DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending in this application and have been examined in response to application filed on10/25/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because a “system” is being recited; however, it appears that the apparatus would reasonable be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as software per se. The claim discloses a system comprising a stateless position coordinator for receiving, computing and sending back requests from a device. Applicant’s specification provides no explicit definition of the “stateless position coordinator” being a hardware device, and it appears that such would reasonable be interpreted the “stateless position coordinator” as software which causes the functions to occur.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 of US Pat. No. 12382140 (‘140). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
‘140
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 15
Claim 15
Claim 16
Claim 16
Claim 17
Claim 17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13 and 20 recite the limitation "media content times". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The examiner is interpretating the limitation as “media content items” for examination purpose.
Claims 7, 14 and 21 recite the limitation "until it ends". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims, because the limitation “it” is not referenced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 8-9, 13-14, 15-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Shenoy et al. (US 2024/0346063 A1).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 1, Shenoy discloses a method for performing stateless playback, comprising the steps of: receiving a request from a media playback device, the request requesting a playback position associated with a collaborative media consumption session (fig.9, [0052]; a device requests a playback position from a collaborative playlist environment);
upon receiving the request, computing a playback position for the collaborative media consumption session (fig.9, [0053]; the playback position is computed); and
sending the playback position to the media playback device (fig.9, [0054]; the computed playback position is sent back to the requesting device).
As to claim 2, Shenoy discloses wherein the playback position corresponds to a point in a sequence of one or more media content items where playback is currently paused or ongoing ([0057]; the playback position can be paused).
As to claim 6, Shenoy discloses detecting a change in a list of media content items associated with the collaborative media playback consumption session, thereby detecting a modified list of media content items; and computing an updated playback position based on the updated list of media content times (fig.9, fig.12A, [0057]; a modify in the playlist is detected and update made to the playback position is computed and sent to collaborating devices).
As to claim 7, Shenoy discloses playing the media content item currently playing until it ends, when the media content item currently playing has been removed from the list of media content items or moved within the list of media content items (fig.18, [0077]; the removed content is continually played by a gap-filling logic).
INDEPENDENT claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 7 above.
INDEPENDENT claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim 21 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 7 above
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5,10-12 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HAOSHIAN SHIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179