Response to Arguments
The arguments are persuasive. See Hassan (Populating 3D Scenes by Learning Human-Scene Interaction) which teaches inanimate contact in section 3.2 and figure 2.
This is a second action final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (20210335028) in view of Pujades (20200058137) in further view of Murphy (20200201514) in further view of Hassan (Populating 3D Scenes by Learning Human-Scene Interaction).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method for scene synthesis from human motion, comprising: computing three-dimensional (3D) human pose trajectories of human motion in a scene (pars. 21-22);
generating contact labels of objects in the scene based on the computing of the 3D human pose trajectories (pars. 16 and 48-61, contact labels and estimation, determining the ground plane with contact points.);
estimating contact points between human body vertices of the 3D human pose trajectories and the contact labels of the objects that are in contact with the human body vertices (pars. 33-34, foot to ground plane);
Pujades teaches unseen objects in par. 165-166, back of tables are unseen.
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Yang the ability to detect parts of objects that are not in direct view as taught by Pujades in order to allow the model to determine different parts of objects. The reason is to improve object detection.
Murphy discloses predicting object placements of the objects in the scene based on the estimated contact points (see pars. 10 and 143-146).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Yang and Puajades the ability to predict placements of objects based on the relationship between the graph to predict placements as taught by Murphy. The reason is to improve the modeling.
Hassan teaches that the objects contact labels are inanimate (see section 3.2 and figure 2, which teaches generating contact label tied to scene object classes. The scene object classes are inanimate objects. Figure 2 shows contact with a floor, sofa, and table).
It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in Yang and Puajades and Murphy the ability to find contact points with inanimate objects like furniture as taught by Hassan. The reason is to improve the modeling between an inanimate object and a person.
Regarding claim 2, see pars. 34 and 47-48 of Yang. Smoothing across frames.
Regarding claim 3, see Yang, pars. 28, 30-31, 47-48, includes vertices.
Regarding claim 4, see Murphy, pars. 135 and 143-144, relationships with the contact points in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, see pars. 39-44 of Murphy. Populating.
Regarding claims 6-20, see the rejection of claims 1-5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HADI AKHAVANNIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676