were complete in 56 seconds’, which does not support any number of amplification cycles being performed in ‘no more than’ 56 seconds, which includes less than 56 seconds. If this rejection is traversed, it is requested that support be pointed to in the specification with particularity, as in page, line, or paragraph numbers.
7. Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 9,932,634 in view of Wittwer et al. (US 2002/0058258).
Claim 5 differs from patented claims 1 and 2 in that it requires an additional step of generating an amplification curve.
Wittwer discloses the benefit of generating an amplification curve. See paragraphs 0312-0320.
One of ordinary skill in the art considering the patented claims would have been motivated to add an additional step of generating an amplification curve because Wittwer disclosed the benefit of generating an amplification curve in analyzing amplification data. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art considering the patented claims to carry out the pending claim.
8. Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,932,634 in view of Wittwer et al. (US 2002/0058258).
Claim 6 differs from patented claims 17 and 18 in that it requires an additional step of generating an amplification curve.
Wittwer discloses the benefit of generating an amplification curve. See paragraphs 0312-0320.
One of ordinary skill in the art considering the patented claims would have been motivated to add an additional step of generating an amplification curve because Wittwer disclosed the benefit of generating an amplification curve in analyzing amplification data. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art considering the patented claims to carry out the pending claim.
PRIOR ART REJECTIONS
Claims 1-4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either of Termaat et al. (US 2011/0039305) or Maltezos et al. (US 8,003,370) in view of Wittwer et al. (US 2002/0058258).
Regarding independent claim 1, both Termaat and Maltezos disclose a method comprising adding a thermostable polymerase and primers to a sample, and amplifying a target nucleic acid, wherein each cycle of amplification is completed in less than 10 seconds. In Termaat, see paragraphs 0043, 0060, and 0062-0066. In Maltezos, see column 41, lines 20-55.
Neither Termaat nor Maltezos disclose generating an amplification curve.
Wittwer discloses the benefit of generating an amplification curve. See paragraphs 0312-0320.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of either of Termaat or Maltezos by adding an additional step of generating an amplification curve because Wittwer disclosed the benefit of generating an amplification curve in analyzing amplification data. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the claimed method.
Regarding dependent claims 2-4 and 7-14, exact cycle time, amplification plateau details, primer concentration, magnesium concentration, type of target nucleic acid including genomic, polymerase type and concentration, total primer concentration, and total time of completion of all amplification cycles would have merely involved routine optimization of known-important reaction parameters, which as well settled in U.S. patent practice does not support unobviousness (M.P.E.P. 2144.05).
ALLOWABLE SUBJECT MATTER
11. For the reasons determined during prosecution of the parent ‘369 application, claims 5 and 6 are free of the prior art, but they are rejected for another reason.
CONCLUSION
12. No claims are allowable.
02/05/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681