3DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et al. (US-10669081-B2) in view of Pickles (US-20060201947-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sullivan discloses:
1. A container assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a bottom panel (122) that defines a bottom-most surface; a rotational axis around which the bottom panel is centered (Fig. 2); a wall (108) extending upwardly from the bottom panel, the wall extending around the rotational axis, the wall and bottom panel collectively partially defining a storage compartment (112), the wall defining an upper opening (118) opposite the bottom panel; a lid (403) centered on the rotational axis, the lid comprising a lower portion (462) and an upper portion (470) above the lower portion (Fig. 18A), the lid comprising a drinking aperture (452) providing fluid communication between the storage compartment and an exterior of the wall; a first helical threading (466) extending from the lower portion of the lid away from the rotational axis (Fig. 18C), the lid threadably engaging with the wall via the first helical threading; a second helical threading (474) extending from the upper portion of the lid away from the rotational axis (Fig. 18C); and a cover (401) centered on the rotational axis and comprising an inner wall (420), an outer wall (438), and a third helical threading (421), the third helical threading extending from the inner wall towards the rotational axis (Fig. 17D) and engaging with the second helical threading to couple the cover to the lid, the cover sealing the drinking aperture when the cover is coupled to the lid, the inner wall radially closer to the rotational axis than the outer wall, the cover comprising one or more chambers (424) defined at least in part by the inner wall and the outer wall, the one or more chambers providing thermal insulation between the inner wall and the outer wall (col. 13, ll. 36 – col. 14, ll. 17).
Sullivan fails to teach the cover comprising a plurality of support walls extending radially from the inner wall to the outer wall, wherein all of the plurality of support walls extending radially from the inner wall to the outer wall are equally spaced from each other.
Pickles teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a cover with a plurality of support walls (53) extending radially from an inner wall to an outer wall, wherein the plurality of support walls are equally spaced from each other along sides of the cover (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the cover with support walls, in order to reinforce the cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured all of the support walls to be equally spaced, as shown by Pickles, in order to make the reinforcement of the cover uniform. Note that modified cover of Sullivan would be round and there would be no corners. Therefore the support walls of the modified cover would be radial.
Regarding claims 2, 5-10 and 21-23, the modified container of Sullivan teaches:
2. The container assembly of claim 1, the cover comprising a handle (440) extending upward away from the lid, the handle configured to be grasped by a user to carry the cover.
5. The container assembly of claim 3, wherein at least one of the one or more chambers are defined at least in part by one or more of the plurality of support walls (Fig. 17D).
6. The container assembly of claim 1, the upper portion of the lid comprising a first cylindrical wall (472) extending away from the lower portion of the lid, the first cylindrical wall defining the drinking aperture.
7. The container assembly of claim 6, wherein the first cylindrical wall circumferentially surrounds the drinking aperture (Fig. 18D).
8. The container assembly of claim 6, the cover comprising a second cylindrical wall (Fig. 17D) that interfaces with the first cylindrical wall to seal the drinking aperture when the cover is coupled to the lid.
9. The container assembly of claim 6, the cover comprising a recess (423) that extends circumferentially around the rotational axis, wherein the recess receives the first cylindrical wall to seal the drinking aperture when the cover is coupled to the lid (Fig. 17D).
10. The container assembly of claim 1, the lid comprising an annular wall (414) that extends radially away from the rotational axis, wherein the annular wall is between the upper portion and the lower portion, and wherein the annular wall extends radially further from the rotational axis than each of upper portion and the lower portion (Fig. 18C).
21. The container assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of support walls comprise at least three support walls (Pickles, Fig. 1).
22. The container assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more chambers is in fluid communication with an exterior of the cover (Sullivan, col. 13, lines 39-60, when the hollow area can be filled).
23. The container assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more chambers is in fluid communication with an exterior of the cover via a bottom of the cover (Sullivan, col. 13, lines 39-60, when the hollow area can be filled).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Sullivan teaches away from the proposed modification but this is not the case. Note that Sullivan also teaches that the area 424 can be filled with the same material as other portions of the top cap 401 (col. 13, ll. 66 – col. 14, ll. 3). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the cap could have insulation and a structural support without departing from the scope of the prior art of record. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733