DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, 14-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US Publication Number 2014/0316636 A1, hereinafter “Hong”) in view of Cheong et al. (US Publication Number 2014/0081433 A1, hereinafter Cheong).
(1) regarding claim 1:
As shown in fig. 1, Hong disclosed an electronic device (para. [0120], note that the user terminal apparatus 2 may include a user input part 210, a communication part 220, a display unit 230, a storage part 240, and a controller 200) comprising:
a display including a display area (para. [0126], note that the display unit 230 displays an image thereon based on an image signal output by an image processor);
memory storing instructions (para. [0107], note that the storage part 140 may be provided as a writable Read Only Memory (ROM) to have data remain therein); and
at least one processor operatively connected to the display and the memory (para. [0130], note that the user terminal apparatus 2 includes the user input part 210, the communication part 220, the display unit 230, the storage part 240, and the controller 200 as in FIG. 4, and may further include an image processor 250 and a UI generator 260),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor is individually or collectively (para. [0125], note that the storage part 240 may be provided as one of a flash memory, an EPROM, and an EEPROM), cause the electronic device to:
display a three-dimensional (3D) map (para. [0049], note that the displaying of the map information may include transmitting territorial reference information to the moving robot to collect map building information of the territory) including:
an indoor space 3D image corresponding to an indoor space (para. [0096], note that the 3D map of the interior environment of the territory which has been generated through the foregoing processes as in FIG. 24 may be used to automatically form a wall through 3D detecting data of the moving robot 1 and generate interior structures through the user authoring tool),
at least two home appliance 3D images corresponding to at least two home appliances, respectively, which are disposed in the indoor space (para. [0096], note that a particular area may be set in the generated 3D map, and locations of smart devices which may be recognized within the territory including a smart TV and an air-conditioner may be indicated in the map), and
at least one of:
indoor space status information including an environmental status of the indoor space, wherein the indoor space status information includes at least one of an air quality, temperature, humidity, lighting, or noise of the indoor space (para. [0088], note that a user may input the number of rooms, the number of smart devices (i.e., a refrigerator, an air-conditioner, a TV, and the like), and existence/non-existence of a wireless Access Point (AP) within the territory through Q&A. In this case, a user may utilize a smart phone and input the territorial reference information 146 based on a Graphic User Interface (GUI)), or
displayed a home appliance 3D images (para. [0162], note that the user terminal apparatus 2 may display a map which has been generated by the 2D/3D interior map viewer 52, and a user may newly set a particular area or name the existing area on the existing map to set the particular area information 65 through the particular area information setting module 54. The 3D module 64, particular area information 65, and device location information 66 stored in DB 60, the user terminal apparatus 2 may transmit the 3D module 64 and the particular area information 65 to the cloud server 3 and the moving robot 1 and store information in DB 40 and 20 of the cloud server 3 and the moving robot 1, respectively), and
control an operation of at least one home appliance based on a user input to a predetermined area on the 3D map (para. [0162], note that a user may set a new particular area as a non-access or non-cleaning area. The particular area information 65, which has been generated/modified by the user terminal apparatus 2, is transmitted to and stored in the cloud server 3 and the moving robot 1, and the moving robot 1 may use virtual wall information when moving around the territory), sequentially display, on the 3D map (para. [0049], note that the displaying of the map information may include transmitting territorial reference information to the moving robot to collect map building information of the territory).
Hong disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching at least two home appliances; and home appliance status information, including an operating status, of the at least two home appliances, respectively, wherein the home appliances status information is displayed so as to be associated with the at least two home appliances, respectively, a first subtask of a first home appliance and a second subtask of a second home appliance for performing a predetermined operation, wherein the first home appliance and the second home appliance are included in the at least two home appliances, wherein the second subtask is associated with the first subtask, and wherein the predetermine operation includes a complex operation performed as a series of subtasks including the first subtask and the second subtask.
However, Cheong disclosed at least two home appliances (para. [0036], note that the home appliance 100 comprises a refrigerator, a washing machine, an air conditioner, a cooker, a cleaner, and etc., as an object to be managed); and home appliance status information, including an operating status, of the at least two home appliances, respectively, wherein the home appliances status information is displayed so as to be associated with the at least two home appliances, respectively (para. [0043], note that the home appliance 100 performs its own function, e.g., a washing function, a cooking function, a cleaning function or a storage function, according to a control command and a management command inputted through the input unit 110. The controller 130 may control a hardware of the home appliance 100 using a pre-stored application program, under control of a command input through the input unit 110. Then, the controller 130 may display a result thereof to the output unit 140. Also see para. [0048], in a case where the home appliance 100 is a washing machine in which a hardware of a washing function is mounted, a control signal and a status collection signal are inputted through the input unit), a first subtask of a first home appliance and a second subtask of a second home appliance for performing a predetermined operation (para. [0048], note that in a case where the home appliance 100 is a washing machine i.e. first appliance in which a hardware of a washing function is mounted...The washing course indicates a washing process, a rinsing process, a dehydration process, an order, a time duration, a number of times, and etc., based on information of a washing laundry such as a cloth i.e. multiple subtask. Also see para. [0049], refrigerator with different subtasks for cooling mode), wherein the first home appliance and the second home appliance are included in the at least two home appliances (para. [0036], note that the home appliance 100 comprises a refrigerator, a washing machine, an air conditioner, a cooker, a cleaner, and etc., as an object to be managed), wherein the second subtask is associated with the first subtask, and wherein the predetermine operation includes a complex operation performed as a series of subtasks including the first subtask and the second subtask (para. [0082], note that the specific status information is at least one of START, END and ERROR of a process of the home appliance 100. The home appliance 100 is at least one of a washing machine, a refrigerator, a cooker, an air conditioner and a cleaner. In case of a washing machine, a notification of `TERMINATION OF PROCESS` may be performed using a push message after a process such as a washing process, a rinsing process and a dehydration process has ended).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach at least two home appliances; and home appliance status information, including an operating status, of the at least two home appliances, respectively, wherein the home appliances status information is displayed so as to be associated with the at least two home appliances, respectively, a first subtask of a first home appliance and a second subtask of a second home appliance for performing a predetermined operation, wherein the first home appliance and the second home appliance are included in the at least two home appliances, wherein the second subtask is associated with the first subtask, and wherein the predetermine operation includes a complex operation performed as a series of subtasks including the first subtask and the second subtask. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide a push service with respect to status information of a home appliance. Further, push service can be stably implemented using a response message to a push message. This can allow home appliances to be managed efficiently (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong with Cheong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
(2) regarding claim 2:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: display visual information about one or more of the at least two home appliances, as a 3D animation, on the 3D map, based on the home appliance status information (para. [0149], note that the device location information 45 may be visualized by the 3D model authoring tool 32 together with the 3D model 43 for a user to identify the environment and structures within the territory. Also see para. [0031], that a display unit configured to display an image of the moving robot thereon, a user input part configured to input a user's command, and a controller configured to control the display unit to display map information of the territory thereon, set a particular area within the territory according to the user's command).
Hong disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the home appliance status information excludes positional information indicative of respective positions of the at least two home appliances in the indoor space.
However, Cheong disclosed wherein the home appliance status information excludes positional information indicative of respective positions of the at least two home appliances in the indoor space (para. [0043], note that the input unit 110 and the output unit 140 operate so that a control signal and status information according to a management command can be transceived (transmitted and received). The home appliance 100 performs its own function, e.g., a washing function, a cooking function, a cleaning function).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach wherein the home appliance status information excludes positional information indicative of respective positions of the at least two home appliances in the indoor space. Further, push service can be stably implemented using a response message to a push message. This can allow home appliances to be managed efficiently (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong with Cheong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
(3) regarding claim 3:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the visual information about one or more of the at least two home appliances includes at least one of a light on/off state, output wind direction, output wind speed, output temperature, door open/close state, or moving state of the at least one home appliance (para. [0083], note that the moving robot 1 extracts 3D point data of the environment of the territory by using a system as shown in FIG. 1, and continues to generate and update a location of the moving robot 1 and a map of the ambient environment through the extracted data. Such function is called 3D Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM). As a result of the 3D SLAM, the map information of the territory and the 3D point data identified and extracted by the moving robot 1 may be obtained).
(4) regarding claim 7:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the predetermined operation includes:
moving the one or more of the at least two home appliances in the indoor space (para. [0082], note that a moving robot 1 is a cleaning robot, the entire area of a user's home is disclosed);
detecting a target object included in the indoor space by the one or more of the at least two home appliances (para. [0091], note that to generate a map, wall information of the territory may be extracted from the 3D point data. First, the part which is assumed to be a wall is extracted based on the outermost points of the 3D point data to identify the outer wall structure of the territory);
capturing at least one image of the target object by the one or more of the at least two home appliances (para. [0092], note that the moving robot 1 may process images and recognize particular devices located in the territory, such as a smart TV, an air-conditioner, and a refrigerator, through the real picture image of the front side and 3D point data); and
displaying the at least one image of the target object captured by the one or more of the at least two home appliances (para. [0092], note that calculate a correlative location of the device based on the current location of the moving robot 1 to extract the location of the smart device located in the territory at operation S4. Also see para. [0093], note that the interior space is displayed as seen in fig. 16).
Hong disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching at least two home appliances.
However, Cheong disclosed at least two home appliances (para. [0036], note that the home appliance 100 comprises a refrigerator, a washing machine, an air conditioner, a cooker, a cleaner, and etc., as an object to be managed).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach at least two home appliances. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide a push service with respect to status information of a home appliance. Further, push service can be stably implemented using a response message to a push message. This can allow home appliances to be managed efficiently (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong with Cheong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
(5) regarding claim 8:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
sequentially display an image of the at least one home appliance capable of moving in the indoor space, an image of the at least one home appliance detecting a target object in the indoor space, an image of the at least one home appliance capturing the at least one image of target object, and an image of the at least one home appliance sequentially displaying the captured image of the target object (para. [0092], note that the moving robot 1 may process images and recognize particular devices located in the territory, such as a smart TV, an air-conditioner, and a refrigerator, through the real picture image of the front side and 3D point data, and calculate a correlative location of the device based on the current location of the moving robot 1 to extract the location of the smart device located in the territory at operation S4. The location of the smart device in the territory may be registered with the map and used for location-based service after the map of the territory is generated subsequently at operation S5).
(6) regarding claim 9:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: control based on a predetermined operation on the 3D map (para. [0103], note that the operation performer 110 enables the moving robot 1 to move around, and rotate a sensor to detect the territory. For example, if the moving robot 1 is implemented as a cleaning robot, the operation performer 110 may perform a suction operation for cleaning).
Hong disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching at least one of the first home appliance and the second home appliance performing at least one of the first subtask and the second.
However, Cheong disclosed at least one of the first home appliance and the second home appliance performing at least one of the first subtask and the second (para. [0048], note that in a case where the home appliance 100 is a washing machine i.e. first appliance in which a hardware of a washing function is mounted...The washing course indicates a washing process, a rinsing process, a dehydration process, an order, a time duration, a number of times, and etc., based on information of a washing laundry such as a cloth i.e. multiple subtask. Also see para. [0049], refrigerator with different subtasks for cooling mode).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach at least one of the first home appliance and the second home appliance performing at least one of the first subtask and the second. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide a push service with respect to status information of a home appliance. Further, push service can be stably implemented using a response message to a push message. This can allow home appliances to be managed efficiently (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong with Cheong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
(7) regarding claim 10:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the predetermined operation includes: determining an operational environment of the at least one home appliance (para. [0103], note that the moving robot 1 is implemented as a cleaning robot); and
setting at least one of a power setting, position, or operation mode of the at least one home appliance to a pre-stored operation configuration value (para. [0088], note that when a user purchases the moving robot 1 at operation S1, he/she may input territorial reference information on a territory at operation S2. For example, a user may input the number of rooms, the number of smart devices (i.e., a refrigerator, an air-conditioner, a TV, and the like), and existence/non-existence of a wireless Access Point (AP) within the territory through Q&A.).
(8) regarding claim 11:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive a user input for an operational environment of the at least one home appliance, and control at least one of a power setting, position, or operation mode of the at least one home appliance, based on an operation configuration value corresponding to the operational environment (para. [0092], note that the moving robot 1 may process images and recognize particular devices located in the territory, such as a smart TV, an air-conditioner, and a refrigerator, through the real picture image of the front side and 3D point data, and calculate a correlative location of the device based on the current location of the moving robot 1 to extract the location of the smart device located in the territory at operation S4).
(9) regarding claim 12:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to display, on the 3D map, the at least one of indoor space status information or the home appliance status information using at least one of a text, a value, a color, an icon, a graph, or a contour line (fig. 18, para. [0179], note that the moving robot 1 includes a voice recognition module, and a user may give a voice command to the moving robot 1 by using the particular area information. For example, a user may give voice commands, such as "Clean Chul-soo's room", "Come to the living room", or "Wake up Young-hee" as in FIG. 18 and the moving robot 1 may provide service according to the command. The map visualizes the home structure and at the same time has additional context, such as the particular area information and thus, may provide convenient service).
(10) regarding claim 14:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate an indoor space status history based on a change in the indoor space status information for a reference period, and display the indoor space status history for a specified time period (para. [0162], note that he user terminal apparatus 2 may include an inner territorial reference information inputting module 51, a 2D/3D territory map information viewer 52, a robot control/status displaying module 53, a particular area information setting module 54, and an inter-device communicating module 55).
(10) regarding claim 15:
Hong further disclosed the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the home appliance status information includes at least one of an operation mode, remaining time, energy usage, temperature, remaining battery, or position of the at least one home appliance (para. [0097], note that the 3D map of the interior environment may be used to provide intelligent service including performance of commands through the moving robot 1 based on location. Also see para. [0100], note that user may move the moving robot 1 to a particular location and set such particular area (meaning information, such as "Chul-soo's room", "Young-hee's room", and the like), and the particular area may be updated in sync with the cloud server 3).
The proposed rejection explained in claims 1, 2 and 9, renders inherent the steps of the method of claims 17-18, 20 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claims 1, 2 and 9 are equally applicable to claims 17-18, 20.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and Cheong, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Number 10,901,380 B2, hereinafter “Kim”).
(1) regarding claim 16:
Hong disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect an operation error in the at least one home appliance based on the home appliance status information, and display the operation error and an action guide.
However, Kim disclosed wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect an operation error in the at least one home appliance based on the home appliance status information, and display the operation error and an action guide (col. 14, lines 15-22, note that the display unit 261 may display, for example, information corresponding to a command inputted by a user (including an utterer), a processing result corresponding to the command inputted by the user, an operation mode, an operation state, an error state, update version information, update history information, and a build number, as an image).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to configure wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: detect an operation error in the at least one home appliance based on the home appliance status information, and display the operation error and an action guide. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide a relay home appliance between two or more home appliances that exceed a communication range, thereby enhancing the accuracy of remote-control results by extending the distance in which remote control is possible (col. 2, lines 41-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong and Cheong with Kim to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts made of record do not teach “wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: sequentially display, on the 3D map, an image displaying an operation sequence of the first home appliance and the second home appliance, a zoomed-in image of the first home appliance, a pop-up window including text describing the first subtask, a zoomed-in image of the second home appliance, and a pop-up window including text describing the second subtask”, as claimed in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (US Patent Number 11,054,794 B2) disclosed information transmitting method, cloud service platform and a smart system for analyzing user data or smart home appliance data.
/HILINA K DEMETER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617