DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USP 10,196,465), in view of Seki et al. (US 8,852,428).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 11-13
Han discloses a method of making a zeolite comprising forming an aqueous mixture of a cationic polymer structure directing agent, and precursors of silica, titania (i.e. transition metal) and alumina for a mesoporous zeolite; optionally heating the mixture for form an intermediate that comprises micropores; and calcining at 550 C (which is expected to remove the cationic polymer) (column 12, line 47 to column 13, line 19).
Han discloses that the cationic polymer can be of Chemical Structure #3 (Column 7, lines 22-35), which has two or more quaternary nitrogen atoms and reads directly on the claimed cationic polymer.
Although Han does not teach one of the claimed transition metal precursors, Han does disclose tetrabutyl orthotitanate (i.e., titanium butoxide) (column 12, line 47 to column 13, line 19). However, Seki also directed to zeolites discloses that zeolites can be silica-zirconia or silica-titania (claim 1). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to use a zirconia precursor instead of a titanium precursor to produce a silica-zirconia zeolite instead of a silica-titania zeolite, with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful zeolite, as suggested by Seki.
It is noted that the synthesis method would result in the transition metal atoms being dispersed throughout the entire microporous framework.
Regarding claim 8
Han discloses that the zeolite is an MFI framework (column 5, lines 5-38).
Regarding claims 9-10
Han discloses that the zeolite has a surface area greater than 350 m2/g and a pore volume greater than 0.3 cm3/g (abstract).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USP 10,196,465), in view of Seki et al. (US 8,852,428, as applied to claims 1 and 8-12 above, in view of Banno (US 20200230583)
Regarding claims 5-7
Although Seki does not teach the claimed precursor, Seki does disclose a silica-zirconia zeolite. However, Banno discloses that as a precursor for zirconia that zirconium nitrate may be used (para 0067). As such it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the invention to use zirconium nitrate as the zirconium precursor for a silica-zirconia zeolite, with a reasonable expectation of success as suggested by Seki.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue against the 102 rejections.
Applicants amendments to the claims overcome the 102 rejections and they have been withdrawn making these arguments moot.
Applicants argue against the 103 rejections.
Applicants argue against the rejection over claim 4 using the Van Egmond reference. This reference is no longer applied to any claims, as such these arguments are moot.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734