Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 3rd, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steger (US 2023/0142548).
Regarding claim 1, Steger discloses a spectacle frame (Figs. 1-8, element 100) having electronic components integrated therein ([0029], “insert 100 may be modified to form a pre-assembled or modified insert to include one or more parts, including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB), antenna, heatsink, or various other parts suitable for an electronic eyewear device”), comprising:
at least one insert having a base structure ([0025], “an electronic eyewear device frame insert 100 that is composed of a first material 121”), the base structure being employed to accommodate the electronic components ([0029], “a flexible printed circuit board (PCB), antenna, heatsink, or various other parts suitable for an electronic eyewear device”);
the electronic components assembled onto the base structure of the at least one insert ([0029], “insert to include one or more parts, including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB)”, it is implicit that the electronics are on the insert 100); and
a plastic resin (126) encapsulating the electronic components at least partially ([0033], “the mold is filled with a second material in an amount sufficient to cover the insert to a desired thickness”), wherein the plastic resin is affixed to the at least one insert (as shown in Figs. 4 and 5a, the insert is affixed inside the resin),
wherein the at least one insert and at least a part of the assembled electronic components are securely embedded within the plastic resin (as shown in Figs. 5A-5B, the insert is embedded in the resin outer).
Regarding claim 2, Steger further discloses wherein the base structure has geometrical depressions (108, 110) for at least one of: accommodating the electronic components, holding the at least one insert in place during a process of encapsulation within the plastic resin ([0032], “the camera mount openings can also be used in addition to, or instead of the eye lens rims depending on their dimensions and support capability for the insert.”, examiner interprets the openings to be depressions).
Regarding claim 3, Steger further discloses wherein the base structure has geometrical protrusions (108, 110) for at least one of: orienting the electronic components, holding the at least one insert in place during a process of encapsulation within the plastic resin ([0032], “the camera mount openings can also be used in addition to, or instead of the eye lens rims depending on their dimensions and support capability for the insert.”, examiner interprets the camera mounts to be protrusions that protrude out from the lens rims 104 and 106 that hold electronic components (cameras)).
Regarding claim 4, Steger further discloses wherein the electronic components are assembled onto the base structure of the at least one insert using a printed circuit board ([0029], “insert to include one or more parts, including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB)”).
Regarding claim 5, Steger further discloses wherein the electronic components are assembled onto the base structure of the at least one insert using direct contacts and wiring that are applied onto the at least one insert ([0029], “insert to include one or more parts, including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB)”).
Regarding claim 6, Steger discloses a spectacle frame having electronic components integrated therein (Figs. 1-8, [0024], “The frame insert 100 for the electronic eyewear device”), comprising:
a printed circuit board onto which the electronic components are assembled ([0029], “insert to include one or more parts, including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB)”); and
a plastic resin encapsulating the electronic components at least partially, wherein the plastic resin is affixed to the PCB ([0033], “after the insert is releasably attached to the mold, the mold is filled with a second material in an amount sufficient to cover the insert to a desired thickness”),
wherein the PCB and at least a part of the electronic components are securely embedded within the plastic resin (as shown in Fig. 5A, the insert comprising the PCB is embedded in the resin).
Regarding claim 7, Steger further discloses wherein the electronic components comprise at least one of: a processor, a digital signal processor, at least one light detector, at least one light emitter, at least one sensor, at least one microphone, at least one power supply, at least one transducer that is to be employed to generate vibrations ([0029], “including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB), antenna, heatsink, or various other parts suitable for an electronic eyewear device”, examiner interprets the antenna to be a sensor).
Regarding claim 8, Steger discloses a method for manufacturing a spectacle frame having electronic components integrated therein (Figs. 1-8, [0024], “The frame insert 100 for the electronic eyewear device”), comprising:
assembling the electronic components onto a base structure of at least one insert ([0025], “an electronic eyewear device frame insert 100 that is composed of a first material 121”, [0029], “insert 100 may be modified to form a pre-assembled or modified insert to include one or more parts, including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB)”);
placing the at least one insert with the assembled electronic components into a mould (406);
injecting a plastic resin into the mould (408), thereby encapsulating the electronic components at least partially and affixing the plastic resin to the at least one insert (408, [0033], “mold is filled with a second material in an amount sufficient to cover the insert to a desired thickness”); and
curing the plastic resin (410), wherein the at least one insert and at least a part of the assembled electronic components are securely embedded within the plastic resin ([0037], “the second material 126 encases the front of the frame 101”).
Regarding claim 10, Steger further discloses wherein the base structure has geometrical depressions (108, 110) for at least one of: accommodating the electronic components, holding the at least one insert in place during the steps of injecting and curing “the camera mount openings can also be used in addition to, or instead of the eye lens rims depending on their dimensions and support capability for the insert.”, examiner interprets the openings to be depressions).
Regarding claim 11, Steger further discloses wherein the base structure has geometrical protrusions (108, 110) for at least one of: orienting the electronic components, holding the at least one insert in place during the steps of injecting and curing ([0032], “the camera mount openings can also be used in addition to, or instead of the eye lens rims depending on their dimensions and support capability for the insert.”, examiner interprets the camera mounts to be protrusions that protrude out from the lens rims 104 and 106 that hold electronic components (cameras)).
Regarding claim 14, Steger further discloses wherein the electronic components comprise at least one of: a processor, a digital signal processor, at least one light detector, at least one light emitter, at least one sensor, at least one microphone, at least one power supply, at least one transducer that is to be employed to generate vibrations ([0029], “including but not limited to a flexible printed circuit board (PCB), antenna, heatsink, or various other parts suitable for an electronic eyewear device”, examiner interprets the antenna to be a sensor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steger (US 2023/0142548) in view of Sonthonnax (US 2015/0116653).
Regarding claim 9, Steger discloses as is set forth in claim 8 rejection above but does not specifically disclose further comprising manufacturing the at least one insert using any one of: injection moulding, additive manufacturing, machining.
However Sonthonnax, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a spectacle frame, teaches further comprising manufacturing the at least one insert (Figs. 1-3, element 7) using any one of: injection moulding, additive manufacturing, machining ([0033], “by injection molding of polyamide 12 mixed with a liquid dye, in a third mold, a third layer (7) of the element to be manufactured, overmolded with the first (5) and second (6) layers”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the spectacle frame of Steger with the further comprising manufacturing the at least one insert using any one of: injection moulding, additive manufacturing, machining as taught by Sonthonnax, for the purpose of manufacturing eyeglass frame with good physico-chemical stability ([0008]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steger (US 2023/0142548) in view of Kmecová (US 2023/0296922).
Regarding claim 12, Steger discloses as is set forth in claim 8 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the step of assembling the electronic components comprises: assembling the electronic components onto a printed circuit board; and mounting the PCB on the base structure of the at least one insert.
However Kmecová, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a spectacle frame, teaches wherein the step of assembling the electronic components comprises (Figs. 5-6): assembling the electronic components ([0132], “Sub-assembly 500 in the shown embodiment comprises first housing 501, enclosing a first electronic device part (not shown) including a battery”) onto a printed circuit board (504c); and mounting the PCB on the base structure of the at least one insert (504B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the spectacle frame of Steger with the wherein the step of assembling the electronic components comprises: assembling the electronic components onto a printed circuit board; and mounting the PCB on the base structure of the at least one insert as taught by Kmecová, for the purpose of protecting the device from moisture and provide electrical insulation ([0031-0032]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steger (US 2023/0142548) in view of Caspari (US 2025/0076685).
Regarding claim 13, Steger discloses as is set forth in claim 8 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the step of assembling the electronic components comprises: applying direct contacts and wiring onto the base structure of the at least one insert using at least one of: a moulded interconnect device, laser direct structuring, printed electronics, two-shot moulding; and gluing the electronic components onto the direct contacts using a conductive glue.
However Caspari, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a spectacle frame, teaches wherein the step of assembling the electronic components comprises (Figs. 1-4): applying direct contacts and wiring onto the base structure of the at least one insert (52) using at least one of: a moulded interconnect device, laser direct structuring, printed electronics, two-shot moulding ([0027], “The electronic part may be a printed circuit board with connected LEDs”); and gluing the electronic components onto the direct contacts using a conductive glue ([0064], “The light device comprises at least one light emitting diode (LED) soldered”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the spectacle frame of Steger with the wherein the step of assembling the electronic components comprises: applying direct contacts and wiring onto the base structure of the at least one insert using at least one of: a moulded interconnect device, laser direct structuring, printed electronics, two-shot moulding; and gluing the electronic components onto the direct contacts using a conductive glue as taught by Caspari, for the purpose of providing indirect illumination light ([0014]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Bhalla (US 2023/0168517), Uhm (US 2023/0083895), Castañeda (US 2019/0265508), Moore (US 2019/0198981), teach a spectacle frame having electronic components integrated therein, comprising: at least one insert having a base structure, the base structure being employed to accommodate the electronic components; the electronic components assembled onto the base structure of the at least one insert.
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872