DETAILED ACTION
In the response filed August 11, 2025, the Applicant amended claims 1 and 19; canceled claims 12 and 16; and added claims 21 and 22. Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-22, are pending in the current application.
Notice of AIA Status
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on August 7, 2025, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 11,836,736 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments for claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-22, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been considered but are unpersuasive. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the steps describe or set-forth receiving, associating, and displaying customer data to a customer for customer onboarding, which amounts to commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). Receiving customer data and providing options to customers as a part of an onboarding process amounts to commercial interactions wherein the interaction pertains to the order from a vendor and the courier of the order. These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Applicant argues the claims recite one or more elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as it provides a technology-based solution to a technology-based problem by securing data while avoiding authentication. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not explicitly disclose any form of security or security measures. The transfer of telematics data and the display of the data to the customer is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(f). Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Applicant’s arguments remain unpersuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-11, 13-15, 17, 18, 21, and 22, are drawn to processes and claims 19 and 20 are drawn to a device, each of which is within the four statutory categories (e.g., a process, a machine). (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A – Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether they recite a judicial exception.
Claim 1 (representative of claim 19) recites/describes the following steps:
“receiving, … acquisition data comprising the subject information associated with a subject;”
“receiving telematics data associated with the subject;”
“associating the telematics data with a subject data object that comprises at least a portion of the subject information;”
“…receiving a first indication based on interaction…”
“…display at least a portion of the telematics data … while the subject data object is pending onboarding, such that the acquisition data is configured to facilitate access to the telematics data… while the subject data object is pending onboarding,”
“…display a glovebox interface, wherein the glovebox interface is configured to (i) display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject and/or (ii) display at least one icon or menu item that causes the graphical user interface to display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject when selected by the user of the user device.”
These steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth receiving, associating, and displaying telematics data to a user for customer onboarding, which amounts to commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 21 recites/describes the following steps:
“receiving, … acquisition data comprising the subject information associated with a subject;”
“receiving telematics data associated with the subject;”
“associating the telematics data with a subject data object that comprises at least a portion of the subject information;”
“…receiving a first indication based on interaction…”
“…display at least a portion of the telematics data … while the subject data object is pending onboarding, such that the acquisition data is configured to facilitate access to the telematics data… while the subject data object is pending onboarding,”
“…generating a data slug and associating the data slug with the subject data object to cause the subject data object to be associated with the indication of pending onboarding, wherein removing the indication of pending onboarding comprises removing the data slug following completion of onboarding.”
These steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth receiving, associating, and displaying telematics data to a user for customer onboarding and determining a completion of onboarding, which amounts to commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Each of the depending claims likewise recite/describe these steps (by incorporation - and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Any elements recited in a dependent claim that are not specifically identified/addressed by the Examiner under step 2A (prong two) or step 2B of this analysis shall be understood to be an additional part of the abstract idea recited by that particular claim.
Step 2A – Prong Two:
The claims recite the additional elements/limitations of: “a service onboarding system from a provider system,” “a graphical user interface at a user device,” (claim 1); “an apparatus for pre-onboarding user access control to subject information, the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory,” “a graphical user interface at a user device,” (claim 19).
The claims further recite the additional elements/limitations of: “a communication channel,” (claim 5); “a user communication channel,” (claim 8); “a cellular communication channel,” (claim 9).
The claims also recite the additional elements/limitations of: “causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology;” (claims 1, 19, and 21).
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a service onboarding system from a provider system,” “a graphical user interface at a user device,” (claim 1); “an apparatus for pre-onboarding user access control to subject information, the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory,” “a graphical user interface at a user device,” (claim 19); “a communication channel,” (claim 5); “a user communication channel,” (claim 8); “a cellular communication channel,” (claim 9), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See § MPEP 2106.05(f).
The recited additional elements of “causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology;” (claims 1, 19, and 21), simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea; mere post-solution activity in conjunction with an abstract idea). The term “extra-solution activity” is understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. The recited additional elements are deemed “extra-solution” because they are merely presenting data/information to a user. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Remaining dependent claims 2-11, 13-15, 17, 18, 20, and 22, either recite the same additional elements as noted above or fail to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B:
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2,” the requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a service onboarding system from a provider system,” “a graphical user interface at a user device,” (claim 1); “an apparatus for pre-onboarding user access control to subject information, the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory,” “a graphical user interface at a user device,” (claim 19); “a communication channel,” (claim 5); “a user communication channel,” (claim 8); “a cellular communication channel,” (claim 9), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recited additional elements of “causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology;” (claims 1, 19, and 21), simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea; mere post-solution activity in conjunction with an abstract idea). These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, additionally amount to well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, appended to the judicial exception. These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, are well-understood, routine and conventional to those in the field of user interfaces in computer devices. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Remaining dependent claims 2-11, 13-15, 17, 18, 20, and 22, either recite the same additional elements as noted above or fail to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11, 13-15, and 17-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elder (US 2015/0286994 A1) in view of Neuhaeuser (US 2023/0171593 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Elder discloses a computer-implemented method for pre-onboarding user access control to subject information (Par. 0031], In some embodiments, an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user inter faces for registering users), the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, at a service onboarding system from a provider system, acquisition data comprising the subject information associated with a subject (Par. [0068], The service facility may have access to and be able to review records of work performed on the vehicle including details about types of service performed, where service was performed, what parts were used, where the parts were obtained, and warranty status of those parts);
receiving telematics data associated with the subject (Par. [0068], Service technicians can also review results of diagnostic tests previously performed on the vehicle; Par. [0076], vehicle status 320 data may be downloaded from a computer associated with the vehicle 434 by a technician of a service facility 408 performing work on the vehicle);
associating the telematics data with a subject data object that comprises at least a portion of the subject information (Par. [0086], The system may then automatically extract information from the electronic file to update the service record 332 in data structure 300. The record of repairs or service may include information Such as the date of the service, vehicle mileage, where the service was performed, a name of the service technician, parts installed on the vehicle, a brand or manufacturer of the parts, a serial number of the parts, warranty information of the parts, images or photos illustrating repairs or damage noticed or repaired, comments describing the service, maintenance, or repairs, comments describing overall condition or service status or history of the vehicle, copies of receipts or invoices, and other such information);
causing the graphical user interface to display at least a portion of the telematics data on the user device while the subject data object is pending onboarding, such that the acquisition data is configured to facilitate access to the telematics data on the user device while the subject data object is pending onboarding (Par. [0031], displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.); and
causing the graphical user interface to display a glovebox interface, wherein the glovebox interface is configured to (i) display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject and/or (ii) display at least one icon or menu item that causes the graphical user interface to display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject when selected by the user of the user device (Par. [0010], The website also allows users to view vehicle manufacturer recommended preventative and periodic maintenance schedules for a vehicle; Par. [0031], an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user interfaces for registering users, displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.).
Elder does not explicitly disclose causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology. Neuhaeuser teaches causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology (Par. [0069], The HMI guides the customer to the management server touchpoint, e.g., by showing a QR code which opens the management server app or the management server web portal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle record system of Elder to include the device interface abilities of Neuhaeuser since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. As in Neuhaeuser, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the code reading and graphical user interface software to Elder’s device communicating with the records system with the predicted result of transmitting vehicle data as needed in Elder.
Regarding claim 2, Elder discloses further comprising: receiving, at the service onboarding system following displaying at least the portion of the telematics data on the user device (Par. [0068]), a second indication via the graphical user interface at the user device, wherein the second indication is indicative of the user of the user device completing onboarding (Par. [0059], Once a user has registered with the system 100, the user may access information stored in database 135 over network 120; Par. [0064], By registering with the system 100, the vehicle owner 404 may also receive access to other features of the system. In an embodiment, the system 100 may optionally send emails, Voice messages to an owner's phone number, and/or text message reminders to the vehicle owner when recommended preventative maintenance is due or expected to be due based upon one or more of the age or mileage of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 3, Elder discloses further comprising: causing rendering, via the user device in response to receiving the second indication, of a user onboarding interface comprising a set of user information input fields (Par. [0046], The owner information 328 field may include information about owners of a vehicle, including a name, mailing address, billing address, phone number, email address, and owner interest type. Preferences of the owner, such as a preferred contact method for alerts generated by the system, may also be stored in field 328).
Regarding claim 4, Elder discloses wherein at least one of the set of user information input fields is automatically filled based on user information received from the service onboarding system (Par. [0076], The system 100 may use network 120 to automatically retrieve information from one or more registered users).
Regarding claim 11, Elder does not explicitly disclose further comprising causing, in response to receiving the first indication triggered by interaction with the onboarding hyperlink, the user device to initiate a web-based service application associated with the service onboarding system, wherein the web-based service application is initiated based on the subject data object. Neuhaeuser teaches causing, in response to receiving the first indication triggered by interaction with the onboarding hyperlink, the user device to initiate a web-based service application associated with the service onboarding system, wherein the web-based service application is initiated based on the subject data object (Par. [0069], The HMI guides the customer to the management server touchpoint, e.g., by showing a QR code which opens the management server app or the management server web portal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle record system of Elder to include the device interface abilities of Neuhaeuser since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. As in Neuhaeuser, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the code reading and graphical user interface software to Elder’s device communicating with the records system with the predicted result of transmitting vehicle data as needed in Elder.
Regarding claim 13, Elder discloses wherein the service onboarding system and the provider system communicate via a first set of application programming interfaces, and the service onboarding system and the user device communicate via a second set of application programming interfaces (Par. [0027], These computers 105, 110, and 115 may also have any of a variety of applications, including for example, database client and/or server applications, and web browser applications. Alternatively, the computers 105, 110, and 115 may be any other electronic device, such as a client computer, laptop, Internet-enabled mobile telephone or smartphone, a computer built into a vehicle (including a computer or processor that monitors, records, and controls the vehicle's performance) and/or tablet computer, capable of communicating via a network (e.g., the network 120 described below), running programs and applications, and/or displaying and navigating web pages or other types of electronic documents).
Regarding claim 14, Elder discloses further comprising: generating a temporary user data object and associating the temporary user data object with the subject data object while the subject data object is pending onboarding; and associating the temporary user data object with the user device while the subject data object is pending onboarding, wherein a user data object is generated based on assigning the temporary user data object to the user (Par. [0033], Similarly, any necessary files for performing the functions attributed to the computers 105, 110, 115, 125, 130 may be stored locally on the respective computer and/or remotely, as appropriate).
Regarding claim 15, Elder discloses further comprising causing the graphical user interface to display a plurality of icons and/or menu items associated with the subject, wherein the plurality of icons and/or menu items comprise at least one of: a maintenance schedule icon or menu item, a recalls icon or menu item, a roadside icon or menu item, a tech support icon or menu item, a home icon or menu item, a deals icon or menu item, a glovebox icon or menu item, and/or a menu icon or menu item (Par. [0010], The website also allows users to view vehicle manufacturer recommended preventative and periodic maintenance schedules for a vehicle; Par. [0031], an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user interfaces for registering users, displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, Elder discloses further comprising causing the graphical user interface to display a protection product interface, wherein the protection product interface is configured to initiate a protection product claim by the user of the user device (Par. [0010], The website also allows users to view vehicle manufacturer recommended preventative and periodic maintenance schedules for a vehicle; Par. [0031], an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user interfaces for registering users, displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.; Par. [0041], The vehicle information 316 may also include information such as a license plate number, registration information, vehicle title information, insurance information, and pictures of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 18, Elder discloses wherein the telematics data comprises diagnostic data and/or mileage data (Par. [0068], Service technicians can also review results of diagnostic tests previously performed on the vehicle; Par. [0076], vehicle status 320 data may be downloaded from a computer associated with the vehicle 434 by a technician of a service facility 408 performing work on the vehicle).
Regarding claim 19, Elder discloses an apparatus for pre-onboarding user access control to subject information (Par. 0031], In some embodiments, an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user inter faces for registering users), the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory, the at least one non-transitory memory having computer-coded instructions stored thereon (Par. [0091]), the computer-coded instructions in execution with the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a provider system, acquisition data comprising the subject information associated with a subject (Par. [0068], The service facility may have access to and be able to review records of work performed on the vehicle including details about types of service performed, where service was performed, what parts were used, where the parts were obtained, and warranty status of those parts);
receive telematics data associated with the subject (Par. [0068], Service technicians can also review results of diagnostic tests previously performed on the vehicle; Par. [0076], vehicle status 320 data may be downloaded from a computer associated with the vehicle 434 by a technician of a service facility 408 performing work on the vehicle);
associate the telematics data with a subject data object that comprises at least a portion of the subject information (Par. [0086], The system may then automatically extract information from the electronic file to update the service record 332 in data structure 300. The record of repairs or service may include information Such as the date of the service, vehicle mileage, where the service was performed, a name of the service technician, parts installed on the vehicle, a brand or manufacturer of the parts, a serial number of the parts, warranty information of the parts, images or photos illustrating repairs or damage noticed or repaired, comments describing the service, maintenance, or repairs, comments describing overall condition or service status or history of the vehicle, copies of receipts or invoices, and other such information);
cause the graphical user interface to display at least a portion of the telematics data on the user device while the subject data object is pending onboarding, such that the acquisition data is configured to facilitate access to the telematics data on the user device while the subject data object is pending onboarding (Par. [0031], displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.) ; and
causing the graphical user interface to display a glovebox interface, wherein the glovebox interface is configured to (i) display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject and/or (ii) display at least one icon or menu item that causes the graphical user interface to display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject when selected by the user of the user device (Par. [0010], The website also allows users to view vehicle manufacturer recommended preventative and periodic maintenance schedules for a vehicle; Par. [0031], an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user interfaces for registering users, displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.).
Elder does not explicitly disclose causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology. Neuhaeuser teaches causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology (Par. [0069], The HMI guides the customer to the management server touchpoint, e.g., by showing a QR code which opens the management server app or the management server web portal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle record system of Elder to include the device interface abilities of Neuhaeuser since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. As in Neuhaeuser, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the code reading and graphical user interface software to Elder’s device communicating with the records system with the predicted result of transmitting vehicle data as needed in Elder.
Regarding claim 20, Elder discloses further comprising: receiving, at the service onboarding system following displaying at least the portion of the telematics data on the user device (Par. [0068]), a second indication via the graphical user interface at the user device, wherein the second indication is indicative of the user of the user device completing onboarding (Par. [0059], Once a user has registered with the system 100, the user may access information stored in database 135 over network 120; Par. [0064], By registering with the system 100, the vehicle owner 404 may also receive access to other features of the system. In an embodiment, the system 100 may optionally send emails, Voice messages to an owner's phone number, and/or text message reminders to the vehicle owner when recommended preventative maintenance is due or expected to be due based upon one or more of the age or mileage of the vehicle).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elder (US 2015/0286994 A1) in view of Neuhaeuser (US 2023/0171593 A1) and Brady (US 2020/0258018 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Elder discloses a computer-implemented method for pre-onboarding user access control to subject information (Par. 0031], In some embodiments, an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user inter faces for registering users), the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, at a service onboarding system from a provider system, acquisition data comprising the subject information associated with a subject (Par. [0068], The service facility may have access to and be able to review records of work performed on the vehicle including details about types of service performed, where service was performed, what parts were used, where the parts were obtained, and warranty status of those parts);
receiving telematics data associated with the subject (Par. [0068], Service technicians can also review results of diagnostic tests previously performed on the vehicle; Par. [0076], vehicle status 320 data may be downloaded from a computer associated with the vehicle 434 by a technician of a service facility 408 performing work on the vehicle);
associating the telematics data with a subject data object that comprises at least a portion of the subject information (Par. [0086], The system may then automatically extract information from the electronic file to update the service record 332 in data structure 300. The record of repairs or service may include information Such as the date of the service, vehicle mileage, where the service was performed, a name of the service technician, parts installed on the vehicle, a brand or manufacturer of the parts, a serial number of the parts, warranty information of the parts, images or photos illustrating repairs or damage noticed or repaired, comments describing the service, maintenance, or repairs, comments describing overall condition or service status or history of the vehicle, copies of receipts or invoices, and other such information);
causing the graphical user interface to display at least a portion of the telematics data on the user device while the subject data object is pending onboarding, such that the acquisition data is configured to facilitate access to the telematics data on the user device while the subject data object is pending onboarding (Par. [0031], displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.); and
causing the graphical user interface to display a glovebox interface, wherein the glovebox interface is configured to (i) display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject and/or (ii) display at least one icon or menu item that causes the graphical user interface to display at least a portion of the subject information associated with the subject when selected by the user of the user device (Par. [0010], The website also allows users to view vehicle manufacturer recommended preventative and periodic maintenance schedules for a vehicle; Par. [0031], an application server 130 may create web pages dynamically for displaying user interfaces for registering users, displaying vehicle service records, entering information into the vehicle service records, searching for vehicles, searching for service facilities, etc.).
Elder does not explicitly disclose causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology. Neuhaeuser teaches causing rendering of a graphical user interface at a user device in response to receiving a first indication based on interaction with (i) an onboarding hyperlink via the user device or (ii) a machine-readable symbology (Par. [0069], The HMI guides the customer to the management server touchpoint, e.g., by showing a QR code which opens the management server app or the management server web portal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle record system of Elder to include the device interface abilities of Neuhaeuser since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. As in Neuhaeuser, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the code reading and graphical user interface software to Elder’s device communicating with the records system with the predicted result of transmitting vehicle data as needed in Elder.
Elder does not explicitly disclose generating a data slug and associating the data slug with the subject data object to cause the subject data object to be associated with the indication of pending onboarding, wherein removing the indication of pending onboarding comprises removing the data slug following completion of onboarding. Brady teaches generating a data slug and associating the data slug with the subject data object to cause the subject data object to be associated with the indication of pending onboarding (Par. [0143], data entered when contract is opened), wherein removing the indication of pending onboarding comprises removing the data slug following completion of onboarding (Par. [0147], data entered upon closing of contract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle record system of Elder and Neuhaeuser to include the data abilities of Brady since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 22 would be allowable subject matter if revised and amended to overcome the double patenting rejection and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 as set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/Patrick Kim/Examiner, Art Unit 3628