DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed July 14, 2025.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed July 14, 2025, the rejection of claims 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously presented in the Office Action sent March 26, 2025 has been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed July 14, 2025, the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent March 26, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitnar (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0172510 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110611007 A).
With regard to claim 1, Bitnar discloses a solar cell screen plate, applicable to a solar cell including a substrate, comprising:
a plurality of parallel finger electrodes arranged on a surface of the substrate (as depicted in Fig. 3, a plurality of parallel finger electrodes, such as the combination of first gird electrodes 171 in each row, arranged on a surface of the substrate 110; [0026]), wherein
each respective finger electrode of the plurality of finger electrodes is made of a first printing paste (see [0102] teaching each cited plurality of finger electrodes is made of a first aluminum containing printing paste) and includes
a plurality of first grid lines separated by a plurality of gaps such that every two adjacent first grid lines in the respective finger electrode are separated by a corresponding gap of the plurality of gaps (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which is cited to provide a space, or gap, between each adjacent first grid line 172 at the contact surface of 173 away from the border; see Fig. 3 depicting a plurality of first grid lines 172 separated by a plurality of gaps, the gaps/spaces between adjacent first grid lines 172 at the contact surface of 173 away from the border, such that every two adjacent first grid lines 172 in the respective finger electrode are separated by a corresponding gap of the cited plurality of gaps); and
a plurality of contact pads (173, Fig. 3), wherein
each respective contact pad is made of a second printing paste (see [0102] teaching each cited contact pad is made of a second silver containing printing paste) and
is located at a respective gap between two corresponding adjacent first grid lines in an extension direction of a finger electrode (as depicted in Fig. 3, each respective contact pad173 is located at a gap between two adjacent first grid lines 172 in a lateral extension direction of a finger electrode) and has
two opposing ends respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which is cited to provide for the two opposing ends of 173 respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines 172 at the overlap), wherein
the second printing paste different from the first printing paste (see [0102] teaching the cited second silver containing printing paste different from the cited first aluminum printing paste).
Bitnar does not disclose wherein the plurality of contact pads are shaped to include enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a solar cell screen plate (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a plurality of contact pads 110 can includes a shape (see Fig. 9d) having enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints (see annotated Fig. 9d below).
Annotated Fig. 9d
Zhang et al. teaches auxiliary solder joints located on both sides of each of the plurality of enhancement grid lines (as depicted in Fig. 9d and annotated Fig. 9d above, auxiliary solder joints, the portions of contact pad 110 on each side of recesses 112, located on both lateral sides of each of the plurality of enhancement grid lines).
Zhang et al. teaches the shape of the contact pads provides for improved manufacturing process yield and reliability and reduces material costs (see [0080]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the plurality of contact pads in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al., which includes the cited plurality of enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints, because it would have provided for improved manufacturing process yield and reliability and reduces material costs.
Bitnar, as modified above, discloses wherein
the plurality of enhancement grid lines has two opposing ends respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide for the two opposing lateral ends of the enhancement grid lines respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines 172 through the overlap), wherein
a respective auxiliary solder joint of the auxiliary solder joints partially overlaps with a corresponding first grid line (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joint partially overlapped with a corresponding first grid line at the border) and
is in electrical contact with the corresponding first grid line and a corresponding enhancement grid line (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joints in electrical contact with the corresponding first grid line and a corresponding enhancement grid line), and
the auxiliary solder joints are made of a same printing paste as the plurality of enhancement grid lines (see [0102] teaching each cited contact pad is made of a second silver containing printing paste which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joints being made of a same silver containing printing paste as the cited plurality of enhancement grid lines).
With regard to claim 2, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar discloses wherein
the respective enhancement grid line has a width larger than a width of the respective finger electrode in an arrangement direction of the plurality of finger electrodes (see, for example, Fig. 10 of Zhang et al. depicting width of the cited enhancement grid line larger than a width of a respective finger electrode 130 which would provide for a larger width than the cited respective finger electrode of Bitnar, as modified above).
With regard to claim 3, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar discloses wherein
the respective enhancement grid line has two opposing side surfaces respectively in electrical contact with the two adjacent first grid lines in an extension direction of the respective finger electrode (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide for the two opposing lateral surfaces of the cited enhancement grid lines respectively in electrical contact with the two adjacent first grid lines 172 in an extension direction of the respective finger electrode).
With regard to claim 4, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar discloses wherein
in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate: the corresponding first grid line is in electrical contact with a part of a top surface of the respective auxiliary solder joint; or the corresponding first grid line is in electrical contact with a part of a bottom surface of the respective auxiliary solder joint (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide for the corresponding first grid line is in electrical contact with a part of a top surface of the respective auxiliary solder joint; or the corresponding first grid line is in electrical contact with a part of a bottom surface of the respective auxiliary solder joint at the overlap).
With regard to claim 5, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar, as modified above, discloses wherein
the respective auxiliary solder joint has a width larger than a width of the respective finger electrode (see, for example, Fig. 10 of Zhang et al. depicting width of the cited auxiliary solder joint larger than a width of a respective finger electrode 130 which would provide for a larger width than the cited respective finger electrode of Bitnar, as modified above), and
larger than or equal to a width of the respective enhancement grid line, in an arrangement direction of the plurality of finger electrodes (see Fig. 9d of Zhang et al. and annotated Fig. 9d above depicting the cited auxiliary solder joint having a width larger than a width of the cited enhancement grid line).
With regard to claim 6, dependent claim 5 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar, as modified above, discloses wherein
a side surface of the respective auxiliary solder joint away from the respective enhancement grid line in the arrangement direction of the finger electrodes has a first width, and an other side surface of the respective auxiliary solder joint in contact with the respective enhancement grid line in the arrangement direction of the finger electrodes has a second width, wherein the first width is larger than the second width (as depicted in Fig. 9d of Zhang et al. and annotated Fig. 9d above, a side surface of the cited auxiliary solder joint away from the cited enhancement grid line has a first width, and an other side surface of the cited auxiliary solder joint in contact with the cited enhancement grid line at recesses 112 has a second width, wherein the first width is larger than the second width).
With regard to claim 7, dependent claim 6 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bitnar, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the first width is in a range of greater than or equal to 0.02mm and less than or equal to 1.5mm, and the second width is in a range of greater than or equal to 0.02mm and less than or equal to 2mm.
However, the first and second widths are result effective variables and Zhang et al. teaches the widths directly affect the even distribution of solder relative to the conductive wire/bus (see [0079-0080]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the first and second widths in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar, as modified above, and arrive at the claimed ranges for first and second widths through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the even distribution of solder relative to the conductive wire/bus.
With regard to claim 8, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar discloses wherein the solar cell screen plate further includes
a passivation layer (passivation layer 120, Fig. 10), wherein
the respective enhancement grid line is positioned on a surface of the passivation layer (see [0104] teaching contact pad 173 located only on passivation layer 120 and not on substrate 110 which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide for the cited enhancement grid line positioned on a surface of the cited passivation layer 120), and
the respective finger electrode is positioned on the surface of the passivation layer and penetrates through a thickness of the passivation layer in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 10 and [0104] teaching the cited finger electrode 172 is positioned on the surface of the passivation layer 120 and penetrates through a thickness of the passivation layer at opening 121 in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate); and
the respective auxiliary solder joint does not penetrate through the thickness of the passivation layer (see [0104] teaching contact pad 173 located only on passivation layer 120 and not on substrate 110 which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide for the cited auxiliary solder joint not penetrating through the thickness of the passivation layer).
With regard to claim 9, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bitnar, as modified above, discloses wherein the respective auxiliary solder joint and the corresponding first grid line are overlapped with each other (see [0102] teaching contact pad 173 and first grid line 172 are overlapped with each other on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide the cited auxiliary solder joint and the cited first grid line overlapped with each other), but does not disclose an overlap length of L6, wherein 0.05mm < L6 < 1.5mm.
However, the overlap length is a result effective variable directly affecting the contact area between auxiliary solder joint and first grid line and the material cost of manufacturing the solar cell screen plate.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the overlap length in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar, as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of length through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the contact area between auxiliary solder joint and first grid line and the material cost of manufacturing the solar cell screen plate.
With regard to claim 10, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bitnar, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the respective enhancement grid line has a length of L4 is the extension direction of the respective finger electrode, wherein 0.5mm ≤ L4 ≤ 2mm.
However, the length L4 of the respective enhancement grid line is a result effective variable and Bitnar teaches the length directly affects the contact area available for connecting wire guide 221 (see [0085]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the length L4 of the respective enhancement grid line in the plate of Bitnar, as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of 0.5mm ≤ L4 ≤ 2mm through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the contact area available for connecting the wire guide.
With regard to claim 11, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bitnar, as modified above, does not disclose wherein each pair of adjacent first grid lines in the respective finger electrode are separated by a length of L1 in an extension direction of the respective finger electrode, wherein 0.3mm ≤ L1 ≤ 1.2mm.
However, the separation length L1 of each pair of adjacent first grid lines is a result effective variable and Bitnar teaches the length directly affects the cost of contact 171 due to the expensive silver material of the contact pad 173 and the cost effective aluminum material of the first grid lines 172 (see [0085]) and directly affects the contact area on 173 available for connecting wire guide 221 because the contact area available on 173 is the within the separation length of adjacent first grid lines 172 (see [0085] and [0102]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the separation length L1 of adjacent first grid lines in the plate of Bitnar, as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of 0.3mm ≤ L1 ≤ 1.2mm through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the cost of manufacturing contact 171 and would have led to optimizing the contact area available for connecting the wire guide.
With regard to claim 12, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bitnar, as modified above, does not disclose wherein each respective auxiliary solder joint of the auxiliary solder joints has a length of L3 in an extension direction of the respective finger electrode, wherein 0.05mm < L3 < 1.5mm.
However, the length of the auxiliary solder joint is result effective variable directly affecting the material cost of manufacturing the solar cell screen plate.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the length of the auxiliary solder joints in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar, as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of length through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the material cost of manufacturing the solar cell screen plate.
With regard to claims 1, 13, and 14, Bitnar discloses a solar cell screen plate, applicable to a solar cell including a substrate, comprising:
a plurality of parallel finger electrodes arranged on a surface of the substrate (as depicted in Fig. 3, a plurality of parallel finger electrodes, such as the combination of first gird electrodes 171 in each row, arranged on a surface of the substrate 110; [0026]), wherein
each respective finger electrode of the plurality of finger electrodes is made of a first printing paste (see [0102] teaching each cited plurality of finger electrodes is made of a first aluminum containing printing paste) and includes
a plurality of first grid lines separated by a plurality of gaps such that every two adjacent first grid lines in the respective finger electrode are separated by a corresponding gap of the plurality of gaps (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which is cited to provide a space, or gap, between each adjacent first grid line 172 at the contact surface of 173 away from the border; see Fig. 3 depicting a plurality of first grid lines 172 separated by a plurality of gaps, the gaps/spaces between adjacent first grid lines 172 at the contact surface of 173 away from the border, such that every two adjacent first grid lines 172 in the respective finger electrode are separated by a corresponding gap of the cited plurality of gaps); and
a plurality of contact pads (173, Fig. 3), wherein
each respective contact pad is made of a second printing paste (see [0102] teaching each cited contact pad is made of a second silver containing printing paste) and
is located at a respective gap between two corresponding adjacent first grid lines in an extension direction of a finger electrode (as depicted in Fig. 3, each respective contact pad173 is located at a gap between two adjacent first grid lines 172 in a lateral extension direction of a finger electrode) and has
two opposing ends respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which is cited to provide for the two opposing ends of 173 respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines 172 at the overlap), wherein
the second printing paste different from the first printing paste (see [0102] teaching the cited second silver containing printing paste different from the cited first aluminum printing paste).
Bitnar does not disclose wherein the plurality of contact pads are shaped to include enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a solar cell screen plate (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a plurality of contact pads 110 can includes a shape (see Fig. 9d) having enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints (see annotated Fig. 9d below depicting auxiliary solder joints at opposing sides of an enhancement grid line including first portions at opposing sides of a second portion).
Annotated Fig. 9d
Zhang et al. teaches auxiliary solder joints located on both sides of each of the plurality of enhancement grid lines (as depicted in Fig. 9d and annotated Fig. 9d above, auxiliary solder joints, the portions of contact pad 110 at each lateral end, located on both lateral sides of each of the cited plurality of enhancement grid lines).
Zhang et al. teaches wherein the respective enhancement grid line includes first portions and a second portion connected between the first portions in an extension direction of the respective finger electrode (as depicted in Fig. 9d and annotated Fig. 9d above, the cited enhancement grid line includes first portions and a second portion connected between the first portions in an extension direction of the respective finger electrode).
Zhang et al. teaches wherein an end surface of each first portion away from the second portion has a width larger than a width of a contact surface of the first portion in contact with the second portion in the arrangement direction of the finger electrodes (as depicted in Fig. 9d and annotated Fig. 9d above, an end surface of each cited first portion away from the cited second portion has a width L2 larger than a width L1 of a contact surface of the cited first portion in contact with the cited second portion in the arrangement direction of the finger electrodes).
Zhang et al. teaches the shape of the contact pads provides for improved manufacturing process yield and reliability and reduces material costs (see [0080]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the plurality of contact pads in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al., which includes the cited plurality of enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints, because it would have provided for improved manufacturing process yield and reliability and reduces material costs.
Bitnar, as modified above, discloses wherein
the plurality of enhancement grid lines has two opposing ends respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide for the two opposing lateral ends of the enhancement grid lines respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines 172 through the overlap), wherein
a respective auxiliary solder joint of the auxiliary solder joints partially overlaps with a corresponding first grid line (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joint partially overlapped with a corresponding first grid line at the border) and
is in electrical contact with the corresponding first grid line and a corresponding enhancement grid line (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joints in electrical contact with the corresponding first grid line and a corresponding enhancement grid line), and
the auxiliary solder joints are made of a same printing paste as the plurality of enhancement grid lines (see [0102] teaching each cited contact pad is made of a second silver containing printing paste which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joints being made of a same silver containing printing paste as the cited plurality of enhancement grid lines), wherein
the first portions are respectively in electrical contact with the two adjacent first grid lines (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited first portions are respectively in electrical contact with the two adjacent first grid lines).
With regard to claim 15, dependent claim 13 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bitnar, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the second portion has a length ranging from 0.01mm to 1.5mm in the extension direction of the respective finger electrode.
However, the length of the second portion is a result effective variable directly affecting the contact area available for connecting wire guide 221 and the material cost of manufacturing.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the length of the second portion in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar, as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of length through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the contact area available for connecting wire guide and the material cost of manufacturing the solar cell screen plate.
With regard to claim 16, dependent claim 13 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bitnar, as modified above, does not disclose wherein each first portion has a length ranging from 0.05mm to 1.5mm in the extension direction of the respective finger electrode.
However, the length of each first portion is a result effective variable directly affecting the material cost of manufacturing.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the length of each first portion in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar, as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range of length through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the material cost of manufacturing the solar cell screen plate.
With regard to claim 17, Bitnar discloses a solar cell, comprising a substrate 110 having a surface and a solar cell screen plate arranged on the substrate, and wherein the solar cell screen plate comprises:
a plurality of parallel finger electrodes arranged on a surface of the substrate (as depicted in Fig. 3, a plurality of parallel finger electrodes, such as the combination of first gird electrodes 171 in each row, arranged on a surface of the substrate 110; [0026]), wherein
each respective finger electrode of the plurality of finger electrodes is made of a first printing paste (see [0102] teaching each cited plurality of finger electrodes is made of a first aluminum containing printing paste) and includes
a plurality of first grid lines separated by a plurality of gaps such that every two adjacent first grid lines in the respective finger electrode are separated by a corresponding gap of the plurality of gaps (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which is cited to provide a space, or gap, between each adjacent first grid line 172 at the contact surface of 173 away from the border; see Fig. 3 depicting a plurality of first grid lines 172 separated by a plurality of gaps, the gaps/spaces between adjacent first grid lines 172 at the contact surface of 173 away from the border, such that every two adjacent first grid lines 172 in the respective finger electrode are separated by a corresponding gap of the cited plurality of gaps); and
a plurality of contact pads (173, Fig. 3), wherein
each respective contact pad is made of a second printing paste (see [0102] teaching each cited contact pad is made of a second silver containing printing paste) and
is located at a respective gap between two corresponding adjacent first grid lines in an extension direction of a finger electrode (as depicted in Fig. 3, each respective contact pad173 is located at a gap between two adjacent first grid lines 172 in a lateral extension direction of a finger electrode) and has
two opposing ends respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which is cited to provide for the two opposing ends of 173 respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines 172 at the overlap), wherein
the second printing paste different from the first printing paste (see [0102] teaching the cited second silver containing printing paste different from the cited first aluminum printing paste).
Bitnar does not disclose wherein the plurality of contact pads are shaped to include enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a solar cell screen plate (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a plurality of contact pads 110 can includes a shape (see Fig. 9d) having enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints (see annotated Fig. 9d below).
Annotated Fig. 9d
Zhang et al. teaches auxiliary solder joints located on both sides of each of the plurality of enhancement grid lines (as depicted in Fig. 9d and annotated Fig. 9d above, auxiliary solder joints, the portions of contact pad 110 on each side of recesses 112, located on both lateral sides of each of the plurality of enhancement grid lines).
Zhang et al. teaches the shape of the contact pads provides for improved manufacturing process yield and reliability and reduces material costs (see [0080]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the plurality of contact pads in the solar cell screen plate of Bitnar to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al., which includes the cited plurality of enhancement grid lines and auxiliary solder joints, because it would have provided for improved manufacturing process yield and reliability and reduces material costs.
Bitnar, as modified above, discloses wherein
the plurality of enhancement grid lines has two opposing ends respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, is cited to provide for the two opposing lateral ends of the enhancement grid lines respectively in electrical contact with the two corresponding adjacent first grid lines 172 through the overlap), wherein
a respective auxiliary solder joint of the auxiliary solder joints partially overlaps with a corresponding first grid line (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joint partially overlapped with a corresponding first grid line at the border) and
is in electrical contact with the corresponding first grid line and a corresponding enhancement grid line (see [0102] teaching first grid lines 172 can slightly overlap the printed contact surfaces of 173 on the border which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joints in electrical contact with the corresponding first grid line and a corresponding enhancement grid line), and
the auxiliary solder joints are made of a same printing paste as the plurality of enhancement grid lines (see [0102] teaching each cited contact pad is made of a second silver containing printing paste which, as modified to include the shape suggested by Zhang et al. above, would provide for the cited auxiliary solder joints being made of a same silver containing printing paste as the cited plurality of enhancement grid lines).
With regard to claim 18, independent claim 17 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar discloses wherein
the respective enhancement grid line has a width larger than a width of the respective finger electrode in an arrangement direction of the plurality of finger electrodes (see, for example, Fig. 10 of Zhang et al. depicting width of the cited enhancement grid line larger than a width of a respective finger electrode 130 which would provide for a larger width than the cited respective finger electrode of Bitnar, as modified above).
With regard to claim 19, independent claim 17 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar discloses a photovoltaic module, comprising:
a plurality of cell strings (as depicted in Fig. 11, a plurality of cell strings 250), wherein
each cell string is formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells (as depicted in Fig. 11, each cell string 250 is formed by connecting a plurality of solar cells 100), and
each solar cell is the solar cell of claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above);
a plurality of solder strips configured to connect the plurality of solar cells (such as plurality of solder strips 221 depicted in Fig. 3, 14, and 19 as connecting the plurality of solar cells 100);
an encapsulation film configured to cover a surface of each of the plurality of cell strings and a surface of each of the plurality of solder strips; and a plurality of cover plates, wherein each cover plate is configured to cover a surface of the encapsulation film away from the plurality of cell strings (see cover plates 211/212 and encapsulation film 214 disclosed in Fig. 12 and 19 and see [0131]).
With regard to claim 20, dependent claim 19 is obvious over Bitnar in view of Zhang et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bitnar discloses wherein
the respective gap is defined at an intersection between a respective solder strip of the plurality of solder strips and the respective finger electrode, and the respective solder strip is in electrical contact with the respective enhancement grid line (as depicted in Fig. 3 and disclosed in [0102], the cited gap is defined at an intersection between a respective solder strip 221 of the plurality of solder strips and the respective finger electrode at 172, and the respective solder strip 221 is in electrical contact with the cited enhancement grid line, as modified above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes the newly amended claimed limitations are not found within the previously cited prior art reference. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 October 27, 2025