Detailed Action
In amendments dated 5/4/26, Applicant amended claims 1, 8, and 15, canceled clams 3, 10, and 16, and added no new claims. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-16, and 17-20 are presented for examination.
Objections
Claims 17-19 are objected because of the following informality: each of these claims depends on claim 16 which was canceled per the instant amendments.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental processes without significantly more. Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 each recites detecting, by the records management and processing system, outlier data in a predetermined field of one or more records of the plurality of records in the database, wherein detecting the outlier data in the predetermined field of the one or more records further comprises filtering the plurality of records in the database based on adjustments made to predetermined field, calculating a value for the predetermined field based on data in the predetermined field of each record of the filtered plurality of records in the database, and identifying the one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field based on the calculated value for the predetermined field, and removing at least one record from the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined filed based on the received results of the review process; mapping, by the records management and processing system, each of the one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field to a batch of one or more batches of records; assigning, by the records management and processing system, each of the one or more batches of records to a category of one or more categories of records, wherein each category of the plurality of categories is associated with a predefined workflow of a plurality of predefined workflows, and wherein each workflow defines a process for handling of the plurality of records; and
processing, by the records management and processing system, each of the one or more batches of records, wherein processing each of the one or more batches of records comprises executing the predefined workflow associated with the assigned category for the batch of records. Detecting outlier data, filtering a plurality of records, identifying one or more records having outlier data, and removing at least one record having outlier data each involve evaluating and are menta processes. Calculating a value, mapping records to a batch of records, assigning batches of records to a category, and processing each of the batches of records are each recited broadly and are mental processes accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Each of these claims recites an additional elements of maintaining, by a records management and processing system, a plurality of records in a database, each record of the plurality of records comprising a record of a service provided to a consumer by a service provider of a plurality of service providers and identifying a value for the service provided to the consumer and at least one required action by at least one responsible entity of a plurality of responsible entities and wherein the records management and processing system comprises an intermediary between systems of the plurality of service providers and systems of the plurality of responsible entities, and maintaining data is insignificant extra-solution activity; and receiving results of a review process performed on the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field, which is an input step and insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 8 recites a processor and memory and claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a set of instructions, which are each generic components of a computer system. Examiner notes specification paragraph 0039 describes how delays in handling records can be caused by data anomalies in records, and that said delays can be caused by a problem or potential problem with the handling of records or the performance of required actions by the responsible entity systems 320A-320C (in figure 3). Specification paragraphs 0040-55 discussing figures 3 and 4 describe actions the invention takes to address these problems of delays. Examiner found support for the recited steps in detecting outliers in records on specification paragraphs 00542-0054 but did not find support showing these recited steps to be improvements in any technology or a function of a computer per MPEP 2106.04(d), and these steps do not recite any unconventional steps in the invention per MPEP 2106.05(a). Therefore, the recited mental processes are not integrated into a practical application. Taking the claims as a whole, maintaining records in a database is storing records which is routine and conventional activity per the list of such activities in MPEP 2016.05(d) part II and receiving results of a review process is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraphs 0010 and 0027 and figure 1 network 110, which is routine and conventional activity per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II. The claimed invention recites a highly general process of storing and analyzing data using generic components of a computer system, and the amended steps for detecting outlier data are also generally recited and do not describe an improvement in a technology or to the function of a computer. Thus these claims are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited mental processes.
Dependent claims 4, 11, and 17 each recites wherein filtering the plurality of records in the database is based on one or more adjustments made to records in the plurality of records in the database (filtering is evaluating which is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper). Dependent claims 5, 12, and 18 each recites wherein filtering the plurality of records in the database is based on a value of a modifier stored in a field of records in the plurality of records in the database (filtering is evaluating which is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper). Dependent claims 6, 13, and 19 each recites wherein calculating the value for the predetermined field comprises calculating a most frequently occurring value stored in the predetermined field of the filtered records (calculating is evaluating which is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper). Dependent claims 7, 14, and 20 each recites wherein identifying the one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field based on the calculated value for the predetermined field comprises identifying records of the filtered records having a value stored in the predetermined field that is less than the most frequently occurring value (identifying is evaluating which is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper).
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serena in view of Leung et al (US 12,456,085), hereafter Leung, in further view of Ponomarenko et al (US 1,597,182), hereafter Ponomarenko.
With respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, Serena teaches:
maintaining, by a records management and processing system, a plurality of records in a database, each record of the plurality of records comprising a record of a service provided to a consumer by a service provider of a plurality of service providers and identifying a value for the service provided to the consumer and at least one required action by at least one responsible entity of a plurality of responsible entities and wherein the records management and processing system comprises an intermediary between systems of the plurality of service providers and systems of the plurality of responsible entities (column 12 lines 1-40 figure 1, plurality of records 112 from database 128 comprising service records with provider information, description and charges (value for the service), payment terms as an action for the responsible entity, also column 11 lines 48-67 figure 1, records 112 from database 128, column 11 lines 4-33 database 128 on a network, column 10 lines 18-21 network connected to a provider 116 and provider device 124);
detecting, by the records management and processing system, outlier data in a predetermined field of one or more records of the plurality of records in the database (column 17 lines 5-7 and columns 23-24 lines 29-11 figure 1, detection of data outlier in data field of a record);
mapping, by the records management and processing system, each of the one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field to a batch of one or more batches of records (column 25 lines 33-50 figure 1, mapping the outlier records to a data discrepancy group);
assigning, by the records management and processing system, each of the one or more batches of records to a category of one or more categories of records, wherein each category of the plurality of categories is associated with a predefined workflow of a plurality of predefined workflows, and wherein each workflow defines a process for handling of the plurality of records (columns 26-27 lines 24-44 assign data with outliers to discrepancy groups, examples of processes for remediation/correction, columns 25-26 lines 51-55 more detail on data assigned to discrepancy groups, workflows as order of actions in discrepancy processes 148); and
processing, by the records management and processing system, each of the one or more batches of records based on, wherein processing each of the one or more batches of records comprises executing the predefined workflow associated with the assigned category for the batch of records (column 27 lines 22-44 figure 1, processing records in discrepancy group for remediation/correction to determine solutions using discrepancy processes 148 executed per columns 26-26 above).
Serena does not teach wherein detecting the outlier data in the predetermined field of the one or more records further comprises filtering the plurality of records in the database based on adjustments made to predetermined field, calculating a value for the predetermined field based on data in the predetermined field of each record of the filtered plurality of records in the database, identifying the one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field based on the calculated value for the predetermined field, receiving results of a review process performed on the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field, and removing at least one record from the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined filed based on the received results of the review process.
Examiner notes the specification Abstract describes an outlier as “any data that falls above, below, and/or outside of a range from a value that is expected or which is normal for that data,” and Leung describes anomaly data similarly (column 1 lines 6-8) as “records in a sequence of records that deviate in some capacity from an expected range or trend of values.” Leung teaches detecting outlier data in a predetermined field of one or more records (column 4 lines 9-23 reviewing records to detect anomalies in a field) and teaches these things:
wherein detecting the outlier data in the predetermined field of the one or more records further comprises filtering the plurality of records in the database based on adjustments made to predetermined field (columns 5-6 lines 56-5 remove record, adjustment to the field value (removing is adjusting here)), calculating a value for the predetermined field based on data in the predetermined field of each record of the filtered plurality of records in the database (column 6 lines 6-24 calculate risk score for record of records removed), and identifying the one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field based on the calculated value for the predetermined field (column 6 lines 6-24 identify records with anomaly based on risk score, column 6 lines 25-32 provide identified records to permutation generator 218 so identifying the anomalous records).
It would have been obvious to have combined the techniques for record handling in Serena with the techniques for detecting and removing anomalous records in Leung to provide an efficient method of said detecting and handling outlier records.
The combination of Serena and Leung does not teach wherein detecting the outlier data in the predetermined field of the one or more records further comprises receiving results of a review process performed on the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field, and removing at least one record from the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined filed based on the received results of the review process. Ponomarenko teaches these things:
comprises receiving results of a review process performed on the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined field (column 6 lines 43-58 outlier data is collected and further analyzed, results of analysis received), and
removing at least one record from the identified one or more records having outlier data in the predetermined filed based on the received results of the review process (column 6 lines 43-58 after results of analysis of outlier data received, said outlier data is removed).
It would have been obvious to have combined the functions of receiving results of a review on outlier records and removing said outlier records in Ponomarenko with the techniques for detecting outlier data in Serena and Leung to make the combination process non-outlier data more efficiently.
With respect to claim 8, Serena teaches a system comprising a processor and memory (column 8 lines 63-65 figure 1, apparatus for invention includes processor 104 connected to memory 108).
With respect to claim 15, Serena teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a set of instructions thereon (column 51 lines 6-12 invention may be on a machine-readable medium storing instructions).
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks
Regarding rejections to claims 1, 3-8, and 10-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 for reciting mental processes without significantly more, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. On page 8 of his Remarks Applicant acknowledges amendments made but makes no arguments regarding the claims being eligible. Examiner notes the amendments added subject matter to independent claims 1, 8,and 15 that was previously recited in dependent claims 3, 10, and 17 and had been rejected as reciting mental processes. Examiner still believes the claims recite mental processes as shown in the rejection above. Examiner found support for the amendments and the other steps recited in detecting outlier data in specification paragraphs 0052-0054 and nots said support does not describe these steps as an improvement. Because each of these steps are either recited broadly and are mental processes or are routine and conventional input steps, Examiner does not believe they recite an improvement in the identified problem of delays in handling records or by the performance of required actions by a responsible entity system per specification paragraph 0039. Thus Examiner does not believe the claims recite a practical application per MPEP 2106.04(d) or an inventive entity per MPEP 2106.05(a). Regarding rejections to claims 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Serena in view of Leung, Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10 of his Remarks that Serena and Leung do not teach the amendments is persuasive. Examiner conducted another search of the prior art and fond Ponomarenko, which Examiner believes teaches the amended claims along with Serena and Leung in the rejections set forth above.
Examiner notes the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 to claims 1, 8, and 15 above include teachings of the amended subject matter which were not previously rejected under this statute or 35 U.S.C. 102, therefore Examiner makes the instant office action non-final.
Inquiry
/BRUCE M MOSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154 7/17/26