DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 5 of claim 5, delete “defines”, and insert --defined--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a computer-readable storage medium. A computer-readable storage medium includes transitory forms of signal transmission which are not directed to any of the statutory categories (See MPEP 2106.03, subsection I). Amending the claim to be directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium would overcome this rejection.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Per step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test (See MPEP 2106), claim 1 is directed to method, which is a process and falls within a statutory category (See MPEP 2106.03).
Per step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 recites a step S1: reading a predetermined sampling range, taking a minimum value of the predetermined sampling range as a minimum value of an actual sampling range, and taking a maximum value of the predetermined sampling range as a maximum value of the actual sampling range; a step S3: outputting an actual sampling value according to a comparison result between the analog sampling value and the actual sampling range; a step S4: adjusting the actual sampling range according to the comparison result between the analog sampling value and the actual sampling range; and a step S5: returning to execute the step S2. The claims requiring comparing a sampled value to a predetermined range to determine a sampling value for output and to adjust the actual sampling range. The comparison of values to a range is activity that can be performed in the human mind and describe mathematical relationships and therefore, the claims fall into the mental processes grouping and the mathematical concepts grouping (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsections I, III).
The additional elements are a step S2: sampling an output of the analog sensor to obtain an analog sampling value.
Per step 2A, prong 2, The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because sampling an output is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Per step 2B, claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reason. Further, sampling a sensor or collecting data for use in a abstract idea in various ways has been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Claims 2-5 and 8 depend from claim 1 and do not recite any further additional elements. Claims 2-5 and 8 only recite further details of the abstract idea and therefore, claims 2-5 and 8 are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 6 and 7 specify further details of the analog sensor. As discussed above, the collecting data in various ways has been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Claims 9 recites a processor, a memory and an analog sensor sampling device. The analog sensor sampling device is used to collect data which is insignificant extra-solution activity as discussed above. The recitation of the processor and memory amount to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer, which amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). When considered in combination, the processor, memory and data collection limitations provide a generic computer that can collect data and neither individually nor in combination integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 10 recites a computer readable medium. The computer readable medium, similar to the processor and memory in claim 9, amounts to instructions to apply the abstract idea. Claim 10 is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2017/0242539 to Mani (Mani).
Claim 1
With regard to a step S1: reading a predetermined sampling range, taking a minimum value of the predetermined sampling range as a minimum value of an actual sampling range, and taking a maximum value of the predetermined sampling range as a maximum value of the actual sampling range; Mani teaches comparing to initial or default upper and lower thresholds, which corresponds to a range (par. 54).
With regard to a step S2: sampling an output of the analog sensor to obtain an analog sampling value; Mani teaches sampling a force sensor (Fig. 2, force sensor layer 230; pars. 43, 44; Fig. 3, steps 300, 310; pars. 47-53).
With regard to a step S3: outputting an actual sampling value according to a comparison result between the analog sampling value and the actual sampling range; Mani teaches assigning a force status based on comparing the measured force to a threshold (Fig. 3, steps 330-350; pars. 55, 56).
With regard to a step S4: adjusting the actual sampling range according to the comparison result between the analog sampling value and the actual sampling range; Mani teaches updating the force threshold based on comparing the force signal to the force thresholds (Fig. 3, step 320; par. 54).
With regard to a step S5: returning to execute the step S2; Mani teaches continuously updating the thresholds (Fig. 3, steps 320, 330; Fig. 4; pars. 57-59).
Claim 2
Mani teaches that the step S3 comprises comparing the analog sampling value with the maximum value and the minimum value of the actual sampling range respectively; if the analog sampling value is within the actual sampling range, taking the analog sampling value as a sampling output value; if the analog sampling value is less than the minimum value of the actual sampling range, taking the minimum value of the actual sampling range as the sampling output value; and if the analog sampling value is greater than the maximum value of the actual sampling range, taking the maximum value of the actual sampling range as the sampling output value (pars. 55, 56, assigned a force status if maximum is exceeded).
Claim 3
Mani teaches that the step S4 comprises comparing the analog sampling value with the maximum value and the minimum value of the actual sampling range respectively; if the analog sampling value is within the actual sampling range, not adjusting the actual sampling range; if the analog sampling value is less than the minimum value of the actual sampling range, updating the minimum value of the actual sampling range with the analog sampling value; and if the analog sampling value is greater than the maximum value of the actual sampling range, updating the maximum value of the actual sampling range with the analog sampling value (pars. 54, 65-67, changed to reflect a new maximum when maximum is exceeded).
Claim 4
Mani teaches that the step S3 further comprises determining an actual output value according to the sampling output value, the actual sampling range, and the actual output range (pars. 55, 56).
Claim 5
Mani teaches that a difference between the maximum value of the actual sampling range minus the minimum value of the actual sampling range is defined as an actual sampling range amplitude; a difference between a maximum value of the actual output range minus a minimum value of the actual output range is defines as an actual output range amplitude; a ratio of the sampling output value to the actual sampling range amplitude is equal to a ratio of the actual output value to the actual output range amplitude (par. 71, normalized force value in the context of adjusting the thresholds).
Claim 6
Mani teaches that the analog sensor is configured to collect a joystick status signal of a remote controller (par. 17).
Claim 7
Mani teaches that the analog sensor is a Hall sensor, a sliding rheostat, a pressure sensor, or a capacitive position sensor (par. 22, capacitive; par. 25, current for position; par. 61, force (pressure) sensor).
Claim 8
Mani teaches that the analog sampling value is a voltage value or a current value (par. 26, voltage and current sensing
Claim 9
Mani teaches a processor (pars. 31, 32, 42),
a memory (pars. 31, 32, 42, and
an analog sensor sampling device (Figs. 2 force sensor layer 230);
wherein the processor is configured to execute a computer program stored in the memory to implement the dynamic sampling method for the analog sensor according to claim 1 (pars. 31, 32, 42).
Claim 10
Mani teaches a computer program stored in the computer-readable storage medium (pars. 31, 32, 42);
wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the dynamic sampling method for the analog sensor according to claim 1 is implemented (pars. 31, 32, 42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2018/0132850 to Leimbach et al. teaches a surgical instrument sensor system including adjusting the range of position measurements.
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857