DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (USP 10,196,465).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 11-12
Han discloses a method of making a zeolite comprising forming an aqueous mixture of a cationic polymer structure directing agent, and precursors of silica, titania (i.e. transition metal) and alumina for a mesoporous zeolite; optionally heating the mixture for form an intermediate that comprises micropores; and calcining at 550 C (column 12, line 47 to column 13, line 19).
Han discloses that the cationic polymer can be of Chemical Structure #3 (Column 7, lines 22-35), which has two or more quaternary nitrogen atoms and reads directly on the claimed cationic polymer.
Regarding claim 8
Han discloses that the zeolite is an MFI framework (column 5, lines 5-38).
Regarding claims 9-10
Han discloses that the zeolite has a surface area greater than 350 m2/g and a pore volume greater than 0.3 cm3/g (abstract).
Regarding claim 12
Han discloses that the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USP 10,196,465), as applied to claims 1-3 and 8-12 above, in view of Van Egmond et al. (USP 7,626,067).
Regarding claim 4
Although Han does not disclose the use of zirconia, Han does disclose the other limitations of the claims and discloses titania. However, Van Egmond discloses that as metal oxides titania and zirconia are functionally equivalent (column 6, lines 42-53). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Han by replacing the titania with zirconia, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Van Egmond.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USP 10,196,465), as applied to claims 1-3 and 8-12 above, in view of Lee et al. (KR-20170069356-A).
Regarding claims 5-7
Although Han does not teach one of the claimed transition metal precursors, Han does disclose tetrabutyl orthotitanate (i.e., titanium butoxide) (column 12, line 47 to column 13, line 19). However, Lee also directed to zeolites discloses that as a titania precursor that titanium butoxide and titanium nitrate are functionally equivalent (approx. para 0018). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add to the teachings of Han by using titanium nitrate as the titanium precursor with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Lee.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734