DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the applicant’s communication received on 10/29/2025 (“Amendment”).
Status of the Claims
The following is a FINAL Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendments filed on 10/29/2025.
Claims 1, 8-9, 12, 15-18 and 20 are amended.
Claims 2-7 and 13-14 are cancelled.
Claims 1,8-12 and 15-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 8-12 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1, 8-12, 15-19 and 21 are directed to a system (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Claim 20 is directed to a method (i.e., process). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention, and thus must be further analyzed at Step 2A to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.03, subsection II).
Step 2A Prong One: Claim 20, recites (i.e., sets forth or describes) an abstract idea. More specifically, the following bolded claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
A method comprising: receiving a temporary use request that requests temporary use of a vehicle by a holder of a non-fungible token, the vehicle being associated with the non- fungible token;
locking the non-fungible token in a first digital wallet of the holder and making the non-fungible token non-transferable in response to the temporary use request,
locking the non-fungible token including requesting a terminal apparatus of the holder to prohibit transfer of the non-fungible token from the first digital wallet of the holder to another digital wallet, the requesting including requesting the terminal apparatus of the holder to generate transaction data including the smart contract that defines processing for switching the flag set to the first value to the second value;
continuing locking of the non-fungible token until a temporary use completion condition indicating completion of temporary use of the vehicle is satisfied, wherein the temporary use completion condition is satisfied when a key return completion condition indicating completion of return of a physical key for unlocking of a door of the vehicle is satisfied;
after the temporary use completion condition is satisfied, unlocking the non-fungible token; and
registering on a distributed ledger network, a temporary use record indicating a record of temporary use of the vehicle during a first period of temporary use of the vehicle.
Claim 20, recites (i.e., sets forth or describes) a method to restrict use of a vehicle for a temporary period of time. The claim achieves this by receiving a request for a use of the vehicle by a holder of a ticket (right) and performing a process for locking the ticket to ensure that another person cannot use or reserve the vehicle while its being used. Claim 1 is significantly similar to claim 20. As such claim 1 also recite an abstract idea. Specifically, but for the additional elements, the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (i.e., managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions).
Step 2A Prong Two: Because the claim recites abstract ideas, the analysis proceeds to
determine whether the claim recites additional elements that recite a practical application of the
abstract ideas. Here, the additional elements of a first digital wallet, a terminal apparatus, another digital wallet, a smart contract and a distributed ledger network merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Further, the additional element of a non-fungible token the additional element “non-fungible” generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, that being of non-fungible tokens (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore, the claim as a whole fail to recite a practical application of the abstract ideas.
Step 2B: Determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the exception itself. Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Here, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A, the additional elements merely serve as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims: Claims 8-12, 15-19 and 21 have also been analyzed for subject matter eligibility. However, claims 8-12, 15-19 and 21 also fail to recite patent eligible subject matter for the following reasons:
Claim 8 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the processor is configured to refer to transaction data registered in a distributed ledger, and
the key return completion condition includes registration of the transaction data indicating completion of return of the key in the distributed ledger, or reception, by the communication apparatus, of a key return completion notification indicating completion of return of the key.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a processor, a distributer ledger and the communication apparatus fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 9 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
a locking completion condition indicating switching of the flag from the first value to the second value is satisfied after the locking processing, the processor is further configured to permit the temporary use.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a processor fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 10 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the processor is configured to refer to transaction data registered in a distributed ledger, and
the locking completion condition includes registration of the transaction data indicating switching of the flag from the first value to the second value in the distributed ledger.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a processor and a distributed ledger fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 11 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the locking completion condition includes reception, by the communication apparatus, of a locking completion notification indicating switching of the flag from the first value to the second value.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of the communication apparatus fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 12 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the temporary use permission processing includes permission of unlocking of a door of the vehicle or permission of start-up of a travel system of the vehicle.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 15 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the temporary use record includes a record of travel of the vehicle during the first period.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 16 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the distributed ledger network is different from a distributed ledger network where the non-fungible token is minted.
The non-bolded additional elements of a terminal apparatus and a distributed ledger network fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the non-bolded additional element “non-fungible” generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Furthermore, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 17 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
The vehicle is stored during a second period different from the first period, and the processor is further configured to register on the distributed ledger network, a storage record indicating a record of storage of the vehicle during the second period.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a processor and a distributed ledger network fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 18 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the storage record includes a maintenance record of the vehicle during the second period.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 19 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
the distributed ledger network is different from a distributed ledger network where the non-fungible token is minted.
The non-bolded additional elements of a terminal apparatus and a smart contract fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the non-bolded additional element “non-fungible” generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Furthermore, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim 21 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract ideas while the non-bolded claim elements recite additional elements according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
unlocking the non-fungible token includes requesting the terminal apparatus to generate transaction data including the smart contract that defines processing for switching the flag set to the second value to the first value.
The claim further recites an abstract idea. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements of a terminal apparatus and a smart contract fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because they merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP §2106.05(f)). Further, the non-bolded additional element “non-fungible” generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Furthermore, the additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not result in the claim as a whole, amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-11, 15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl (US 2024/0104641 A1) in view of Azdoud (US 2022/0370778 A1) in view of Saleh (US 20210042698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Karl discloses:
a communication apparatus configured to (¶0057, In some embodiments, a backend server can be configured to receive information from each of a plurality of users. ¶0058, Each electric technology can be equipped with a corresponding computer system comprising a communication functionality, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, GPS, cellular, etc., enabling the electric product to connect directly or indirectly (e.g., via a user's mobile device) via the internet to a backend server. The connection may be via a direct wireless connection or an indirect wireless connection (e.g., via Bluetooth or other near field communication) to a user's mobile device.)
receive a temporary use request that requests temporary use of a vehicle by a holder of a non-fungible token, (¶0056, Information and functionality to select and make payment for rental of electric technologies 5 can be provided through the mobile device or other user interface. For example, a user can claim or reserve an electric technology or combination of technologies. The rental information can include an identification number for identifying the particular electric technologies, a use period (rental period), a use fee, etc. ¶0057, In some embodiments, a backend server can be configured to receive information from each of a plurality of users. The server processes information received from the users to enable each user to select and reserve a specific electric technology or combination of technologies. In some embodiments, the server receives an identification of a specific electric technology requested, the server verifies the availability state of the technology (e.g., not already reserved or rented by another user, sufficient battery charge level, etc.) and if available associates the electric technology with the requesting user for use. ¶0064, In some embodiments, the NFTs can be used as discounted coupons towards a corresponding technology combination payment. ¶0065, Thus, a user can create a working account capable of storing the NFTs between the accounts of various users. As a result, the simple exchange of typical currency (e.g., debit and credit cards) to be processed in exchange for signature NFT coupons that can be easily purchased. The NFT coupons can then be used to reserve one or more electric technologies as described above. ¶0066, In some embodiments, the NFTs can be mass marketed through social media platforms and sent via text message, reflecting a visual NFT coupon that can be used to redeem a discounted electric technology combination experience in real life.)
Although, the prior art does not explicitly state that information transferred to the server by the user is the NFT held by the user, this can be reasonably inferred from the context. Specially, the art describes NFTs being generated as coupons that users can redeem for access to a vehicle. This implies that the NFTs are associated with the object and held by individual users. Furthermore, when the art states that “…a user can claim or reserve an electric technology or combination of technologies. The rental information can include an identification number for identifying the particular electric technologies, a use period (rental period), a use fee, etc.” it suggests that the user is transmitting the NFT associated with the vehicle to claim or redeem access to it. Thus, is reasonably to interpret that the user possesses the NFT and provides it as proof of entitlement to the server in order to gain to access to the vehicle.)
the vehicle being associated with the non-fungible token, wherein (¶0010, The NFT can be associated with a particular asset (e.g., digital or physical), such as an image, art, music, or recording of a sports event. ¶0017, In some embodiments, the plurality of electric technologies are selected from electric cars, electric trucks, electric motorcycles, electric boats, electric jet skis, electric buggies, electric go-karts, electric motorsports, electric scooters, electric three-wheelers, electric agricultural equipment, electric off-road vehicles, electric artificial intelligence robots, electric virtual reality/augmented wearable gear, or combinations thereof. ¶0031, In some embodiments, each NFT includes a unique identification number that provides an immutable and secure record of the rental asset, and critical information such as the rental period, rental price, and specifications of the rental asset, allowing efficient tracking of rental asset ownership and enhancing transparency and accountability throughout the rental process. ¶0067, Thus, the leased electric products become greater assets. Collectable, tradeable, utility-like contracts (e.g., smart contracts) are created and liked to each NFT representation of the electric products. ¶0075, Thus, the disclosed system (which can be referred to the “Better Rent and the Decentralized Asset Rental Management System” (DARMS)) is a rental management platform that utilizes geolocation, blockchain, smart contracts, and NFT technology to provide a secure and efficient solution for property owners and renters, as illustrated in FIG. 4. As shown DARMS includes one or more assets (e.g., personal items, vehicles, motorsports, watercraft, equipment, sales products, luxury items, owned vicinities, coworking spaces, jewelry, and the like. The system is decentralized, such that one or more items of an owner are decentralized into NFTs that represent each rental asset and includes a unique identification number, critical information, and allows for efficient tracking of the asset(s).)
Karl does not disclose, however Azdoud teaches:
the non-fungible token includes a flag that can be switched to one of a first value and a second value by a smart contract, the smart contract sets the flag to the first value when it permits the transfer and sets the flag to the second value when it prohibits the transfer; and (¶0081, In order to enable the operations described in this invention, the NFT may also contain any of the following additional variables in memory for each token, along with the corresponding external functions to query them: ¶0082, isTransferLocked: whether the token is locked for transfers ¶0083, isConsumed: whether service was consumed (single-consumption NFTs) ¶0084, ConsumableCopies: number of copies available for consumption [0085] ProofConsumed: hash of proof of consumption(s) ¶0086, CopyPermitSignatures: digital signature(s) of copy permission certificates issued by the copyright holder (e.g. creator of the tattoo design) ¶0087, CopyrightOwnerAddress: public address of the copyright holder [0088] AmountServiceFeePaid: amount of pre-paid service fees ¶0089, MinimumServiceFee: minimum service fee to execute services. ¶0108, This function returns a logical True if the queried NFT is locked and a logical False if it is not locked. )
a processor configured to: (i) lock the non- fungible token in a first digital wallet of the holder and make the non-fungible token non- transferable in response to the communication apparatus receiving the temporary use request, (¶0296, one or more processors; ¶0297 one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform a process. ¶0095, Such transfer lock may be initiated in response to a specific stage of the service consumption (e.g., booking for redemption is made, services redeemed, etc.), and may be queried externally. ¶0100, One embodiment of the invention is the modification of standard NFT smart contract to lock transfer of NFT in a temporary or permanent basis. The smart contract transfer lock, be it permanent or temporary, disables the ability to transfer the NFT to another user. In some embodiments of the invention the temporary smart contract transfer lock may be implemented when booking an appointment for the application of a tattoo associated with the NFT. This guarantees that the NFT does not transfer to another wallet in the interim between booking and redemption of the tattoo… The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be initiated by the NFT owner, the service provider or by both. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be ended by the service provider or by both the service provider and the NFT owner. ¶0109, At step 323 in the booking process the NFT is locked for transfers by the booking system, by calling the temporary Lock function described above.)
locking the non-fungible token including requesting a terminal apparatus of the holder to prohibit transfer of the non-fungible token from the first digital wallet of the holder to another digital wallet, the requesting including requesting the terminal apparatus of the holder to generate transaction data including the smart contract that defines processing for switching the flag set to the first value to the second value: (¶0100, One embodiment of the invention is the modification of standard NFT smart contract to lock transfer of NFT in a temporary or permanent basis. The smart contract transfer lock, be it permanent or temporary, disables the ability to transfer the NFT to another user. In some embodiments of the invention the temporary smart contract transfer lock may be implemented when booking an appointment for the application of a tattoo associated with the NFT. This guarantees that the NFT does not transfer to another wallet in the interim between booking and redemption of the tattoo. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be reverted by the booking service provider if the booking is canceled, or the tattoo is otherwise not applied or incorrectly applied. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be initiated by the NFT owner, the service provider or by both. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be ended by the service provider or by both the service provider and the NFT owner. ¶0181, In some embodiments, the consumption flag of a tattoo service associated with the NFT may be switched from consumed to non-consumed to allow the beneficiary to receive the tattoo. The NFT may remain locked in the process.)
(ii) continue locking of the non- fungible token until a temporary use completion condition indicating completion of temporary use of the vehicle is satisfied, wherein the temporary use completion condition is satisfied when a key return completion condition indicating completion of return of a physical key for unlocking of a door of the vehicle is satisfied: (¶0100, One embodiment of the invention is the modification of standard NFT smart contract to lock transfer of NFT in a temporary or permanent basis. ¶0104, This function initiates locking of transfer of an NFT. This function throws (i.e., exits with an error) if the NFT is already locked. This function throws if not redeemable. The function throws unless the caller of the function (msg.sender) is the current owner of the token (ownerOf(tokenId)) or an authorized address for the NFT. This function may throw if “_serviceProvider” is not an approved operator such as an approved service provider (112 or 460). ¶0105, Event TemporaryLock(address _serviceProvider, uint256 tokenId); ¶0106, This event emits when an NFT temporary lock is initiated. ¶0107, Function isTransferLocked(uint256 tokenId) external view returns(bool). ¶0161, The NFT may be allowed or dis-allowed to circulate after the services are redeemed. If allowed, the temporary trading lock placed in step 323 is lifted in step 345, to allow trading of the service-consumed NFT: ¶0162, function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0166, Unlocking transfers enables transfers of the token between users on the market 450.)
(iii) after the temporary use completion condition is satisfied, unlock the non-fungible token; and (¶0161, The NFT may be allowed or dis-allowed to circulate after the services are redeemed. If allowed, the temporary trading lock placed in step 323 is lifted in step 345, to allow trading of the service-consumed NFT: ¶0162, function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0162, function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0163, This function initiates unlocking of transfer of an NFT. The function throws if the NFT is already unlocked. The function throws if the NFT is permanently locked. The function throws unless msg.sender (caller of the function) is the minting party of the NFT or the approved operator of the minting party of the NFT listed as “serviceProvider” in the temporary lock event. The function throw if “_owner” is not the owner of the NFT. The parameter _owner is the current owner of the NFT, the parameter “serviceProvider” is the service provider for the application of the tattoo and the parameter “tokenId” is the identifier of the NFT. ¶0164, event TemporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0165, This event is emitted when an NFT temporary lock is lifted. ¶0166, Unlocking transfers enables transfers of the token between users on the market 450. However, note that due to consumption of the services (reflected by the “isConsumed” variable set to True, or by lower values of the variable “ConsumableCopies”) the token's inherent value and its traded price on the secondary market 450 may be reduced.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl with Azdoud’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to prohibit the use of the vehicle while is being used by a user until the conditions of use are met by the user/object therefore preventing double booking of vehicles by multiple users at the same time .
The combination of Karl and Azdoud do not disclose, however Saleh teaches:
(iv) register on a distributed ledger network, a temporary use record indicating a record of temporary use of the vehicle during a first period of temporary use of the vehicle. (¶0044, Vehicle information collected before, during and/or after a vehicle's operation may be identified and stored in a transaction on a shared/distributed ledger, which may be generated and committed to the immutable ledger as determined by a permission granting consortium, and thus in a “decentralized” manner, such as via a blockchain membership group. ¶0055, The blockchain network 106 may have ledger 108 for storing data, such as rental-related data and transactions 110, that record the transport information, timestamps, and other related data. ¶0087, The transaction module 420 may record information, such as parties, credits, service descriptions, date, time, location, results, notifications, unexpected events, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl and Azdoud with Saleh’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to maintain a comprehensive and immutable record of all the transactions and activities associated with the vehicle. Combining these features enhances transparency, and operational efficiency across the vehicle lifecycle.
Furthermore, the claimed expression of “wherein the temporary use completion condition is satisfied when a key return completion condition indicating completion of return of a physical key for unlocking of a door of the vehicle is satisfied” does not move to distinguish over prior art as the it does not affect the positively recited steps in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 1. Azdoud further teaches:
when a locking completion condition indicating switching of the flag from the first value to the second value is satisfied after the locking processing, the processor is further configured to permit the temporary use. (¶0161, The NFT may be allowed or dis-allowed to circulate after the services are redeemed. If allowed, the temporary trading lock placed in step 323 is lifted in step 345, to allow trading of the service-consumed NFT: [0162] function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0165, This event is emitted when an NFT temporary lock is lifted. ¶0166, Unlocking transfers enables transfers of the token between users on the market 450. However, note that due to consumption of the services (reflected by the “isConsumed” variable set to True, or by lower values of the variable “ConsumableCopies”) the token's inherent value and its traded price on the secondary market 450 may be reduced.¶0171, If the client prefers not to book another appointment at the store, the store releases the temporary lock in step 363 using the function temporaryUnlock( ) presented above. ¶0380, determining the appointment or booking has been cancelled; and unlocking the NFT on the blockchain.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Azdoud’s additional teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to prohibit the use of the vehicle while is being used by the user therefore preventing double booking of objects by multiple users at the same time.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 9. Azdoud further teaches:
the processor is configured to refer to transaction data registered in a distributed ledger, and the locking completion condition includes registration of the transaction data indicating switching of the flag from the first value to the second value in the distributed ledger. (¶0105, Event TemporaryLock (address _serviceProvider, uint256 tokenId); ¶0106, This event emits when an NFT temporary lock is initiated. ¶0107, Function isTransferLocked(uint256 tokenId) external view returns(bool). ¶0108, This function returns a logical True if the queried NFT is locked and a logical False if it is not locked. ¶0161, The NFT may be allowed or dis-allowed to circulate after the services are redeemed. If allowed, the temporary trading lock placed in step 323 is lifted in step 345, to allow trading of the service-consumed NFT: ¶0162, function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0163, This function initiates unlocking of transfer of an NFT. The function throws if the NFT is already unlocked. The function throws if the NFT is permanently locked. The function throws unless msg.sender (caller of the function) is the minting party of the NFT or the approved operator of the minting party of the NFT listed as “serviceProvider” in the temporary lock event. The function throw if “_owner” is not the owner of the NFT. The parameter _owner is the current owner of the NFT, the parameter “serviceProvider” is the service provider for the application of the tattoo and the parameter “tokenId” is the identifier of the NFT. ¶0164, event TemporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0165, This event is emitted when an NFT temporary lock is lifted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Azdoud’s additional teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to maintain a traceable record of all transactions pertaining to the object so when another user requests use of the vehicle the system can determine the availability of the vehicle by referring to the data stored in the ledger.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 9. Azdoud further teaches:
the locking completion condition includes reception, by the communication apparatus, of a locking completion notification indicating switching of the flag from the first value to the second value. (¶0130, Any of the above verifications may be set as prerequisites to the operation of the automatic tattooing system 470 in step 332. Machine instructions 111 or other data necessary for execution of the tattoo (e.g., tattoo design 102, decryption keys of the design, etc.) may be acquired through the smart contract 105, conditional on the above verification requirements.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Azdoud’s additional teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to ensure that access to the vehicle is only granted after the locking state has been securely and verifiably established.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 1. Saleh further teaches:
the temporary use record includes a record of travel of the vehicle during the first period. (¶0044, Vehicle information collected before, during and/or after a vehicle's operation may be identified and stored in a transaction on a shared/distributed ledger, which may be generated and committed to the immutable ledger as determined by a permission granting consortium, and thus in a “decentralized” manner, such as via a blockchain membership group.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Saleh’s additional teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to keep a record of all of the vehicle travel and locations history to use for claims, billing, insurance and other purposes related to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Karl, Azdoub and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 1. The combination does not disclose, however Saleh teaches:
the vehicle is stored during a second period different from the first period, and the processor is further configured to register on the distributed ledger network, a storage record indicating a record of storage of the vehicle during the second period. (Saleh ¶0044, Vehicle information collected before, during and/or after a vehicle's operation may be identified and stored in a transaction on a shared/distributed ledger, which may be generated and committed to the immutable ledger as determined by a permission granting consortium, and thus in a “decentralized” manner, such as via a blockchain membership group.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Saleh’s additional teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to maintain a comprehensive and immutable record of all the transactions and activities associated with the vehicle, not only during periods of active use, but also during times when the vehicle is in storage. Combining these features enhances transparency, and operational efficiency across the vehicle lifecycle.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Karl, Azdoub and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 17. Saleh further teaches:
the storage record includes a maintenance record of the vehicle during the second period. (Saleh ¶0077, The server 276 may be receiving and processing data related to a vehicle's service requirements. As the service events occur, such as the vehicle sensor data indicates a need for fuel/charge, a maintenance service, etc., a smart contract may be used to invoke rules, thresholds, sensor information gathering, etc., which may be used to invoke the vehicle service event. The blockchain transaction data 280 is saved for each transaction, such as the access event, the subsequent updates to a vehicle's service status, event updates, etc. The transactions may include the parties, the requirements (e.g., 18 years of age, service eligible candidate, valid driver's license, etc.), compensation levels, the distance traveled during the event, the registered recipients permitted to access the event and host a vehicle service, rights/permissions, sensor data retrieved during the vehicle event operation to log details of the next service event and identify a vehicle's condition status, and thresholds used to make determinations about whether the service event was completed and whether the vehicle's condition status has changed. Saleh ¶0088, FIG. 4B illustrates an example blockchain vehicle configuration 440 for managing blockchain transactions between a service node (e.g., a gas station, a service center, a body shop, a rental center, automotive dealer, local service stop, delivery pickup center, etc.) and a vehicle, according to example embodiments. In this example, the vehicle 425 may have driven itself to a service node 442, because the vehicle needs service and/or needs to stop at a particular location. The service node 442 may perform a service (e.g., pimp gas) or may register the vehicle 425 for a service call at a particular time, with a particular strategy, such as oil change, battery charge or replacement, tire change or replacement, and any other transport related service. The services rendered 444 may be performed based on a smart contract, which is downloaded from or accessed via the blockchain 430 and identified for permission to perform such services for a particular rate of exchange. The services may be logged in the transaction log of the transaction module 420, the credits 412 are transferred to the service center 442 and the blockchain may log transactions to represent all the information regarding the recent service. In other embodiments, the blockchain 430 resides on the vehicle 425 and/or the service center server. In one example, a transport event may require a refuel or other vehicle service and the occupants may then be responsible for the asset value increase for such service. The service may be rendered via a blockchain notification, which is then used to redistribute the asset value to the occupants via their respective asset values. Responsibility for the service center activities can be based on asset transfer as described herein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Saleh’s additional teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to maintain a comprehensive and immutable record of all the maintenance transactions performed on the vehicle while it was in storage.
Regarding claim 20, Karl discloses:
receiving a temporary use request that requests temporary use of a vehicle by a holder of a non-fungible token, (¶0056, Information and functionality to select and make payment for rental of electric technologies 5 can be provided through the mobile device or other user interface. For example, a user can claim or reserve an electric technology or combination of technologies. The rental information can include an identification number for identifying the particular electric technologies, a use period (rental period), a use fee, etc. ¶0057, In some embodiments, a backend server can be configured to receive information from each of a plurality of users. The server processes information received from the users to enable each user to select and reserve a specific electric technology or combination of technologies. In some embodiments, the server receives an identification of a specific electric technology requested, the server verifies the availability state of the technology (e.g., not already reserved or rented by another user, sufficient battery charge level, etc.) and if available associates the electric technology with the requesting user for use. ¶0064, In some embodiments, the NFTs can be used as discounted coupons towards a corresponding technology combination payment. ¶0065, Thus, a user can create a working account capable of storing the NFTs between the accounts of various users. As a result, the simple exchange of typical currency (e.g., debit and credit cards) to be processed in exchange for signature NFT coupons that can be easily purchased. The NFT coupons can then be used to reserve one or more electric technologies as described above. ¶0066, In some embodiments, the NFTs can be mass marketed through social media platforms and sent via text message, reflecting a visual NFT coupon that can be used to redeem a discounted electric technology combination experience in real life.)
Although, the prior art does not explicitly state that information transferred to the server by the user is the NFT held by the user, this can be reasonably inferred from the context. Specially, the art describes NFTs being generated as coupons that users can redeem for access to a tangible item. This implies that the NFTs are associated with the object and held by individual users. Furthermore, when the art states that “…a user can claim or reserve an electric technology or combination of technologies. The rental information can include an identification number for identifying the particular electric technologies, a use period (rental period), a use fee, etc.” it suggests that the user is transmitting the NFT associated with the vehicle to claim or redeem access to it. Thus, is reasonably to interpret that the user possesses the NFT and provides it as proof of entitlement to access the vehicle to the server.
the vehicle being associated with the non-fungible token; and (¶0010, The NFT can be associated with a particular asset (e.g., digital or physical), such as an image, art, music, or recording of a sports event. ¶0017, In some embodiments, the plurality of electric technologies are selected from electric cars, electric trucks, electric motorcycles, electric boats, electric jet skis, electric buggies, electric go-karts, electric motorsports, electric scooters, electric three-wheelers, electric agricultural equipment, electric off-road vehicles, electric artificial intelligence robots, electric virtual reality/augmented wearable gear, or combinations thereof. ¶0031, In some embodiments, each NFT includes a unique identification number that provides an immutable and secure record of the rental asset, and critical information such as the rental period, rental price, and specifications of the rental asset, allowing efficient tracking of rental asset ownership and enhancing transparency and accountability throughout the rental process. ¶0067, Thus, the leased electric products become greater assets. Collectable, tradeable, utility-like contracts (e.g., smart contracts) are created and liked to each NFT representation of the electric products. ¶0075, Thus, the disclosed system (which can be referred to the “Better Rent and the Decentralized Asset Rental Management System” (DARMS)) is a rental management platform that utilizes geolocation, blockchain, smart contracts, and NFT technology to provide a secure and efficient solution for property owners and renters, as illustrated in FIG. 4. As shown DARMS includes one or more assets (e.g., personal items, vehicles, motorsports, watercraft, equipment, sales products, luxury items, owned vicinities, coworking spaces, jewelry, and the like. The system is decentralized, such that one or more items of an owner are decentralized into NFTs that represent each rental asset and includes a unique identification number, critical information, and allows for efficient tracking of the asset(s).)
Karl does not disclose, however Azdoud teaches:
locking the non-fungible token in a first digital wallet of the holder and making the non-fungible token non-transferable in response to the temporary use request, (¶0095, Such transfer lock may be initiated in response to a specific stage of the service consumption (e.g., booking for redemption is made, services redeemed, etc.), and may be queried externally. ¶0100, One embodiment of the invention is the modification of standard NFT smart contract to lock transfer of NFT in a temporary or permanent basis. The smart contract transfer lock, be it permanent or temporary, disables the ability to transfer the NFT to another user. In some embodiments of the invention the temporary smart contract transfer lock may be implemented when booking an appointment for the application of a tattoo associated with the NFT. This guarantees that the NFT does not transfer to another wallet in the interim between booking and redemption of the tattoo… The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be initiated by the NFT owner, the service provider or by both. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be ended by the service provider or by both the service provider and the NFT owner. ¶0109, At step 323 in the booking process the NFT is locked for transfers by the booking system, by calling the temporary Lock function described above.)
locking the non-fungible token including requesting a terminal apparatus of the holder to prohibit transfer of the non-fungible token from a first digital wallet of the holder to another wallet. (¶0100, One embodiment of the invention is the modification of standard NFT smart contract to lock transfer of NFT in a temporary or permanent basis. The smart contract transfer lock, be it permanent or temporary, disables the ability to transfer the NFT to another user. In some embodiments of the invention the temporary smart contract transfer lock may be implemented when booking an appointment for the application of a tattoo associated with the NFT. This guarantees that the NFT does not transfer to another wallet in the interim between booking and redemption of the tattoo. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be reverted by the booking service provider if the booking is canceled, or the tattoo is otherwise not applied or incorrectly applied. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be initiated by the NFT owner, the service provider or by both. The temporary smart contract transfer lock may be ended by the service provider or by both the service provider and the NFT owner.)
the requesting including requesting the terminal apparatus of the holder to generate transaction data including the smart contract that defines processing for switching the flag set to the first value to the second value. (¶0033, The smart contract can be used to support the sale or transfer of other cryptographic assets and their associated rights or services. The smart contract can be computer code used to implement transactions of a contract. The computer code can be executed in a secure platform that supports recording transactions in blockchains, ledgers, or the like. ¶0047, In an embodiment of automatic tattooing, automatic tattoo machines may interact with the smart contract 105 (FIG. 2) to authorize and execute the tattooing service 202 associated with the NFT 106 and modify the NFT state to record the consumption event. ¶0132, If the tattoo is approved, the operation continues with step 340. The NFT is marked as consumed by calling the function Consume: [0133] Function Consume(uint256 tokenID) where “tokenID” is the identifier of the tattoo NFT. The function executes if it is called by an authorized address, for example an administrator address, or the address which belongs to the automatic tattooing systems (470 or 50) of the service provider (460 or 112), and is recorded by the smart contract during the booking step 320 of the booking process. ¶0140, The proof of consumption and/or proof of client approval may be retained off-chain for records, or may be submitted to the NFT smart contract as an argument of the Consume function, in order to be recorded on the blockchain. ¶0181, In some embodiments, the consumption flag of a tattoo service associated with the NFT may be switched from consumed to non-consumed to allow the beneficiary to receive the tattoo. The NFT may remain locked in the process.)
continuing locking of the non-fungible token until a temporary use completion condition indicating completion of temporary use of the (¶0100, One embodiment of the invention is the modification of standard NFT smart contract to lock transfer of NFT in a temporary or permanent basis. ¶0104, This function initiates locking of transfer of an NFT. This function throws (i.e., exits with an error) if the NFT is already locked. This function throws if not redeemable. The function throws unless the caller of the function (msg.sender) is the current owner of the token (ownerOf(tokenId)) or an authorized address for the NFT. This function may throw if “_serviceProvider” is not an approved operator such as an approved service provider (112 or 460). ¶0105, Event TemporaryLock(address _serviceProvider, uint256 tokenId); ¶0106, This event emits when an NFT temporary lock is initiated. ¶0107, Function isTransferLocked(uint256 tokenId) external view returns(bool). ¶0161, The NFT may be allowed or dis-allowed to circulate after the services are redeemed. If allowed, the temporary trading lock placed in step 323 is lifted in step 345, to allow trading of the service-consumed NFT: ¶0162, function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0166, Unlocking transfers enables transfers of the token between users on the market 450.)
after the temporary use completion condition is satisfied, unlocking the non-fungible token; and (¶0161, The NFT may be allowed or dis-allowed to circulate after the services are redeemed. If allowed, the temporary trading lock placed in step 323 is lifted in step 345, to allow trading of the service-consumed NFT: ¶0162, function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0162, function temporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0163, This function initiates unlocking of transfer of an NFT. The function throws if the NFT is already unlocked. The function throws if the NFT is permanently locked. The function throws unless msg.sender (caller of the function) is the minting party of the NFT or the approved operator of the minting party of the NFT listed as “serviceProvider” in the temporary lock event. The function throw if “_owner” is not the owner of the NFT. The parameter _owner is the current owner of the NFT, the parameter “serviceProvider” is the service provider for the application of the tattoo and the parameter “tokenId” is the identifier of the NFT. ¶0164, event TemporaryUnlock(uint256 tokenId); ¶0165, This event is emitted when an NFT temporary lock is lifted. ¶0166, Unlocking transfers enables transfers of the token between users on the market 450. However, note that due to consumption of the services (reflected by the “isConsumed” variable set to True, or by lower values of the variable “ConsumableCopies”) the token's inherent value and its traded price on the secondary market 450 may be reduced.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl with Azdoud’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to prohibit the use of the vehicle while is being used by a user until the conditions of use are met by the user/object therefore preventing double booking of vehicles by multiple users at the same time .
The combination of Karl and Azdoud do not disclose, however Saleh teaches:
registering on a distributed ledger network, a temporary use record indicating a record of temporary use of the vehicle during a first period of temporary use of the vehicle. (¶0044, Vehicle information collected before, during and/or after a vehicle's operation may be identified and stored in a transaction on a shared/distributed ledger, which may be generated and committed to the immutable ledger as determined by a permission granting consortium, and thus in a “decentralized” manner, such as via a blockchain membership group. ¶0055, The blockchain network 106 may have ledger 108 for storing data, such as rental-related data and transactions 110, that record the transport information, timestamps, and other related data. ¶0087, The transaction module 420 may record information, such as parties, credits, service descriptions, date, time, location, results, notifications, unexpected events, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl and Azdoud with Saleh’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to maintain a comprehensive and immutable record of all the transactions and activities associated with the vehicle. Combining these features enhances transparency, and operational efficiency across the vehicle lifecycle.
Furthermore, the claimed expression of “wherein the temporary use completion condition is satisfied when a key return completion condition indicating completion of return of a physical key for unlocking of a door of the vehicle is satisfied” does not move to distinguish over prior art as the it does not affect the positively recited steps in the claim.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Karl, Azdoub and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 1. Azdoub further teaches:
unlocking the non-fungible token includes requesting the terminal apparatus to generate transaction data including the smart contract that defines processing for switching the flag set to the second value to the first value(¶0033, The smart contract can be used to support the sale or transfer of other cryptographic assets and their associated rights or services. The smart contract can be computer code used to implement transactions of a contract. The computer code can be executed in a secure platform that supports recording transactions in blockchains, ledgers, or the like. ¶0047, In an embodiment of automatic tattooing, automatic tattoo machines may interact with the smart contract 105 (FIG. 2) to authorize and execute the tattooing service 202 associated with the NFT 106 and modify the NFT state to record the consumption event. ¶0132, If the tattoo is approved, the operation continues with step 340. The NFT is marked as consumed by calling the function Consume: [0133] Function Consume(uint256 tokenID) where “tokenID” is the identifier of the tattoo NFT. The function executes if it is called by an authorized address, for example an administrator address, or the address which belongs to the automatic tattooing systems (470 or 50) of the service provider (460 or 112), and is recorded by the smart contract during the booking step 320 of the booking process. ¶0140, The proof of consumption and/or proof of client approval may be retained off-chain for records, or may be submitted to the NFT smart contract as an argument of the Consume function, in order to be recorded on the blockchain. ¶0181, In some embodiments, the consumption flag of a tattoo service associated with the NFT may be switched from consumed to non-consumed to allow the beneficiary to receive the tattoo. The NFT may remain locked in the process.)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl, Azdoud and Saleh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (PE2E translation of CN106408376 A published on 02/15/2017).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 1. The combination does not disclose, however Liu teaches:
the processor is configured to refer to transaction data registered in a distributed ledger, and
the key return completion condition includes registration of the transaction data indicating completion of return of the key in the distributed ledger, or reception, by the communication apparatus, of a key return completion notification indicating completion of return of the key. (P.5 ¶2, S150: virtual key invalidated mobile terminal after the user pay rental fee, sending the key invalidation instruction to leased vehicle so that user. when the user paid user, server to operate the virtual key in the user mobile terminal to finish the returning process.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Liu’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to check the database for the key information and determine if the key information registered in the distributed ledger is located in the vehicle or return location and then recording the information in the ledger to maintain an immutable history of the transactions.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl, Azdoub and Saleh as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Foligno ( US 2023/0370267 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 9. The combination does not disclose, however Foligno teaches:
the temporary use permission processing includes permission of unlocking of a door of the vehicle or permission of start-up of a travel system of the vehicle. (¶0008, In this case, the owner of the motor vehicle would generate a non-fungible token for the third party such that, with the digital key resulting from the generated non-fungible token, only a release of a function of the motor vehicle, for example unlocking the vehicle doors, is exclusively possible between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. The third party using the motor vehicle can load the non-fungible token onto his or her mobile device or the owner can send the non-fungible token applicable to the third party so that the third party can use the motor vehicle, i.e., unlock the vehicle doors and start the motor of the motor vehicle, but exclusively during the period of time specified by the owner. Otherwise, the owner could also release the use on a daily basis so that the third party can only use the vehicle on a weekend or for a single week from a predefined starting point. ¶0020, The system 10 serves for a person-specific and time-controlled release of a plurality of functions of the motor vehicle 21. Upon successful release, at least the unlocking and locking of the vehicle doors and starting the engine of the motor vehicle 21 is possible. In addition, further person-specific functions of the motor vehicle 21 can be released.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Foligno’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to provide permission to open or operate a vehicle for temporary use.
Claim 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl, Azdoub and Saleh as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Marsh (US 20230082841 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Karl, Azdoub and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 1. The combination does not disclose, however Marsh teaches:
the distributed ledger network is different from a distributed ledger network where the non-fungible token is minted. (¶0052, The tokens 11 can be implemented on a given blockchain and subsequently traded and their ownership recorded on different blockchains utilizing cross-chain utilities.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoub and Saleh with Marsh’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to provide data privacy by keeping sensitive data separate from public available data as well as to save on storage costs.
Regarding claim 19, Karl, Azdoud and Saleh disclose each and every element of claim 17. The combination does not disclose, however Marsh teaches:
the distributed ledger network is different from a distributed ledger network where the non-fungible token is minted. (¶0052, The tokens 11 can be implemented on a given blockchain and subsequently traded and their ownership recorded on different blockchains utilizing cross-chain utilities.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the features of Karl, Azdoud and Saleh with Marsh’s teaching. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to combine these features in order to in order to provide data privacy by keeping sensitive data separate from public available data as well as to save on storage costs.
Response to Arguments
Priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119
Claim priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119 has been acknowledge.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101
The applicant presents two assertions, i.e. “the claims are not directed to an abstract idea” and “the claims amount to significantly more than an abstract idea”. The basis to these assertions are based on the applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8.
Regarding the applicant’s assertion that “the claims are not directed to an abstract idea”, is not persuasive. The examiner maintains that the claims remain directed to an abstract idea, specifically directed toward certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). As per MPEP 2106.04(a), in step 2A prong one to determine whether a claim recites an abstract idea, the specific limitations in the claim under examination must be identified and analyzed to determine whether they fall within at least one of the recognize groupings of abstract ideas. If one of the limitations in the examined claim falls within one of the groups, it is reasonable to conclude that the claims recite an abstract idea and the examination continues to step 2A prong two.
Regarding the applicant’s assertion that “the claims amount to significantly more than an abstract idea”, are also not persuasive. The claim invention pertains to a method to restrict use of a vehicle for a temporary period of time which is an implementation of certain methods of organizing human activity. Further, the additional elements of a first digital wallet, a terminal apparatus, another digital wallet, a smart contract, a distributed ledger network and a non-fungible token, as recited in the claim, are merely additional elements representing conventional computer technologies employed to apply the underlying abstract idea. To meet the requirements for patent eligibility, the claim must do more than simply apply this abstract idea using generic technological tools. Therefore, the recited claim, does not include any additional features that rise to the level of an inventive concept under step 2B of the subject matter eligibility framework.
As such the claims remain within an abstract idea and rejection is maintained based on the
newly amended claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant makes a broad assertion that the cited references fail to teach or suggest the claimed limitations. As set forth in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection above, the cited references, alone or in combination, disclose or render obvious each of the claimed features. Applicant has not specifically addressed the Examiner’s findings or explained hoe the cited references fail to teach the claimed subject matter. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
CN 113674483 A to Yang et. al. discloses: The invention relates to a vehicle renting, specifically to a vehicle renting method based on blockchain, the tenant issues the renting request to the intelligent intermediary node; the intelligent intermediary node receives the renting request and performs vehicle matching; the intelligent intermediary node sends the vehicle information of the filter to the tenant for confirmation; and returning the confirmation result to the intelligent intermediary node; the tenant confirms the rental payment and guarantee deposit; the intelligent intermediary node will complete the transaction upper chain record; after the lease activity is finished, the owner checks the rental vehicle in the predetermined time; and submitting the check condition to the chain storage; the intelligent contract according to the owner checking condition of the rental vehicle, automatic executing cost transfer; The technical solution provided by the invention can effectively overcome the defect that the current technology cannot effectively solve the trust problem of the car renting two parties.
EP 4258592 A1 to Guy et. al. discloses: An example embodiment may involve, based on input from an entity, defining, by a computing system, a non-fungible token (NFT) that is associated with metadata representing a value and an expiry time that defines when the NFT expires, wherein the NFT incorporates smart contract functionality to emit an event when the NFT expires, and wherein the NFT is usable by its holder to modify behavior of a software application; submitting, by the computing system, the NFT as an entry proposed for addition to a cryptographically-immutable distributed database; receiving, by the computing system, confirmation that the entry has been added to the cryptographically-immutable distributed database; and listening, by the computing system, for the event, wherein firing of the event causes the value associated with the NFT to be transferred to the entity.
JP 2020144559 A to Homma discloses: PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To provide a system for providing a for-vehicle advertisement adapted for display, with a duplicated advertisement inhibited, to a vehicle occupant applied to use car sharing, ride sharing or a taxi, etc.
SOLUTION: A system for providing a for-vehicle advertisement 1 comprises a vehicle 30 that is shared by a plurality of users and has a vehicle-sided display 34 to display an advertisement to a user in use, an information communication terminal 10 that sends a request for a temporary use of the vehicle 30, and an administrative server 20 that permits a temporary use of the vehicle 30 and sends any of advertisement data stored in a second memory 22 to the vehicle 30. The information communication terminal 10 acquires already-provided advertisement identification information an already-provided advertisement displayed on the vehicle-sided display 34 can be identified from the vehicle 30 and stores it in a first memory 12, and sends the already-provided advertisement identification information together with the request for a temporary use of the vehicle 30 to the administrative server 20. The administrative server 20 selects unprovided advertisement data based on the already-provided advertisement identification information and sends it to the vehicle 30.
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/STEVEN S KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3698