Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being taught by Deflorio (PGPUB 2015/0340982).
With respect to claim 1, Deflorio teaches a motor control system comprising:
an inverter (fig. 1, 10) having a diode (paragraph 0041; DHA and SHA) and a transistor for generating an alternating current (fig. 1, IU,V,W ) in response to a pulse width modulated (abstract) direct current having a fixed amplitude (fig. 3, on amplitude); and
a processor (fig. 1, 18) configured to adjust a zero vector (paragraph 0048-049) of the pulse width modulated direct current in response to a diode temperature and a transistor temperature such that the diode temperature equals the transistor temperature (paragraph 0052).
With respect to claim 2, Deflorio teaches further including a memory for (paragraph 0053) storing a first component loss for the transistor and a second component loss for the diode.
With respect to claim 3, Deflorio teaches wherein the alternating current is coupled to a stator winding of an electric motor (fig. 1, 14) to drive a rotor of the electric motor.
With respect to claim 4, Deflorio teaches wherein the zero vector is adjusted in (paragraph 0048-049) response to a first component loss for the transistor, a second component loss for the diode and a portion of the pulse width modulated direct current coupled through the transistor and the diode.
With respect to claim 5, Deflorio teaches wherein the diode temperature is determined by a first temperature sensor (TDHA ) and the transistor temperature is determined by a second temperature sensor (TSHA).
With respect to claim 10, Deflorio teaches a method of generating an alternating current comprising:
generating a pulse width modulated current (abstract) having a first zero vector;
estimating a diode temperature and a transistor temperature in an inverter in response to the pulse width modulated current (paragraph 0052);
adjusting the first zero vector (paragraph 0048-049) of the pulse width modulated current to generate an adapted pulse width modulated current such that the diode temperature equals the transistor temperature;
generating, by the inverter, an alternating current (fig. 1; 10 output, IU,V,W to motor) in response to the adapted pulse width modulated current; and coupling the alternating current to an electric motor (fig. 1, 14).
With respect to claim 19, Deflorio teaches a vehicle propulsion system comprising:
a battery (fig. 1, 12) configured to supply a direct current;
a generator (fig. 1, 14) for generating a pulse width modulated current (abstract) in response to the direct current and a zero vector (paragraph 0045);
an inverter (fig. 1, 10) having a diode (paragraph 0041; DHA and SHA) and a transistor for converting the pulse width modulated current to an alternating current (fig. 1, IU,V,W);
a processor (fig. 1, 18) for determining a diode temperature of the diode and a transistor temperature of the transistor and for adjusting the zero vector such that the diode temperature equals the transistor temperature; and
an electric motor (paragraph 003) for propelling a vehicle in response to the alternating current (paragraph 0052).
Claims 6-9, 11-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/ERICK D GLASS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837