DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B in the reply filed on 7/22/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant has asserted that no claims must be withdrawn at this time, the examiner agrees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20230043355-A1 (P).
Regarding claim 1, P teaches
A secondary battery (102) comprising: a case (200) having a vent (291) on one side (210); an electrode assembly ([0056] “electrode assembly”) in the case; a pair of terminals (110) coupled to respective sides of the case (see Fig. 2(a), the battery is a bipolar battery), and electrically connected to the electrode assembly; and a heat insulation member (270) coupled to a surface ([0161] “inner surface of the cell sleeve”) of the case (see Fig. 15(a)), and covering a region corresponding to the vent (270 spans the entirety of 210, so it must cover the region corresponding to the vent 291. This is further supported by [0184] which discusses the relationship between 291 and insulating material inside the cell sleeve 200).
Regarding claim 2, P teaches the vent is on a short side of the case between the terminals (210 is shorter than the sides 220/230).
Regarding claim 4, P teaches the heat insulation member is attached onto the surface of the case [0161].
Regarding claim 5, P teaches the heat insulation member is coupled to the surface of the case through an insulation film ([0161] heat resistant tape) positioned on the case.
Regarding claim 6, P teaches the heat insulation member further comprises an adhesive layer ([0161] adhesive applied to the surface) on a side facing the case (in order to adhere to the case it must have the adhesive on the case side of the ceramic sheet).
Regarding claim 7, P teaches the heat insulation member further comprises a stitch corresponding to the vent of the case ([0184], “perforation holes(s) 250”, “corresponding to the cut portion 291 or perforation hole(s) 250 of the cell sleeve 200”. Perforations meet the requirements for the stitches of the instant because it is stated in [0060] of the instant that the stitches may be perforations).
Regarding claim 8, P teaches the stitch matches within the region of the vent ([0184], “position or shape corresponding to”).
Regarding claim 9, P teaches the stitch comprises at least two lines that cross each other within the region of the vent ([0184], a perforation corresponding to the shape of 291 would have two lines that cross each other within the region of the vent).
Regarding claim 10, P teaches the stitch comprises a line along an outline of the vent ([0184] perforation corresponding the shape and position of 151 would form an outline of the vent).
Regarding claim 11, P teaches the stitch comprises perforations ([0184] 151 is specifically called perforations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20230043355-A1 (P) in view of US-20230318122-A1 (J).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of P are explained in the rejection of claim 1. P further teaches that 270 may be formed by a ceramic sheet having heat resistance or an insulating tape [0161].
P does not teach the heat insulation member comprises an insulating material containing MICA and is further silent to the material of 270.
J teaches a battery mono frame (12) with a mica sheet (17) fixed to it using double sided adhesive tape (30). J teaches the mica sheet has a venting portion (A) [0035]. J teaches the benefit of the mica sheet and adhesive tape arrangement is that the double-sided tape and mica sheet form a gas discharge path when the battery module reaches a set internal pressure and temperature to prevent damage [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to form the insulating member of P out of the adhesive tape and mica sheet of J in order to achieve the benefit of protecting the battery from overpressure and high temperature. It would have been obvious to do because P does not teach a specific material for the insulating tape and because J teaches a known material for an insulating tape with a vent with known benefits.
Conclusion
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721