DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner requests a Terminal Disclaimer.
The examiner notes a SMALL ERROR regarding the allowability of claims 19 and 26. These two claims should have been rejected in a similar fashion as claims 3 and 11 since they recite the same limitations. The examiner does NOT consider this a new grounds of rejection since this error is easily identified and could have been discussed in a quick phone call/interview.
Also note claim 25 does NOT recite “a wake-up burst structure”.
The “wake-up burst structure” is given little patentable weight - it is broadly interpreted as the time the UE will receive the SRS/reference signal, hence it needs to “wake-up” to receive an SRS/reference (i.e. if scheduled or aperiodic).
The amendment moves up a properly rejected claim and the examiner is not swayed. The amendment moves up dependent claims 3, 11, 19 and 26 which state”
“..Transmitting/receiving UL data comprising a plurality of reference signal bursts to/from the network entity in the UL portion of the second sub-frame, wherein the plurality of reference signal bursts are uniformly spaced in at least a portion of the UL portion of the second sub-frame AND
wherein the first sub-frame comprises a greater number of reference signal bursts than that of the second sub-frame..”.
The examiner notes that Ekpenyong teaches the ability to transmit “aperiodic” sounding/reference signals. By definition, aperiodic means not on a periodic schedule, hence it can be random.
Ekpenyong teaches “Transmitting/receiving UL data comprising a plurality of reference signal bursts to/from the network entity in the UL portion” of ANY SUBFRAME, (i.e. of the second sub-frame) and also “wherein the plurality of reference signal bursts are uniformly spaced in at least a portion of the UL portion of the second sub-frame” (i.e. periodic transmission as can be found in Para #16)
[0016] Base station 101 configures UE 109 for periodic uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission. Base station 101 estimates uplink channel quality information (CSI) from the SRS transmission.
And also “wherein the first sub-frame comprises a greater number of reference signal bursts than that of the second sub-frame” (aperiodic SRS/reference transmission would be “random” and thus a greater number of reference signal/SRS bursts could be found in a second/other sub-frame):
[From Para #26]: Exploiting channel reciprocity by beamforming is limited to instances when aperiodic sounding from multiple antennas is scheduled.
[From Para #44]: FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary control element format for aperiodic sounding
Therefore, as seen above, Ekpenyong teaches both periodic and aperiodic transmission of SRS/reference signals. If the scheduling of these differs across (perhaps) a 1st and 2nd subframe, then it is likely (possible) that they will have TWO DIFFERENT number of SRS/reference bursts if/when compared. So, since Ekpenyong doesn’t limit the number of SRS/reference bursts, there can be a situation where “the first sub-frame comprises a greater number of reference signal bursts than that of the second sub-frame”.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10,122,559. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite a method of communicating utilizing a plurality of self-contained subframes comprising a first subframe and a second subframe, each of the self-contained subframes comprising an uplink (UL) portion and a downlink (DL) portion, transmitting first UL data comprising burst structure including a plurality of reference signal bursts to the scheduling entity in the UL portion of the first subframe, wherein the plurality of reference signal bursts are spaced in at least a portion of the UL portion of the first subframe and transmitting second UL data comprising reference signal bursts to the scheduling entity in the UL portion of the second subframe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10, 18 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekpenyong (2014/0036859) and further in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #60bis (from IDS).
As per claim 2, Ekpenyong et al. US 2014/0036859 teaches a method of wireless communication operable at a User Equipment (See Abstract and figures which discuss/show wireless communications between a UE and eNodeB), comprising:
communicating with a network entity utilizing a plurality of self-contained sub-frames comprising a first sub-frame and a second sub-frame (Para #17 teaches subframes for downlink or uplink), each of the self- contained sub-frames comprising an uplink (UL) portion and a downlink (DL) portion);
[0017] FIG. 2 shows the Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) time division duplex (TDD) Frame Structure. Different subframes are allocated for downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) transmissions. Table 1 shows applicable DL/UL subframe allocations.
[0037] There is a potential problem with this scheme for piggybacked DMRS. The piggybacked sounding UE is semi-persistently scheduled before a primary UE is dynamically scheduled for PUSCH transmission in one subframe. If the sounding bandwidth is not the same length in RBs as the PUSCH allocation the DMRS sequences from the sounding UE and the primary UE are not orthogonal. This restricts eNB scheduling, where the primary UE must have the same RB allocation as the sounding UE. If the sounding UE is scheduled with a 4 RB allocation the eNB must schedule a primary UE that can efficiently support 4 RBs in each subframe until the release of the SRS burst.
(From Para #32) “…In another embodiment the SRS burst activation signal can be sent in an UL grant scheduling data transmission on the Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)…”.
receiving DL control information from the network entity in the DL portion of the first sub-frame (Para #23 teaches that Uplink Grants are signaled to the UE, which would inherently use the Downlink - eg. control information portion of the subframe, since it is considered control information being sent to the UE. Also note that the signalling is sent in the PDCCH, eg. the downlink control channel),
the DL control information indicating a reference signal burst structure and a wake-up burst structure to be used for the first subframe (Ekpenyong teaches DL control channel information sent to the UE for it to transmit SRS bursts (in the UL) on the indicated manner as identified by the DL control information (which can be aperiodic as well – hence the DL would indicate how/when to transmit and the UE would obey in the UL transmission) and that the UE needs to be awake for SRS/reference signal reception. Similarly, the 3GPP document (below) teaches the SRS bursts that can be uniformly spaced); and
[0023] Sounding by piggybacking the PUSCH-RS does not come without cost. This sounding is dependent on the availability of control channel elements (CCE) resources for dynamically signaling the UL grants in the common or UE dedicated search space. Note also that L1/L2 signaling is necessary for each subframe where sounding is required. Therefore, the gain obtained from the increased sounding resources is offset by the increased L1/L2 signaling overhead. This could result in increased Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH) blocking probability.
transmitting UL data comprising the reference signal burst structure, including a plurality of reference signal bursts, to the network entity in the UL portion of the first sub-frame (As stated above, Ekpenyong teaches DL control channel information sent to the UE for it to transmit SRS bursts (in the UL) on the indicated manner as identified by the DL control information (which can be aperiodic as well – hence the DL would indicate how/when to transmit and the UE would obey in the UL transmission). Similarly, the 3GPP document (below) teaches the SRS bursts that can be uniformly spaced);
[0021] Sounding capacity can be increased by re-using all uplink reference signals wherever possible. This is already supported by Rel-8 and is left to eNB implementation.
[0021] Sounding capacity can be increased by re-using all uplink reference signals wherever possible. This is already supported by Rel-8 and is left to eNB implementation. For example, the Physical Uplink Control CHannel Reference Signal (PUCCH-RS) can be used to obtain long term channel statistics for precoding, while the Physical Uplink Shared CHannel Reference Signal (PUSCH-RS) may provide more accurate channel estimation in a particular UpLink (UL) Resource Block (RB) allocation compared to the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS). Note that obtaining channel state information from the PUSCH is limited to the PUSCH allocation for the UE.
Transmitting/receiving UL data comprising a plurality of reference signal bursts to/from the network entity in the UL portion of the second sub-frame, wherein the plurality of reference signal bursts are uniformly spaced in at least a portion of the UL portion of the second sub-frame AND wherein the first sub-frame comprises a greater number of reference signal bursts than that of the second sub-frame (Ekpenyong teaches the ability to also schedule APERIODIC SRS signals, which are interpreted as being dynamically configured by the eNodeB. Hence the condition can occur whereby the first sub-frame will have a greater number of reference signal bursts than that of the second sub-frame because (perhaps) the network does not need as much information after that first sub-frame's information is received);
[0024] In another method the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) is dynamically scheduled for one shot transmission using an activation Information Element (IE) in the Downlink Control Information (DCI) format(s) scheduling PUSCH transmission.
Furthermore, one skilled sees that, a potential design choice exists as to how many SRS’s the network wants from the UE, it can be the same in each sub-frame (or periodic), it can be dynamically scheduled such that there are more/less in 2 successive sub-frames.
But is silent on
wherein the plurality of reference signal bursts are uniformly spaced in at least a portion of the UL portion of the first sub-frame.
The 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #60bis (from IDS) document teaches SRS bursts that can be scheduled – figure 2 shows that there are 4 periods within a sub-frame that are sent at what is interpreted as "uniformly spaced in at least the Uplink portion of the first sub-frame" - the figure shows (bottom left) 4 SRS bursts that appear to be uniformly spaced. See also Page 4, Benefits of SPS Sounding, which states in #2 that the burst duration is configurable, hence they can be uniformly spaced apart.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention's filing, to modify Ekpenyong, such that wherein the plurality of reference signal bursts are uniformly spaced in at least a portion of the UL portion of the first sub-frame, to provide a set of closely spaced SRS transmissions in order to improve channel estimation of cell-edge UE’s for frequency dependent scheduling, timing estimation or UL Power Control (See 3GPP document, page 4, OPTION 3 RRC Signaling paragraph, also see the two bullets).
As per claim 10, this claim is rejected in its entirety as based on the rejection of claim 2. With further regard to a method of wireless communication operable at a network entity, comprising the steps of the claim, Ekpenyong teaches communications between the UE and eNodeB (Figures 1 and 8 shows the communications).
As per claim 18, this claim is rejected in its entirety as based on the rejection of claim 2. With further regard to an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories comprising executable code; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured by the executable code to perform the steps of the claim, Ekpenyong teaches an apparatus/UE (Figure 8, #1001 w/processor #1010 and memory with stored applications/code #1012/#1014).
As per claim 25, this claim is rejected in its entirety as based on the rejection of claim 2. With further regard to an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories comprising executable code; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, one or more the processors being configured by the executable code to: perform the steps of the claim, Ekpenyong teaches an apparatus/UE (Figure 8, #1001 w/processor #1010 and memory with stored applications/code #1012/#1014).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 12-17, 20-24 and 27-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
These claims recite highly detailed technical designs that are not found in at least the prior art of record, either alone or in combination:
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN M D AGOSTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414