DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 5th August 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 13-14, 17, and 19-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Previous prior art rejections are withdrawn. Examiner maintains prior art Alexander (US 20070170018) in view of McGuire (US 5836429) teaches the limitations of Claim 1, but acknowledges Applicants’ argument regarding flaws with the prior rejection as written. A new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 Alexander in view of McGuire is made, as seen below, in an attempt to clarify the record.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 5th August 2026, with respect to the new independent Claim 26 are persuasive. However, new prior art was found in an updated search, a new ground of rejection is made as seen below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 26, the limitation “in said at least one interference configuration” is recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 25, the limitation “exclusively along said thrust direction” is new matter. The specification or figures do not specifically or explicitly disclose the insertion process being “without lateral displacement”, merely that the pin is inserted along the thrust direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, 17, 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander (US 20070170018 A1) in view of McGuire (US 5836429 A).
Regarding Claim 13, Alexander discloses a brake pad and thrust device assembly for a brake caliper, comprising at least one brake pad (112) and at least one thrust device (120), wherein said at least one thrust device (120) is reversibly connectable to the brake pad (112), wherein said at least one thrust device (120) is adapted to bias said brake pad along a thrust direction resting against a braking surface of a brake disc (16) to apply a braking action to a vehicle, said at least one thrust device (120) defining a radial direction, wherein said radial direction is incident and/or perpendicular to said thrust direction (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7), said brake pad (112) comprising: a friction material (146) adapted to abut against said braking surface (16) and apply said braking action, a support plate (144) adapted to support said friction material (146) and receive a thrust of said at least one thrust device (20), wherein the support plate (144) comprises a support surface adapted to face the friction material (146) and support it, and a thrust surface adapted to receive said at least one thrust device (20) resting thereon, at least one pin (80) extending along a pin extension axis between a pin root (82) and a free pin end (86), wherein each pin (80) is firmly fixed to the brake pad (146) by protruding in a cantilevered manner from the plate (144) on the side of said thrust surface, wherein said at least one thrust device (120) comprises a thrust device body (114) internally delimiting, with an inner thrust device surface (130) extending about a thrust device axis either parallel to or coincident with said thrust direction, a thrust device cavity having at least one cavity opening substantially facing said brake pad (see Fig. 6), wherein said brake pad and thrust device assembly comprises at least one retention device (132), wherein said retention device (132) comprises at least one anchoring portion (174) adapted to constrain said retention element to said inner thrust device surface (see Fig. 5), wherein said retention device is housed in said thrust device cavity and is constrained to said inner thrust device surface, wherein, in an assembled configuration of said at least one pad (112) and said at least one thrust device (120), said at least one retention device (132) holds said pin (80) within said thrust device cavity at least by applying an axial force to said pin along said thrust direction or a direction parallel thereto by biasing said thrust device into abutment against said brake pad (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6), wherein said at least one retention device (132) holds said pin (80) within said thrust device cavity by applying a radial force towards said pin along said radial direction or a direction parallel thereto so as to prevent said brake pad from sliding (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6), wherein said retention device comprises at least a first retention arm (A) and at least a second retention arm (B) (see Annotated Fig. 5 below), which extend from said at least one anchoring portion (174) into said thrust device cavity (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6), wherein said at least a first retention arm (A) and said at least a second retention arm (B) are elastically movable with respect to a resting configuration away from and towards said thrust device axis (see [0039-0043]).
Alexander does not disclose wherein each pin comprises a coupling and insertion portion, wherein said coupling and insertion portion comprises a first tapered portion and a second tapered portion.
McGuire teaches a pin for fastening in brake retention elements which comprises a coupling and insertion portion (C) (see Annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein said coupling and insertion portion comprises a first tapered portion (A1) and a second tapered portion (B1), wherein said first tapered portion comprises (A1) said free pin end, wherein said first tapered portion (A1) is tapered in an opposite direction to said second tapered portion (B1) (see Annotated Fig. 2 below, Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the pin of McGuire with the brake pad and thrust device assembly of Alexander in order to make it easier to install the retention device (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; 2: 24-32). In combination the brake pad and thrust device assembly of Alexander and the pin of McGuire teaches wedging said pin (52) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Fig. 2) between said at least a first retention arm (A) and said at least a second retention arm (B) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 below) with said first tapered portion (A1) during the insertion of the pin (52) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 below) into the cavity of the thrust device (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5) along said thrust direction, and so as to elastically abut said at least a first retention arm (A) and said at least a second retention arm (B) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 below) against said second tapered portion (B1) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 below) in said assembled configuration by applying said radial restraining force in the radial direction towards said pin and said axial restraining force in the axial direction by biasing said thrust device into abutment against said support plate, opposing the disassembly of the brake pad from the thrust device (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5, Fig. 6). Therefore, the combination of Alexander and McGuire teach all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Annotated Alexander Fig. 5
Annotated McGuire Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 14, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches wherein said coupling and insertion portion (C) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 above), going along said pin extension axis from said free pin end towards said pin root, comprises said first tapered portion (A1) and said second tapered portion (B2) in sequence, wherein said first tapered portion (A1) and said second tapered portion (B2) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 below) are adapted to be inserted between said first retention arm (A) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 above) and said second retention arm (B) at least partially sliding against said first retention arm (A) and said second retention arm (B) until said thrust device abuts against said support plate (144) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 6) to connect said thrust device (120) to said brake pad (112) in said assembled configuration, wherein said first tapered portion (A1) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 above), going along said pin extension axis from said free pin end towards said second tapered portion (B1), widens in section away from said pin extension axis, so as to wedge said pin between said first retention arm (A) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 above) and said second retention arm (B) during said insertion, wherein said second tapered portion (B1) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 above), going along said pin extension axis from said first tapered portion (A1) towards said pin root, narrows in section towards said pin extension axis so that in said assembled configuration said first retention arm (A) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 above) and said second retention arm (B) apply said radial restraining force towards said pin extension axis and said axial restraining force in said thrust direction while keeping said thrust device (120) abutting against said support plate (144), opposing a disassembly of the brake pad (112) from the thrust device (120) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Annotated Fig. 5 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches wherein said pin (52) comprises a plateau portion (P) between said first tapered portion (A1) and said second tapered portion (B1) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 B below), wherein said plateau portion (P) is flat and parallel to said thrust direction and to said pin extension axis, and wherein said coupling and insertion portion (C) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 above), of said pin extends with axial symmetry about said axial direction, and wherein said coupling and insertion portion (C) of said pin has a symmetry plane parallel to said thrust direction and wherein said first tapered portion (A1) and said second tapered portion (B1) are delimited by respective at least partially conical surfaces (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Fig. 2, Annotated Fig. 2 B below).
Annotated McGuire Fig. 2 B
Regarding Claim 19, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches wherein said retention device (132) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 6) is a wire spring, and wherein said anchoring portion (174) extends along a circular direction about said axial direction between a first end and a second end, wherein said first retention arm (A) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 above) extends from said first end and said second retention arm (B) extends from said second end, and wherein said retention device (132) is bent in a plane transverse to said thrust direction, forming an open loop with said anchoring portion (174) adapted to elastically interfere along said radial direction or a direction parallel thereto against said inner thrust device surface (130) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 7, [0039-0043]), and wherein said first retention arm (A) and said second retention arm (B) are bent so as to accommodate and clamp the coupling and insertion portion of said pin, and wherein said first retention arm (A) and said second retention arm (B) are bent so that a portion of the second retention arm (B) is transverse to a direction parallel to the extension direction of the first retention arm (A), and wherein said retention second arm (B) is bent in a hook (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 6)
Regarding Claim 20, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches wherein said thrust device (120) comprises an annular thrust device mouth (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 7), wherein said annular thrust device mouth is configured to abut against the thrust surface, wherein said annular thrust device mouth delimits the cavity opening of thrust device (120); wherein when said thrust device (120) and said brake pad (112) are in an assembled configuration, said retention device (132) applies said radial restraining force in the radial direction towards said pin (80) and said axial restraining force in the thrust direction which keeps the annular thrust device mouth abutting against the thrust surface, opposing a disassembly of the brake pad from the thrust device, and keeping the support plate parallel to the thrust device annular mouth (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; [0041-0042]).
Regarding Claim 21, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches the brake pad and thrust device assembly according to claim 13, wherein said inner thrust device surface (130) defines a groove (128) adapted to form an annular thrust device seat to house said undercut anchoring portion, wherein said annular thrust device seat (128) is delimited along a direction parallel to said thrust direction by two circular crown walls spaced apart from each other to allow the insertion of said anchoring portion (174) by constraining it to said inner thrust device surface (130), and wherein said thrust device cavity comprises a first cavity portion adapted to allow the insertion of the retention device (132), an annular thrust device seat adapted to house the retention device (128), and a second cavity portion adapted to house the first tapered portion and the plateau portion when said thrust device and said brake pad are in an assembled configuration with said annular thrust device mouth abutting against said plate (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5, Fig. 6, Fig. 7)
Regarding Claim 22, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches the brake caliper comprising the caliper body adapted to straddle the brake disc, and the at least one brake pad and thrust device assembly according to claim 13, wherein each thrust device (120) and the respective brake pad (112) are in an assembled configuration, wherein each thrust device is housed in a respective thrust device seat made in the caliper body (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 23, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches a method for reversibly connecting the thrust device to the brake pad, comprising the steps of: providing a brake pad and thrust device assembly according to Claim 13, wherein said retention device (132) with said anchoring portion (174) is constrained to said inner thrust device surface (130), so that said first retention arm (A) and said second retention arm (B) (see Annotated Fig. 5 above) are within said thrust device cavity, wherein said method for assembling said thrust device to said brake pad includes the steps of: approaching said thrust device (120) along said thrust direction from the side of said cavity opening to said pin, or vice versa, by inserting said pin into said thrust device cavity, pushing said thrust device (120) along said thrust direction towards said brake pad (112), or vice versa, by wedging in a first insertion step said pin between said first retention arm and said second retention arm, with said first tapered portion, and sliding in a second insertion step said second tapered portion between said first retention arm and said second retention arm until said thrust device abuts against said support plate, and until said first retention arm and said second retention arm elastically abut against said second tapered portion in a coupling configuration by applying a radial restraining force in a radial direction towards said pin and an axial restraining force in the axial direction which keeps said thrust device abutting against said support plate (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; [0039], [0042-0043], Fig. 5, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 24, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches the method according to Claim 23, wherein for separating said thrust device from said brake pad, said method comprises the steps of: pulling said thrust device along said thrust direction away from said brake pad, or vice versa, by wedging in a first extraction step said pin between said first retention arm and said second retention arm with said second tapered portion overcoming said restraining force, and sliding in a second extraction step said first tapered portion between said first retention arm and said second retention arm until said first retaining arm and said second retention arm are in said resting configuration (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; [0039], [0044], Fig. 5, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 25, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches wherein said pin (52) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Fig. 2) is adapted to be inserted into and removed from said thrust device cavity exclusively along said thrust direction without lateral displacement relative to said thrust device axis (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5, Fig. 6). It should be noted the combination of the pin of McGuire with the brake pad and thrust assembly of Alexander does not require the same angled insertion process taught by McGuire alone.
Claims 15 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander (US 20070170018 A1) as modified by McGuire (US 5836429 A) in Claim 13, above, further in view of Wu (WO 2014121704 A1).
Regarding Claims 15, Alexander modified by McGuire teaches wherein said first retention arm (A) and said second retention (B) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 above) arm are elastically movable towards and away from said pin extension axis, along said radial direction or a direction parallel thereto which is orthogonal and/or incident to said pin extension axis, between said resting configuration and at least one interference configuration, wherein in said resting configuration, said first retention arm (A) and said second retention (B) arm are spaced apart by a resting distance, and wherein in said at least one interference configuration, said first retention arm (A) and said second retention arm (B) are spaced apart by a clamping distance in contact with said coupling and insertion portion of said pin, wherein said first retention arm (A) and said second retention arm (B) is constantly elastically biased towards said resting configuration (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5, Fig. 6).
Alexander modified by McGuire does not teach wherein said clamping distance is greater than said resting distance.
Wu teaches a brake pad and thrust assembly wherein a retention arm and a second retention arm are spaced apart by a resting distance and wherein in at least one interface configuration the first and second retention arms are spaced apart by a clamping distance, wherein said clamping distance is greater than said resting distance (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the retention structure of Wu with the brake pad a thrust device assembly of Alexander modified by McGuire in order to reduce the axial size of the retention structure, allowing for a more axially compact thrust device.
Regarding Claim 26, Alexander discloses a brake pad and thrust device assembly for a brake caliper, comprising at least one brake pad (112) and at least one thrust device (120), wherein said at least one thrust device (120) is reversibly connectable to the brake pad (112), wherein said at least one thrust device (120) is adapted to bias said brake pad along a thrust direction resting against a braking surface of a brake disc (16) to apply a braking action to a vehicle, said at least one thrust device (120) defining a radial direction, wherein said radial direction is incident and/or perpendicular to said thrust direction (see Fig. 1, Fig. 7), said brake pad (112) comprising: a friction material (146) adapted to abut against said braking surface (16) and apply said braking action, a support plate (144) adapted to support said friction material (146) and receive a thrust of said at least one thrust device (20), wherein the support plate (144) comprises a support surface adapted to face the friction material (146) and support it, and a thrust surface adapted to receive said at least one thrust device (20) resting thereon, at least one pin (80) extending along a pin extension axis between a pin root (82) and a free pin end (86), wherein each pin (80) is firmly fixed to the brake pad (146) by protruding in a cantilevered manner from the plate (144) on the side of said thrust surface, wherein said at least one thrust device (120) comprises a thrust device body (114) internally delimiting, with an inner thrust device surface (130) extending about a thrust device axis either parallel to or coincident with said thrust direction, a thrust device cavity having at least one cavity opening substantially facing said brake pad (see Fig. 6), wherein said brake pad and thrust device assembly comprises at least one retention device (132), wherein said retention device (132) comprises at least one anchoring portion (174) adapted to constrain said retention element to said inner thrust device surface (see Fig. 5), wherein said retention device is housed in said thrust device cavity and is constrained to said inner thrust device surface, wherein, in an assembled configuration of said at least one pad (112) and said at least one thrust device (120), said at least one retention device (132) holds said pin (80) within said thrust device cavity at least by applying an axial force to said pin along said thrust direction or a direction parallel thereto by biasing said thrust device into abutment against said brake pad (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6), wherein said at least one retention device (132) holds said pin (80) within said thrust device cavity by applying a radial force towards said pin along said radial direction or a direction parallel thereto so as to prevent said brake pad from sliding (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6), wherein said retention device comprises at least a first retention arm (A) and at least a second retention arm (B) (see Annotated Fig. 5 above), which extend from said at least one anchoring portion (174) into said thrust device cavity (see Fig. 5, Fig. 6), wherein said at least a first retention arm (A) and said at least a second retention arm (B) are elastically movable with respect to a resting configuration away from and towards said thrust device axis (see [0039-0043]).
Alexander does not disclose wherein each pin comprises a coupling and insertion portion, wherein said coupling and insertion portion comprises a first tapered portion and a second tapered portion, wherein said first tapered portion comprises said free pin end, wherein said first tapered portion is tapered in an opposite direction to said second tapered portion, so as to wedge said pin between said at least a first retention arm and said at least a second retention arm with said first tapered portion during the insertion of the pin into the cavity of the thrust device along said thrust direction, and so as to elastically abut said at least a first retention arm and said at least a second retention arm against said second tapered portion in said assembled configuration by applying said radial restraining force in the radial direction towards said pin and said axial restraining force in the axial direction by biasing said thrust device into abutment against said support plate, opposing the disassembly of the brake pad from the thrust device, wherein in said resting configuration, said first retention arm and said second retention arm are spaced apart by a resting distance, and wherein in said at least one interference configuration, said first retention arm and said second retention arm are spaced apart by a clamping distance in contact with said coupling and insertion portion of said pin, wherein said clamping distance is greater than said resting distance.
McGuire teaches a pin for fastening in brake retention elements which comprises a coupling and insertion portion (C) (see Annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein said coupling and insertion portion comprises a first tapered portion (A1) and a second tapered portion (B1), wherein said first tapered portion comprises (A1) said free pin end, wherein said first tapered portion (A1) is tapered in an opposite direction to said second tapered portion (B1) (see Annotated Fig. 2 below, Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the pin of McGuire with the brake pad and thrust device assembly of Alexander in order to make it easier to install the retention device (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; 2: 24-32). In combination the brake pad and thrust device assembly of Alexander and the pin of McGuire teaches wedging said pin (52) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Fig. 2) between said at least a first retention arm (A) and said at least a second retention arm (B) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 below) with said first tapered portion (A1) during the insertion of the pin (52) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 below) into the cavity of the thrust device (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5) along said thrust direction, and so as to elastically abut said at least a first retention arm (A) and said at least a second retention arm (B) (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Annotated Fig. 5 below) against said second tapered portion (B1) (see US 5836429 A [McGuire]; Annotated Fig. 2 below) in said assembled configuration by applying said radial restraining force in the radial direction towards said pin and said axial restraining force in the axial direction by biasing said thrust device into abutment against said support plate, opposing the disassembly of the brake pad from the thrust device (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5, Fig. 6), wherein in said resting configuration, said first retention arm (A) and said second retention (B) arm are spaced apart by a resting distance, and wherein in said at least one interference configuration, said first retention arm (A) and said second retention arm (B) are spaced apart by a clamping distance in contact with said coupling and insertion portion of said pin (see US 20070170018 A1 [Alexander]; Fig. 5, Fig. 6).
Alexander modified by McGuire does not teach wherein said clamping distance is greater than said resting distance.
Wu teaches a brake pad and thrust assembly wherein a retention arm and a second retention arm are spaced apart by a resting distance and wherein in at least one interface configuration the first and second retention arms are spaced apart by a clamping distance, wherein said clamping distance is greater than said resting distance (see Fig. 4, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the retention structure of Wu with the brake pad a thrust device assembly of Alexander modified by McGuire in order to reduce the axial size of the retention structure, allowing for a more axially compact thrust device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 16, Alexander modified by McGuire and Wu does not explicitly suggest or teach the relationship between coupling portion diameter and resting distance, such that it does not teach the limitations, in combination, “wherein said coupling and insertion portion diameter at said free pin end is less than said resting distance so as to wedge the free pin end between said first retention arm and said second retention arm during said insertion, and wherein said coupling portion diameter at least partially along said first tapered portion and along said second tapered portion is greater than said resting distance, and wherein said clamping distance is equal to said coupling and insertion portion diameter along said first tapered portion and along said second tapered portion when said first retention arm and said second retention arm are in contact with said pin by elastically clamping it during said insertion and in said assembled configuration.”
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616