CTNF 18/494,736 CTNF 88637 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office action is in response to Application No. 18/494,736 to Tamura et al . , filed 10/25/2023, assigned to Panasonic Intellectual Property Management Co. Ltd., Osaka, Japan, and published as U.S. PG 2024/0055611 A1 on 02/15/2024. This application is a Continuation of Application No. PCT/JP2022/006554 filed 02/18/2022, and claims foreign priority from Japanese application JP2021-089546 filed 05/27/2021. Claims 1-16 are currently pending in this application. All pending claims are under full consideration. Foreign Priority Benefit Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim to foreign priority benefit from Japanese Patent Application JP2021-089546. A certified copy of the priority document has been filed and is made of record. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2023, 05/13/2025, 05/22/2026 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner. Duly initialed and signed copies are attached herewith. Accordingly, information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by Examiner. Drawings The drawings filed on 10/25/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-13, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Sugawara et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2019/0237754) Regarding claim 1 and 15 Sugawara discloses an electrode mixture (Sugawara Title , Abstract , paragraph 0005), and a battery including a positive electrode, a negative electrode and an electrolyte layer interposed therebetween (Sugawara paragraph 0015), the electrode mixture include active material (Sugawara paragraph 0018), a conductive additive such carbon nanotube and carbon nanofibers (Sugawara paragraph 0063), equivalent to the conductive fibers, and a binder including an elastomer which is a hydrogenated product including a styrene (Sugawara paragraph 0107), the styrene has an aromatic ring. The instant specification recognized the same elastomer SEBS and the content rate of the repeating unit derived from styrene was 15 mass % or more (Instant Specification paragraph 0260); thus, the disclosed elastomer SEBS of Sugawara (Sugawara paragraph 0107) will also have the same content rate of repeating unit of 15 mass% or more. The electrode mixture is equivalent to the electrode material, comprising an active material (Sugawara paragraph 0018), a conductive additive such as carbon nanotube or carbon nanofiber (Sugawara paragraph 0064, 0073) equivalent to a conductive fiber including a carbon material, and a carbon-containing material (Sugawara paragraph 0026) that is a binder (Sugawara paragraph 0032), the binder is a hydrogenated styrene-ethylene-butylene elastomer SEBS (Sugawara paragraph 0107), and the styrene repeating unit has an aromatic ring. The instant specification recognized the same elastomer SEBS and the content rate of the repeating unit derived from styrene was 15 mass % or more (Instant Specification paragraph 0260); thus, the disclosed elastomer SEBS of Sugawara (Sugawara paragraph 0107) will also have the same content rate of repeating unit of 15 mass% or more. Regarding claim 2 Sugawara discloses the conductive additive include carbon nanotubes (Sugawara paragraph 0064, 0073) Regarding claim 4 Sugawara discloses the electrode material include a carbon-containing material (paragraph 0018), and the carbon-containing material services as a binder (Sugawara paragraph 0049, 0061,m 0067), and is a thermoplastic resin (Sugawara paragraph 0062). Regarding claim 5 Sugawara discloses that examples of the thermoplastic resin include styrene-butadiene-styrene (SBS), a styrene-ethylene-propylene copolymer (SEPS), a styrene-isoprene copolymer (SIS), a styrene-ethylene-butadiene-styrene (SEBS) resin, a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) (Sugawara paragraph 0062), and the disclosed compounds include a include a first block including the repeating unit styrene have aromatic ring, and a second block including a repeating unit derived from a conjugated diene such as butadiene (Sugawara paragraph 0062, 0107). Regarding claim 6 Sugawara discloses the repeating unit having aromatic ring is derived from styrene (Sugawara paragraph 0062). Rearing claim 7 the elastomer is hydrogenated styrene-ethylene-butylene elastomer SEBS (Sugawara paragraph 0062, 0107). Regarding claim 8 Sugawara discloses halogenated styrene-SEBE (Sugawara paragraph 0107) is fully hydrogenated, which greater than 90%. Regarding claim 9 the styrene repeating unit has an aromatic ring (Sugawara paragraph 0107). The instant specification recognized the same elastomer SEBS and the content rate of the repeating unit derived from styrene was 20 mass % or more (Instant Specification paragraph 0044); thus, the same disclosed elastomer SEBS of Sugawara (Sugawara paragraph 0107) will also have the same content rate of repeating unit of 20 mass% or more. Regarding claim 10 Sugawara discloses the electrode mixture, considered equivalent to the electrode material, include a solid electrolyte (Sugawara paragraph Abstract, claim 1, paragraph 0005, 0015, 0026). Regarding claim 11 Sugawara discloses the solid electrolyte has a high lithium ion conductivity (Sugawara paragraph 0055). Regarding claim 12 the electrode material comprising a solvent (Sugawara paragraph 0036). Regarding claim 13 Sugawara discloses a method of producing an electrode slurry including a conductive additive and a carbon-containing material that is a binder (Sugawara Title , paragraph 0026, 0036, 0064, 0073), equivalent to the method of manufacturing comprising producing a slurry including a conductive fiber and a binder. Regarding claim 16 the electrolyte is a solid electrolyte (Sugawara Abstract , paragraph 0015, 0054) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2019/0237754) in view of Murase et al (U.S. PG Publication 2021/0005898; cited in IDS dated 10/25/2023) The discussion of Sugawara as applied to claim 1 and 2 as presented above is fully incorporated here and is relied upon for the limitation of the claim in this region. Regarding claim 3 Sugawara discloses the electrode mixture, equivalent to the electrode material, comprise a conductive additive such as carbon nanotube or carbon nanofiber (Sugawara paragraph 0064, 0073) considered equivalent to the conductive fiber including a carbon material, but Sugawara is silent about an average diameter of the conductive fiber. Murase discloses a slurry for a secondary battery comprising electrode active material and a carbon nanotube dispersion used as a conductive material (Murase paragraph 0019), and the carbon nanotubes, considered equivalent to the conductive fiber including carbon material, have average diameter preferably 15 nm or less (Murase paragraph 0033), and when the diameter is in the disclosed range the aggregation of the carbon nanotubes can be suppressed (Murase paragraph 0033). The disclosed range of 15 nm or less in included in the claimed range of 300 nm or less. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made the diameter of the conductive fiber such as the carbon nanotube in the range disclosed by Murase so that the aggregation of the conductive fibers can be suppressed as taught by Murase (Murase paragraph 0033). According to the MPEP such a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara et al . (U.S. PG Publication 2019/0237754) in view of Ho et al . (U.S. PG Publication 2022/0238854) The discussion of Sugawara as applied to claim 1 and 13 above is fully incorporated here and is relied upon for the limitation of the claim in this section. Regarding claim 14 Sugawara discloses a method of manufacturing of producing the electrode mixture (Sugawara Title, paragraph 0010, 0035, 0063, 0073), comprising producing a slurry of a conductive additive and a binder, but Sugawara is silent about mixing a slurry including a conductive fiber and a binder with a slurry containing at least one of active material and a solid electrolyte. Ho discloses a method of manufacturing homogenized cathode slurry (Ho paragraph 0008-0012), including dispersing a binder and a conductive agent to form a suspension called second suspension (Ho paragraph 0011) equivalent to a slurry including conductive fiber and binder, preparing a suspension of a cathode active material called a first suspension (Ho paragraph 0010) equivalent to the slurry including an active material, mixing the first suspension and second suspension or slurries to form a third homogenized cathode slurry (Ho paragraph 0011, 0012). Ho teaches that this is advantageous as it allows quicker processing and better dispersion of materials in the third suspension (Ho paragraph 0091). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of manufacturing of electrode material disclosed by Sugawara by the method disclosed by Ho (Ho paragraph 009-0012, 0091) in order to allow quicker processing and better dispersion of the electrode materials in the mixed suspension or slurry (Ho paragraph 0091). According to the MPEP this is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 I C). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OMAR M KEKIA whose telephone number is (571)270-5918. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00am-5:00 pm,. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NIKI BAKHTIARI can be reached at 571-272-3433. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /OMAR M KEKIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 2 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 3 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 4 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 5 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 6 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 7 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 8 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/494,736 Page 9 Art Unit: 1722