DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the amendments to the independent claims, the combination of Masters and Forbes has been upheld. Forbes teaches that the implant has a retracted state and a deployed state, and would be proximal to the MEMS-based pMUT array when combined with the catheter of Masters.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “steering control unit” in claims 3 & 13.
The specification does not provide in detail what the steering control unit comprises. Thus, for the purposes of examination, “steering control unit” has been interpreted to be any arrangement capable of articulating the distal tip of a catheter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masters (US 2024/0130707) in view of Forbes (US 2019/0069901).
Regarding claim 1, Masters teaches an integrated transcatheter left atrial appendage (LAA) closure and Piezoelectric Micro-Machined Ultrasonic Transducer (pMUT) ultrasonic imaging system, the system comprising:
an integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly (ablation catheter 304, [0032]) having a longitudinal axis, a proximal end, and a distal end ([0035]); and
a micro-electromechanical (MEMS)-based pMUT transducer (imaging device 302, [0032]) having a MEMS-based pMUT array (MEMS based pMUT array 402, [0037]) disposed within the distal end of the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly ([0038]), wherein the MEMS-based pMUT array comprises a substrate (substrate 406, [0038]) and a plurality of pMUT array elements (pMUT array elements 404, [0038]) arranged on the substrate ([0038]).
However, Masters fails to disclose that the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly has an implant configured to close an LAA; wherein: the implant is configured to be movable from a retracted state to a deployed state; and at least a portion of the MEMS-based pMUT array is distal from the implant in the retracted state.
Forbes teaches that the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly (delivery catheter 58, [0038]) has an implant (occluder device 80, [0039]) configured to close an LAA ([0039]);
wherein:
the implant is configured to be movable from a retracted state ([0045] & Figure 6B) to a deployed state ([0046] & Figure 7B); and
at least a portion of the MEMS-based pMUT array is distal from the implant in the retracted state ([0045] & Figure 6B).
Paragraph [0038] of Masters teaches that the MEMS based pMUT array 402 is “disposed within the distal end of the ablation catheter 304”. Thus, the occluder device 80 of Forbes, as described in [0045] and depicted in Figure 6B, would be proximal to the MEMS-based pMUT array in the combined device. Nevertheless, [0045] of Forbes teaches that the occluder device may be advanced through the delivery catheter. Therefore, regardless of the exact position of the MEMS-based pMUT array in the catheter, the occluder device can be withdrawn so that it is proximal to the pMUT array.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Masters such that the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly has an implant configured to close an LAA; wherein: the implant is configured to be movable from a retracted state to a deployed state; and at least a portion of the MEMS-based pMUT array is distal from the implant in the retracted state, as taught by Forbes. This provides functionality to the system by defining that it can be used for a well-known heart procedure. Additionally, keeping the implant in a retracted state while navigating to the heart minimizes the profile of the catheter.
Regarding claim 2, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 1, and Masters further teaches a catheter shaft (catheter shaft, [0035]) connected at one end to a handle assembly (handle assembly 324, [0040]) and at the other end to the MEMS-based pMUT array and the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly ([0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 1, and Masters further teaches that the MEMS-based pMUT array and the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly comprises a steering control unit (steering cables, [0039]) positioned within the handle assembly (Claim 2), for articulating a distal tip of the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly (Claim 2) and aligning a face of the MEMS-based pMUT array towards internal views including an anterior position or a posterior position and right or left position of the tissue (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 3, and Masters further teaches that the distal tip of the MEMS-based pMUT array is coated with a material to provide electrical isolation and transmission of ultrasound signals (Claim 3).
Regarding claim 5, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 1, and Masters further teaches that the MEMS-based pMUT array and the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly is coupled to a dongle (dongle 316, [0032]), and the dongle is configured to communicated ultrasound transmit pulses and ultrasound receive waveforms between the pMUT array and the ultrasound imaging system ([0040] & Claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 1, and Masters further teaches that each of the plurality of pMUT array elements has transducer cells (transducer cells 502, [0042]) of multiple diameters ([0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 1, and Masters further teaches that each of the plurality of pMUT array elements is a linear phased array ([0043] & Claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 1, and Masters further teaches that the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly comprises a catheter having one or more pMUT arrays ([0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 8, and Masters further teaches that the catheter has a pMUT circular array ([0043], Figures 7-8, Claim 7).
Regarding claim 10, Masters in view of Forbes teach the system of claim 1, and Masters further teaches that the system is deployed into chambers of a heart ([0032]).
Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Ablation catheter 304, taught by Masters, reads on both the integrated transcatheter LAA closure assembly and integrated transcatheter ASD closure assembly.
Additionally, although Forbes is drawn to an LAA occluder device, [0039] lists several specific devices that can be used with the system. One such device is the AMPLATZER, which is an ASD closure device. Thus, the reference of Forbes can be applied to an ASD closure procedure.
Claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 8.
Claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 9.
Claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 10.
Conclusion
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798