DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification objections are withdrawn. Thanks for filing the updated specification.
Drawing objections are withdrawn. Thanks for filing updated drawings.
35 U.S.C. 112(a) enablement rejection(s) withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) withdrawn. See new rejection below.
See new prior art rejections as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 11 recites “detecting that a RF device within a predetermined distance from a vehicle…”. A verb/object is missing. Suggested change may be the following:
“detecting an RF device within a predetermined distance from a vehicle,” or
“detecting that an RF device is within a predetermined distance…”
As to claim 1 and claim 11, in it unclear what “that the that the” means at line 9 and 14 respectively of the claim.
Claims 1 and 11 further recites “RF” where the acronym “RF” should be spelled out in the claim. The acronym issue is further noted in the dependent claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1 and claim 11, “… wherein determining … comprises estimating a noise level of signals transmitted by the RF device at an ultra-wideband receiver of the vehicle and determining that the estimated noise level exceeds a predetermined localization key performance indicator threshold” Is not clearly defined with respect to “localization key performance indicator threshold”. It is unclear what this term is and means with respect to applicant’s specification at paragraph [0021] of applicant’s printed publication which is the only mention of “key performance indicator” in the context of “localization” but falls short on any express mention of “threshold”. Applicant should amend the claim to be consistent with what is disclosed in the paragraph.
As to claims 3 and 5, “of at least the plurality of wireless chipsets” lacks proper antecedent basis. This should be “of at least the plurality of wireless communication chipsets”.
System claims 11-20 mirror the method claims for same issues identified above.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 are also rejected as they do not cure the deficiency of the independent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-17 a is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210227365 A1 (Vassilovski, herein “D1”) in view of US 20240373234 A1 (Choi et al., herein “D2”) in further view of US 20230071554 A1 (ZHANG et al. herein “D3”).
In the independent claims
As to claim 1, D1 discloses 1. A method for cross-technology radiofrequency interference mitigation,
comprising: (D1 Abstract: "Techniques described herein leverage existing localization sensors or V2X
devices to detect one or more other vehicles that include wireless systems that can interfere with invehicle
wireless networks.") detecting that a RF device within a predetermined distance from a vehicle,
(D1 [0027]: "wireless transmitters can be susceptible to radio frequency (RF) interference from other RF
transmissions that can originate from other vehicles." D1 [0032]: "These on-board sensors in a first
vehicle 302-1 can be used to detect a distance and an aspect of one or more vehicles in a vicinity of the
first vehicle 302-1." D1 [0007]: "An example method of detecting and mitigating radio frequency (RF)
interference at a first vehicle, according to this description, comprises detecting one or more vehicles
within a threshold distance of the first vehicle, responsive to the detecting, determining a location and a
motion state of the one or more vehicles, and determining potential RF interference of at least a portion
of a wireless network of the first vehicle by the one or more vehicles based at least in part on the
determined location and the determined motion state of the one or more vehicles." Examiner Note:
D1 discloses a first vehicle detecting RF devices (either included in the other vehicle or themselves being
other vehicle) and discloses that vehicles may have relative locations/distances.) wherein the vehicle
includes a plurality of wireless communication chipsets, (D1 [0040]: "In some embodiments, a V2X
device and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) deployed with a V2X chipset to provide motion
information and driving intention to assist strategy settings of the edge network devices. As such,
embodiments of a V2X vehicle 402 may comprise a vehicle with such a V2X device located therein or
thereon. Smartphones with V2X chipsets can access motion and sensor data of an associated vehicle
through wired or wireless connection") each of the plurality of wireless communication chipsets is configured to wirelessly transmit and receive data; (D1 [0040]: "In some embodiments, a V2X device
and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) deployed with a V2X chipset to provide motion
information and driving intention to assist strategy settings of the edge network devices. As such,
embodiments of a V2X vehicle 402 may comprise a vehicle with such a V2X device located therein or
thereon. Smartphones with V2X chipsets can access motion and sensor data of an associated vehicle
through wired or wireless connection") determining that signals transmitted by the RF device are
causing radiofrequency interference to signals transmitted by the plurality of wireless communication
chipsets of the vehicle; (D1 [0027]: "These wireless transmitters can be susceptible to radio frequency
(RF) interference from other RF transmissions that can originate from other vehicles." D1 [0007]: "An
example method of detecting and mitigating radio frequency (RF) interference at a first vehicle,
according to this description, comprises [ ... ] determining potential RF interference of at least a portion of
a wireless network of the first vehicle by the one or more vehicles") and in response to determining
that the that the signals transmitted by the RF device is causing radiofrequency interference to signals
transmitted by the plurality of wireless communication chipsets of the vehicle, commanding at least
one of the plurality of wireless communication chipsets or the RF device to perform a control action to
minimize the radiofrequency interference. (D1 [0007]: "An example method of detecting and mitigating
radio frequency (RF) interference at a first vehicle, according to this description, comprises detecting
one or more vehicles within a threshold distance of the first vehicle, responsive to the detecting,
determining a location and a motion state of the one or more vehicles, and determining potential RF
interference of at least a portion of a wireless network of the first vehicle by the one or more vehicles
based at least in part on the determined location and the determined motion state of the one or more
vehicles. The method further comprises implementing an interference mitigation technique based at
least in part on the determined location and the determined motion state of the one or more vehicles."
D1 [0040]: "In some embodiments, a V2X device and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) deployed with a V2X chipset to provide motion information and driving intention to assist strategy
settings of the edge network devices. As such, embodiments of a V2X vehicle 402 may comprise a
vehicle with such a V2X device located therein or thereon. Smartphones with V2X chipsets can access
motion and sensor data of an associated vehicle through wired or wireless connection". D1 [0026]:
"This a-priori knowledge of a potential interference, such as detection of an oncoming vehicle, enables
pro-active mitigation steps.").
The cited aspects of D1 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D2, in the same field of
endeavor (e.g., D2 Abstract: "A system and method are provided for automatically applying
configuration recommendations to a wireless network.") discloses: determining that signals transmitted
by the RF device are causing radiofrequency interference (D2 [0002]: "Many modern networked
communication networks and devices detect the radio interference and begin processes to decrease the
effects of the interference". Examiner Note: It is acknowledged that Dl's disclosure of preemptively
detecting and addressing potential RF interference renders obvious detection of a-prior RF interference
and actual RF interference, however, D2 addresses this feature more explicitly by acknowledging the
prevalence of detection of actual RF interference after said interference is in existence.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps." D1 discloses 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the control action includes changing a channel of operation of the RF device. (D1 [0061]: "Changing a frequency or channel of a wireless transmitter can help reduce interference where a frequency or channel of the potential RF interference is known or can be predicted (e.g., is detected by one or more components of the first vehicle and/or determined based on vehicle type, model, and/or other factors).")
The cited aspects of D1 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D2, in the same field of
endeavor (e.g., D2 Abstract: "A system and method are provided for automatically applying
configuration recommendations to a wireless network.") discloses: changing a channel of operation of
the RF device (D2 [0004]: "Many modern networked communication networks and devices detect the
radio interference and begin processes to decrease the effects of the interference, such
as changing the channel or radio frequencies used by the connected networked device.")
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
D1 and D2 cover general radiofrequency interference determination but do not expressly cover wherein determining that signals transmitted by the RF device are causing radiofrequency interference to signals transmitted by the plurality of wireless communication chipsets of the vehicle comprises estimating a noise level of signals transmitted by the RF device at an ultra-wideband receiver of the vehicle and determining that the estimated noise level exceeds a predetermined localization key performance indicator threshold.
D3 covers the above limitation in the context of a receiver that supports both UWB and WiFi, see e.g., Fig. 7 [0071]. As such, see e.g., Fig. 12 of D3 with respect to steps 1226+1216+1220 or 1222+1224+1226.
The UWB performs transmission with respect to e.g., step 1216 or 1222. Here a noise level is estimated for UWB (step 1218 or 1224) and a determination that the estimated noise level exceeds a predetermined localization key performance indicator threshold is further taught (1220 + 1226), see e.g., [0091-92] of D3 and where KPI can be quality. In particular, it is well understood that quality broadly includes noise level, covered as measurement information in D3, e.g., signal strength. Examiner note: applicant’s own specification notes that KPI is just quality of service metrics [0023]. While the cited portions do not expressly mention exceeding a threshold (although a determination is made on whether it is allowed to broadly meet the KPI as disclosed by applicant), the concept of exceeding a threshold is further covered at e.g., paragraph [0104] of D4. Examiner Note – Applicant’s own paragraph [0021] does not go into any further detail for the threshold being exceeded.
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 with D3 based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D3’s, para. [0071] that shows that WiFi and UWB co-exist. Here the rational for making the proposed technical combination would be to improve the output target range estimate as taught by D3.
As to claim 11, D1 discloses 11. A system for cross-technology radiofrequency interference mitigation,
comprising: (D1 Abstract: "Techniques described herein leverage existing localization sensors or V2X
devices to detect one or more other vehicles that include wireless systems that can interfere with in vehicle wireless networks.") a vehicle (D1 [0040]: "V2X vehicle 402") including a controller (D1 [0040]:
"a V2X device and be an electronic device ( e.g., a smartphone)") and a plurality of wireless
communication chipsets in communication with the controller; (D1 [0040]: "In some embodiments,~
V2X device and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) deployed with a V2X chipset to provide
motion information and driving intention to assist strategy settings of the edge network devices. As
such, embodiments of a V2X vehicle 402 may comprise a vehicle with such a V2X device located therein
or thereon. Smartphones with V2X chipsets can access motion and sensor data of an associated vehicle
through wired or wireless connection") wherein the controller is programmed to: detect that a RF
device within a predetermined distance from the vehicle, (D1 [0054]: "At block 702,
the method 700 includes detecting one or more vehicles within a threshold distance of the first vehicle."
D1 [0027]: "wireless transmitters can be susceptible to radio frequency (RF) interference from other RF
transmissions that can originate from other vehicles." D1 [0021]: "V2X is a communication standard forvehicles and related entities to exchange information regarding a traffic environment. V2X can include vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communication between V2X-capable vehicles, vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I) communication between the vehicle and infrastructure-based devices (commonly-termed road-side units (RSUs)), vehicle-to-person (V2P) communication between vehicles and nearby people (pedestrians, cyclists, and other road users), and the like." D1 [0024]: "As noted, V2X (under SG NR) supports distanced-based communication control." Examiner Note: The use of V2X, which is a distance based RF communication protocol, anticipates a "controller" that detects a RF device a given distance away from a vehicle.) wherein the vehicle includes a plurality of wireless communication chipsets, each of the plurality of wireless communication chipsets is configured to wirelessly transmit and receive data; (D1 [0021]: "V2X is a communication standard for vehicles and related entities to exchange information". D1 [0003]: "These techniques can draw on information provided by in-vehicle sensors and/or reception of Vehicle-to-everything (V2X) messages. The in-vehicle wireless networks can employ one or more mitigation strategies if the potential for interference exists." D1 [0027]: "These wireless transmitters can be susceptible to radio frequency (RF) interference from other RF transmissions that can originate from other vehicles. Depending on transmitter location, the wireless transmitters can be affected by external sensors. For example, sensors in the rear of the vehicle (e.g., sensors 102-1 and 102-2) can be affected by external sources (e.g., other vehicles) behind the vehicle. The distribution of wireless transmitters (102-1 to 102-7) shown in FIG. 1 is provided as an example." Examiner Note: The use of V2X communication technology, which is used to wirelessly transmit and receive data, anticipates the use of one or more chipsets to implement the technology.) determine that signals transmitted by the RF device is causing radiofrequency interference to signals transmitted by the plurality of wireless
chipsets of the vehicle; (D1 [0027]: "These wireless transmitters can be susceptible to radio frequency
(RF) interference from other RF transmissions that can originate from other vehicles." D1 [0007]: "An
example method of detecting and mitigating radio frequency (RF) interference at a first vehicle, according to this description, comprises [ ... ] determining potential RF interference of at least a portion of a wireless network of the first vehicle by the one or more vehicles") and in response to determining
that the that the signals transmitted by the RF device is causing radiofrequency interference to signals
transmitted by the plurality of wireless chipsets of the vehicle, command at least one of the plurality
of wireless communication chipsets or the RF device to perform a control action to minimize the
radiofrequency interference. (D1 [0007]: "An example method of detecting and mitigating radio
frequency (RF) interference at a first vehicle, according to this description, comprises detecting one or
more vehicles within a threshold distance of the first vehicle, responsive to the detecting, determining a
location and a motion state of the one or more vehicles, and determining potential RF interference of at
least a portion of a wireless network of the first vehicle by the one or more vehicles based at least in
part on the determined location and the determined motion state of the one or more vehicles. The
method further comprises implementing an interference mitigation technique based at least in part on
the determined location and the determined motion state of the one or more vehicles." D1 [0040]: "In
some embodiments, a V2X device and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) deployed with a V2X
chipset to provide motion information and driving intention to assist strategy settings of the edge
network devices. As such, embodiments of a V2X vehicle 402 may comprise a vehicle with such a V2X
device located therein or thereon. Smartphones with V2X chipsets can access motion and sensor data of
an associated vehicle through wired or wireless connection". D1 [0026]: "This a-priori knowledge of a
potential interference, such as detection of an oncoming vehicle, enables pro-active mitigation steps."). The cited aspects of D1 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D2, in the same field of
endeavor (e.g., D2 Abstract: "A system and method are provided for automatically applying
configuration recommendations to a wireless network.") discloses: determining that signals transmitted
by the RF device are causing radiofrequency interference (D2 [0002]: "Many modern networked
communication networks and devices detect the radio interference and begin processes to decrease theeffects of the interference". Examiner Note: It is acknowledged that Dl's disclosure of preemptively
detecting and addressing potential RF interference anticipates detection of RF interference after it has
occurred, however, D2 addresses this feature more explicitly by acknowledging the prevalence of
detection of actual (non-potential) RF interference after said interference is in existence.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
D1 and D2 cover general radiofrequency interference determination but do not expressly cover wherein determining that signals transmitted by the RF device are causing radiofrequency interference to signals transmitted by the plurality of wireless communication chipsets of the vehicle comprises estimating a noise level of signals transmitted by the RF device at an ultra-wideband receiver of the vehicle and determining that the estimated noise level exceeds a predetermined localization key performance indicator threshold.
D3 covers the above limitation in the context of a receiver that supports both UWB and WiFi, see e.g., Fig. 7 [0071]. As such, see e.g., Fig. 12 of D3 with respect to steps 1226+1216+1220 or 1222+1224+1226.
The UWB performs transmission with respect to e.g., step 1216 or 1222. Here a noise level is estimated for UWB (step 1218 or 1224) and a determination that the estimated noise level exceeds a predetermined localization key performance indicator threshold is further taught (1220 + 1226), see e.g., [0091-92] of D3 and where KPI can be quality. In particular, it is well understood that quality broadly includes noise level, covered as measurement information in D3, e.g., signal strength. Examiner note: applicant’s own specification notes that KPI is just quality of service metrics [0023]. While the cited portions do not expressly mention exceeding a threshold (although a determination is made on whether it is allowed to broadly meet the KPI as disclosed by applicant), the concept of exceeding a threshold is further covered at e.g., paragraph [0104] of D4. Examiner Note – Applicant’s own paragraph [0021] does not go into any further detail for the threshold being exceeded.
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 with D3 based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D3’s, para. [0071] that shows that WiFi and UWB co-exist. Here the rational for making the proposed technical combination would be to improve the output target range estimate as taught by D3.
In the dependent claims
As to claim 2, D1 discloses 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the control action includes changing a channel of operation of the RF device. (D1 [0061]: "Changing a frequency or channel of a wireless transmitter can help reduce interference where a frequency or channel of the potential RF interference is known or can be predicted (e.g., is detected by one or more components of the first vehicle and/or determined based on vehicle type, model, and/or other factors).")
The cited aspects of D1 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D2, in the same field of
endeavor (e.g., D2 Abstract: "A system and method are provided for automatically applying
configuration recommendations to a wireless network.") discloses: changing a channel of operation of
the RF device (D2 [0004]): "Many modern networked communication networks and devices detect the
radio interference and begin processes to decrease the effects of the interference, such
as changing the channel or radio frequencies used by the connected networked device.")
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
As to claim 3, D1 discloses 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the control action includes chaining a channel of operation of at least one of the plurality of wireless chipsets. (D1 [0061]: "Changing a frequency or channel of a wireless transmitter can help reduce interference where a frequency or channel of the potential RF interference is known or can be predicted (e.g., is detected by one or more components of the first vehicle and/or determined based on vehicle type, model, and/or other factors).") It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
As to claim 4, D1 discloses 4. The method of claim 1, wherein the control action includes increasing an
electrical power transmitted to the RF device. (D1 [0061]: "Increasing or decreasing a power of a
wireless transmitter can, for example, adjust Signal-To-Noise Ratio (SNR) levels within the wireless
network to suitable ranges to help ensure reliable wireless communication despite the potential
interference.")
The cited aspects of D1 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D2, in the same field of
endeavor (e.g., D2 Abstract: "A system and method are provided for automatically applying
configuration recommendations to a wireless network.") discloses: increasing an electrical power
transmitted to the RF device (D2 [0004]: "Many modern networked communication networks and
devices detect the radio interference and begin processes to decrease the effects of the interference,
such as changing the channel or radio frequencies used by the connected networked device." D2
[0003]: "RRM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps. The RRM analyzes the existing RF environment, and adjusts each APs'
power and channel configurations to help mitigate such things as co-channel interference and signal
coverage problems.")
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
As to claim 5, D1 discloses 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the control action includes increasing an
electrical power transmitted to the at least one of the plurality of wireless chipsets. (D1 [0061]:
"Increasing or decreasing a power of a wireless transmitter can, for example, adjust Signal-To-Noise
Ratio (SNR) levels within the wireless network to suitable ranges to help ensure reliable wireless
communication despite the potential interference." D1 [0068]: "a chipset (such as a Bluetooth® device,
an IEEE 802.11 device, an IEEE 802.15.4 device, a Wi-Fi device, a WiMAX device, a WAN device and/or
various cellular devices, etc." D1 [0040]: "a V2X device and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone)
deployed with a V2X chipset to provide motion information and driving intention to assist strategy
settings of the edge network devices.")
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
As to claim 6, D1 discloses 6. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a channel mapping distribution among the plurality of wireless communication chipsets of the vehicle and the RF
device. (D1 [0061]: "Changing a frequency or channel of a wireless transmitter can help reduce
interference where a frequency or channel of the potential RF interference is known or can be
predicted". D1 [0044]: "Interference mitigation techniques can include, for example, increasing or
decreasing a power of a wireless transmitter of the wireless network, changing a frequency or a channel
of a wireless transmitter of the wireless network" Examiner Note: The act of changing a channel of a
wireless transmitter (e.g., both the wireless communication chipsets and the RF device are wireless
transmitters, e.g., they transmit wirelessly) necessarily includes determining a channel mapping
distribution, e.g., determining a channel "among" the device that there is to change, and then changing
said channel.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
As to claim 7, D1 discloses 7. The method of claim 6, further comprising updating a plurality of channels of operation of the plurality of wireless communication chipsets of the vehicle and the RF device according to the channel mapping distribution. (D1 [0061]: "Changing a frequency or channel of a wireless transmitter can help reduce interference where a frequency or channel of the potential RF
interference is known or can be predicted". D1 [0044]: "Interference mitigation techniques can include,
for example, increasing or decreasing a power of a wireless transmitter of the wireless network,
changing a frequency or a channel of a wireless transmitter of the wireless network". Examiner Note:
The act of changing a channel of a wireless transmitter (e.g., both the wireless communication chipsets
and the RF device are wireless transmitters, e.g., they transmit wirelessly) necessarily includes
determining a channel mapping distribution, e.g., determining a channel "among" the device that there
is to change, and then changing said channel "according" to the use/distribution of the channel by a
device. Dl's act of changing a channel is equated to the claimed act of updating said channel, and this
may be repeated for one or more channels of operation.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 2 where the method performs the system.
As to claim 13, see similar rejection to claim 3 where the method performs the system.
As to claim 14, see similar rejection to claim 4 where the method performs the system.
As to claim 15, see similar rejection to claim 5 where the method performs the system.
As to claim 16, see similar rejection to claim 6 where the method performs the system.
As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 7 where the method performs the system.
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious by US 20210227365
Al (Vassilovski, herein "D1") in view of US 20240373234 Al (Choi et al., herein "D2") and US 20230071554 A1 (ZHANG et al. herein “D3”), in further view of CN 115001526 A (Ji, herein "D4").
As to claim 8, D1 discloses 8. The system of claim 17, wherein the controller is programmed to determine a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR} of at least one of wireless communication chipsets of the plurality of wireless communication chipsets of the vehicle (D1 [0040]: "In some embodiments, a V2X device and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) deployed with a V2X chipset. D1 [0061]: "adjust Signal-To-Noise Ratio (SNR) levels".
Examiner Note: Adjustment of a SNR level necessarily includes determination of the SNR level to be
adjusted.) to determine whether the signals transmitted by the RF device are causing radiofrequency
interference to the signals transmitted by the plurality of wireless chipsets of the vehicle. (D1 [0040]: "Insome embodiments, a V2X device and be an electronic device (e.g., a smartphone) deployed with a V2X chipset.)
The cited aspects of D1 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D2, in the same field of
endeavor (e.g., D2 Abstract: "A system and method are provided for automatically applying
configuration recommendations to a wireless network.") discloses: signals transmitted by the RF device
are causing the radiofrequency interference to signals (D2 [0004]: "Many modern networked
communication networks and devices detect the radio interference and begin processes to decrease the
effects of the interference, such as changing the channel or radio frequencies used by the connected
networked device.")
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
The cited aspects of D1 and D2 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D4, in the same
field of endeavor (e.g., D4 Abstract: "The embodiment application the invention relates to the technical
field of terminal, specifically claims a radio frequency system, a control method for radio frequency
system and an electronic device.") discloses: wherein the controller is programmed to determine a
signal-to-noise ratio (SNR} of at least one of the plurality of wireless communication chipsets (D4, Translation p. 12/54, 2nd Full para: "the control chip can compare the first signal-to-noise ratio with the
preset first signal-to-noise ratio threshold value") of the vehicle to determine whether the signals
transmitted by the RF device are causing radiofrequency interference to the signals transmitted by the
plurality of wireless chipsets of the vehicle. (D4, Translation p. 12/54, 2nd Full para: "the control chip
can compare the first signal-to-noise ratio with the preset first signal-to-noise ratio threshold value".
Examiner Note: See 112 rejections above. It is unclear how the preceding step is done "to determine"
the current step.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1, D2, D3 and D4 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D4, Translation p. 49/54, 2nd
Full para disclosure, e.g., "the application claims a control method [ ... ] to improve the performance of
the radio frequency system."
As to claim 9, D1 discloses 9. The method of claim 8, further comprising; comparing the SNR of the at least one of wireless communication chipset of the plurality of wireless communication chipsets of the vehicle with a predetermined SNR threshold to
and determining that the SNR of the at least one wireless communication chipset is below the predetermined SNR threshold. (D1 [0061]: "Increasing or decreasing a power of a wireless
transmitter can, for example, adjust Signal-To-Noise Ratio (SNR) levels within the wireless network to
suitable ranges to help ensure reliable wireless communication despite the potential interference."
Examiner Note: Adjusting SNR to suitable ranges renders obvious a comparison of SNR to a "threshold"
and determining whether the SNR meets, exceeds, or falls short of said suitable threshold/range, as an
adjustment cannot be made without the related determination/comparison.)
The cited aspects of D1 and D2 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D4, in the same
field of endeavor (e.g., D4 Abstract: "The embodiment application the invention relates to the technical
field of terminal, specifically claims a radio frequency system, a control method for radio frequency
system and an electronic device.") discloses: comparing the SNR of the at least one of the plurality of
wireless communication chipset with a predetermined SNR threshold (D4, Translation p. 12/54, 2nd Full
para: "the control chip can compare the first signal-to-noise ratio with the preset first signal-tonoise
ratio threshold value") to determine whether the SNR of the RF device is less than the
predetermined SNR threshold; (D4, Translation p. 12/54, 2nd Full para: "the control chip
can compare the first signal-to-noise ratio with the preset first signal-to-noise ratio threshold value".
Examiner Note: See 112 rejections above. It is unclear how the preceding feature is used "to
determine" the present feature. However, D4 explicitly discloses a threshold value which could be used
"to determine" whether the RF device has SNR less than the threshold value.) and determining that the
SNR of the at least one wireless communication chip set is below the predetermined SNR threshold. (D4, Translation p. 7 /54, 1'1 Full para: "the method comprising:
determining a first signal-to-noise ratio and a first signal strength of a default antenna in the at least two
antennas; if the first signal-to-noise ratio is less than the first signal-to-noise ratio threshold value,
and/or the first signal intensity is less than the first signal intensity threshold value.")
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1, D2, D3, and D4 based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D4, Translation p. 49/54, 2nd Full para disclosure, e.g., "the application claims a control method [ ... ] to improve the performance of the radio frequency system."
As to claim 10, D1 discloses 10. The method of claim 9, wherein the control action is performed solely in response to determining that the SNR of the RF device is less than the predetermined SNR
threshold. (D1 [0061]: "Increasing or decreasing a power of a wireless transmitter can, for example,
adjust Signal-To-Noise Ratio (SNR) levels within the wireless network to suitable ranges to help ensure
reliable wireless communication despite the potential interference." D1 [0007]: "An example method of
detecting and mitigating radio frequency (RF) interference [ ... ] further comprises implementing an
interference mitigation technique" Examiner Note: Detecting/adjusting SNR based on suitable
ranges/thresholds responsive to detecting a location of an RF interfering device anticipates adjusting
SNR to reduce interference based on detection of SNR that is outside a range/threshold.)
The cited aspects of D1 do not appear to explicitly disclose, however, D2, in the same field of
endeavor (e.g., D2 Abstract: "A system and method are provided for automatically applying
configuration recommendations to a wireless network.") discloses: control action is performed solely in
response to determining that the SNR of the RF device is less than the predetermined SNR threshold.
(D2 [0004]: "devices detect the radio interference and begin processes to decrease the effects of
the interference, such as changing the channel or radio frequencies used by the connected networked
device." D2 [0104]: "The transmit power control 210 method balances the competing objectives of
increasing SNR for the current AP while avoiding co-channel interference with neighboring APs. Since
one of the major sources of interference in the network is the signals from other/neighboring APs, the
transmit power control 210 method is important for optimal performance. That is, DCA and TPC work
hand in hand to manage the RF environment. Transmit power largely determines our cell boundaries.
The goal is to maximize the RF coverage in the environment without causing co-channel interference".
D2 [0099]: "As used herein, the term "signal" refers to RF emanating from APs belonging to the same RF
group or our APs. The term "interference" refers to signals (e.g., Wi-Fi signals) that interfere with a
desired signal, such as signals do not belong to other networks (rogues). [ ... ] The term "Noise floor"refers to the ambient RF Noise level (e.g., an absolute value expressed in dBm) below which received signals are unintelligible. The term "SNR" refers to a ratio of signal strength to noise floor, which is a relative value and as such is measured in decibels (dB)." Examiner Note: D2's disclosure of detecting radio interference and acting to decrease the effects of the radio interference (e.g., decrease the radio interference to a threshold) anticipates a control action (e.g., mitigation of RF interference) being performed in response to determining that SNR is outside of a threshold.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 based on each reference being in the
same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., D2's, para. [0003] disclosure,
e.g., "RM attempts to improve the network performance by adjusting the channel plan to facilitate the
maximum separation of one access point (AP) from another, and by adjusting the power levels
transmitted by the APs to optimize the size of their effective cells to provide adequate coverage while
minimizing conflicting overlaps."
As to claim 18, see similar rejection to claim 8 where the method performs the system.
As to claim 19, see similar rejection to claim 9 where the method performs the system.
As to claim 20, see similar rejection to claim 10 where the method performs the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411