DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to amendment filed on 2/6/2026. Claims 1-8, 10-23, and 25-32 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12, 14-23, 25, 27-30, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekgul et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0075497) in view of Ray Chaudhuri et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0194569).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Tekgul discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a forwarding node (figure 6 relay node), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraphs 28 and 29); and
one or more processors (paragraphs 28 and 29) coupled with the one or more memories configured to cause the forwarding node to:
transmit an indication of a selection of a wireless communication device (WCD) controlled operation mode, wherein the selection is obtained from a control node or determined by the forwarding node (paragraphs 93 and 94 in view of paragraph 7: relay node 602 selects a mode of operation either by itself or indication from a base station and transmits selection indication to the base station. The operation mode is either decode-forward or amplifying-forward); and
communicate with a WCD based at least in part on the WCD-controlled
operation mode (paragraphs 95, 97, and 98: relay node uses selected mode of operation to communicate with UE).
Tekgul does not teach the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is associated with one or more of: a set of time resource, a set of frequency resources, or a set of spatial resources.
Tekgul’s paragraphs 34-36 discloses wireless communication is operated in a frequency spectrum.
In the same field of relay/repeater, Ray Chaudhuri discloses the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is associated with a set of frequency resources (paragraphs 122 and 123: repeater sends a mode-switch message to request base station to modify frequency resource including narrower band, select channels including frequencies (frequency block) when amplification threshold is not satisfied. The base station transmits a response message that instructs the repeater to operate according to the requested set of modified transmission parameters (set of frequency resource). The repeater modifies its configuration to operate in the coverage expansion mode including amplification and forward. Thus, the amplification and forward mode is associated with the set of frequency resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Tekgul the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is associated with a set of frequency resources.
The motivation would have been interference reduction (paragraph 122).
Regarding claims 19 and 30, Tekgul discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless communication device (WCD) (figure 7 base station), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraphs 28 and 29); and
one or more processors (paragraphs 28 and 29) coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the WCD to:
receive an indication of a selection of a WCD-controlled operation mode associated with a forwarding node (paragraphs 104 and 105: base station receives mode of operation indication from a relay node. Paragraphs 93 and 94: the operation mode is either decode-forward or amplifying-forward); and
communicate, via the forwarding node, with an additional WCD based at
least in part on the WCD-controlled operation mode (figure 7 step 712 and paragraph 105: base station communicates with additional WCD based on the determined mode of operation).
Tekgul does not teach the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is associated with one or more of: a set of time resource, a set of frequency resources, or a set of spatial resources.
In the same field of relay/repeater, Ray Chaudhuri discloses the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is associated with a set of frequency resources (paragraphs 122 and 123: repeater sends a mode-switch message to request base station to modify frequency resource including narrower band, select channels including frequencies (frequency block) when amplification threshold is not satisfied. The base station transmits a response message that instructs the repeater to operate according to the requested set of modified transmission parameters (set of frequency resource). The repeater modifies its configuration to operate in the coverage expansion mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Tekgul the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is associated with a set of frequency resources.
The motivation would have been interference reduction (paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 2, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches the WCD-controlled operation mode comprises an operation mode for communications based at least in part on control information received from an additional WCD that is different from the WCD (paragraph 89: from base station).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, all limitations of claims 1 and 19 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches the WCD-controlled operation mode comprises an operation mode for communications based at least in part on one or more of:
control information identified by the forwarding node (paragraphs 89 and 93),
control information received from a network control node that is different from the WCD (paragraphs 89 and 93).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, all limitations of claims 1 and 19 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is based at least in part on one or more of: channel conditions of a wireless link from the WCD/additional WCD and the forwarding node (paragraph 89: measurements between relay and UE),
Regarding claims 5 and 22, all limitations of claims 1 and 19 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode is based at least in part on one or more of: one or more parameters received from the WCD (paragraphs 84 and 100), one or more parameters configured for the forwarding node (paragraphs 89 and 101), or one or more parameters received from the control node that is different from the WCD (paragraphs 89 and 101).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, all limitations of claims 5 and 22 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches the one or more parameters are associated with one or more of: thresholds of metrics associated with candidate WCD-controlled operation modes (paragraphs 85 and 86).
Regarding claim 7, all limitations of claim 5 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the forwarding node to: transmit an indication of the one or more parameters (paragraph 103).
Regarding claim 8, all limitations of claim 5 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches wherein the one or more parameters configured for the forwarding node are preconfigured (paragraphs 92 and 93: default).
Regarding claim 10, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed above. Tekgul further discloses the WCD-controlled operation mode is associated with omission of control information received from the WCD (paragraphs 89 and 93: information from relay node and no information from UE).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, all limitations of claims 1 and 19 are disclosed above. Tekgul further discloses one or more processors, to cause the forwarding node to transmit the indication of the selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode, are configured to cause the forwarding node to transmit the indication of the selection via one or more of:
uplink control information (figure 6 step 619; paragraph 94).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, all limitations of claims 1 and 19 are disclosed above. Tekgul further discloses the one or more processors, to cause the forwarding node to communicate with the WCD based at least in part on the WCD- controlled operation mode, are configured to cause the forwarding node to:
communicate using a configuration of one or more communication parameters that are selected without an indication of the selection from the WCD (paragraph 7: amplify-forward or decode-forward mode without selection from UE).
Regarding claim 15, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed above. Tekgul does not teach but Ray Chaudhuri discloses selection of the one or more communication parameters from a set of candidate communication parameters indicated by the control node (paragraphs 122, 148, and 149).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Tekgul selection of the one or more communication parameters from a set of candidate communication parameters indicated by the control node.
The motivation would have been for interference reduction (paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 16, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed above. Tekgul further discloses the WCD-controlled operation mode is a candidate WCD-controlled operation mode of a set of candidate WCD-controlled operation modes (paragraph 7: amplify-forward or decode-forward mode).
. Regarding claims 17 and 28, all limitations of claims 1 and 19 are disclosed above. Tekgul further discloses receive an indication of control information associated with a default WCD- controlled operation mode, and communicate, before or after communicating based at least in part on the WCD- controlled operation mode, with the WCD based at least in part on the default WCD- controlled operation mode (paragraphs 93 and 112: default mode).
Regarding claim 18, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed above. Tekgul does not teach but Ray Chaudhuri discloses receive a set of information elements of control information based at least in part on the WCD-controlled operation mode (paragraph 122: frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Tekgul receive a set of information elements of control information based at least in part on the WCD-controlled operation mode.
The motivation would have been for interference reduction.
Regarding claim 32, all limitations of claim 30 are disclosed above. Tekgul further teaches the WCD-controlled operation mode comprises an operation mode for communications based at least in part on:
control information received from the WCD (paragraphs 89 and 93).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekgul et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0075497) in view of Ray Chaudhuri et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0194569) in view of Abedini et al. (Us Pub. No. 2021/0297144).
Regarding claim 11, all limitations of claim 5 are disclosed above. Tekgul does not teach but Abedini discloses the control information is associated with one or more of: time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraphs 122 and 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Tekgul the control information is associated with one or more of: time division duplexing (TDD).
The motivation would have been for communication between base station and relay/repeater node.
Claim(s) 13 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekgul et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0075497) in view of Ray Chaudhuri et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0194569) in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0154501).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, all limitations of claims 1 and 19 are disclosed above. Tekgul does not teach but Cheng discloses receive an acknowledgement of the indication of the selection of the WCD- controlled operation mode, wherein communicating with the WCD based at least in part on the WCD-controlled operation mode is based at least in part on receiving the acknowledgement (paragraph 4: UE transmits an indication of selecting/switching to a peer UE scheduling operation mode to base station. The base station transmits an acknowledgment to UE, and the UE operates under the new peer UE scheduling mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Tekgul receive an acknowledgement of the indication of the selection of the WCD- controlled operation mode, wherein communicating with the WCD based at least in part on the WCD-controlled operation mode is based at least in part on receiving the acknowledgement.
The motivation would have been for confirmation.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekgul et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0075497) in view of Ray Chaudhuri et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0194569) in view of Chang et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0053605).
Regarding claim 31, all limitations of claim 29 are disclosed above. Tekgul does not teach but Chang discloses the WCD-controlled operation mode comprises an operation mode for communications base at least in part on control information received from an additional WCD that is different from the WCD (see figure 3 step 302; paragraphs 39-41: Remote UE transmits a request to a relay UE for information provided by a base station. If the relay UE decides to assist the remote UE, the relay UE transmits an indication message which includes information that indicate the relay UE is operating in a relay mode, to the base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Tekgul the WCD-controlled operation mode comprises an operation mode for communications base at least in part on control information received from an additional WCD that is different from the WCD.
The motivation would have been to support/assist remote UE in receiving information/signaling from a base station (paragraph 41).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In pages 15-16 of Remark, regarding independent claims, the Applicant argues that Ray Chaudhuri and Tekgul do not teach “transmit an indication of a selection of a wireless communication device (WCD) controlled operation mode, wherein the selection is obtained from a control node or determined by the forwarding node, and wherein the selection of the WCD- controlled operation mode is associated with one a set of frequency resources.” In particular, the Applicant argues that the secondary reference Ray Chaudhuri does not teach “apparatus…configured to… transmit an indication of a selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode.” Examiner respectfully disagrees
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the main reference Tekgul discloses transmitting an indication of a selection of the WCD-controlled operation mode including amplification-forwarding mode (paragraphs 93, 94, 95, 97, and 98). Tekgul does not teach the selection of the operation mode is associated with a set of frequency resources. Ray Chaudhuri discloses an amplification-forwarding mode associated with a set of frequency resources (paragraphs 122 and 123). Thus, it would have been obvious to combine Ray Chaudhuri’s teaching with Tekgul to teach the claimed limitation.
In pages 16-17 of Remark, regarding independent claims, the Applicant argues that there is no rationale in supporting the 103 rejection. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
One with ordinary skill in the art knows, and supported by Tekgul’s paragraphs 34-36, that wireless communication occurs in a frequency spectrum. Thus, the receiving and transmitting/relaying/forwarding mode is associated with frequency resources. Since Ray Chaudhuri discloses amplification and forward mode associated with a set of frequency resources, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine Ray Chaudhuri with Tekgul to teach the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TITO Q PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466