DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 2/21/24 and 4/25/24 are being considered by the Examiner except for the following: the reference EP 25281887 listed in the 2/21/24 was not considered because no publication matching the listed publication no. was provided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 8 recites “two switching elements,” which are not shown in the Figure.
Claim 9 recites “at least two different tools” but only one feature identified as tool 5 is shown in the Figure.
Claim 10 recites “exchangeable inserts,” which are not shown in the Figure.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“an evaluation unit (20) of the server unit (18) via the transmitting and receiving unit for identifying the motor vehicle component (3) in the server unit (18) by comparison with images of motor vehicle components to be identified stored in a database (19)” in claim 2. Claim 2 recites “evaluation unit,” which is generic placeholder for “means,” to perform the function “identifying the motor vehicle component (3) in the server unit (18) by comparison with images of motor vehicle components to be identified stored in a database (19)” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed evaluation. After reviewing the Specification, the Examiner was unable to determine the structure for performing the claimed function.
“the suitable tool (5) is selected by means of the evaluation unit (20)” in claim 3. Claim 3 recites “evaluation unit,” which is generic placeholder for “means,” to perform the function “the suitable tool (5) is selected” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed evaluation. After reviewing the Specification, the Examiner was unable to determine the structure for performing the claimed function.
“is controlled by means of a control unit (13), the control unit (13) calling up a program stored in the database (19) of the server unit (18) or on the mobile handheld device (4) for the suitable tool (5)” in claim 4. Claim 4 recites “control unit,” which is generic placeholder for “means,” to perform the function “calling up a program stored in the database (19) of the server unit (18) or on the mobile handheld device (4) for the suitable tool (5)” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed control function. After reviewing the Specification, the Examiner was unable to determine the structure for performing the claimed function.
“the evaluation unit (20), the shape type of the motor vehicle component (3) and/or at least one object marking of a label arranged on the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined by automatic shape detection of the electronic image” in claim 5. Claim 5 recites “evaluation unit,” which is generic placeholder for “means,” to perform the function “the shape type of the motor vehicle component (3) and/or at least one object marking of a label arranged on the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined by automatic shape detection of the electronic image” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed evaluation. After reviewing the Specification, the Examiner was unable to determine the structure for performing the claimed function.
“the size of the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined by means of a sensor unit” in claim 6. Claim 6 recites “sensor unit,” which is generic placeholder for “means,” to perform the function “the size of the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed sensing. After reviewing the Specification, the Examiner was unable to determine the structure for performing the claimed function.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The following claim limitations are indefinite:
Claim 1 at lines 1-2 recites “using a handheldable pulling and compressing device for the repair of motor vehicle components.” The main (and only illustrated) example of a motor vehicle component is an undamaged rivet 3 (see Fig. 1). It is unclear and therefore indefinite as to how rivet 3 is being “repaired” by the handheldable pulling and compressing device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 at lines 9-11 recites “identifying a motor vehicle component (3) to be machined by means of a mobile handheld device (4) comprising a display unit (16) and a transmitting and receiving unit for wireless data transmission of information to a server unit (18).” It is unclear and therefore indefinite as to whether the mobile handheld device itself is identifying the motor vehicle component or if, e.g., a user or a server is using the mobile handheld device to identify the motor vehicle component. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 at lines 12-13 recites “selecting a tool (5) suitable for machining the identified motor vehicle component (3) by means of the mobile handheld device (4) and/or the server unit (18).” It is unclear and therefore indefinite as to whether the mobile handheld device itself is selecting the tool or if, e.g., a user or a server is using the mobile handheld device as part of selecting the tool. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 at line 1, “the repair” does not have antecedent basis and is therefore indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 at line 5, “the direction” does not have antecedent basis and is therefore indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 at line 14, “the appropriate tool (5)” does not have antecedent basis and is therefore indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 to 10 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 2 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim limitation “an evaluation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as discussed above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function “identifying the motor vehicle component (3) in the server unit (18) by comparison with images of motor vehicle components to be identified stored in a database (19)”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP § 2181. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “evaluation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as discussed above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function “the suitable tool (5) is selected”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP § 2181. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 at line 3, “the database” does not have antecedent basis and is therefore indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 at lines 3-4, “the evaluations unit” does not have antecedent basis and is therefore indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim limitation “control unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as discussed above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function “calling up a program stored in the database (19) of the server unit (18) or on the mobile handheld device (4) for the suitable tool (5)”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP § 2181. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “evaluation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as discussed above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function “the shape type of the motor vehicle component (3) and/or at least one object marking of a label arranged on the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined by automatic shape detection of the electronic image”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP § 2181. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 at line 3, “the evaluations unit” does not have antecedent basis and is therefore indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim limitation “sensor unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as discussed above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function “the size of the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP § 2181. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim limitations “before the repair of the motor vehicle component (3)” and “a machining history of the motor vehicle component (3)” are indefinite. The main (and only illustrated) example of a motor vehicle component is an undamaged rivet 3 (see Fig. 1). It is unclear and therefore indefinite as to how rivet 3 is being “repaired” and/or has a “machining history.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0239449 to Hiroyuki Masugata (“Masugata”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0209341to Philley Ko (“Ko”), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0251384 to Torsten Kreischer (“Kreischer”) (U.S. counterpart to EP 3528187 listed in the IDS of 4/25/2024).
Regarding clam 1, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer renders obvious:
Method of using a handheldable pulling and compressing device for the repair of motor vehicle components, having (Masugata discloses use of an electric blind rivet setting device (“handheldable pulling and compressing device”). See, e.g., Masugata at Abstract.)
a drive unit (9) comprising a battery-operated electric motor (8) (Masugata discloses an electric blind rivet setting device 1 with “drive force transfer and control section 11 [that] has a mechanism for transferring the rotational force from the electric motor 13” which is powered by battery 51 (“drive unit (9) comprising a battery-operated electric motor (8)”). See, e.g., Masugata at pars. [0029], [0032] and [0043] and Figs. 1 and 2.,
a screw drive (10) connected to the electric motor (8) for transmitting tensile and compressive forces resulting from the direction of rotation of the electric motor (8) to a coupling unit (11) (Masugata discloses that the electric motor 13 (Masugata discloses that the “positive rotation of the electric motor 13 [(“electric motor”)] is transferred to the spindle 14 through the motor gear 15, rear gear 19, drive shaft 18, front gear 21 and spindle gear 17, and the spindle rotates positively…[which] rotates the screw member 38 (FIG. 5) [(“screw drive”)] positively and causes the pulling head 30 to move backward a prescribed length….” See, e.g., Masugata at pars. [0036] and [0044] and Figs. 1-5 Masugata also discloses that “the nose 7 is provided with jaws 29 [(“coupling unit”)] as the means for gripping the mandrel M and with the pulling head 30 that envelopes the jaws 29 and extends to the tool housing 27” (“transmitting tensile and compressive forces resulting from the direction of rotation of the electric motor (8) to a coupling unit (11)” – tensile force on rivet mandrel and compressive force on rivet head). See, e.g., Masugata at par. [0034] and Figs. 1-5.),
a tool holder (12) connected to the coupling unit (11) (Masugata discloses that the “pulling head 30 surrounds and supports the jaws 29 [(“coupling unit”)] and is disposed in a state where the axial center is aligned with respect to the nose housing 33” (“tool holder”). See, e.g., Masugata at par. [0036] and Figs. 3-5. Thus, Masugata discloses a “tool holder (12) connected to the coupling unit (11).”),
with the steps –
arranging the appropriate tool (5) on the tool holder (12) of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) (Figure 4 of Masugata shows nose piece 31 (“tool”) inserted in nose housing 33 (“tool holder”).);
machining the motor vehicle component (3) by means of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) (“The shaft part of the mandrel M [(“motor vehicle component”)] that is gripped by the jaws 29 is pulled with enough strength by the linear motion of the pulling head 30 toward the rear that it breaks at the breakable part … [and that the] mandrel head H expands and deforms part of the sleeve of the rivet body R [(“motor vehicle component”)]…” (“machining the motor vehicle component (3) by means of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2)”). See, e.g., Masugata at par. [0034].
Masugata does not explicitly disclose: identifying a motor vehicle component (3) to be machined by means of a mobile handheld device (4) comprising a display unit (16) and a transmitting and receiving unit for wireless data transmission of information to a server unit (18); selecting a tool (5) suitable for machining the identified motor vehicle component (3) by means of the mobile handheld device (4) and/or the server unit (18); or displaying information about the appropriate tool (5) on the display unit (16) of the mobile handheld device (4).
However, in the same field of endeavor, riveting device, and thus analogous art, Ko discloses “[m]atching blind rivets and nosepieces must be identified before a rivet tool can correctly and smoothly draw the blind rivets” because “[i]f users fail to identify matching blind rivets and nosepieces to use, blind rivets would fail to be correctly drawn and fastened.” See, e.g., Ko at pars. [0007]-[0008].
Ko discloses:
identifying a motor vehicle component (3) to be machined by means of a mobile handheld device (4) comprising a display unit (16) and a transmitting and receiving unit for wireless data transmission of information to a server unit (18) (Ko discloses using blind rivets 40 (“identifying a motor vehicle component (3) to be machined”). See, e.g., Ko at pars. [0004] and [0030] and Fig. 5.;
selecting a tool (5) suitable for machining the identified motor vehicle component (3) by means of the mobile handheld device (4) and/or the server unit (18) (Ko discloses a plurality of nosepieces 20 (“tool”) that can be “interchangeably mounted” on the rivet gun with “[e]ach of the nosepieces 20 [having] a mandrel through hole 21 having a matching diameter corresponding to the mandrel 42 of blind rivets 40” (“selecting a tool (5) suitable for machining the identified motor vehicle component (3)”). See, e.g., Ko at par. [0030].);
Based on the teachings of Ko, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a plurality of nosepieces that are matched to the mandrels of blind rivets and that can be interchangeably mounted on Masugata’s electric blind rivet setting device in order to correctly draw and fasten the blind rivets. See, e.g., Ko at pars. [0007]-[0008]. However, Masugata in view of Ko does not disclose that the identification is “by means of a mobile handheld device (4) comprising a display unit (16) and a transmitting and receiving unit for wireless data transmission of information to a server unit (18)” or that the selecting is “by means of the mobile handheld device (4) and/or the server unit (18)” or the claimed “displaying information about the appropriate tool (5) on the display unit (16) of the mobile handheld device (4).”
Kreischer discloses a “method for identifying an object and providing information concerning the identified object on a mobile hand-held device.” See, e.g., Kreischer at Abstract. Accordingly, because Kreischer addresses the problem of identifying objects and then providing corresponding information, Kreischer is reasonably pertinent art to the problem facing the Inventors of the present Application (see, e.g., present Specification at par. [0003]) and thus analogous art. See MPEP § 2141.01(a)(I).
Masugata in view of Ko and further in view of Kreischer renders obvious:
identifying a motor vehicle component (3) to be machined by means of a mobile handheld device (4) comprising a display unit (16) and a transmitting and receiving unit for wireless data transmission of information to a server unit (18) (Kreischer discloses a “system, schematically represented in FIG. 1, for identifying an object 2 [(“identifying a motor vehicle component”)] and providing information on this object 2 has a mobile hand-held device in the form of a smartphone 7 [(“mobile handheld device”)] with and a server unit 10 [(“server unit”)].” See, e.g., Kreischer at par. [0049] and Fig. 1. Kreischer also discloses that “[a]fter the electronic image is created by the workshop employee with the camera unit of the mobile hand-held device, it is transmitted to the server unit via the transmitter/receiver unit [(“a transmitting and receiving unit for wireless data transmission of information to a server unit (18)”)].” See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0013] and [0052] and Fig. 1. In the system of Masugata and Ko as further modified by Kreischer, object 2 will correspond to rivets (“motor vehicle component”).);
selecting a tool (5) suitable for machining the identified motor vehicle component (3) by means of the mobile handheld device (4) and/or the server unit (18) (Kreischer discloses that “an analysis unit performs a comparison of the electronic image within the server unit [(“server unit”)] with images stored in a database of the server unit [and that] the data on a matching object [(“tool”)] stored in the database are, in turn, transmitted from the server unit [(“server unit”)] to the mobile hand-held device.” See, e.g., Kreischer at par. [0013]. Kreischer also discloses a “system, schematically represented in FIG. 1, for identifying an object 2 and providing information on this object 2 [(“tool”)] has a mobile hand-held device in the form of a smartphone 7 with and a server unit 10.” See, e.g., Kreischer at par. [0049] and Fig. 1. In the system of Masugata and Ko as further modified by Kreischer, data on a matching object and information on object 2 will correspond to the nosepiece (“tool”) corresponding to the rivet.;
displaying information about the appropriate tool (5) on the display unit (16) of the mobile handheld device (4) (Kreischer discloses that “[t]he information stored in the database on the identified object is then displayed on the display unit [(“displaying information about the appropriate tool (5) on the display unit (16)”)], typically an electronic display screen [(“display unit”)], of said device [(“mobile handheld device”)].” See, e.g., Kreischer at par. [0013] and Fig. 1.);
It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the system of Masugata and Ko to include the object identifying method of Kreicher in order to alleviate the challenge of identifying an object where there is a variety to choose from. See, e.g., Kreischer at par. [0002]. Because Kreischer discloses that image comparison can be used to identify objects (rivets in the modified system) and corresponding information (nosepieces in the modified system), there is a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer renders obvious:
characterized in that, for identification of the motor vehicle component an electronic image of the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is created with a camera unit of the mobile handheld device (4) (Kreischer discloses that an image of the object 2 is created by a mobile hand-held device. See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0013], [0017], and [0019] [0050].),
the electronic image is transmitted to an evaluation unit (20) of the server unit (18) via the transmitting and receiving unit for identifying the motor vehicle component (3) in the server unit (18) by comparison with images of motor vehicle components to be identified stored in a database (19) (Kreischer discloses “[a]fter the electronic image is created by the workshop employee with the camera unit of the mobile hand-held device, it is transmitted to the server unit via the transmitter/receiver unit … [and that] an analysis unit [that] performs a comparison of the electronic image within the server unit with images stored in a database of the server unit, wherein the data on a matching object stored in the database are, in turn, transmitted from the server unit to the mobile hand-held device.” See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0013], [0020]-[0021], and [0052] and Fig. 1.) and
the information stored in the database (19) for the identified motor vehicle component (3) is transmitted to the handheld device (4) for selection of the suitable tool (5) (Kreischer discloses “an analysis unit [that] performs a comparison of the electronic image within the server unit with images stored in a database of the server unit, wherein the data on a matching object stored in the database are, in turn, transmitted from the server unit to the mobile hand-held device.” See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0013] and [0052] and Fig. 1.).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 1, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer renders obvious:
characterized in that the information on the tool (5) suitable for machining the motor vehicle component (3) is stored in the database (19), the suitable tool (5) is selected by means of the evaluation unit (20) on the basis of the identified motor vehicle component (3), and the information is transmitted to the mobile handheld device (4) for display on the display unit (16) (Kreischer disclose that “[t]he information stored in the database on the identified object is then displayed on the display unit, typically an electronic display screen, of said device.” Kreischer also discloses “an analysis unit [that] performs a comparison of the electronic image within the server unit with images stored in a database of the server unit, wherein the data on a matching object stored in the database are, in turn, transmitted from the server unit to the mobile hand-held device.” See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0013] and [0052] and Fig. 1.).
Regarding clam 5, which is dependent on claim 1, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer renders obvious:
characterized in that, in order to identify the motor vehicle component (3) in the mobile handheld device (4) or in the evaluation unit (20), the shape type of the motor vehicle component (3) and/or at least one object marking of a label arranged on the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined by automatic shape detection of the electronic image (Kreischer discloses that “the analysis unit may ….[use] the shape type and/or at least one object characterization of a characterizing part disposed on the object to be identified are determined when the image is electronically processed using automatic pattern recognition.” See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0022]. Kreischer also discloses that “the object characterization is formed by an encoding arranged on the object …[which] may, in addition to a two-dimensional code such as a bar code or a QR code, also be a three-dimensional code which has protruding elevations, for example in the shape of dots or bars….” See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0029].).
Regarding claim 8, which is dependent on claim 1, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer renders obvious:
characterized in that two switching elements arranged on the pulling and compressing device (2) are actuated simultaneously by means of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) in order to initialize the machining operation of the motor vehicle component (3) (Masugata disclose that “If the trigger 6 is pulled in a state where an on signal is output by the first microswitch 25 [(“switching element”)] and an off signal is output by the second microswitch 26, an on signal is output by the trigger switch 49 [(“switching element”)], and the signal processing section 55A of the control circuit 55 provided in the electric blind rivet setting device 1 outputs a positive rotation signal that rotates the electric motor 13 positively.” See, e.g., Masugata at par. [0044] and Fig. 10. Thus, Masugata discloses the claimed operation.).
Regarding claim 9, which is dependent on claim1, Masugata in view of Ko and further in view of Kreicher renders obvious:
System for carrying out a method of using a handheldable pulling and compressing device for the repair of motor vehicle components, in particular according to claim 1 (Masugata discloses use of an electric blind rivet setting device for setting rivets (“handheldable pulling and compressing device”). See, e.g., Masugata at Abstract and par. [0012]. Kreischer discloses that “information stored in the database on the identified object [“(motor vehicle components”)] is then displayed on the display unit, typically an electronic display screen, of said device.” See, e.g., Kreischer at par. [0013] and Fig. 1. Thus, Masugata in view of Ko and further in view of Kreicher renders obvious the claimed system.), comprising
a handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) comprising a drive unit (9) having a battery-operated electric motor (8), a screw drive (10) connected to the electric motor (8) for transmitting tensile and compressive forces resulting from the direction of rotation of the electric motor (8) to a coupling unit (11), and a tool holder connected to the coupling unit (11) (These features are the same as those discussed above with respect to claim 1 and are therefore rendered obvious by Masugata in view of Ko and further in view of Kreicher for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.),
a mobile handheld device (4) with a camera unit, a display unit (16) and a transmitting and receiving unit for wireless data transmission of information to a server unit (18) (Kreischer discloses a mobile hand-held device in the form of a smartphone 7 that includes a camera unit, a display unit 8, and a means to transmit/receive data to/from server unit 10. See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0048]-[0053] and Fig. 1.), and
at least two different tools (5) (Ko discloses a plurality of nosepieces 20. See, e.g., Ko at par. [0037] and Fig. 10.).
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 9, Masugata in view of Ko and further in view of Kreicher renders obvious:
characterized by a plurality of pulling and compressing tools (5) with exchangeable inserts (Masugata discloses an “o-ring 46 and a steel ball 47 [(“exchangeable inserts”)] are provided so as to obstruct part of the hollow passage in the opening part of the nose piece 31 ….” See, e.g., Masugata at par. [0037].).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masugata, Ko, and Kreischer, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0114383 to Michael H. Honsel (“Honsel”).
Regarding clam 4, which is dependent on claim1, Masugata, Ko, Kreischer, and Honsel render obvious:
characterized in that the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) for machining the motor vehicle component (3) is controlled by means of a control unit (13), the control unit (13) calling up a program stored in the database (19) of the server unit (18) or on the mobile handheld device (4) for the suitable tool (5) via a communication unit (15) of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) via the mobile handheld device (4) (As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer disclose the claimed “handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) for machining the motor vehicle component (3)” and the claimed “handheldable pulling and compressing device (2).” However, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer does not disclose the claimed control unit or the claimed communication unit. In the same field of endeavor, a riveting device, and thus analogous art, Honsel discloses the claimed control unit and the claimed communication unit, as discussed below.
characterized in that the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) for machining the motor vehicle component (3) is controlled by means of a control unit (13), the control unit (13) calling up a program stored in the database (19) of the server unit (18) or on the mobile handheld device (4) for the suitable tool (5) via a communication unit (15) of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) via the mobile handheld device (4) (Honsel disclose that “[t]hreshold values for the electric current and/or the electric voltage for operating the first and/or the second motor may furthermore be predefined, wherein these threshold values may be stored in the control unit, in particular, in dependence on the blind rivet elements used [and that] [d]ifferent blind rivet elements with different sizes, which may also consist of different materials, may require different retraction paths of the mandrel that are respectively reached earlier or later and can be detected based on the operating current and/or the operating voltage of the motors only.” See, e.g., Honsel at par. [0025]. That is, Honsel teaches that the control of the rivet mandrel may be different based on the size of the mandrel. In addition, Honsel discloses that “a control panel may also be arranged on the riveting device for the operation thereof and controlled with buttons or a touchscreen [and that] [i]t would also be conceivable to establish a wireless Bluetooth or Wi-Fi or cable connection [(“communication unit (15) of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2)”)] with a computer [(“server”)] or smart phone [(“mobile handheld device”)] that is able to run a suitable software or application.” See, e.g., Honsel at par. [0028]. Thus, Honsel discloses that “handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) for machining the motor vehicle component (3) is controlled by means of a control unit (13), the control unit (13) calling up a program stored in the database (19) of the server unit (18) or on the mobile handheld device (4) for the suitable tool (5) via a communication unit (15) of the handheldable pulling and compressing device (2) via the mobile handheld device (4).” Kreicher discloses that an “object of the invention to provide a method and a system for identifying an object and providing information on said identified object on a mobile hand-held device,” which is provided by the server unit. See, e.g., Kreischer at pars. [0003] and [0013] and Fig. 1. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to add threshold values for current and/or voltage, as taught by Honsel, to the “information” for the “identified object” in the server unit 10 as modified by Masugata, Ko and Kreischer, and to use the “information” to control the handheldable pulling and compressing device, as taught by Honsel. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to control the handheldable pulling and compressing device using the modified information, with threshold values, because the threshold values “make[] it possible to … compensate tolerances of the blind rivet elements” and ensure that “the mandrel is not retracted into the riveting device by a fixed path such that the blind rivet element or even the mandrel could be destroyed.” See, e.g., Honsel at par. [0025]. Because Honsel discloses controlling a riveting device, there is a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masugata, Ko, and Kreischer, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0300722 to Maurice Garcia (“Garcia”).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 1, Masugata in view of Ko, Kreischer, and Garcia renders obvious:
characterized in that during the creation of the electronic image, the size of the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined by means of a sensor unit of the mobile handheld device (4) (Masugata Ko and Kreischer do not disclose determining the size of the moto vehicle component by means of a sensor unit of the mobile handheld device (4). However, in the same field of endeavor as Kreischer, image processing, and thus analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a)(I)), Garcia discloses a “novel image-based measurement tools to accurately determine the dimensions of objects [(“size of the motor vehicle component (3) to be identified is determined”)] that have been imaged, i.e., photographed, [(“creation of the electronic image“ and also corresponds to “by means of a sensor unit”)] in a variety of contexts.” See, e.g., Garcia at par. [0004]. As discussed above, Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer teaches matching diameters of blind rivets and nosepieces (see Ko at Par. [0030]) and image processing (see Kreischer at par. [0049]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to employ the “image-based measurement tools” into the system of Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer in order “to provide new methods and devices for the facile and accurate measurement of length, width, height, area, volume, curvature, and other dimensional features of various items, ranging from microscopic to enormous.” See, e.g., Garcia at par. [0005].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masugata, Ko, and Kreischer, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0043249 to Accavitti et al. (“Accavitti”).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 1, Masugata in view of Ko, Kreischer, and Accavitti renders obvious:
characterized in that the mobile handheld device (4) is connected to the vehicle before the repair of the motor vehicle component (3), vehicle data is read out by means of the mobile handheld device (4), and a machining history of the motor vehicle component (3) identified and to be machined is displayed on the display unit (16) based on the vehicle data (Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer does not disclose the mobile handheld device that reads out vehicle data and machining history of the moto vehicle. However, Accavitti “relates to vehicular maintenance and repair, and more particularly to a system and method for performing vehicle diagnostics with incentives for a user” and to “a method of utilizing a diagnostic device to assist a user in repairing a vehicle.” See, e.g., Accavitti at pars. [0001] and [0005]. Accordingly, Accavitti addresses the problem of obtaining vehicle data for diagnosis to aid the user. Therefore, Accavitti is reasonably pertinent art to the problem facing the Inventors of the present Application (see, e.g., present Specification at par. [0031]) and thus analogous art. See MPEP § 2141.01(a)(I).). Accavitti discloses “diagnostic device 100 [that] comprises … a smartphone [(“mobile handheld device“)]….” See, e.g., Accavitti at par. [0015]. Accavitti also discloses collecting “Vehicle data 305 [that] may also indicate a history of repair and maintenance for the associated vehicle” and that the “diagnostic device 100 [] may be operable to assist a user in diagnosing the operational condition of a vehicle or a component of a vehicle.” See, e.g., Accavitti at pars. [0015] and [0035]. Thus, Accavitti discloses “vehicle data [that] is read out by means of the mobile handheld device (4), and a machining history of the motor vehicle component (3) identified and to be machined is displayed on the display unit (16) based on the vehicle data.” It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the system of Masugata in view of Ko and Kreischer to include retrieving vehicle data from the vehicle, as disclosed in Accavitti, in order “to assist a user in diagnosing the operational condition of a vehicle or a component of a vehicle.” See, e.g., Accavitti at par. [0015].
Conclusion
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116