DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s claims recite “a second flange portion having a flat surface extending in a direction along the optical axis”. Examiner notes that “a flat surface” does not imply a two-dimensional flatness, but rather a one-dimensional flatness. A cylindrical surface is flat with respect to a longitudinal or axial direction and arcuate relative to a circumferential or azimuthal direction. It appears Applicant’s “flat” surfaces are flat in two-dimensions, or “planar” as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0029076 by Kato, et al. (hereinafter Kato).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses a light source device comprising: a semiconductor laser configured to emit light (lasers 1a-1c, Figs. 1-2); a coupling lens (“a first lens 2a is retained in an optical component holder 10a for retaining the first lens 2a”, Fig. 3) configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam; and a holder (case 14, Fig. 3) supporting the coupling lens, wherein the coupling lens has: an optical surface defining an optical axis (lens 2a, Fig. 3); and a flange portion (an optical component holder 10a for retaining the first lens 2a, Fig. 3) protruding outward in a radial direction orthogonal to the optical axis, the flange portion comprising: a first flange portion having an arcuate surface centered on the optical axis (portion of optical component holder 10a proximal to sloped surfaces 18a-18b, Fig. 3); and a second flange portion having a flat surface extending in a direction along the optical axis (sloped surfaces 13a-13b, Fig. 3), wherein the holder has: a first positioning part (sloped surfaces 18a-18b, Fig. 3) opposing the arcuate surface in the radial direction for positioning of the coupling lens relative to the holder (Fig. 3); and a first notch (notch proximal to sloped surface 15a-15b accommodating adhesive 17a-17b, Fig. 3) through which at least a part of the flat surface is exposed in the radial direction (Fig. 3), and wherein at least a part of the first flange portion is bonded to the holder (adhesive 17a-17b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses the holder comprises two of the first positioning part (sloped surfaces 18a-18b, Fig. 3)), the optical axis (axis 11a, Fig. 3) being positioned between the two of the first positioning part (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kato discloses the holder further comprises a second positioning part (sloped surfaces 15a-15b, Fig. 3) opposing the flat surface of the second flange portion to determine an orientation of the coupling lens about the optical axis.
Regarding claim 5, Kato discloses the second positioning part has a second flat surface opposing the flat surface of the second flange portion (sloped surfaces 15a-15b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses the coupling lens has two portions that are bonded to the holder, the two portions being positioned opposite each other with respect to the optical axis (sloped surfaces 13a-13b adhered to sloped surfaces 15a-15b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kato discloses the holder further comprises a recess (sloped surfaces 15a-15b represent recesses relative to surfaces between sloped surfaces 15a-15b and 18a-18b, Fig. 3) that is recessed in a direction away from the first flange portion, the recess overlapping with the first flange portion when viewed in the direction along the optical axis, and wherein the first flange portion is bonded to the holder by an adhesive, at least a portion of the adhesive being positioned in the recess (adhesive 17a-17b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kato discloses a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder (Fig. 1 embodied within smartphone, for example; [0001]-[0004]).
Claims 1, 3, 9-11, 13, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. No. 6,283,371 to Son et al. (hereinafter Son).
Regarding claim 1, Son teaches a light source (Figs. 5 & 11) device comprising: a semiconductor laser (“the laser diode 3 which is embedded into the case 200”, Figs. 5 & 11) configured to emit light; a coupling lens (collimator lens 4 within hole H of lens holder 400, Figs. 1, 5, 9, 11) configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam; and a holder (slider 300, Figs. 5 & 11) supporting the coupling lens, wherein the coupling lens has: an optical surface (surface of lens within hole H of lens holder 400, Figs. 5 & 11) defining an optical axis (between laser diode 3 of the case 200 and through the hold H of the lens holder 400, Fig. 5 & 11); and a flange portion (holder 400, Fig. 5, 10-11) protruding outward in a radial direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Figs. 5, 10-11), the flange portion comprising: a first flange portion having an arcuate surface (cylindrical body 410, Fig. 5, 10-11) centered on the optical axis; and a second flange portion having a flat surface (guide pieces 420, Fig. 5, 10-11) extending in a direction along the optical axis, wherein the holder has: a first positioning part (barrel type guide surface 330 of the slide 300, Fig. 5, 11) opposing the arcuate surface in the radial direction for positioning of the coupling lens relative to the holder; and a first notch (pair of flat guide surfaces 310 and 320, Fig. 5, 11) through which at least a part of the flat surface is exposed in the radial direction, and wherein at least a part of the first flange portion is bonded to the holder (col. 6, ll. 54-60 and col. 11, ll. 44-53).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Son teaches the first positioning part has a curved surface that conforms to the arcuate surface (barrel type guide surface 330 of the slide 300, Fig. 5, 11).
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Son teaches a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder (case 200, Fig. 5, 11).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Son teaches the holder is bonded to the laser holder (“case 200 which has a laser diode 3 disposed therein, is mounted to the circuit board 100 by a plurality of fastening screws such that it can be moved leftward, rightward, upward and/or downward through screwing or unscrewing of the fastening screw”; col. 4, ll. 36-41).
Regarding claim 11, Son teaches a scanning optical device (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a semiconductor laser (“the laser diode 3 which is embedded into the case 200”, Figs. 5 & 11) configured to emit light; a coupling lens (collimator lens 4 within hole H of lens holder 400, Figs. 1, 5, 9, 11) configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam; a holder (slider 300, Figs. 5 & 11) supporting the coupling lens; a deflector comprising a polygon mirror (polygonal mirror 7, Figs. 1-2) configured to deflect the light beam; a scanning optical system configured to form an image on an image plane using the light beam from the polygon mirror (“the scanning lens 8 comprising the toric lens 8a and the focusing lens 8b, to be focused onto the photosensitive drum 9 thereby to realize a desired picture”; col. 1, ll. 43-50); and a frame (housing 1, Figs. 1-2) to which the semiconductor laser, the coupling lens, the holder, the deflector, and the scanning optical system are fixed; a light source (Figs. 5 & 11) device comprising, wherein the coupling lens has: an optical surface (surface of lens within hole H of lens holder 400, Figs. 5 & 11) defining an optical axis (between laser diode 3 of the case 200 and through the hold H of the lens holder 400, Fig. 5 & 11); and a flange portion (holder 400, Fig. 5, 10-11) protruding outward in a radial direction orthogonal to the optical axis (Figs. 5, 10-11), the flange portion comprising: a first flange portion having an arcuate surface (cylindrical body 410, Fig. 5, 10-11) centered on the optical axis; and a second flange portion having a flat surface (guide pieces 420, Fig. 5, 10-11) extending in a direction along the optical axis, wherein the holder has: a first positioning part (barrel type guide surface 330 of the slide 300, Fig. 5, 11) opposing the arcuate surface in the radial direction for positioning of the coupling lens relative to the holder; and a first notch (pair of flat guide surfaces 310 and 320, Fig. 5, 11) through which at least a part of the flat surface is exposed in the radial direction, and wherein at least a part of the first flange portion is bonded to the holder (col. 6, ll. 54-60 and col. 11, ll. 44-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Son.
Regarding claim 11, Kato discloses a scanning optical device (Fig. 1) comprising: a semiconductor laser (lasers 1a-1c, Figs. 1-2) configured to emit light; a coupling lens (“a first lens 2a is retained in an optical component holder 10a for retaining the first lens 2a”, Fig. 3) configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam; a holder (case 14, Fig. 3) supporting the coupling lens; a deflector comprising a mirror configured to deflect the light beam (“dual-axis drive mirror manufactured using MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) technology can for example be utilized in the scanning mirror 113”, Figs. 1; [0047]); a scanning optical system configured to form an image on an image plane using the light beam from the mirror (“a projector section to project the coupled beam light onto a screen 109, and a scanning unit to two-dimensionally scan the projected beam light on the screen 109”; [0109]); and a frame to which the semiconductor laser, the coupling lens, the holder, the deflector, and the scanning optical system are fixed (Fig. 1 embodied as “an optical module having an attachment structure for an optical component holder retaining an optical component or an optical component capable of minimizing the relative position displacement of a laser spot from plural lasers, on a display region such as a screen for example in heads-up display mounted in automobiles, etc.”; [0031]), wherein the coupling lens has: an optical surface (lens 2a, Fig. 3) defining an optical axis (optical axis); and a flange portion (an optical component holder 10a for retaining the first lens 2a, Fig. 3) protruding outward in a radial direction orthogonal to the optical axis, the flange portion comprising: a first flange portion having an arcuate surface centered on the optical axis (portion of optical component holder 10a proximal to sloped surfaces 18a-18b, Fig. 3); and a second flange portion having a flat surface extending in a direction along the optical axis (sloped surfaces 13a-13b, Fig. 3), wherein the holder has: a first positioning part (sloped surfaces 18a-18b, Fig. 3) opposing the arcuate surface in the radial direction for positioning of the coupling lens relative to the holder; and a first notch (notch proximal to sloped surface 15a-15b accommodating adhesive 17a-17b, Fig. 3) through which at least a part of the flat surface is exposed in the radial direction, and wherein at least a part of the first flange portion is bonded to the holder (adhesive 17a-17b, Fig. 3).
Kato does not disclose that the deflector is a polygon mirror.
Son teaches a scanning optical device (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a semiconductor laser (“the laser diode 3 which is embedded into the case 200”, Figs. 5 & 11) configured to emit light; a coupling lens (collimator lens 4 within hole H of lens holder 400, Figs. 1, 5, 9, 11) configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam; a holder (slider 300, Figs. 5 & 11) supporting the coupling lens; a deflector comprising a polygon mirror (polygonal mirror 7, Figs. 1-2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a polygonal mirror as taught by Son with the system as disclosed by Kato. The motivation would have been to transversely scan a laser beam utilizing old and ubiquitous technology existing in the market for low costs.
Regarding claim 12, Kato discloses the holder comprises two of the first positioning part (sloped surfaces 18a-18b, Fig. 3)), the optical axis (axis 11a, Fig. 3) being positioned between the two of the first positioning part (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kato discloses the holder further comprises a second positioning part (sloped surfaces 15a-15b, Fig. 3) opposing the flat surface of the second flange portion to determine an orientation of the coupling lens about the optical axis.
Regarding claim 15, Kato discloses the second positioning part has a second flat surface opposing the flat surface of the second flange portion (sloped surfaces 15a-15b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Kato discloses the coupling lens has two portions that are bonded to the holder, the two portions being positioned opposite each other with respect to the optical axis (sloped surfaces 13a-13b adhered to sloped surfaces 15a-15b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Kato discloses the holder further comprises a recess (sloped surfaces 15a-15b represent recesses relative to surfaces between sloped surfaces 15a-15b and 18a-18b, Fig. 3) that is recessed in a direction away from the first flange portion, the recess overlapping with the first flange portion when viewed in the direction along the optical axis, and wherein the first flange portion is bonded to the holder by an adhesive, at least a portion of the adhesive being positioned in the recess (adhesive 17a-17b, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Kato discloses a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder (Fig. 1 embodied within smartphone, for example; [0001]-[0004]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son, as applied to Claims 1 and 11, and further in view of US. Pat. No. 7,419,315 to Hirata et al. (hereinafter Hirata).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Son discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the coupling lens further has a gate trace protruding outward in the radial direction from the arcuate surface, and wherein the holder has a second notch through which the gate trace is exposed in the radial direction
Hirata discloses the coupling lens (lens 2, Figs. 7-9) further has a gate trace (gate trace 13, Figs. 7-9) protruding outward in the radial direction from the arcuate surface (“the arc-shaped outer peripheral surface 14 of the lens 2”), and wherein the holder has a second notch (“a gap 33 is large compared with the press contact portions 32a and 32b between the arc-shaped outer peripheral surface 14 of the lens 2 and the inner side surface 29”) through which the gate trace is exposed in the radial direction (Fig. 7-9).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a gate trace and corresponding notch as taught by Hirata with the system as disclosed by Son. The motivation would have been to accommodate and reduce lens deformity from environmental changes around an artifact of them manufacturing process (col. 2, ln. 61-col. 5, ln. 26).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PG Pub. 2007/0273986, JP 2008300591, US Pat. 8,451,523 disclose embodiments of laser lens holders having curved flanges and corresponding lens holder frame elements.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872