DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed October 25, 2023. Claims 1-20, are currently pending.
Priority
Certified copy of priority document IN 202241062680, dated November 02, 2022, is acknowledged which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/25/2023, and 06/27/2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-10, 12-14,16, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sedin et al (hereinafter Sedin) (US 2022/0256445).
Regarding claims 1, 16, Sedin discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed (para. 0051), cause a device to:
obtain, a first value to indicate whether signal level enhanced network selection (SENSE) is to be applied, from a non-access stratum (NAS) configuration management object (MO) (Sedin discloses the non-access stratum (NAS) selects PLMN based on the information obtained from the Assess Stratum (AS), and in an embodiment that in order to determine the “high quality signal” is enhanced, in addition to received signal received power (RSRP), the existing PLMN selection is based on one or more measurements performed by a UE for the existing PLMN selection, that is, the signal level consideration during the reference signal reception (initial received quality) interpreted as existing enhanced signal level network selection) (paras. 0023, 0064);
obtain a second value that indicates a threshold to be used for public land mobile network (PLMN) selection (the UE may signal the measured values to the NAS together with a high signal quality indicator when applicable, as exemplified in the embodiments, wherein the measured metrics may be compared to corresponding thresholds that may be signaled by the network. The UE may signal the threshold measurement values to the NAS together with a high signal quality indicator when applicable, for example, the threshold for a measurement result may indicate whether the measurement result should be above or below the specified threshold value) (paras. 0066, 0069); and
perform a SENSE operation based on the first and second values (that is, consideration of an enhanced high quality signal values, comparing each measurements to a corresponding threshold to use) (para. 0071, figs. 6-12).
Regarding claim 5, Sedin discloses wherein the device is to obtain the second value from non-volatile (that is, tangible memory) memory of a user equipment (UE) (paras. 0237, 0238) or a universal subscriber identity module (USIM).
Regarding claims 7, 10, Sedin discloses wherein the threshold is a signal threshold for reference signal received power or reference signal received quality (the existing PLMN selection, i.e. to determine the “high quality signal” is enhanced, in addition to RSRP, based on one or more of the following measurements performed by a UE: RSRQ (reference signal received quality) (paras. 0054, 0064).
Regarding claims 8, 12, Sedin discloses obtain a plurality of values representative of access technologies such as adapting the terrestrial wireless access technologies including LTE and new radio access technology (NR) for satellite networks supported by the PLMN, e.g. LTE, based on the signal quality and strength measured on a PLMN. and based on the UEs and PLMNs capabilities, and other PLMN/access technology combinations with received enhanced “high quality signal” level in network selection (paras. 0004, 0023, 0024, 0037, 0064) to obtain set of first and second sense values from the plurality of measurement values.
obtain a first set of SENSE values, including the first value and the second value, associated with a first access technology; and obtain a second set of SENSE values associated with a second access technology (paras 0004, 0023, 0024, 0037, 0064).
Regarding claim 9, Sedin discloses an apparatus to be implemented in a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising:
interface circuitry (an interface (such as a user interface) coupled with processing circuitry 203) (para.0051); and
processing circuitry (processing circuitry 203), coupled with the interface circuitry, the processing circuitry to:
determine signal level enhanced network selection (SENSE) is to be applied based on a non-access stratum (NAS) configuration management object (MO) (Sedin discloses the UE determines, based on the plurality of measurements results, whether a high-quality indication should be provided as non-access stratum (NAS) selects PLMN based on the information obtained from the Assess Stratum (AS), and in an embodiment that in order to determine the “high quality signal” is enhanced, in addition to received signal received power (RSRP), the existing PLMN selection is based on one or more measurements performed by a UE for the existing PLMN selection, that is, the signal level consideration during the reference signal reception (initial received signal level quality) interpreted as enhanced signal level network selection the existing) (paras. 0023, 0064);
evaluate, based on said determination that SENSE is to be applied, one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) based on a threshold to be used for PLMN selection (evaluates (appraises) from the list provided to use in which to compare the measurement results for each of the plurality of different types of measurements, the threshold for a measurement result may indicate whether the measurement result should be above or below the specified threshold value to use based on the high quality indication provided to the NAS) (paras. 0023, 0064, 0070, 0071); and
select a PLMN from the one or more PLMNs based on evaluation of the one or more PLMNs based on the threshold (that is, consideration of an enhanced high quality signal values, comparing each measurements to a corresponding threshold to use) (para. 0071, figs. 6-12).
Regarding claim 13, 14, Sedin discloses wherein the processing circuitry (processing circuitry 203, fig. 3) is further to:
receive a read command (that is, instruction); and
transmit a response based on the read command, the response to include a value that indicates the threshold (modules may be stored in memory circuitry 205, and these modules may provide instructions (that is, read command) so that when instructions of a module are executed by processing circuitry 203, processing circuitry 203 performs respective operations) (para. 0052), wherein the read command is a PLMN selection with operator threshold command (instruction) (para. 0052, 0053).
Regarding claim 19, Sedin discloses providing, to the UE, a threshold to be used for public land mobile network (PLMN) selection (the wireless device receives satellite positioning information and a list of a plurality of different types of measurements to perform to find a public land mobile network (PLMN) to select, the plurality of different types of measurements including a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, the plurality of results of measurement corresponding to threshold shows above or below as specified. Responsive to every of the additional specified measurement results being above or below the thresholds) (paras. 0037, 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin et al (hereinafter Sedin) (US 2022/0256445) in view of NIEMI et al (hereinafter Niemi) (US 2022/0338154).
Regarding claims 2, 11, Sedin discloses limitation note above with claim 1. Sedin further discloses, for example, processing circuitry 203 may control transceiver circuitry 201 to transmit communications through transceiver circuitry 201 over a radio interface to a radio access network node (para. 0052), and that if the UE finds that the measured RSRP value (threshold) is larger than a specific value, then the UE shall report these PLMNs as “high quality signal”(that is, enhanced network selection) to the NAS layer that makes the selection among the available PLMNs. Sedin does not expressly show transmit an attention (AT) command with an indication of the second value. However, the AT command merely comprises an indication of the second value, and the second value merely indicates a threshold to be used for PLMN selection. However, Niemi shows Attention (AT) command use that can comprise information on whether the PLMN provides support or not for Multimedia Subsystem over a network (paras. 0007, 0013, 0016). It would have been obvious to one of skill ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Niemi that provides transmit indication via an Attention (AT) command and the indication comprises information on whether the PLMN provides support or not for the benefit of provide enhancements on Voice Domain Management (VDM) for Multimedia Subsystem over a network (paras. 0007, 0013, 0016).
Regarding claim 3, Sedin in view of Niemi discloses limitation noted above. Niemi further discloses wherein the AT command is a public land mobile network (PLMN) selection AT command, a preferred PLMN list AT command, or a selection of preferred PLMN list AT command (para. 0088).
Regarding claim 4, Sedin discloses limitation noted above with claim 1. Sedin does not disclose transmit an attention (AT) command to request an operator-controlled signal threshold and an associated access technology. Niemi discloses transmit an attention (AT) command to request an operator-controlled signal threshold and an associated access technology (the UE selects an NG-RAN of a 5G network belonging to a PLMN and performs the registration procedure with the 5G network, by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the 5G network) (paras. 0062, 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Niemi with Sedin for the benefit of provide configuration update and indication that comprises information on whether the PLMN supports VoNR or not.
Claim(s) 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin et al (hereinafter Sedin) (US 2022/0256445) in view of Chun (US 2020/0229069).
Regarding claim 20, Sedin discloses limitation recited with claims 1 and 16 above, except, providing the threshold to the UE using a steering of roaming mechanism. Chun discloses providing the threshold to the UE using a steering of roaming mechanism (during the registration the Home Network can provide Steering of Roaming information to the UE via the Access Mobility Function (AMF) (i.e. a list of preferred PLMN/access technology combinations or HPLMN indication that ‘no change of the “Operator Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” list stored in the UE is needed). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chun with the process of Sedin for the benefit of provide dynamic allocation of resources to UE on scheduling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 15, 17,18, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL:
SUNHEE KIM ET AL: "Discussion on signal level enhanced network selection", 3GPP DRAFT; C1-225928; TYPE DISCUSSION; SENSE; vol. 3GPP CT 1, no. Online; 20221010 - 20221014; 30 September 2022; XP052209372 [retrieved on 2022-09-30].
HUAWEI ET AL: "[AT119bis-e][014][NR18] SENSE", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2210985; vol. RAN WG2, no. Electronic; 20221010 - 20221019; 21 October 2022; XP052264229 [retrieved on 2022-10-21].
YANG LU ET AL: "Discussion on Applicability of SENSE for (non-) Stationary loT Devices", 3GPP DRAFT; C1-225578; TYPE DISCUSSION; vol. 3GPP CT 1, no. Online; 20221010 - 20221014; 30 September 2022; XP052209029 [retrieved on 2022-09-30].
YANG LU ET AL: "NAS configuration MO for using SENSE", 3GPP DRAFT; C1-225581; TYPE CR; CR 0065; SENSE; vol. 3GPP CT 1, no. Online; 20221010 - 20221014; 30 September 2022; XP052209031 [retrieved on 2022-09-30].
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.