DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/494609 filed on 08/29/2025 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed08/29/2025. Claims 1, 3-5, 9-14 & 18-20 are presently amended. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102: Applicant's arguments filed 08/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2020/0018826A1 (“Cao”) and US 2017/0356769A1 (“Williams”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-18, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0146632A1 (“Laverne”), in view of US 2020/0018826A1 (“Cao”).
As per claim 1 Laverne teaches
A system for enhancing sensing capabilities of an autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0036]: FIGS. 1A-1B are examples of a roof-mounted retractable sensor system 100 for an autonomous vehicle 12 with the retractable sensor apparatus 120 in a fully retracted position and an operational position, respectively, in accordance with various embodiments.), the system comprising:
a detection system comprising an extension assembly for mounting on the autonomous vehicle and one or more sensors (see at least Laverne, para. [0036]: The roof-mounted sensor system 100 may include a roof-mounted housing 102 configured to be mounted to a roof 15 of a vehicle 12. The roof-mounted housing 102 may include an exterior housing surface 104 that forms an enclosure with an interior cavity 106. The housing 102 may include a top aperture 114 and a front-facing aperture 116.);
a plurality of lifting assemblies, wherein a first lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies is closer to a front portion of an upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle than a second lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies (see at least Laverne, para. [0040]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B).), and
an autonomy system, the autonomy system including a controller, a processor, and a memory device, the memory device storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the controller to (see at least Laverne, para. [0048-0050]: The on-board computing device 310 may include an autonomous vehicle navigation controller(AVNC) 320 configured to control the navigation of the vehicle along a planned route, such as along streets, roads, bridges, and under overhanging structures, in response to real-time information from the various sensors 325… However, controller 321 and controller 320 may the integrated into a single controller. In various embodiments, operational functions of controller 320 may be relied upon for decisions made by controller 321.):
extend the extension assembly by operating the plurality of lifting assemblies to lift the sensors to position the one or more sensors above an upper surface of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0041]: The sensor system 100 may include an additional roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152positioned in the enclosure of the housing 102 to capture data through the front-facing aperture 116.The roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152 may include a camera or imaging device. The roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152 has a field of view which extends a forward distance from the vehicle 12 to capture data of the environment and, in some instances, an imminent structure or obstruction. & para. [0060]);
receive, from the one or more sensors, at least one sensor signal representing one or more vehicle environment conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0047]: The object detection sensors may enable the vehicle 12 to detect objects that are within a given distance or range of the vehicle 12 in any direction, while the environmental sensors collect data about environmental conditions within the vehicle's area of travel. The system architecture 300 may also include one or more cameras 150, 152 for capturing images of the environment.); and
generate a vehicle state for the autonomous vehicle based at least on a location of the autonomous vehicle, the vehicle state comprising the one or more vehicle environment conditions (see at least Laverne, para. [0049]: The object detection information and/or captured images may be processed and analyzed by the autonomous vehicle navigation controller 320 to detect objects in proximity to the vehicle 12 such as for collision avoidance and/or navigation and motion control. Methods of moving a vehicle to avoid collision with objects including causing the brake controller to reduce speed of the vehicle or stop the vehicle, or causing the steering controller to move the vehicle away from the object before the vehicle reaches the object along the path. In addition or alternatively, the vehicle 12 may transmit any of the data to a remote server system (not shown) for processing. Any known or to be known technique for making an object detection based on sensor data and/or captured images can be used in the embodiments disclosed in this document.).
However Laverne does not explicitly disclose
a stowable platform including one or more sensors; and
extend the extension assembly by operating the plurality of lifting assemblies to lift the stowable platform to position the one or more sensors.
Cao teaches
a stowable platform including one or more sensors (see at least Cao, para. [0019]: In some embodiments, retractable sensor housing 310 is attached to the vehicle chassis 301 at a location beneath the hood of the vehicle. When the sensor is fully retracted, it can be under the vehicle hood, with the top of the sensor flush with the vehicle hood.); and
extend the extension assembly by operating the plurality of lifting assemblies to lift the stowable platform to position the one or more sensors (see at least Cao, para. [0026]: Housing body 540 can include a movable body structure and a fixed body structure. In some embodiments, sensor 510 is attached to the movable body structure of the housing body 540 by a sensor bracket 542 fitted to the sensor with sensor bracket fastener 544 (e.g., a screw, a nut and bolt, or some other fastener). Sensor bracket 542 can attach to the movable body structure of the housing body 540, allowing the sensor 510 to be moved up and down. Support rails 550 within housing body540 can be attached by support rail fasteners 552 (e.g., nuts and bolts, screws, nails, or other suitable fasteners) to support the movable body structure of the housing body 540. In some embodiments, sensor housing 500 includes two support rails 550, thereby providing three support structures including the motor shaft 531.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of a stowable platform including one or more sensors; and extend the extension assembly by operating the plurality of lifting assemblies to lift the stowable platform to position the one or more sensors of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to house one or more sensors within a structure that can be deployed when the sensor is in use (e.g., during an autonomous driving mode) and retracted when the sensor is not in use (see at least Cao, para. [0002]).
As per claim 2 Laverne discloses
wherein the extension assembly comprises a free end opposite a fixed end attached to the autonomous vehicle, and wherein the detection system comprises the one or more sensors coupled to the free end of the extension assembly (see at least Laverne, para. [0039]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a sensor housing 126 that is configured to be integrated with the interior cavity 106. The sensor housing 126 may be aligned with the top aperture 114 so that the sensors 125 may move in and out of the sensor housing 126 through the top aperture 114.).
As per claim 3 Laverne discloses
wherein the extension assembly comprises an outer extension member and an inner extension member in a telescoping arrangement to extend the extension assembly, (see at least Laverne, para. [0040]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B).).
As per claim 5 Laverne discloses
wherein the extension assembly further comprises one or more actuators to extend at least one of the outer extension member or the inner extension member (see at least Laverne, para. [0040]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B).).
As per claim 6 Laverne discloses
wherein the vehicle state is used for at least one of generating one or more alternative routes for the autonomous vehicle, moving the autonomous vehicle on a route selected from the one or more alternative routes, determining a velocity of the autonomous vehicle, or determining an acceleration of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0049]: The object detection information and/or captured images may be processed and analyzed by the autonomous vehicle navigation controller 320 to detect objects in proximity to the vehicle 12 such as for collision avoidance and/or navigation and motion control. Methods of moving a vehicle to avoid collision with objects including causing the brake controller to reduce speed of the vehicle or stop the vehicle, or causing the steering controller to move the vehicle away from the object before the vehicle reaches the object along the path.).
As per claim 7 Laverne discloses
wherein the detection system further comprises a baseline sensor positioned proximate an uppermost surface of the autonomous vehicle, the baseline sensor being configured to determine at least one of a position of the extension assembly, an orientation of the extension assembly, and a clearance above the autonomous vehicle to extend the extension assembly (see at least Laverne, para. [0054]: In some embodiments, the position tracker 136 may provide the tracked position data to the controller 321and/or the sensor elevation determination unit 412. The elevation of the top surface 224 (see FIGS.2A-2B) may be a function of its elevation above ground level and/or above the roof 15 of the vehicle 12, by way of non-limiting example. The sensor's elevation may be based on information provided by the lift apparatus 130. In various embodiments, the motor 134 may provide information representative of an elevation or height of the sensor body 123 relative to the roof 15.).
As per claim 8 Laverne discloses
wherein extending the extension assembly comprises determining a height of the one or more sensors based on a measured distance between the one or more sensors and the baseline sensor (see at least Laverne, para. [0054]: In some embodiments, the position tracker 136 may provide the tracked position data to the controller 321and/or the sensor elevation determination unit 412. The elevation of the top surface 224 (see FIGS.2A-2B) may be a function of its elevation above ground level and/or above the roof 15 of the vehicle 12, by way of non-limiting example. The sensor's elevation may be based on information provided by the lift apparatus 130. In various embodiments, the motor 134 may provide information representative of an elevation or height of the sensor body 123 relative to the roof 15.).
As per claim 9 Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to move the stowable platform between a lowered configured and a lifted configuration
Cao teaches
wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to move the stowable platform between a lowered configured and a lifted configuration (see at least Cao, para. [0014]: Housing can include a fixed housing body and a movable housing body. In some embodiments, the movable housing body is operatively coupled to a motor that actuates to raise and lower the movable housing body. A sensor can be attached to the movable housing body by a sensor bracket, thereby enabling the motor to raise and lower the sensor. In this way, the sensor can be raised when it is in use and lowered when it is not in use, thereby improving aerodynamics of the vehicle. In some embodiments, the housing further includes a positioner sensor for detecting the position of the movable body structure of the housing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein receiving the at least one sensor signal comprises receiving a signal from the one or more sensors positioned to detect signals in a lift configuration of the stowable platform of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to house one or more sensors within a structure that can be deployed when the sensor is in use (e.g., during an autonomous driving mode) and retracted when the sensor is not in use (see at least Cao, para. [0002]).
As per claim 11 Laverne discloses
A method for enhancing sensing capabilities of an autonomous vehicle, the method comprising (see at least Laverne, para. [0036]: FIGS. 1A-1B are examples of a roof-mounted retractable sensor system 100 for an autonomous vehicle 12 with the retractable sensor apparatus 120 in a fully retracted position and an operational position, respectively, in accordance with various embodiments.):
extending an extension assembly mounted to the autonomous vehicle by operating a plurality of lifting assemblies of the extension assembly to lift a sensor housing of the extension assembly to position one or more sensors above an upper surface of an upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0040-0041]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B)….The sensor system 100 may include an additional roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152positioned in the enclosure of the housing 102 to capture data through the front-facing aperture 116.The roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152 may include a camera or imaging device. The roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152 has a field of view which extends a forward distance from the vehicle 12 to capture data of the environment and, in some instances, an imminent structure or obstruction. & para. [0060]);
wherein a first lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies is closer to a front portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle than a second lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies (see at least Laverne, para. [0040]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B).);
receiving, from the one or more sensors, at least one sensor signal representing one or more vehicle environment conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0047]: The object detection sensors may enable the vehicle 12 to detect objects that are within a given distance or range of the vehicle 12 in any direction, while the environmental sensors collect data about environmental conditions within the vehicle's area of travel. The system architecture 300 may also include one or more cameras 150, 152 for capturing images of the environment.); and
generating a vehicle state for the autonomous vehicle based at least on a location of the autonomous vehicle, the vehicle state comprising the one or more vehicle environment conditions (see at least Laverne, para. [0049]: The object detection information and/or captured images may be processed and analyzed by the autonomous vehicle navigation controller 320 to detect objects in proximity to the vehicle 12 such as for collision avoidance and/or navigation and motion control. Methods of moving a vehicle to avoid collision with objects including causing the brake controller to reduce speed of the vehicle or stop the vehicle, or causing the steering controller to move the vehicle away from the object before the vehicle reaches the object along the path. In addition or alternatively, the vehicle 12 may transmit any of the data to a remote server system (not shown) for processing. Any known or to be known technique for making an object detection based on sensor data and/or captured images can be used in the embodiments disclosed in this document.).
However Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein the stowable platform includes the one or more sensors, wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to support and lift the stowable platform.
Cao teaches
wherein the stowable platform includes the one or more sensors, wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to support and lift the stowable platform, and wherein a first lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies is closer to a front portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle than a second lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies (see at least Cao, para. [0026]: Housing body 540 can include a movable body structure and a fixed body structure. In some embodiments, sensor 510 is attached to the movable body structure of the housing body 540 by a sensor bracket 542 fitted to the sensor with sensor bracket fastener 544 (e.g., a screw, a nut and bolt, or some other fastener). Sensor bracket 542 can attach to the movable body structure of the housing body 540, allowing the sensor 510 to be moved up and down. Support rails 550 within housing body540 can be attached by support rail fasteners 552 (e.g., nuts and bolts, screws, nails, or other suitable fasteners) to support the movable body structure of the housing body 540. In some embodiments, sensor housing 500 includes two support rails 550, thereby providing three support structures including the motor shaft 531.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein the stowable platform includes the one or more sensors, wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to support and lift the stowable platform of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to house one or more sensors within a structure that can be deployed when the sensor is in use (e.g., during an autonomous driving mode) and retracted when the sensor is not in use (see at least Cao, para. [0002]).
As per claim 12 Laverne discloses
wherein extending the extension assembly comprises extending at least one of an outer extension member or an inner extension member (see at least Laverne, para. [0040]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B).).
As per claim 13 Laverne discloses
wherein extending the extension assembly comprises extending at least one of the outer extension member or the inner extension member in a telescoping arrangement using one or more actuators (see at least Laverne, para. [0040]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B).).
As per claim 14 Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein receiving the at least one sensor signal comprises receiving a signal from the one or more sensors positioned to detect signals in a lift configuration of the stowable platform.
Cao teaches
wherein receiving the at least one sensor signal comprises receiving a signal from the one or more sensors positioned to detect signals in a lift configuration of the stowable platform (see at least Cao, para. [0014]: Housing can include a fixed housing body and a movable housing body. In some embodiments, the movable housing body is operatively coupled to a motor that actuates to raise and lower the movable housing body. A sensor can be attached to the movable housing body by a sensor bracket, thereby enabling the motor to raise and lower the sensor. In this way, the sensor can be raised when it is in use and lowered when it is not in use, thereby improving aerodynamics of the vehicle. In some embodiments, the housing further includes a positioner sensor for detecting the position of the movable body structure of the housing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein receiving the at least one sensor signal comprises receiving a signal from the one or more sensors positioned to detect signals in a lift configuration of the stowable platform of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to house one or more sensors within a structure that can be deployed when the sensor is in use (e.g., during an autonomous driving mode) and retracted when the sensor is not in use (see at least Cao, para. [0002]).
As per claim 15 Laverne discloses
wherein the vehicle state is used for at least one of generating one or more alternative routes for the autonomous vehicle, moving the autonomous vehicle on a route selected from the one or more alternative routes, determining a velocity of the autonomous vehicle, or determining an acceleration of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0049]: The object detection information and/or captured images may be processed and analyzed by the autonomous vehicle navigation controller 320 to detect objects in proximity to the vehicle 12 such as for collision avoidance and/or navigation and motion control. Methods of moving a vehicle to avoid collision with objects including causing the brake controller to reduce speed of the vehicle or stop the vehicle, or causing the steering controller to move the vehicle away from the object before the vehicle reaches the object along the path.).
As per claim 16 Laverne discloses
wherein receiving at least one sensor signal comprises receiving a signal from a baseline sensor positioned proximate an uppermost surface of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0054]: In some embodiments, the position tracker 136 may provide the tracked position data to the controller 321and/or the sensor elevation determination unit 412. The elevation of the top surface 224 (see FIGS.2A-2B) may be a function of its elevation above ground level and/or above the roof 15 of the vehicle 12, by way of non-limiting example. The sensor's elevation may be based on information provided by the lift apparatus 130. In various embodiments, the motor 134 may provide information representative of an elevation or height of the sensor body 123 relative to the roof 15.).
As per claim 17 Laverne discloses
wherein extending the extension assembly comprises determining a height of the one or more sensors based on a measured distance between the one or more sensors and the baseline sensor, the baseline sensor being configured to determine at least one of a position of the extension assembly, an orientation of the extension assembly, and a clearance above the autonomous vehicle to extend the extension assembly (see at least Laverne, para. [0054]: In some embodiments, the position tracker 136 may provide the tracked position data to the controller 321and/or the sensor elevation determination unit 412. The elevation of the top surface 224 (see FIGS.2A-2B) may be a function of its elevation above ground level and/or above the roof 15 of the vehicle 12, by way of non-limiting example. The sensor's elevation may be based on information provided by the lift apparatus 130. In various embodiments, the motor 134 may provide information representative of an elevation or height of the sensor body 123 relative to the roof 15.).
As per claim 18 Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein extending the extension assembly comprises moving the stowable platform between a lowered configuration and a lifted configuration.
Cao teaches
wherein extending the extension assembly comprises moving the stowable platform between a lowered configuration and a lifted configuration (see at least Cao, para. [0014]: Housing can include a fixed housing body and a movable housing body. In some embodiments, the movable housing body is operatively coupled to a motor that actuates to raise and lower the movable housing body. A sensor can be attached to the movable housing body by a sensor bracket, thereby enabling the motor to raise and lower the sensor. In this way, the sensor can be raised when it is in use and lowered when it is not in use, thereby improving aerodynamics of the vehicle. In some embodiments, the housing further includes a positioner sensor for detecting the position of the movable body structure of the housing.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein extending the extension assembly comprises moving the stowable platform between a lowered configuration and a lifted configuration of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to house one or more sensors within a structure that can be deployed when the sensor is in use (e.g., during an autonomous driving mode) and retracted when the sensor is not in use (see at least Cao, para. [0002]).
As per claim 20 Laverne discloses
An autonomy system for enhancing sensing capabilities of an automated autonomous vehicle, the autonomy system comprising a controller, a processor, and a memory device, the memory device storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the controller to (see at least Laverne, para. [0048-0050]: The on-board computing device 310 may include an autonomous vehicle navigation controller(AVNC) 320 configured to control the navigation of the vehicle along a planned route, such as along streets, roads, bridges, and under overhanging structures, in response to real-time information from the various sensors 325… However, controller 321 and controller 320 may the integrated into a single controller. In various embodiments, operational functions of controller 320 may be relied upon for decisions made by controller 321.):
extend an extension assembly mounted to the autonomous vehicle by operating a plurality of lifting assemblies of the extension assembly to lift a sensor housing of the extension assembly to position one or more sensors above an upper surface area of an upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0040-0041]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B)…The sensor system 100 may include an additional roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152positioned in the enclosure of the housing 102 to capture data through the front-facing aperture 116.The roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152 may include a camera or imaging device. The roof-mounted sensor 150 and/or 152 has a field of view which extends a forward distance from the vehicle 12 to capture data of the environment and, in some instances, an imminent structure or obstruction. & para. [0060]);
wherein a first lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies is closer to a front portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle than a second lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies (see at least Laverne, para. [0040-0041]: The retractable sensor apparatus 120 may include a lift apparatus 130 that is operational to move the sensors 125 between the operational position (FIG. 1B) and a retracted position (FIG. 1A).The lift apparatus 130 may include a lifting element 132 coupled to a motor 134 that is operable to cause the lifting element 132 to lift. In various embodiments, the lifting element 132 may include one or more telescoping support posts, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1B, a scissor lift (as in FIG. 9), or a helical support structure (as in FIGS. 8A-8B)…);
receive, from the one or more sensors, at least one sensor signal representing one or more vehicle environment conditions surrounding the autonomous vehicle (see at least Laverne, para. [0047]: The object detection sensors may enable the vehicle 12 to detect objects that are within a given distance or range of the vehicle 12 in any direction, while the environmental sensors collect data about environmental conditions within the vehicle's area of travel. The system architecture 300 may also include one or more cameras 150, 152 for capturing images of the environment.); and
generate a vehicle state for the autonomous vehicle based at least on a location of the autonomous vehicle, the vehicle state comprising the one or more vehicle environment conditions (see at least Laverne, para. [0049]: The object detection information and/or captured images may be processed and analyzed by the autonomous vehicle navigation controller 320 to detect objects in proximity to the vehicle 12 such as for collision avoidance and/or navigation and motion control. Methods of moving a vehicle to avoid collision with objects including causing the brake controller to reduce speed of the vehicle or stop the vehicle, or causing the steering controller to move the vehicle away from the object before the vehicle reaches the object along the path. In addition or alternatively, the vehicle 12 may transmit any of the data to a remote server system (not shown) for processing. Any known or to be known technique for making an object detection based on sensor data and/or captured images can be used in the embodiments disclosed in this document.).
However Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein the stowable platform includes the one or more sensors, wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to support and lift the stowable platform.
Cao teaches
wherein the stowable platform includes the one or more sensors, wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to support and lift the stowable platform, and wherein a first lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies is closer to a front portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle than a second lifting assembly of the plurality of lifting assemblies (see at least Cao, para. [0026]: Housing body 540 can include a movable body structure and a fixed body structure. In some embodiments, sensor 510 is attached to the movable body structure of the housing body 540 by a sensor bracket 542 fitted to the sensor with sensor bracket fastener 544 (e.g., a screw, a nut and bolt, or some other fastener). Sensor bracket 542 can attach to the movable body structure of the housing body 540, allowing the sensor 510 to be moved up and down. Support rails 550 within housing body540 can be attached by support rail fasteners 552 (e.g., nuts and bolts, screws, nails, or other suitable fasteners) to support the movable body structure of the housing body 540. In some embodiments, sensor housing 500 includes two support rails 550, thereby providing three support structures including the motor shaft 531.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein the stowable platform includes the one or more sensors, wherein the plurality of lifting assemblies is configured to support and lift the stowable platform of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to house one or more sensors within a structure that can be deployed when the sensor is in use (e.g., during an autonomous driving mode) and retracted when the sensor is not in use (see at least Cao, para. [0002]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laverne, in view of Cao, in view of US 2020/0248471A1 (“Chambers”).
As per claim 4 Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein the extension assembly further comprises one or more nesting members to secure at least one of the outer extension member or the inner extension member in place when the extension assembly is extended
Chambers teaches
wherein the extension assembly further comprises one or more nesting members to secure at least one of the outer extension member or the inner extension member in place when the extension assembly is extended (see at least Chamber, para. [0030-0031]: This nested-boom structure is explained in more detail below. When stored for transport, the booms rest on a boom support frame 62, which is secured to the base frame64. A boom horizontal cradle lock 58 surrounds the primary boom section in the stored position. A boom horizontal cradle lock pin 60 is used to lock the boom in the horizontal, stored position…A tower pivot post 66 is securely mounted to the trailer frame and to the boom support frame 62. The boom sections pivot about a boom pivot member 68. When in the raised position, the booms are secured to the tower pivot post 66 by a boom vertical cradle lock 70 and a boom vertical cradle lock pin 72.) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein the extension assembly further comprises one or more nesting members to secure at least one of the outer extension member or the inner extension member in place when the extension assembly is extended of Chamber with a reasonable expectation of success in order to extend and retract the boom sections more quickly (see at least Chamber, para. [0057]).
Claim(s) 10 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laverne, in view of Cao, in view of US 2017/0356769A1 (“Williams”).
As per claim 10 Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein the lowered configuration includes the stowable platform being stowed within a portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle
Williams teaches
wherein the lowered configuration includes the stowable platform being stowed within a portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Williams, para. [0032]: In embodiments described herein, one or more of the vehicle sensors may be mounted in deployable sensor pods which are extendably/retractably mounted in the pillar structures of the vehicle. Some possible locations of deployable sensor pods are shown schematically in FIG. 2, which shows pods 204a-L, 1204a-L, 204b-L, 1204b-L, 204c-L, and 1204c-L. As used herein, “extend” “deploy”, “deploys”, and “deployment” or any form thereof with reference to a sensor pod refers to the process of the sensor pod leaving its housing when proceeding from a stowed position to a “deployed” or “use” position. The term “retract” or “stow” in reference to a sensor pod may refer to movement of a sensor pod from a deployed position to or toward a stowed position in its respective housing. A “stowed” or “retracted” position of a sensor pod is a position wherein the pod is positioned in a pillar structure such that an outer surface of the pod cover as described herein is flush with an outer surface of the pillar structure in which it is mounted…. “Stowed” in reference to a sensor pod refers to a position of the sensor pod when it is not deployed(i.e., when it is fully retracted within its housing).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein the lowered configuration includes the stowable platform being stowed within a portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle of Williams with a reasonable expectation of success in order to elevate the sensors the greatest degree possible, to help obviate problems with sensor occlusion or blockage, and to maximize the field(s) of view or detection of the sensors (see at least Williams, para. [0002]).
As per claim 19 Laverne does not explicitly disclose
wherein the lowered configuration includes the stowable platform being stowed within a portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle
Williams teaches
wherein the lowered configuration includes the stowable platform being stowed within a portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Williams, para. [0032]: In embodiments described herein, one or more of the vehicle sensors may be mounted in deployable sensor pods which are extendably/retractably mounted in the pillar structures of the vehicle. Some possible locations of deployable sensor pods are shown schematically in FIG. 2, which shows pods 204a-L, 1204a-L, 204b-L, 1204b-L, 204c-L, and 1204c-L. As used herein, “extend” “deploy”, “deploys”, and “deployment” or any form thereof with reference to a sensor pod refers to the process of the sensor pod leaving its housing when proceeding from a stowed position to a “deployed” or “use” position. The term “retract” or “stow” in reference to a sensor pod may refer to movement of a sensor pod from a deployed position to or toward a stowed position in its respective housing. A “stowed” or “retracted” position of a sensor pod is a position wherein the pod is positioned in a pillar structure such that an outer surface of the pod cover as described herein is flush with an outer surface of the pillar structure in which it is mounted…. “Stowed” in reference to a sensor pod refers to a position of the sensor pod when it is not deployed(i.e., when it is fully retracted within its housing).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Laverne to incorporate the teaching of wherein the lowered configuration includes the stowable platform being stowed within a portion of the upper cab area of the autonomous vehicle of Williams with a reasonable expectation of success in order to elevate the sensors the greatest degree possible, to help obviate problems with sensor occlusion or blockage, and to maximize the field(s) of view or detection of the sensors (see at least Williams, para. [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668