DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is in response to the papers filed 10/25/2023 for Application No. 18/494,130. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) received on 10/25/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)1) as being anticipated by Macfarlance et. al. (US 2015/0149043 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Macfarlance discloses a method of controlling a vehicle comprising:
determining a temperature (step 602; pars. [0040], [0055] and [0067], i.e., an engine temperature or ECT) of a power distribution center (fig. 1, i.e., includes engine system 100 and other components for distributing power as needed, hereinafter referred to as “PDC”); and
controlling an opening of an active air dam (i.e., active grille shuttle system 110) in response to the temperature of the power distribution center (pars. [0040], [0055] and [0067]).
Regarding claim 2, Macfarlance discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising
comparing the temperature of the power distribution center to a temperature threshold (see step 604) and opening the active air dam (i.e., active grille shuttle system 110) based when the temperature is above the threshold (pars [0056] and [0068]; steps 604 – 610).
Regarding claim 3, Macfarlance discloses the method of claim 2 further comprising, when the temperature is below the threshold, closing the active air dam (par [0084], i.e., when ECT is below the threshold temperature T1, the grille shutters 110 are fully closed).
Regarding claim 4, Macfarlance discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the temperature of the power distribution center comprises
determining the temperature of a power distribution center connector (par [0026], i.e., the coolant engine temperature is being distributed/regulated and determined via heater core 90, thermostat valve 38 and cooling line 82 connectors connected to the engine 10).
Regarding claim 9, Macfarlance discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the temperature of the power distribution center (PDC) comprises determining the temperature based on a power distribution center surface temperature (paragraphs [0033] - [0035], i.e., under hood air temperature or exhaust radiation temperature of the engine charge air temperature).
Regarding claim 10, Macfarlance discloses the method of claim 9 wherein determining the temperature based on the power distribution center surface temperature comprises determining the temperature based on an underhood air temperature (paragraphs [0033] - [0035], i.e., under hood air temperature or exhaust radiation temperature of the engine charge air temperature).
Regarding claim 13, Macfarlance discloses a control system for controlling an active air dam (i.e., active grille shuttle system 110), the control system comprising:
a power distribution center (fig. 1, i.e., includes engine system 100 and other components for distributing power as needed, hereinafter referred to as “PDC); and
a controller (28) operable to:
determine a temperature of the power distribution center (step 602; pars. [0040], [0055] and [0067], i.e., an engine temperature or ECT); and
control an opening of the active air dam (i.e., active grille shuttle system 110) in response to the temperature of the power distribution center (pars. [0040], [0055] and [0067]).
Regarding claim 14, Macfarlance discloses the control system of claim 13 wherein the controller is operable to:
compare the temperature of the power distribution center (PDC) to a temperature threshold and open the active air dam (i.e., active grille shuttle system 110) based when the temperature is above the temperature threshold (par [0068]; steps 604 – 610) and
close the active air dam (i.e., active grille shuttle system 110) when the temperature is below the temperature threshold (par [0084], i.e., when ECT is below the threshold temperature T1, the grille shutters 110 are fully closed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macfarlance.
Regarding claim 5, Macfarlance discloses the method of claim 1, further determining the temperature of the power distribution center includes determining the pressure and the amount of waste heat generated via emission control device 70, an UEGO exhaust sensor 126 and EGR valve 52 such that controlling the amount of exhaust gas at the compressor inlet for desirable combustion and emissions-control performance (pars. [0023] - [0025] and [0033]) and reduces the temperature of the air that goes into the intake manifold/engine (par [0034]). However, Macfarlance does not specifically teach determine the temperature based on exhaust radiation. It is well recognized to a skilled person in the art to provide or determine the exhaust radiation temperature from the engine manifold components based on various exhaust valves, sensors and emission control device in order to provide an accurate air/fuel ratio determination and the amount of waste heat generated (par [0033]).
It would have been obvious to try, before the effective filing date of the invention for the method of controlling the vehicle to have the temperature of exhaust radiation determined, doing so would provide the temperature of the air that goes into the intake manifold, excellent homogenization of the exhaust gas into the intake air charge, effective cooling of the exhaust gas for increased available EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) mass and improved performance, since there are finite number of possibilities or identified of the exhaust radiation temperature, whether the controller configured to determine the temperature of exhaust radiation based on the emission control device, EGR valves, UEGO sensor and the reduced amount of waste heat generated or it doesn't, predictable potential solutions to various exhaust radiation parameters/conditions of operating the vehicle engine for providing the temperature to obtain the exact same results, whether the controller should act on or not and one of an ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential limited number of solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, as modified, Macfarlance discloses the method of claim 5 further comprising determining exhaust radiation based on an exhaust surface temperature (paragraphs [0033] - [0035], i.e., under hood air temperature or exhaust radiation temperature of the engine charge air temperature).
Regarding claim 15, Macfarlance discloses the control system of claim 13, further determining the temperature of the power distribution center includes determining the pressure and the amount of waste heat generated via emission control device 70, an UEGO exhaust sensor 126 and EGR valve 52 such that controlling the amount of exhaust gas at the compressor inlet for desirable combustion and emissions-control performance (pars. [0023] - [0025] and [0033]) and reduces the temperature of the air that goes into the intake manifold/engine (par [0034]). However, Macfarlance does not specifically teach determine the temperature based on exhaust radiation. It is well recognized to a skilled person in the art to provide or determine the exhaust radiation temperature from the engine manifold components based on various exhaust valves, sensors and emission control device in order to provide an accurate air/fuel ratio determination and the amount of waste heat generated (par [0033]).
It would have been obvious to try, before the effective filing date of the invention for the method of controlling the vehicle to have the temperature of exhaust radiation determined, doing so would provide the temperature of the air that goes into the intake manifold, excellent homogenization of the exhaust gas into the intake air charge, effective cooling of the exhaust gas for increased available EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) mass and improved performance, since there are finite number of possibilities or identified of the exhaust radiation temperature, whether the controller configured to determine the temperature of exhaust radiation based on the emission control device, EGR valves, UEGO sensor and the reduced amount of waste heat generated or it doesn't, predictable potential solutions to various exhaust radiation parameters/conditions of operating the vehicle engine for providing the temperature to obtain the exact same results, whether the controller should act on or not and one of an ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential limited number of solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, the modified method of claim 15, as indicated above, teaches wherein the controller is operable to determine the temperature of the power distribution center by determining the temperature based on exhaust radiation and further teaches the controller is operable to determine the temperature of the power distribution center by determining the temperature a power distribution center surface temperature (paragraphs [0033] - [0035], i.e., under hood air temperature or exhaust radiation temperature of the engine charge air temperature).
Regarding claim 18, as modified, Macfarlance discloses the control system of claim 16 wherein the controller is operable to determine the power distribution center surface temperature based on an underhood air temperature (paragraphs [0033] - [0035], i.e., under hood air temperature or exhaust radiation temperature of the engine charge air temperature).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 11-12, 17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the method of claim 6 and in combination with the remaining features recited.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the method of claim 6 and in combination with the remaining features recited.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the method of claim 9 and in combination with the remaining features recited.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the method of claim 16 and in combination with the remaining features recited.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the method of claim 16 and in combination with the remaining features recited.
Claims 12 and 20 are allowable as being dependent upon the respective allowable base claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshioka (US 9,701,191 B2) discloses a grille shutter device includes controlling the opening of the grille shutters 7 for cooling the engine 3, see Figures 1-16; and
Itoh (US 9,776,616 B2) discloses vehicle and control method for the vehicle includes controlling the opening of grille shutter 60 for cooling the engine 100 and determining the SOC of the temperature of battery 150 based on temperature sensor 152, see Figures 1-8.
/TINH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655