DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendments
Claims 1-16 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and
addressed below. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the
Amendment to the Claims and Remarks filed on 10/17/2025.
Claims 1 and 7-10 are amended claims.
Claims 2-6 are original claims.
Claims 11-16 are new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories of Invention:
Claims 1-8 and 11-16 are drawn to a system and an article of manufacture, which is a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A – Judicial Exception Analysis, Prong 1:
Independent Claim 1 recites a system comprising track a plurality of workflows associated with a plurality of assets, at least some of the assets being associated with different workflows of the plurality of workflows; and identify the medical device as one of the plurality of assets and retrieve a workflow associated with the medical device.
Independent claim 7 recites a system comprising to identify a medical device; retrieve a workflow for the medical device; and track progress of the medical device through the workflow, wherein the workflow comprises at least one inspection step involving inspection of the medical device using an inspection scope.
These steps amount to certain methods of organizing human activity which includes functions relating to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) citing the abstract idea grouping for methods of organizing human activity for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people – also note MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II) stating certain activity between a person and a computer may fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping).
Step 2A – Judicial Exception Analysis, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements within the claims only amount to instructions to implement the judicial exception using a computer [MPEP 2106.05(f)].
Claim 1 recites at least one processing device, at least one memory device storing, asset tracking software, and a medical device inspection system that, wherein the medical device inspection system, when executed by the at least one processing device, supplements the asset tracking software to provide additional functionality or information for inspection of a medical device. Claim 7 recites at least one processing device, at least one memory device, and the asset tracking system.
These elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception because this is an example of applying the abstract idea by use of general-purpose computer which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 7 recites display a user interface providing access to a stage of the workflow and a status of the medical device. These limitations are recited as tools to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2) see case requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer within the “Other examples.. v.”).
The above claims, as a whole, are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Additional Elements that Amount to Significantly More:
The present claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements or combination of elements amount to no more than a recitation of instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer to perform the method of the invention amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing component.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims recite the additional elements of at least one processing device and at least one memory device.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation.
For the reasons stated, these claims fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and are consequently rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Analysis of Dependent Claims
Dependent claim 11 recites wherein configured to identify the medical device based on a manufacturer and model number, a serial number, or an identification number of the medical device.
Dependent claim 12 recites wherein the to identify the medical device based on a search or lookup process including data for the plurality of assets.
Dependent claim 13 recites wherein configured to perform a process according to the workflow associated with the medical device.
Dependent claim 14 recites wherein the plurality of workflows includes a plurality of status-specific workflows associated with one of the plurality of assets, and the asset tracking system is further configured to receive a status of the medical device and retrieve the workflow associated with the medical device based on the status of the medical device.
Dependent claim 16 recites wherein the instructions further cause the asset tracking system to update the workflow based on a result of the inspection step.
Each of these steps of the preceding dependent claims 11-14 and 16 and only serve to further limit or specify the features of independent claims 1 or 7 accordingly, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as the independent claim
Dependent claim 2 recites wherein the medical device inspection system is a plugin to the asset tracking software. A plugin is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 3 wherein the medical device inspection system is in data communication with an inspection system including at least an inspection scope, wherein the medical device inspection system receives and stores at least one image of an interior of the medical device captured by the inspection scope.
Dependent claim 4 recites wherein the medical device inspection system further comprises an inspection analyzer for analyzing inspection data from an inspection scope. The inspection analyzer is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 5 recites wherein the memory further stores medical device inspection software, wherein the medical device inspection software includes the medical device inspection system and the asset tracking software. The memory, medical device inspection system, and the asset tracking software are an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 6 recites wherein the asset tracking software and the medical device inspection system are separate and wherein the asset tracking software and the medical device inspection system are configured to communicate with each other. The asset tracking software and the medical device inspection system are an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 8 recites wherein the asset tracking system is further caused to: retrieve at least one reference image associated with the medical device; and generate a user interface that displays the reference image and an inspection image from the inspection scope. The step of retrieve at least one reference image associated with the medical device is part of the abstract idea, which further specifies and limits the independent claims. The step to generate a user interface that displays the reference image and an inspection image from the inspection scope does not provide any indication that the user interface is being utilized beyond its ordinary capacity. The specification recites: “the user interface includes an inspection image display 132, a reference image display 134, a device ID 136, a list 138 of saved images, operator annotations or notes 140, a capture button 142, and a settings button 144” (Para. 0061) and “The interface 130 can display information about the medical device currently being processed (such as the device identifier 136), and/or about the medical device inspection system currently being used” (Para. 0065). Therefore, this step is directed to invoking a device merely as a tool to perform an existing process and does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Dependent claim 11 recites wherein the asset tracking software. The asset tracking software is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 12 recites the asset tracking software and an asset database. The asset tracking software and an asset database are an additional elements, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 13 recites the medical device inspection system. The medical device inspection system is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 14 recites the asset tracking system. The asset tracking system is an additional element, which is mere instructions to apply the exception and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons.
Dependent claim 15 recites wherein the instructions further cause the asset tracking system to display instructions based on the workflow. These limitations are recited as tools to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2) see case requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer within the “Other examples.. v.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 20210386508 A1) in view of Nunthi (US 20200210850 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1
Jackson teaches an asset tracking system comprising: ([Para. 0008] data flows provided with a cleaning workflow and tracking system, during respective stages of endoscope use and processing.)
at least one processing device; ([Para. 0018] The logic and functionality to implement the visual inspection processing system may be implemented directly within a device of the endoscope cleaning system. [Para. 0091] computer system 800 includes a processor 802 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) (i.e. processing device))
and at least one memory device storing instructions, that, when executed by the at least one processing device, provides: asset tracking software configured to: ([Para. 0092] The storage device 816 may include a machine-readable medium 822 on which is stored one or more sets of data structures or instructions 824 (e.g., software). The instructions 824 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 804, static memory 806. [Para. 0008] a cleaning workflow and tracking system (i.e. asset tracking software) [Para. 0016] an endoscope cleaning and inspection system (i.e. a medical device inspection system).)
and a medical device inspection system that, when executed by at least one processing device, supplements the asset tracking software to provide additional functionality or information for inspection of a medical device. ([Para. 0052] FIG. 3 illustrates data flows 300 provided with an example cleaning workflow and tracking system 380 (i.e. asset tracking software), during respective stages of endoscope use and processing. The data flows 300 depict the collection of data from an endoscope cleaning and inspection system 390 (i.e. medical device inspection system) that integrates use of a leak test system 335, fluid cleaning and inspection system 345, borescope inspection system 350, and visual inspection processing system 360, to clean and perform an integrity verification of one or more endoscope channels and components. [Para. 0016] an endoscope cleaning and inspection system is described which includes capabilities in an integrated unit for leak testing, fluid cleaning, visualization, and inspection (i.e. providing additional functionality) as part of an endoscope reprocessing protocol.)
Jackson does not explicitly teach however Nunthi teaches
track a plurality of workflows associated with a plurality of assets, at least some of the assets being associated with different workflows of the plurality of workflows; ([Para. 0025] The technician device 108 of FIG. 1A is a computing device (e.g., a laptop, a smart phone, a tablet, headset, etc.) that the technician and/or other resource can use to manage a schedule, receive service requests, look up information related to one or more machines to be serviced, identify error codes, symptoms, issues, and/or solutions, model the machine 104 (e.g., using an artificial intelligence model) to assist with repair, and/or interface with the imaging device to obtain additional data and/or confirm data. The machine recovery system 102 provides a custom care package including the relevant information that can be helpful for the technician or other resource to service the request. The care package can include one or more diagnostic and/or repair applications, knowledge base information, tool(s), script(s), routine(s), workflow(s), database(s), artificial intelligence model(s) (e.g., digital twin(s)) etc., to diagnose, remedy, and/or aid a resource (e.g., a technician, an automated service repair program, etc.) and/or the machine 104 in addressing an issue, for example.)
and identify the medical device as one of the plurality of assets and retrieve a workflow associated with the medical device; ([Para. 0036] The smart find system 208 of FIG. 2 identifies machines based on contextual information (e.g., by comparing obtained information corresponding to the machine 104 to stored information in the enterprise system(s) database 216) and/or identifiers and determines whether the identified machine corresponds to a fleet of similar machines and/or machines deployed in similar environments. [Para. 0125] The technician selector 234 checks the clinical workflow corresponding to the machine.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, with the motivation of Reducing manual overhead while processing servicing requests without compromising on accuracy and response times is desirable (Nunthi Para. 0020)
REGARDING CLAIM 2
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson further teaches wherein the medical device inspection system is a plugin to the asset tracking software. ([Para. 0059] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of system components used to interface among example imaging, tracking, and processing systems. Examiner interprets that the separation of the endoscope cleaning and inspection system (i.e. medical device inspection system) and the cleaning workflow and tracking system (i.e. asset tracking software) as two separate entities that communicate as depicted in Fig. 4 is indicative of the medical device inspection system being a plugin or extension of the of the asset tracking software. [Para. 0079] The visual inspection processing system 360 may also communicate results of image recognition, statuses, or image data, directly to the cleaning workflow and tracking system 380. In other examples, the testing and cleaning unit 610 may also directly communicate with the cleaning workflow and tracking system 380 (e.g., via communications circuitry 632).)
REGARDING CLAIM 3
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson teaches wherein the medical device inspection system is in data communication with an inspection system including at least an inspection scope, wherein the medical device inspection system receives and stores at least one image of an interior of the medical device captured by the inspection scope. ([Para. 0027] The borescope 126 may produce image data 132 (e.g., one or more images, such as a video) (i.e. receives and stores at least one image) that provide a detailed, high-resolution view of the status of a channel of the endoscope 116B (i.e. image of an interior of the medical device captured by the inspection scope). The image data 132 may be provided to a computing system 130 (e.g., provided through the testing and cleaning unit 128, or from the borescope 126 directly) for processing and analysis (i.e. stores at least one image). The results of the borescope inspection procedure may be tracked or managed as part of a device tracking or cleaning workflow. [Para. 0072] The testing and cleaning unit (i.e. inspection system) 610 is shown as operably connected to a borescope device 680 (i.e. inspection scope) via a borescope electrical connection 628. Further, the testing and cleaning unit 610 is shown as operably connected to the visual inspection processing system (i.e. medical device inspection system) 360.)
REGARDING CLAIM 4
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson further teaches wherein the medical device inspection system further comprises an inspection analyzer for analyzing inspection data from an inspection scope. ([Para. 0078] In the depiction of FIG. 6, the visual inspection processing system 360 includes components which are adapted for processing of imaging data from the borescope device (i.e. inspection scope) 680. These components may include borescope video processing (i.e. an inspection analyzer) 363 (e.g., implemented in logic, configured circuitry, etc.) to extract or capture images from the borescope device 680; an image pre-processing engine 365 to perform pre-processing (e.g., cropping, resizing, enhancement) from the extracted or captured images. Fig. 6 also displays that the testing and cleaning unit contains borescope image processing 624.)
REGARDING CLAIM 5
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson further teaches wherein the memory further stores medical device inspection software, wherein the medical device inspection software includes the medical device inspection system and the asset tracking software. ([Para. 0092] The storage device 816 may include a machine-readable medium 822 on which is stored one or more sets of data structures or instructions 824 (e.g., software). The instructions 824 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 804, static memory 806. [Para. 0059-0060] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of system components used to interface among imaging, tracking, and processing systems. As shown, the components of the endoscope cleaning and inspection system (i.e. medical device inspection system) 390 may include the leak test system 335, the fluid cleaning and inspection system 345, and the borescope inspection system 350. The cleaning workflow and tracking system (i.e. the asset tracking software) 380 may include functionality and processing components used with a variety of cleaning and tracking purposes involving the endoscope 410. )
REGARDING CLAIM 6
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson further teaches wherein the asset tracking software and the medical device inspection system are separate and wherein the asset tracking software and the medical device inspection system are configured to communicate with each other. ([Para. 0059] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of system components used to interface among example imaging, tracking, and processing systems. Examiner interprets that the separation of the endoscope cleaning and inspection system and the cleaning workflow and tracking system as depicted in Fig. 4 is indicative of the separation of the asset tracking software and the medical device inspection system. [Para. 0079] The visual inspection processing system 360 may also communicate results of image recognition, statuses, or image data, directly to the cleaning workflow and tracking system 380. In other examples, the testing and cleaning unit 610 may also directly communicate with the cleaning workflow and tracking system 380 (e.g., via communications circuitry 632).)
REGARDING CLAIM 7
Jackson teaches an asset tracking system comprising: ([Para. 0008] data flows provided with a cleaning workflow and tracking system, during respective stages of endoscope use and processing.)
at least one processing device; ([Para. 0018] The logic and functionality to implement the visual inspection processing system may be implemented directly within a device of the endoscope cleaning system. [Para. 0091] computer system 800 includes a processor 802 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) (i.e. processing device))
and at least one memory device, the memory device storing data instructions that, when executed by the processing device, cause the asset tracking system to: ([Para. 0092] The storage device 816 may include a machine-readable medium 822 on which is stored one or more sets of data structures or instructions 824 (e.g., software). The instructions 824 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 804, static memory 806. [Para. 0008] a cleaning workflow and tracking system (i.e. asset tracking software) [Para. 0016] an endoscope cleaning and inspection system (i.e. a medical device inspection system).)
identify a medical device; ([Para. 0080] FIG. 7 illustrates a flowchart 700 for a method of endoscope testing and inspection, using a testing and cleaning unit. The flowchart commences at 710 with the optional identifying of the endoscope or endoscope component for inspection. )
and track progress of the medical device through the workflow, wherein the workflow comprises at least one inspection step involving inspection of the medical device using an inspection scope. ([Para. 0055] The location of the endoscope among the stations, and activities performed with the endoscope, may be performed in connection with specific device handling workflow. Such a workflow may include a step-by-step cleaning procedure, maintenance procedures, or a tracking workflow, to track and manage a disinfected or contaminated status, operational or integrity status, or cleaning procedure status of the endoscope components or related equipment. [Para. 0027] The borescope (i.e. inspection scope) 126 may produce image data 132 (e.g., one or more images, such as a video) that provide a detailed, high-resolution view of the status of a channel of the endoscope 116B. The image data 132 may be provided to a computing system 130 (e.g., provided through the testing and cleaning unit 128, or from the borescope 126 directly) for processing and analysis. The results of the borescope inspection procedure may be tracked or managed as part of a device tracking or cleaning workflow, including with the aforementioned tracking system. [Para. 0033 and 0039] The overall device use and cleaning workflow, relative to stages of contamination, may be generally summarized in stages 110, 120, 140, 150, as involving the following steps: Damage inspection (e.g., conducted in manual reprocessing stage 140 with a borescope and magnification device, such as enabled by use of optical inspection equipment with the integrated testing and cleaning unit 128).)
Jackson does not explicitly teach, however Nunthi teaches
retrieve a workflow for the medical device, from a plurality of workflows associated with different devices, based on an identity of the medical device; ([Para. 0025] The technician device 108 of FIG. 1A is a computing device (e.g., a laptop, a smart phone, a tablet, headset, etc.) that the technician and/or other resource can use to manage a schedule, receive service requests, look up information related to one or more machines to be serviced, identify error codes, symptoms, issues, and/or solutions, model the machine 104 (e.g., using an artificial intelligence model) to assist with repair, and/or interface with the imaging device to obtain additional data and/or confirm data. The machine recovery system 102 provides a custom care package including the relevant information that can be helpful for the technician or other resource to service the request. The care package can include one or more diagnostic and/or repair applications, knowledge base information, tool(s), script(s), routine(s), workflow(s), database(s), artificial intelligence model(s) (e.g., digital twin(s)) etc., to diagnose, remedy, and/or aid a resource (e.g., a technician, an automated service repair program, etc.) and/or the machine 104 in addressing an issue, for example.)
and display a user interface providing access to a stage of the workflow and a status of the medical device. ([Para. 0104] The machine identifier 240 determines whether a machine identifier or image device identifier and/or contextual information is available for the machine. For example, when the user interfaces with a user interface on the machine 104 and the machine 104 transmits the service request, then the machine 104 can include additional information including the machine/imaging device ID and/or contextual information. [Para. 0065] The digital twin 330 is a collection of actual physics-based models reflecting the device/resource 310 (e.g., the machine 104, machine recovery system 102, technician device, etc.) and its associated norms, conditions, etc. In certain examples, three-dimensional (3D) modeling of the device/resource 310 creates the digital twin 330 for the device/resource 310. The digital twin 330 can be used to view a status of the device/resource 310 based on input data 320 dynamically provided from a source (e.g., from the device/resource 310, technician, health information system, sensor, etc.). ([Para. 0125] the technician selector 234 checks the clinical workflow corresponding to the machine. The clinical workflow corresponds to series of machines that are utilized to accomplish a particular task. Other machines in the clinical workflow can be evaluated to determine whether additional machines are to be serviced (e.g., are due for a checkup, are part of the issue, etc.) and/or whether the problem stems from another machine, for example.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, with the motivation of Reducing manual overhead while processing servicing requests without compromising on accuracy and response times is desirable (Nunthi Para. 0020)
REGARDING CLAIM 11
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson further teaches wherein the asset tracking software is configured to identify the medical device based on a manufacturer and model number, a serial number, or an identification number of the medical device. ([Para. 0023] An interface 114 to the tracking system is shown, which receives an identifier of the endoscope 116A and provides a graphical status as output. The tracking system may be used in the procedure use stage 110 (and the other stages 120, 140, 150) to identify the use of the endoscope 116A to be associated with a particular imaging procedure, patient, procedure equipment, procedure room, preparation or cleaning protocol, or other equipment or activities. )
REGARDING CLAIM 12
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson further teaches wherein the asset tracking software is configured to identify the medical device based on a search or lookup process on an asset database including data for the plurality of assets. ([Para. 0060] The cleaning workflow and tracking system 380 may include functionality and processing components used with a variety of cleaning and tracking purposes involving the endoscope 410. Such components may include device status tracking management functionality 422 that utilizes a device tracking database 426 to manage data related to status(es) of contamination, damage, tests, and usage for the endoscope 410 (e.g., among any of the stages 110, 120, 140, 150). Such components may also include a device cleaning workflow management functionality 424 used to track cleaning, testing, verification activities, initiated as part of a cleaning workflow for the endoscope 410 (e.g., among the reprocessing stages 120, 140). As specific examples, the workflow management database 428 may log the timing and performance of specific manual or automatic cleaning actions, visual inspections performed with a borescope or magnifier, the particular amount or type of cleaning or disinfectant solution applied, which user performed the cleaning action, and the like.)
REGARDING CLAIM 13
Jackson/ Nunthi teach the asset tracking system of claim 1, Jackson further teaches wherein the medical device inspection system is configured to perform a process according to the workflow associated with the medical device. ([Para. 0033] The overall cleaning workflow provided for an endoscope within the various reprocessing stages 120 and 140 may vary according to the specific type of device, device-specific requirements and components, regulations, and the types of cleaning chemicals and devices applied. However, the overall device use and cleaning workflow, relative to stages of contamination, may be generally summarized in stages 110, 120, 140, 150. [Para. 0092] The storage device 816 may include a machine-readable medium 822 on which is stored one or more sets of data structures or instructions 824 (e.g., software) embodying or utilized by any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein. The instructions 824 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 804, static memory 806. Examiner interprets that the presence of different workflows depending on the device is indicative that the specific workflow for the device is retrieved from the memory.)
REGARDING CLAIM 14
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 1, Nunthi further teaches wherein the plurality of workflows includes a plurality of status-specific workflows associated with one of the plurality of assets, and the asset tracking system is further configured to receive a status of the medical device and retrieve the workflow associated with the medical device based on the status of the medical device. ([Para. 0125] The technician selector 234 checks the clinical workflow corresponding to the machine. The clinical workflow corresponds to series of machines that are utilized to accomplish a particular task. Other machines in the clinical workflow can be evaluated to determine whether additional machines are to be serviced (e.g., are due for a checkup, are part of the issue, etc.) and/or whether the problem stems from another machine, for example. [Para. 0065] The digital twin 330 can be used to view a status of the device/resource 310 based on input data 320 dynamically provided from a source (e.g., from the device/resource 310, technician, health information system, sensor, etc.).)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, with the motivation of Reducing manual overhead while processing servicing requests without compromising on accuracy and response times is desirable (Nunthi Para. 0020).
REGARDING CLAIM 15
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 7, Nunthi further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the asset tracking system to display instructions based on the workflow. ([Para. 0031] As shown in the device workflow 116, each process 118, 120, 124, 126, 128 corresponds to data that may be used to create and/or improve the knowledge of the service center 106 for future service requests. For example, during the review process 118 information may be gathered corresponding to the machine 104 that may be used to triage and/or diagnose the problem of the machine 104. The service center 106 can use such data to draw connections between symptoms, error codes, issues, etc., of a machine and solutions, care packages, and/or other information needed to fix the machine 104. [Para. 0025] The machine recovery system 102 provides a custom care package including the relevant information that can be helpful for the technician or other resource to service the request. The care package can include one or more diagnostic and/or repair applications, knowledge base information, tool(s), script(s), routine(s), workflow(s), database(s), artificial intelligence model(s) (e.g., digital twin(s)) etc., to diagnose, remedy, and/or aid a resource (e.g., a technician, an automated service repair program, etc.) and/or the machine 104 in addressing an issue, for example.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, with the motivation of Reducing manual overhead while processing servicing requests without compromising on accuracy and response times is desirable (Nunthi Para. 0020).
REGARDING CLAIM 16
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 7, Nunthi further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the asset tracking system to update the workflow based on a result of the inspection step. ([Para. 0031] As shown in the device workflow 116, each process 118, 120, 124, 126, 128 corresponds to data that may be used to create and/or improve the knowledge of the service center 106 for future service requests. For example, during the review process 118 information may be gathered corresponding to the machine 104 that may be used to triage and/or diagnose the problem of the machine 104. The service center 106 can use such data to draw connections between symptoms, error codes, issues, etc., of a machine and solutions, care packages, and/or other information needed to fix the machine 104.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, with the motivation of Reducing manual overhead while processing servicing requests without compromising on accuracy and response times is desirable (Nunthi Para. 0020).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 20210386508 A1) in view Nunthi (US 20200210850 A1) of in view of Buras (US 20230147689 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 8
Jackson/ Nunthi teaches the asset tracking system of claim 7, however Nunthi wherein the asset tracking system is further caused to:
retrieve at least one reference image associated with the medical device, wherein the reference image is one of an image corresponding to the medical device in a clean and functional stage, an image corresponding to the medical device including an example abnormality, or a historical image of the medical device; ([Para. 0054] The machine identifier 240 can compare the characteristics of the image to reference images to identify the machine 104 based on a matching reference image. [Para. 0104] the machine identifier 240 determines whether a machine identifier or image device identifier and/or contextual information is available for the machine.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, with the motivation of Reducing manual overhead while processing servicing requests without compromising on accuracy and response times is desirable (Nunthi Para. 0020).
Although not taught by Jackson/Nunthi, Buras teaches:
and generate a user interface that allows access to the reference image and an inspection image from the inspection scope. ([Para. 0059] the machine learning module (MLM) 600 also includes a fourth module that receives real-time data from the medical equipment system 200 itself (e.g., via an interface with computer 700) during a medical procedure performed by the novice user, and a fifth module that compares that data to stored reference outcome data from library 500. For example, the MLM 600 may receive image data (i.e. inspection image) from an ultrasound machine (i.e. inspection scope) during use by a novice user at a specified sampling rate (e.g., from 100 Hz to 0.1 Hz), or specific images captured manually by the novice user, and may compare the novice user image data to stored reference image data in library 500 obtained during a reference performance of the medical procedure (e.g., by a proficient user such as an ultrasound technician). [Para. 0060] The MLM 600 further includes a sixth module that generates real-time outcome-based feedback based on the comparison performed in the fifth module, and provides real-time, 3D AR outcome-based feedback to the user via the augmented reality user interface (ARUI) 300 (i.e. user interface).)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson, image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, and incorporate comparison of current image data and reference image data of a medical device as taught by Buras, with the motivation of providing improved training and guidance to medical equipment users in order to improve treatment and diagnostic outcome (Para. 0001 and 0003).
REGARDING CLAIM 9
Jackson teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage device storing data instructions for a medical device inspection system, which when the data instructions are executed by a processing device, cause the computing device to: ([Para. 0095] instructions stored on a computer-readable storage device, which may be read and executed by at least one processor)
Jackson does not explicitly teach, however Nunthi teaches
retrieve at least one reference image associated with the medical device from an asset database of an asset tracking system, wherein the reference image is one of an image corresponding to the medical device in a clean and functional stage, an image corresponding to the medical device including an example abnormality, or a historical image of the medical device; ([Para. 0054] The machine identifier 240 can compare the characteristics of the image to reference images to identify the machine 104 based on a matching reference image. [Para. 0104] the machine identifier 240 determines whether a machine identifier or image device identifier and/or contextual information is available for the machine.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, with the motivation of Reducing manual overhead while processing servicing requests without compromising on accuracy and response times is desirable (Nunthi Para. 0020).
Although not taught by Jackson/Nunthi, Buras teaches:
and generate a user interface allowing access to the reference image and an inspection image from the medical device inspection scope within an asset tracking software application. ([Para. 0059] The machine learning module (MLM) (i.e. asset tracking software application)600 also includes a fourth module that receives real-time data from the medical equipment system 200 itself (e.g., via an interface with computer 700) during a medical procedure performed by the novice user, and a fifth module that compares that data to stored reference outcome data from library 500. For example, the MLM 600 may receive image data (i.e. inspection image) from an ultrasound machine (i.e. inspection scope) during use by a novice user at a specified sampling rate (e.g., from 100 Hz to 0.1 Hz), or specific images captured manually by the novice user, and may compare the novice user image data to stored reference image data in library 500 obtained during a reference performance of the medical procedure (e.g., by a proficient user such as an ultrasound technician). [Para. 0060] The MLM 600 further includes a sixth module that generates real-time outcome-based feedback based on the comparison performed in the fifth module, and provides real-time, 3D AR outcome-based feedback to the user via the augmented reality user interface (ARUI) 300 (i.e. user interface). [Para. 0054] The MLM 600 includes a plurality of modules, which may comprise software, firmware or hardware, for generating and providing one or both of position-based and outcome-based feedback to user.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson, image modality smart find maintenance systems as taught by Nunthi, and incorporate comparison of current image data and reference image data of a medical device as taught by Buras, with the motivation of providing improved training and guidance to medical equipment users in order to improve treatment and diagnostic outcome (Para. 0001 and 0003).
REGARDING CLAIM 10
Jackson/ Nunthi/ Buras teach the non-transitory computer readable storage device of claim 9, Buras further teaches wherein the user interface includes one or more of:(i) historical data about the medical device; (ii) a location of the medical device; (iii) an abnormality detected during inspection of the medical device; (iv) a severity of the abnormality detected during inspection of the medical device; (v) a status of the medical device; (vi) a device identifier; (vii) operator notes from the inspection of the medical device; or (viii) any combination of (i)-(viii). ([Para. 0082] the library 500 may obtain and display via the ARUI 300 an electronic medical procedure 530, which may include displaying step-by-step written, visual, audio, and/or tactile instructions for performing the procedure. [Para. 0087] The MLM 600 may communicate with ARUI 300 to display real time position-based feedback guidance in the form of data and/or instructions to confirm or correct the user's performance of the task based on the novice user movement data from the 3DGS 400 and the reference data.)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the method of cleaning workflow and tracking system and endoscope cleaning and inspection system as taught by Jackson and incorporate comparison of current image data and reference image data of a medical device as taught by Buras, with the motivation of providing improved training and guidance to medical equipment users in order to improve treatment and diagnostic outcome (Para. 0001 and 0003).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-7 “Priority” filed 10/17/2025, with respect to objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of Claims 2-6 and 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 7-9 “Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. 101” filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claim 7 provides a technical improvement to the operation of the medical devices and enables medical facilities to use a variety of medical devices while performing specifically effective maintenance, cleaning, and other preparation on the various medical devices. Claim 7 thus provides an inventive concept and thus is directed to patent eligible subject matter according to Step 2B of the eligibility analysis. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Independent claim 7 recites a system comprising to identify a medical device; retrieve a workflow for the medical device; and track progress of the medical device through the workflow, wherein the workflow comprises at least one inspection step involving inspection of the medical device using an inspection scope, which are part of the abstract idea. Claim 7 recites at least one processing device, at least one memory device, and the asset tracking system which are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception because this is an example of applying the abstract idea by use of general-purpose computer which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 7 recites display a user interface providing access to a stage of the workflow and a status of the medical device. These limitations are recited as tools to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2) see case requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer within the “Other examples.. v.”).
An improvement to the abstract idea of improving operation of the medical devices and enables medical facilities to use a variety of medical devices does not amount to an improvement to technology or a technical field (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)(III) stating “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG,921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology.”). There is no indication in the instant disclosure that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology for the outlined problem statement. Here, the improvement is to retrieval of information about the medical device workflow. The instant application and claim language fail to detail how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient.
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 8-9 “Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. 102 (Claims 1-7 )” filed 10/17/2025 have been have been fully considered and are persuasive regarding the newly added limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Nunthi, as per the rejection above.
Applicant's arguments, see pgs. 9-11 “Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. 103 (Claim 8-10)” filed 10/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Buras does not teach retrieve at least one reference image associated with the medical device, wherein the reference image is one of an image corresponding to the medical device in a clean and functional stage, an image corresponding to the medical device including an example abnormality, or a historical image of the medical device. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Buras teaches at Para. 0014 that retrieving from a library at least one of stored reference positioning data relating to one or more of the movement, position, and orientation of at least a portion of the medical equipment system during reference a medical procedure. Para. 0088 further teaches reference images for the same medical procedure stored in the library. This is indicative of retrieve at least one reference image associated with the medical device, wherein the reference image is one of an image corresponding to the medical device in a clean and functional stage, an image corresponding to the medical device including an example abnormality, or a historical image of the medical device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Patricia K Edouard whose telephone number is (571)272-6084. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM.
/P.K.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3681
/PETER H CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3681