DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 5/27/2026. Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 16-18 are amended, claims 21-28 are new, claims 2-5 and 12-15 are cancelled and claims 1, 6-11, 16-28 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub. 20070273986 to Kajita (hereinafter Kajita).
Regarding claim 1, Kajita discloses a light source device (“a semiconductor laser serving as a light source”; [0069], Fig. 1 & 5) comprising: a semiconductor laser configured to emit light ([0069]); a coupling lens configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam (objective lens 21 in Fig. 1 & further detailed as lens 32 in Fig. 5; [0069]); and a holder (a lens holder 22/22a, Fig. 1 & 5; [0069]) supporting the coupling lens, wherein the coupling lens has: an optical surface defining an optical axis (Figs. 1, 4, 5); and a flange portion (Fig. 4A-4B, 5) protruding outward in a radial direction orthogonal to the optical axis, the flange portion comprising: two first flange portions (See annotated figure below) each having an arcuate surface centered on the optical axis, the two first flange portions being at symmetrical positions with respect to the optical axis; and a second flange portion (See annotated figure below) having a flat planar surface extending in a direction along the optical axis (Fig. 4A-4B), wherein the holder has: two first positioning parts (See annotated figure below) each opposing the arcuate surface of a corresponding one of the two first flange portions in the radial direction for positioning of the coupling lens relative to the holder, the two first positioning parts being at symmetrical positions with respect to the optical axis (Fig. 4-5), each of the two first positioning parts having a curved surface that conforms to the arcuate surface of the corresponding one of the two first flange portions (Fig. 5); a second positioning part (See annotated figure below) opposing the planar surface of the second flange portion in the radial direction, the second positioning part having a second planar surface aligned with the planar surface of the second flange portion in the radial direction to determine an orientation of the coupling lens about the optical axis (Fig. 5); and a first notch (groove 22c, Fig. 5) through which at least a part of the planar surface is exposed in the radial direction, and wherein at least a part of each of the two first flange portions is bonded to the holder (“the groove portions 22c (shaded portions in FIG. 5) obtained by shifting the phase by 90 degrees from the above-described groove portions 22c are both filled with an additional adhesive”, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Kajita discloses the coupling lens has two portions that are bonded to the holder, the two portions being positioned symmetrically with respect to the optical axis (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Kajita discloses the holder further comprises two recesses (grooves 22c at approximately 135⁰ and 215⁰, Fig. 5), each of the two recesses being recessed in a direction away from a corresponding one of the two first flange portions in the direction along the optical axis (grooves 22c at approximately 135⁰ and 215⁰, Fig. 5) each of the two recesses overlapping with the corresponding one of the two first flange portions when viewed in the direction along the optical axis, and wherein each of the two first flange portions is bonded to the holder by an adhesive (Fig. 5; [0084]-[0089]), at least a portion of the adhesive being positioned in the corresponding one of the two recesses (Fig. 5; [0084]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 8, Kajita discloses the coupling lens further has a gate trace protruding outward in the radial direction from the arcuate surface of one of the two first flange portions, and wherein the holder has a second notch through which the gate trace is exposed in the radial direction (Fig. 4A-4B, 5).
Regarding claim 21, Kajita discloses an embodiment in Fig. 6A-6B analogous to the embodiment matched above (Fig. 4A-4B, 5). The Fig. 6A-6B embodiment anticipates Claims 1 and 11 analogously. Kajita discloses at least a part of each of the two first flange portions is bonded to the holder by an adhesive (Fig. 6), the adhesive being positioned between the seating surface and the flange portion in the direction along the optical axis (Fig. 6; [0082]-[0086]) and the holder further has a seating surface opposing the flange portion in the direction along the optical axis (Fig. 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajita, as applied to claims 1 and 23, and further in view of JP 2009-237244 to Mihara et al. (hereinafter Mihara).
Regarding claim 9, Kajita discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder.
Mihara discloses a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder (holder 130, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a laser holder as taught by Mihara with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to provide a packaged, optically aligned product (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Kajita discloses a lens holder (Fig. 4-5) and Kajita does not explicitly disclose the holder is bonded to the laser holder.
Mihara discloses the lens assembly is bonded to the laser holder (via adhesive resin 140, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to bond optics to a laser holder as taught by Mihara with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to provide a packaged, optically aligned product (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 27, Kajita discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder.
Mihara discloses a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder (holder 130, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a laser holder as taught by Mihara with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to provide a packaged, optically aligned product (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 28, Kajita discloses a lens holder (Fig. 4-5) and Kajita does not explicitly disclose the holder is bonded to the laser holder.
Mihara discloses the lens assembly is bonded to the laser holder (via adhesive resin 140, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to bond optics to a laser holder as taught by Mihara with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to provide a packaged, optically aligned product (Fig. 4).
Claims 11, 16-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajita, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of JP 2009-237244 to Mihara et al. (hereinafter Mihara).
Regarding claim 11, Kajita discloses a light source device (“a semiconductor laser serving as a light source”; [0069], Fig. 1 & 5) comprising: a semiconductor laser configured to emit light ([0069]); a coupling lens configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam (objective lens 21 in Fig. 1 & further detailed as lens 32 in Fig. 5; [0069]); and a holder (a lens holder 22/22a, Fig. 1 & 5; [0069]) supporting the coupling lens, wherein the coupling lens has: an optical surface defining an optical axis (Figs. 1, 4, 5); and a flange portion (Fig. 4A-4B, 5) protruding outward in a radial direction orthogonal to the optical axis, the flange portion comprising: two first flange portions (See annotated figure below) each having an arcuate surface centered on the optical axis, the two first flange portions being at symmetrical positions with respect to the optical axis; and a second flange portion (See annotated figure below) having a flat planar surface extending in a direction along the optical axis (Fig. 4A-4B), wherein the holder has: two first positioning parts (See annotated figure below) each opposing the arcuate surface of a corresponding one of the two first flange portions in the radial direction for positioning of the coupling lens relative to the holder, the two first positioning parts being at symmetrical positions with respect to the optical axis (Fig. 4-5), each of the two first positioning parts having a curved surface that conforms to the arcuate surface of the corresponding one of the two first flange portions (Fig. 5); a second positioning part (See annotated figure below) opposing the planar surface of the second flange portion in the radial direction, the second positioning part having a second planar surface aligned with the planar surface of the second flange portion in the radial direction to determine an orientation of the coupling lens about the optical axis (Fig. 5); and a first notch (groove 22c, Fig. 5) through which at least a part of the planar surface is exposed in the radial direction, and wherein at least a part of each of the two first flange portions is bonded to the holder (“the groove portions 22c (shaded portions in FIG. 5) obtained by shifting the phase by 90 degrees from the above-described groove portions 22c are both filled with an additional adhesive”, Fig. 5).
Kajita discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose a deflector comprising a polygon mirror configured to deflect the light beam; a scanning optical system configured to form an image on an image plane using the light beam from the polygonal mirror.
Mihara discloses a deflector comprising a polygon mirror configured to deflect the light beam; a scanning optical system configured to form an image on an image plane using the light beam from the polygonal mirror (Fig. 4; [0017]-[0022]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a polygonal mirror as taught by Mihara with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to scan a laser beam ([0017]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 16, Kajita discloses the coupling lens has two portions that are bonded to the holder, the two portions being positioned symmetrically with respect to the optical axis (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Kajita discloses the holder further comprises two recesses (grooves 22c at approximately 135⁰ and 215⁰, Fig. 5), each of the two recesses being recessed in a direction away from a corresponding one of the two first flange portions in the direction along the optical axis (grooves 22c at approximately 135⁰ and 215⁰, Fig. 5) each of the two recesses overlapping with the corresponding one of the two first flange portions when viewed in the direction along the optical axis, and wherein each of the two first flange portions is bonded to the holder by an adhesive (Fig. 5; [0084]-[0089]), at least a portion of the adhesive being positioned in the corresponding one of the two recesses (Fig. 5; [0084]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 18, Kajita discloses the coupling lens further has a gate trace protruding outward in the radial direction from the arcuate surface of one of the two first flange portions, and wherein the holder has a second notch through which the gate trace is exposed in the radial direction (Fig. 4A-4B, 5).
Regarding claim 19, Kajita discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder.
Mihara discloses a laser holder holding the semiconductor laser and the holder (holder 130, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a laser holder as taught by Mihara with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to provide a packaged, optically aligned product (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Kajita discloses a lens holder (Fig. 4-5) and Kajita does not explicitly disclose the holder is bonded to the laser holder.
Mihara discloses the lens assembly is bonded to the laser holder (via adhesive resin 140, Fig. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to bond optics to a laser holder as taught by Mihara with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to provide a packaged, optically aligned product (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 22, Kajita discloses an embodiment in Fig. 6A-6B analogous to the embodiment matched above (Fig. 4A-4B, 5). The Fig. 6A-6B embodiment anticipates Claims 1 and 11 analogously. Kajita discloses at least a part of each of the two first flange portions is bonded to the holder by an adhesive (Fig. 6), the adhesive being positioned between the seating surface and the flange portion in the direction along the optical axis (Fig. 6; [0082]-[0086]) and the holder further has a seating surface opposing the flange portion in the direction along the optical axis (Fig. 6B).
Claims 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajita.
Regarding claim 23, Kajita discloses a light source device (“a semiconductor laser serving as a light source”; [0069], Fig. 1 & 5-6) comprising: a semiconductor laser configured to emit light ([0069]); a coupling lens configured to convert the light from the semiconductor laser into light beam (objective lens 21 in Fig. 1 & further detailed as lens 32 in Fig. 5-6; [0069]); and a holder (a lens holder 22/22a, Fig. 1 & 5-6; [0069]) supporting the coupling lens, wherein the coupling lens has: an optical surface defining an optical axis (Figs. 1, 4, 5, 6); and a flange portion (Fig. 4A-4B, 5-6) protruding outward in a radial direction orthogonal to the optical axis, the flange portion comprising: a first flange portions (See annotated figure above) having an arcuate surface centered on the optical axis; and a second flange portion (See annotated figure above) having a flat planar surface extending in a direction along the optical axis (Fig. 4A-4B), wherein the holder has: a first positioning parts (See annotated figure above) opposing the arcuate surface of a the first flange portion in the radial direction for positioning of the coupling lens relative to the holder (Fig. 4-5, 6); and a first notch (groove 22c, Fig. 5) through which at least a part of the planar surface is exposed in the radial direction, a seating surface opposing the flange portion in the direction along the optical axis (Fig. 6B); and wherein at least a part of each of the two first flange portions is bonded to the holder by an adhesive (“the groove portions 22c (shaded portions in FIG. 5) obtained by shifting the phase by 90 degrees from the above-described groove portions 22c are both filled with an additional adhesive”, Fig. 5).
Kajita does not explicitly disclose adhesive being positioned between the seating surface and the flange portion in the direction along the optical axis. Kajita discloses “two groove portions 22c to which the gate remainder 32a and the balance projecting portion 32b are fitted are filled with an adhesive”. Kajita depicts sides of grooves 22C in contact with adhesive and would necessarily provide adhesive on a bottom of the grooves 22C in an XY-plane (Fig. 6A-6B). There is not necessarily adhesive on the bottom of the grooves 22C in an XY-plane under the lens flange such that it is interposed between the lens flange and the holder. A person having ordinary skill in the art would provide adhesive in the interstitial area between the lens flange and the lens holder for the purpose of increasing the surface area by which the adhesive bonds. The increased surface area would be understood by artisans as increasing bond strength and durability.
Regarding claim 24, Kajita discloses the coupling lens has two portions that are bonded to the holder, the two portions being positioned symmetrically with respect to the optical axis (Figs. 5 & 6).
Regarding claim 26, Kajita discloses the coupling lens further has a gate trace protruding outward in the radial direction from the arcuate surface of one of the two first flange portions, and wherein the holder has a second notch through which the gate trace is exposed in the radial direction (Fig. 4A-4B, 5).
Claims 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajita, as applied to claim 23, and further in view of US PG Pug. 2004/0264352 to Ohya (hereinafter Ohya).
Regarding claim 25, Kajita discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the holder further comprises a recess that is recessed in a direction away from the seating surface in the direction along the optical axis, the recess overlapping with the first flange portion when viewed in the direction along the optical axis, andwherein the first flange portion is bonded to the holder by an adhesive, at least a portion of the adhesive being positioned in the recess.
Ohya discloses the holder (lens holder 15B, Fig. 6) further comprises a recess (concavity 26, Fig. 6) that is recessed in a direction away from the seating surface (unlabeled surface of holder 15B near concavity 26 in xy-plane, Fig. 6) in the direction along the optical axis, the recess overlapping with the first flange portion (regulatory portion 27, Fig. 6) when viewed in the direction along the optical axis, and wherein the first flange portion is bonded to the holder by an adhesive (adhesive 21, Fig. 6), at least a portion of the adhesive being positioned in the recess (Fig. 6).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to a recess as taught by Ohya with the system as disclosed by Kajita. The motivation would have been to stably increase bonding strength by increasing the amount of adhesive available at the bonding site and the surface area ([0094]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872