DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on May 26, 2026 was considered by the examiner. Claims 2-16 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “one or more sensor heads” in line 7, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “one or more sensor heads” in line 2. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the lack of the definite article “the” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be “the one or more sensor heads”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). For the purposes of examination, the recitations are being interpreted as the same.
Claims 3-8 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards abstract ideas without significantly more.
Claim 2 interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. Based on the specification, the recitation “processing the image to determine a likelihood score that the surface of the one or more sensor heads is in contact with the tissue site of the patient” (see specification ¶[00285]-[00291] and ¶[00374]-[00375]) is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements. The recitation “modify a data collection procedure for the second optical sensor based at least in part on the determined likelihood score” (see specification ¶[0095]) is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions (i.e., one of ordinary skill in the art could look at the likelihood score and use their judgement/opinion to modify the data collection procedure). The recitations are computer-implemented, as indicated in the specification (see specification ¶[0015] and ¶[00373]), and in the claim line 11.
Claim 9 interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111. Based on the specification, the recitation “processing the image to determine a likelihood score that the surface of the one or more sensor heads is in contact with the tissue site of the patient” (see specification ¶[00285]-[00291] and ¶[00374]-[00375]) is being interpreted as mathematical calculations/evaluations and/or judgements (i.e., one of ordinary skill in the art could look at the OCT image and indicate a likelihood value). The recitation “modifying a data collection procedure for the second optical sensor based at least in part on the determined likelihood score” (see specification ¶[0095]) is being interpreted as judgements and/or opinions (i.e., one of ordinary skill in the art could look at the likelihood score and use their judgement/opinion to modify the data collection procedure). The recitations are computer-implemented, as indicated in the specification (see specification ¶[0015] and ¶[00373]).
Step 1: This part of eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. MPEP 2106.03. Claim 2 recites a system, which is directed towards a machine/manufacture (a statutory category of invention). Claim 9 recites a method, which is directed towards a process (a statutory category of invention). Step 1: YES.
Step 2A Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper” to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The “mental processes” abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. As discussed in the claim interpretation section, the limitations include, under the BRI, an evaluation and/or judgement; and a judgement and/or an opinion. Accordingly, the limitations as seen in claims 2 and 9 recite judicial exceptions (abstract ideas that fall within the mental process grouping). No limitations are provided that would force the complexity of any of the identified evaluation steps to be non-performable by pen-and-paper practice.
Furthermore, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). The courts consider mathematical calculations, when the claim is given its BRI in light of the specification, as falling within the “mathematical concept” grouping of abstract ideas. A claim does not have to recite “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of “determining” a variable or number using a mathematical method, or “performing” a mathematical operation, may also be considered a mathematical calculation when the BRI of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation. As discussed in the claim interpretation section, the limitations include, under the BRI, a mathematical calculation/evaluation. Accordingly, the limitations as seen in claims 2 and 9 recite judicial exceptions (abstract ideas that fall within the mathematical calculations grouping of mathematical concepts).
Alternatively or additionally, these steps describe the concept of using implicit mathematical formulas (i.e., calculations to determine a likelihood score) to derive a conclusion based on input of data, which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts (Diamond v. Diehr. 450 U.S. 175, 209 U.S.P.Q. 1 (1981), Parker v. Flook. 437 U.S. 584, 19 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1978), and In re Grams. 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). The concept of the recited limitations identified as mathematical concepts above is not meaningfully different than those mathematical concepts found by the courts to be abstract ideas.
In particular, claim 1 recites the following elements, which are part of the abstract idea (i.e., the algorithm):
detecting an air gap between a surface of one or more sensor heads and a tissue site of a patient,
obtain physiological data associated with the patient;
receive an image of the tissue site of the patient;
process the image to determine a likelihood score that the surface of the one or more sensor heads is in contact with the tissue site of the patient;
modify a data collection procedure for the second optical sensor based at least in part on the determined likelihood score; and
cause, based at least in part on the modified data collection procedure, the second optical sensor to obtain physiological data associated with the patient.
Furthermore, claim 9 recites the following elements, which are part of the abstract idea (i.e., the algorithm):
a method of detecting an air gap between a surface of one or more sensor heads and a tissue site of a patient, the method comprising:
generating an image of the tissue site,
receiving the image of the tissue site of the patient;
processing the image to determine a likelihood score that the surface of the one or more sensor heads is in contact with the tissue site of the patient;
modifying a data collection procedure for the second optical sensor based at least in part on the determined likelihood score; and
causing, based at least in part on the modified data collection procedure, the second optical sensor to obtain physiological data associated with the patient.
Step 2A Prong One: YES.
Step 2A Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exceptions, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exceptions into a practical application. The claims recite additional elements related to a generic computer (i.e., the one or more hardware processors). The system/method are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claims 2 and 9 further recite an additional element of noninvasive sensors. The noninvasive sensors do not qualify as integration into a practical application because this limitation is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a high level of generality – see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g) using a generic component (i.e., the noninvasive sensors are claimed generically).
The claims recite additional elements relating to one or more sensor heads, a frame, and a surface. Van Dorpe et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0100064 – cited in prior action) teaches devices and methods for non-invasive measuring of analytes, such as in skin tissue, with a first optical unit including a Raman spectrometer, and a second optical unit, including an OCT spectrometer or IR spectrometer (see abstract and Fig. 5), in which the materials in the sensor head are commercially available and “off-the-shelf” thereby decreasing cost (see ¶[0099]-[0100] and ¶[0102]; Figs. 4-5). Note that there is a three modality optical sensor head disclosed. Therefore, the known and conventional, commercially available components, cannot be seen as integration into a practical application.
Step 2A Prong Two: NO.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. As explained with Step 2A Prong Two, the claims recite additional elements directed towards a generic computer (i.e., the one or more hardware processors). The system/method utilizing a generic computer do not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Claims 2 and 9 further recite additional elements relating to one or more sensor heads, a frame, a surface, and noninvasive sensors. These elements do not qualify as significantly more because this is simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. For example, Van Dorpe et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0100064 – cited in prior action) teaches devices and methods for non-invasive measuring of analytes, such as in skin tissue, with a first optical unit including a Raman spectrometer, and a second optical unit, including an OCT spectrometer or IR spectrometer (see abstract and Fig. 5), in which the materials in the sensor head are commercially available and “off-the-shelf” thereby decreasing cost (see ¶[0099]-[0100] and ¶[0102]; Figs. 4-5). Therefore, the known and conventional, commercially available components, cannot be seen as significantly more.
The claims also recite a classifier trained by a neural network which is merely insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data manipulation using a well-known element (i.e., the classifier trained by the neural network) claimed generically. Machine learning, when claimed generically, is well-known, routine, and conventional in the art. For example, see Hu et al. (“Intelligent Sensor Networks The Integration of Sensor Networks, Signal Processing and Machine Learning”, CRC Press, 2012/10/23) teaches machine learning may utilize data from wireless sensor networks in supervised and unsupervised fashion (see pg. 3-7), and may be utilized for predictions (see pg. 153-180). See Huang et al. (“Kernal Based Algorithms for Mining Huge Data Sets Supervised, Semi-supervised, and Unsupervised Learning”, Springer, 2006) teaches about supervised learning, including for predicting labels of unseen data (see pg. 1-3). See Mitchell (“The Discipline of Machine Learning”, Machine Learning Department, Carnegie Mellon, July 2006) teaches about the state of machine learning, and including the usage in biological settings (see pg. 1-7). Therefore, the classifier trained by the neural network cannot be seen as significantly more.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no
indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for
example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is
no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based
problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective
functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e.,
the computer is simply a tool to perform the process. Step 2B: NO.
Claims 2 and 9 are not eligible.
Claims 3-8 and 10-16 depend from claims 2 and 9, respectively, merely further define the abstract ideas of claims 2 and 9. The claims recite no additional element that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The device/method are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims recite no additional element that adds an inventive concept to the claim and/or amounts to significantly more than the recited exception. The method/devices utilizing a generic computer do not qualify as significantly more because these limitations are simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Claims 3-6 and 10-14 recite further elements relating to the Raman spectrometer and OCT sensors. Such elements cannot be seen as integration into a practical application or significantly more because they are simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. For example, Van Dorpe et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0100064 – cited in prior action) teaches devices and methods for non-invasive measuring of analytes, such as in skin tissue, with a first optical unit including a Raman spectrometer, and a second optical unit, including an OCT spectrometer or IR spectrometer (see abstract and Fig. 5), and a laser light source (see ¶[0110], ¶[0119], and ¶[0137]), in which the materials in the sensor head are commercially available and “off-the-shelf” thereby decreasing cost (see ¶[0099]-[0100] and ¶[0102]; Figs. 4-5). In addition, Lui et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0011893 – cited in prior action) teaches a Raman spectrometer system capable of discriminating between different tissue pathologies via ranges in a Raman spectrum with improved sensitivity and specificity (see abstract and Figs. 1-2), in which the tissue is skin (see ¶[0036]), in which the ranges may be utilized for reference molecules in skin (see ¶[0073] and ¶[0123]; Figs. 4A-4D), and the ranges are captured in at least 11 sub-ranges in the Raman spectrum (see ¶[0040]-[0054]) captured via spectrometer 38 which is implemented with an NIR-optimized CCD array with holographic grating, both commercial components (see ¶[0106] and Fig. 2), with light source 32, such as implemented via a laser (see ¶[0102] and Fig. 2). Furthermore, Zhou (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0166328 – cited in prior action) teaches about integrated photonic chips and related systems and methods for OCT scanning (see abstract), in which a commercially available laser light source is utilized (see ¶[0043]), at various wavelengths, such as a range of 1310 ± 60 nm (see ¶[0036] and ¶[0068]). Therefore, the known and conventional, commercially available components, cannot be seen as integration into a practical application or significantly more.
Claims 7-8 and 15-20 recite further elements relating to the neural network. Even if such elements were to be considered as non-generic machine learning, those elements would still be interpreted as mathematical calculations and evaluations. Therefore, such elements cannot be seen as integration into a practical application or significantly more, as those elements are directed towards abstract ideas themselves.
Looking at the limitations of each claim as an ordered combination in conjunction with the claims from which they depend (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dorpe et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0100064 – cited in prior action), hereinafter Van Dorpe, and in view of Margallo Balbás (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0027639 – cited in prior action), hereinafter Margallo Balbás, and in view of Baker Jr. et al. (WIPO Publication WO 2009/088799 A1 – cited in prior action), hereinafter Baker Jr.
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, Van Dorpe teaches devices and methods for non-invasive measuring of analytes, such as in skin tissue, with a first optical unit including a Raman spectrometer, and a second optical unit, including an OCT spectrometer or IR spectrometer (see abstract and Fig. 5). Van Dorpe teaches a system/method for detecting an air gap between a surface of one or more sensor heads and a tissue site of a patient (see abstract and Figs. 4-5, see also ¶[0134], the integrated circuit for contacting the tissue), the system comprising:
a plurality of noninvasive sensors configured to obtain physiological data associated with a patient (abstract and ¶[0101]-[0102] the integrated circuit 100 including the optical unit, including the Raman spectrometer 102, OCT spectrometer 103, and the IR spectrometer 107, ¶[0080]-[0081] and ¶[0137]-[0140] the integrated circuit may comprise a plurality of optical units, each simultaneously performing Raman and OCT spectroscopy at different locations on the body; Figs. 4-5);
the plurality of noninvasive sensors comprising at least a first optical sensor (¶[0101]-[0102] the integrated circuit 100 including the optical unit, including the OCT spectrometer 103; Figs. 4-5) and a second optical sensor (¶[0101]-[0102] the integrated circuit 100 including the optical unit, including the Raman spectrometer 102; Figs. 4-5), wherein the second optical sensor has a different optical sensing modality than the first optical sensor (¶[0101]-[0102] the OCT spectrometer 103 is a different modality from the Raman spectrometer 102);
one or more sensor heads (¶[0080]-[0081] and ¶[0101]-[0102] the individual optical unit with Raman, OCT, and IR spectroscopy; Figs. 4-5) comprising:
a frame configured to support at least a portion of each of the plurality of noninvasive sensors (¶[0101]-[0102] the silicon substrate 101; Figs. 4-5); and
a surface configured to contact a tissue site of the patient (¶[0099]-[0103] the optical window 110, ¶[0134] the optical window can directly contact the tissue; Figs. 4-6b); and
one or more hardware processors (¶[0110]-[0117] the integrated circuit that processes the recorded image data to determine analyte concentration) configured to:
cause the second optical sensor to obtain physiological data associated with the patient based on tissue contact (¶[0110]-[0117], ¶[0134], and ¶[0137]-[0140] the images (i.e., the spectra) are obtained once the sensor (i.e., the optical window) is pressed against the tissue, and the analyte concentration determined from the images).
Van Dorpe teaches that measurements are collected once the sensor is pressed against the tissue, but does not teach a modality of determining sensor contact, specifically including to receive an image of the tissue site of the patient from the first optical sensor; process the image using a classifier trained by a neural network to determine a likelihood score that the surface of the one or more sensor heads is in contact with the tissue site of the patient; modify a data collection procedure for the second optical sensor based at least in part on the determined likelihood score; and cause, based at least in part on the modified data collection procedure, the second optical sensor to obtain physiological data associated with the patient based on the likelihood score.
Margallo Balbás teaches systems and methods for performing RF ablation while monitoring via low coherence interferometry (LCI) data (see abstract and ¶[0044]-[0045]; Figs. 3A-3B), in which the LCI data is utilized to continuously confirm tissue contact, in which the data may be analyzed via a neural network, and the user notified if poor contact detected, or feedback to stabilize data acquisition (see ¶[0109]-[0110]). Note that OCT utilizes LCI images to construct the 3D OCT image (see Margallo Balbás ¶[0117]-[0118]; see also generally pg. 1-3, Wasatch Photonics, “OCT Tutorial”, Wasatch Photonics, accessed on 12/29/2025, accessed at https://wasatchphotonics.com/oct-tutorial/); and to modify a data collection procedure for the second optical sensor based at least in part on the OCT values (¶[0030] and ¶[0109] the feedback loop for providing automatic control, such as for maintaining continuous contact and stationary position, which would necessitate modifying position). Here, the specification of the present application details that modifications may include “adjusting an intensity, power, position, or timing” (see specification ¶[0095]), of which the automatic control feedback loop for maintaining continuous contact and stationary position falls under the BRI of the modification as required by the present claim, as maintaining contact and stationary position would necessitate modifying position.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the LCI data of the OCT spectrometer (note that OCT utilizes LCI images to construct the OCT images) of Van Dorpe to determine and monitor tissue contact via a neural network as taught by Margallo Balbás because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device/method ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) determining and maintaining tissue contact throughout data acquisition would help to limit noise and other artifacts in the data from poor tissue contact, such as light leakage, other light signals being received, etc.; and/or (3) the automatic control from the feedback loop would provide assistance the medical professional to maintain continuous contact and stationary position, so the medical professional can focus on other aspects of data collection. Here, it is inherent that such a neural network would be trained, as otherwise, the neural network would not be able to determine proper tissue contact.
The modified Van Dorpe does not specifically teach that the classifier utilizes a likelihood score.
Baker Jr. teaches a system and method for determining whether a sensor is coupled to arterialized tissue (see abstract and ¶[0017]), in which the sensor utilizes emitted light from LED and the reflected/transmitted light detected by a photodetector to compute waveforms (see ¶[0009] and ¶[0031]-[0032]; Fig. 2), in which the waveforms may be input into a neural network, which outputs a probability that the sensor is in contact with the tissue (see abstract, ¶[0017], ¶[0035]-[0039], ¶[0053]), in which in response to the determined probability, actions include updating physiological data, holding the current data, and clearing the current data (see ¶[0038]), in which the neural network is trained using labeled data (see ¶[0036]-[0039] and ¶[0054]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the probability value as determined in Baker Jr. and actions with the neural network with input OCT values of the modified Van Dorpe, so that the neural network of the modified Van Dorpe outputs a probability of contact, rather than a binary determination, because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device/method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the probability value would provide easier control of the system than the binary determination, so that the user may adjust the action (i.e., update, hold, or clear) based on the probability value without needing to update the neural network parameters (such as in the output layer as in a binary determination), providing an easier adjustment that may be necessitated by various circumstances, such as in a patient by patient basis.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the labeled (i.e., supervised) training of Baker Jr. with the neural network of the modified Van Dorpe because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device/method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the neural network of the modified Van Dorpe requires training and Baker Jr. teaches one such modality of training.
Here, the neural network of the modified Van Dorpe is a classifier as it is classifying the input LCI/OCT image data into probability of touching or not. Furthermore, as the sensors (i.e., the Raman and OCT spectrometers) are measuring data from skin, and such measurement does not occur in a vacuum, if there is high probability of non-contact, that would necessarily indicate the presence of an air gap.
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. teaches the system/method of claims 2 and 9 as stated above. The modified Van Dorpe further teaches the first optical sensor comprises an OCT sensor (see Van Dorpe abstract and ¶[0101]-[0102], the integrated circuit 100 including the optical unit, including the Raman spectrometer 102, OCT spectrometer 103, and the IR spectrometer 107, ¶[0080]-[0081] and ¶[0137]-[0140] the integrated circuit may comprise a plurality of optical units, each simultaneously performing Raman and OCT spectroscopy at different locations on the body; Figs. 4-5), and wherein the OCT is configured to generate the image of the tissue site (see Margallo Balbás ¶[0109]-[0110], the LCI data is utilized to continuously confirm tissue contact, in which the data may be analyzed via a neural network).
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. teaches the system/method of claims 2 and 9 as stated above. Van Dorpe further teaches the plurality of noninvasive sensors comprises a Raman spectrometer (abstract and ¶[0101]-[0102] the integrated circuit 100 including the optical unit, including the Raman spectrometer 102, OCT spectrometer 103, and the IR spectrometer 107, ¶[0080]-[0081] and ¶[0137]-[0140] the integrated circuit may comprise a plurality of optical units, each simultaneously performing Raman and OCT spectroscopy at different locations on the body; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 12, Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. teaches the method of claim 9 as stated above. Van Dorpe further teaches wherein the second optical sensor comprises a Raman spectrometer (¶[0101]-[0102] the integrated circuit 100 including the optical unit, including the Raman spectrometer 102; Figs. 4-5) and
wherein causing the second optical sensor to obtain physiological data comprises causing obtaining spectrographic data (abstract and ¶[0101]-[0102] the integrated circuit 100 including the optical unit, including the Raman spectrometer 102, OCT spectrometer 103, and the IR spectrometer 107, ¶[0080]-[0081] and ¶[0137]-[0140] the integrated circuit may comprise a plurality of optical units, each simultaneously performing Raman and OCT spectroscopy at different locations on the body, ¶[0110]-[0117], ¶[0134], and ¶[0137]-[0140] the images (i.e., the spectra) are obtained once the sensor (i.e., the optical window) is pressed against the tissue, and the analyte concentration determined from the images; Figs. 4-5).
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. as applied to claims 4 and 11 above, and in view of Lui et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0011893 – cited in prior action), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. teaches the system/method of claims 4 and 11 as stated above. The modified Van Dorpe does not specifically teach about the Raman spectroscopy, including that the Raman spectrometer is configured to obtain spectrographic data associated with a first band of wavenumbers and a second band of wavenumbers at least 500 cm-1 away from the first band.
Liu teaches a Raman spectrometer system capable of discriminating between different tissue pathologies via ranges in a Raman spectrum with improved sensitivity and specificity (see abstract and Figs. 1-2), in which the tissue is skin (see ¶[0036]), in which the ranges may be utilized for reference molecules in skin (see ¶[0073] and ¶[0123]; Figs. 4A-4D), and the ranges are captured in at least 11 sub-ranges in the Raman spectrum (see ¶[0040]-[0054]) captured via spectrometer 38 which is implemented with an NIR-optimized CCD array with holographic grating (see ¶[0106] and Fig. 2), with light source 32, such as implemented via a laser (see ¶[0102] and Fig. 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to implement the Raman spectroscopy as taught in Liu as the Raman spectroscopy in the modified Van Dorpe, for the analyte (i.e., molecule) detection because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device/method ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the Raman spectroscopy of Liu provides improved sensitivity and specificity (see Liu abstract, ¶[0073], ¶[0123], and ¶[0141]).
Here, the modified Van Dorpe teaches a plurality of sub-ranges over the Raman spectrum, such as the 11 sub-ranges described in Liu ¶[0041], the sub-ranges of 500-513, 546-586, 611-675, 721-736, 760-830, 870-900, 947-1320, 1345-1420, 1434-1457, 1478-1520, and 1540-1790 cm-1. The present claim requires only two bands, with the second at least 500 cm-1 away. The modified Van Dorpe teaches several such ranges (i.e., bands), such as 500-513 cm-1 with 947-1320, 1345-1420, 1434-1457, 1478-1520, or 1540-1790 cm-1. Therefore, the modified Van Dorpe teaches the elements as required by claims 5 and 13.
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. teaches the system/method of claims 4 and 11 as stated above. The modified Van Dorpe further teaches the Raman spectrometer comprises:
an emitter configured to emit light towards the tissue sample of the patient (see Van Dorpe ¶[0110], ¶[0119], and ¶[0137], the laser light source, Fig. 5; see Liu ¶[0102] the laser light source 32, Fig. 2);
a diffraction grating configured to diffract Raman scattered light from the tissue site of the patient towards (see Liu see ¶[0106], the NIR-optimized CCD array, with detectors capable of detecting all the sub-ranges utilized; Fig. 2) a first detector and a second detector, wherein the first detector is configured to detect Raman scattered light in the first band and the second detector is configured to detect Raman scattered light in the second band (see Liu see ¶[0106], the holographic grating for directing light towards the NIR-optimized CCD array; Fig. 2).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and in view of SuperDataScience Team (“The Ultimate Guide to Convolutional Neural Networks (CNN)”, SuperDataScience Team, SuperDataScience, published on 08/27/2018, accessed on 12/27/2025, accessed at https://www.superdatascience.com/blogs/the-ultimate-guide-to-convolutional-neural-networks-cnn -- cited in prior action), hereinafter SuperDataScience.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. teaches the system/method of claims 2 and 9 as stated above. The modified Van Dorpe generally teaches that the neural network is trained with labeled data (see Baker Jr. ¶[0036]-[0039] and ¶[0054]), but does not teach the specifics of such training.
SuperDataScience teaches about the general structure of convolutional neural networks (CNNs) (see generally pg. 8-11), and that the known and conventional operations of convolution, pooling, and flattening may alter the input 2D/3D images into 1D outputs (see pg. 11-33), and that through training using the labeled/classified images, feature maps (i.e., the weights) may be constructed in the convolution layer (see pg. 13-18).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to train the neural network as recited in the claims, using the known and conventional CNN training implementations as taught by SuperDataScience because it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to write an algorithm (i.e., the training of the neural network) with known and conventional CNN training implementations so as to achieve the desired function (i.e., the probability of contact as taught by the modified Van Dorpe), and such training would be required for such a neural network to function.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. as applied to claims 4 and 9 above, and in view of Alves (“Understanding ConvNets (CNN)”, Neuronio, Medium, published on 10/08/2018, accessed on 12/22/2025, accessed at https://medium.com/neuronio/understanding-convnets-cnn-712f2afe4dd3 -- cited in prior action), hereinafter Alves.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. teaches the system/method of claims 4 and 9 as stated above. The modified Van Dorpe teaches the usage of a neural network for determining the probability of contact, but does not teach the specifics of the neural network.
Alves teaches about the general structure utilized in convolutional neural networks (CNNs), used for classic problems such as image recognition (see pg. 1-3), including known and conventional operations including convolution layers (see pg. 3-6), activation functions for bring nonlinearity (see pg. 7), a pooling layer (see pg. 7), a fully connected layer (see pg. 8), and a dropout layer (see generally pg. 8-12, see other layers utilized in CNN as well).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to develop the neural network as recited in the claims, using the known and conventional CNN implementations as taught by Alves to solve a CNN classical problem (i.e., the image recognition, recognizing contact or non-contact) because it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to write an algorithm (i.e., the convolutional neural network) with known and conventional CNN implementations so as to achieve the desired function (i.e., the probability of contact as taught by the modified Van Dorpe), and such implementation and structure would be required for such a neural network to function.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, objections to the drawings
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8-11, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the objections of Figs. 4A, 19C, 27-28, and 34A-35B in view of 37 C.F.R. 1.84(b)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, objections to the specification
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the objection of the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, objections to the claims
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11-12, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the objections of claims 2-3, 7, 10-12, and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12-13, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 2-16 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made that was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment filed on May 26, 2026.
Applicant’s arguments, 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 13-14, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 2-16 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are NOT persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims are integrated into a practical application via the modification of the data collection procedure based on the determined likelihood score, so as to avoid airgaps and thus improve data quality in the obtained physiological data. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The improvement (i.e., the modification of the data collection procedure) is itself directed towards abstract ideas as explained above, implemented so as to improve data quality. An improved mental process is still a mental process even if such a mental process results in more accurate results.1,2 Also, having the claims focus on physiological data is not itself limiting the claims to improving the technology because cases that involve practical, technological improvements extend beyond simply improving the accuracy of a measurement.3 See, e.g., McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“The claimed process uses a combined order of specific rules that renders information into a specific format that is then used and applied to create desired results: a sequence of synchronized, animated characters.”); Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1304 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (finding patent eligible a claim drawn to a behavior-based virus scan that protects against viruses that have been “cosmetically modified to avoid detection by code-matching virus scans”); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1330, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (discussing patent eligible claims directed to “an innovative logical model for a computer database” that included a self-referential table allowing for greater flexibility in configuring databases, faster searching, and more effective storage); CardioNet, LLC v. InfoBionic, Inc., 955 F.3d 1358, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (explaining that the claims at issue focus on a specific means for improving cardiac monitoring technology; they are not “directed to a result or effect that itself is the abstract idea and merely invoke generic processes and machinery” (quoting McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314)).
Therefore, the improvement cannot integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because the improvement is directed towards the abstract ideas. Accordingly, the rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 14-19, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 2-16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are NOT persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. does not teach the recitation of “modify a data collection procedure for the second optical sensor based at least in part on the determined likelihood score” in the amended independent claims. Specifically with regards to Margallo Balbás, “These disclosures relate to validating contact or stationarity and respond to slippage or lass of contact; they do not teach or suggest modifying a data collection procedure for a second optical sensor having a different optical sensing modality based at least in part on a likelihood score…”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, Margallo Balbás teaches the feedback system as cited by the Applicant, and also that feedback system may provide automatic control (see Margallo Balbás ¶[0030]). Further, that the specification of the present application details that modifications may include “adjusting an intensity, power, position, or timing” (see specification ¶[0095]), of which the automatic control feedback loop for maintaining continuous contact and stationary position falls under the BRI of the modification as required by the claims as amended, as maintaining contact and stationary position would necessitate modifying position. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections to the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of Van Dorpe in view of Margallo Balbás and Baker Jr. are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791
1 “[T]he improvement in computational accuracy alleged here does not qualify as an improvement to a technological
process; rather, it is merely an enhancement to the abstract mathematical calculation of haplotype phase itself...The
different use of a mathematical calculation, even one that yields different or better results, does not render patent
eligible subject matter.” In re Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Junior University, 991 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir.
2021).
2 “[A] claim for a new abstract idea is still an abstract idea.” Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp, 839 F.3d 1138
(Fec. Cir. 2016).
3 See In re Board of Trustees of Leland Stanford Junior University, 991 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2021).