DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) [ Payak (US 10998816), hereinafter "Payak", in view of Linnen et al. (US Pub No. 20200411131), hereinafter "Linnen" ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [ 1-9, 12-18 ].
As per claim 1, Payak significantly teaches an apparatus, comprising: one or more control circuits configured to connect to a plurality of nonvolatile memory cells (In practice, the output of a charge pump may be used to provide different voltages concurrently to different word lines or groups of word lines [Payak Col 14, l. 61-63]), the one or more control circuits are configured to: count a number of pulses sent to switches of a charge pump (The charge pump circuit 100 also includes a clock pulse counting circuit 112 which is connected to the clock control circuit. The clock pulse counting circuit 112 is configured to count a number of clock pulses which are passed to the charge pump by the clock source 116 in a measurement period [Payak Col 4, l. 6-12])
Payak does not explicitly “record the count of the number of pulses sent to the switches and send the count of the number of pulses in response to a request for the count of the number of pulses.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches record the count of the number of pulses sent to the switches (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]) and send the count of the number of pulses in response to a request for the count of the number of pulses (the controller 104 compares the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 to a threshold value. [Linnen PP 0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 2, Payak significantly teaches wherein the one or more control circuits are configured to count the pulses for a predetermined period of time while the charge pump provides a constant current (The charge pump circuit 100 also includes a clock pulse counting circuit 112 which is connected to the clock control circuit. The clock pulse counting circuit 112 is configured to count a number of clock pulses which are passed to the charge pump by the clock source 116 in a measurement period [Payak Col 4, l. 6-12], The charge pump circuit 100 is connected to a load such as a current load 107 . The current load can be a fixed current sink such as 100 μA in the different measurement periods discussed herein. [Payak Col 3, l. 23-27]).
As per claim 3, Payak significantly teaches wherein the one or more control circuits include a pulse counter connected to an output of regulation circuits of the charge pump to count the number of pulses generated by the regulation circuits (The charge pump circuit 100 also includes a clock pulse counting circuit 112 which is connected to the clock control circuit. [Payak Col 4, l. 6-8], the regulation and control circuitry 616 provides the switches with appropriate control signals, including frequency, phases, amplitudes, delays, etc. [Payak Col 11, l. 51-55])
Payak does not explicitly “a register to store the number and communication circuits to receive a command and send the number”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches a register to store the number (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]) and communication circuits to receive a command and send the number (the controller 104 compares the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 to a threshold value. [Linnen PP 0071] Linnen teaches a controller that reads stored values. It would have been obvious to include communication circuits to receive commands and send the stored number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 4, Payak significantly teaches wherein the regulation circuits include a comparator, the comparator having a first input connected to an output terminal of the charge pump through a voltage divider and a second input connected to a reference voltage (The voltage divider 109 divides the output voltage Vout using resistors R1 and R2 to provide a comparison voltage Vcomp at a node 108. R2 can be adjustable to provide voltage trimming. Vcomp is compared to a reference voltage Vref at the comparator 110 to set a flag FLG. [Payak Col 3, l. 53-57]), the comparator configured to provide a comparator output signal indicating when an output voltage at the output terminal of the charge pump is below a predetermined voltage (FLG=0 if Vcomp>Vref and FLG=1 if Vcomp<=Vref. Note that Vcomp is a known fraction (R2/(R1+R2) of Vout, so that a comparison of Vcomp to Vref by the comparator 110 is equivalent to a comparison of Vout to a specified output voltage [Payak Col 3, l. 58-62]).
As per claim 5, Payak significantly teaches wherein the regulation circuits include a switch having the comparator output signal as a first switch input and a clock signal as a second switch input (The clock control circuit 104 provides a gating function to either block the signal from reaching the charge pump, or passing the clock signal to the charge pump. For example, the clock signal may be passed when the voltage output of the charge pump is below a desired voltage and blocked when the voltage output of the charge pump is above the desired voltage. [Payak Col 3, l. 42-48]), the switch configured to provide pulses of the clock signal as a switch output only when the comparator output signal indicates that the output voltage at the output terminal of the charge pump is below the predetermined voltage (When FLG=1, the clock control circuit 104 passes the clock signal to the charge pump 101 to operate the charge pump in a pumping mode, where charge is transferred from an input node 115 of the charge pump at an input voltage Vin to the output node 106. When FLG=0, the clock control circuit does not pass the clock signal to the charge pump [Payak Col 3, l. 63-67]).
As per claim 6, Payak significantly teaches wherein the output of the switch is provided as the output of regulation circuits of the charge pump that is provided to the switches of the charge pump ( When FLG=1, the clock control circuit 104 passes the clock signal to the charge pump 101 to operate the charge pump in a pumping mode, where charge is transferred from an input node 115 of the charge pump at an input voltage Vin to the output node 106. When FLG=0, the clock control circuit does not pass the clock signal to the charge pump [Payak Col 3, l. 63-67], the regulation and control circuitry 616 provides the switches with appropriate control signals, including frequency, phases, amplitudes, delays, etc., depending on the particular application. [Payak Col 11, l. 52-56]).
As per claim 7, Payak significantly teaches wherein the one or more control circuits include a counter that is configured to count the number of pulses over a predetermined time (The charge pump circuit 100 also includes a clock pulse counting circuit 112 which is connected to the clock control circuit. The clock pulse counting circuit 112 is configured to count a number of clock pulses which are passed to the charge pump by the clock source 116 in a measurement period. [Payak Col 4, l. 6-12]).
As per claim 8, Payak does not explicitly “wherein the one or more control circuits include a register that is configured to store the number of pulses.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the one or more control circuits include a register that is configured to store the number of pulses (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 . [Linnen PP 0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 9, Payak does not explicitly “wherein the number of pulses stored in the register is readable in response to a command directed to the register.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the number of pulses stored in the register is readable in response to a command directed to the register (the controller 104 compares the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 to a threshold value. [Linnen PP 0071] Linnen teaches that the stored value in the logic visible comparison bit is accessible/readable by the controller. It would have been obvious that the stored count is readable in response to a command).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 12, Payak significantly teaches a method comprising: counting a number of pulses that are sent by regulation circuits of a charge pump to switches of the charge pump in a predetermined time while the charge pump provides a predetermined current (The charge pump circuit 100 also includes a clock pulse counting circuit 112 which is connected to the clock control circuit. The clock pulse counting circuit 112 is configured to count a number of clock pulses which are passed to the charge pump by the clock source 116 in a measurement period [Payak Col 4, l. 6-12], The charge pump circuit 100 is connected to a load such as a current load 107. The current load can be a fixed current sink such as 100 μA in the different measurement periods discussed herein [Payak Col 3, l. 23-27]);
Payak does not explicitly “recording the number of pulses; and subsequently, in response to a command, sending the number of pulses to a testing unit.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches recording the number of pulses (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]); and
subsequently, in response to a command, sending the number of pulses to a testing unit (the controller 104 compares the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 to a threshold value [Linnen PP 0071] Linnen teaches a controller that reads stored count values. It would have been obvious to send the stored number to a testing unit in response to a command).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 13, Payak does not explicitly “further comprising: comparing the number of pulses with a maximum number in a die testing operation; and discarding a die that includes the charge pump in response to determining that the number of pulses exceeds the maximum number.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches further comprising: comparing the number of pulses with a maximum number in a die testing operation (the controller 104 compares the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 to a threshold value [Linnen PP 0071] Linnen teaches comparing stored count values to a threshold. It would have been obvious to apply this comparison to a die testing operation using a maximum number); and
discarding a die that includes the charge pump in response to determining that the number of pulses exceeds the maximum number (the controller 104 is configured to initiate and/or execute one or more corrective actions in response to the determination that a fault will occur or has occurred in the storage system 102 . For example, the controller 104 may instruct the charge pump to shut down [Linnen PP 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 14, Payak does not explicitly “further comprising: comparing the number of pulses with a maximum number in a failure analysis operation; and identifying the charge pump as failed in response to the number of pulses exceeding the maximum number.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches further comprising: comparing the number of pulses with a maximum number in a failure analysis operation (the controller 104 compares the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 to a threshold value [Linnen PP 0071]); and
identifying the charge pump as failed in response to the number of pulses exceeding the maximum number (the controller 104 is configured to initiate and/or execute one or more corrective actions in response to the determination that a fault will occur or has occurred in the storage system 102 [Linnen PP 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 15, Payak significantly teaches modifying a size of one or more capacitor in a design of the charge pump according to a result of the comparing (A capacitor can be formed by depositing a layer of metallic conductive material onto a layer of oxide that has been deposited or grown on a layer of semiconductor material, such as a semiconductor wafer [Payak Col 10, l. 46-50]).
Payak does not explicitly “further comprising: comparing the number of pulses with a simulated number of pulses in a correlation operation;”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches further comprising: comparing the number of pulses with a simulated number of pulses in a correlation operation (the controller 104 compares the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 to a threshold value [Linnen PP 0071]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 16, Payak significantly teaches further comprising counting one or more additional numbers of pulses that are sent by the regulation circuits in the predetermined time while the charge pump provides one or more additional predetermined current (Step 303 includes with the current limiter enabled (on), and Iload connected to the output of the charge pump, ramping up the output voltage of the charge pump from the initial voltage to the final voltage at the regulated rate and maintaining the output voltage at the final voltage, during tMEAS. See, e.g., FIGS. 4B and 4C. This represents one or more additional instances of the measurement period. [Payak Col 7, l. 31-37], Step 307 sets the current limiter to output a next higher level of current, e.g., by setting the gain or the current mirror to output a next higher level. The current supplied by the current limiter increases over the additional instances until the match occurs at step 305. [Payak Col 7, l. 64-67]).
As per claim 17, Payak significantly teaches subsequently, initiating counting and recording of pulses by control circuits of the memory system while the charge pump has an output connected to a constant current source (The charge pump circuit 100 is connected to a load such as a current load 107. The current load can be a fixed current sink such as 100 μA in the different measurement periods discussed herein [Payak Col 3, l. 23-27]);
Payak does not explicitly “further comprising: connecting the testing unit to a memory system that includes the charge pump through a host interface; and sending the number of pulses to the testing unit through the host interface.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches further comprising: connecting the testing unit to a memory system that includes the charge pump through a host interface (The host 106 can communicate with the storage system 102 using of a bus 112 that implements any known or after developed communication protocol [Linnen PP 0029], The host 106 may communicate with the controller 104 via a bus interface associated with the bus 112 [Linnen PP 0030]); and
sending the number of pulses to the testing unit through the host interface (the controller 104 is configured to determine whether a fault will occur or has occurred in the storage system 102 based on the value stored in the logic visible comparison bit 408 [Linnen PP 0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
As per claim 18, Payak significantly teaches a memory system comprising: a plurality of nonvolatile memory cells (FIG. 9 depicts a block of memory cells in an example configuration of the memory array 900 of FIG. 8. [Payak Col 14, l. 22-23]);
a plurality of charge pumps connected to provide a plurality of voltages for accessing the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells, each charge pump having a plurality of capacitors and switches controlled by regulation circuits (In practice, the output of a charge pump may be used to provide different voltages concurrently to different word lines or groups of word lines. It is also possible to use multiple charge pumps to supply different word line voltages. [Payak Col 14, l. 61-65], Generally, the charge pump operation includes two main phases: charging Cf from the input node, and discharging Cf into the output node. During each phase, one of the switches in each set of switches is closed, connecting Cf to either the input node, the output node, or a ground node. Further, the regulation and control circuitry 616 provides the switches with appropriate control signals [Payak Col 11, l. 48-54]); and
means for counting, for each charge pump of the plurality of charge pumps, a number of pulses from the regulation circuits to the switches within a predetermined time period while the charge pump outputs a predetermined current to measure charge pump strength of the plurality of charge pumps (The charge pump circuit 100 also includes a clock pulse counting circuit 112 which is connected to the clock control circuit. The clock pulse counting circuit 112 is configured to count a number of clock pulses which are passed to the charge pump by the clock source 116 in a measurement period [Payak Col 4, l. 6-12])
Payak does not explicitly “storing the number of pulses.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches storing the number of pulses (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
Claim(s) [ Payak, in view of Linnen, in further view of Alrod et al. (US Pub No. 20200383886), hereinafter "Alrod" ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [ 10-11, 19-20 ].
As per claim 10, Payak in view of Linnen do not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more control circuits are located on a memory die that includes the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells, the memory die includes a plurality of additional charge pumps and the one or more control circuits are configured to count additional numbers of pulses provided to switches of the additional charge pumps and record the additional numbers as indicators of output currents of the additional charge pumps.”
However, Alrod, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the one or more control circuits are located on a memory die that includes the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells (integrated memory assembly 104 includes two semiconductor die (or more succinctly, “die”). Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 . Memory structure 326 may contain non-volatile memory cells. Control die 304 includes control circuitry 310. [Alrod PP 0050]), the memory die includes a plurality of additional charge pumps and the one or more control circuits are configured to count additional numbers of pulses provided to switches of the additional charge pumps and record the additional numbers as indicators of output currents of the additional charge pumps (Power control circuit 316 controls the power and voltages supplied to the word lines, bit lines, and select lines during memory operations. The power control circuit 316 includes voltage circuitry, in one embodiment. Power control circuit 316 may include charge pumps for creating voltages. [Alrod PP 0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak and Linnen to include control circuits located on a control die separate from a memory die, as taught by Alrod, in order to enable integrated memory assembly architectures with charge pump testing capabilities (integrated memory assembly 104 includes two semiconductor die (or more succinctly, “die”). Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 . Memory structure 326 may contain non-volatile memory cells. Control die 304 includes control circuitry 310 [Alrod PP 0050]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak and Linnen's invention.
As per claim 11, Payak in view of Linnen do not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more control circuits are located on a control die that is separate from a memory die that includes the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells, the control die includes a plurality of additional charge pumps and the one or more control circuits are configured to count additional numbers of pulses provided to switches of the additional charge pumps and record the additional numbers as indicators of output currents of the additional charge pumps.”
However, Alrod, in an analogous art, teaches wherein the one or more control circuits are located on a control die that is separate from a memory die that includes the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells (integrated memory assembly 104 includes two semiconductor die (or more succinctly, “die”). Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 . Memory structure 326 may contain non-volatile memory cells. Control die 304 includes control circuitry 310. [Alrod PP 0050]), the control die includes a plurality of additional charge pumps and the one or more control circuits are configured to count additional numbers of pulses provided to switches of the additional charge pumps and record the additional numbers as indicators of output currents of the additional charge pumps (Power control circuit 316 controls the power and voltages supplied to the word lines, bit lines, and select lines during memory operations. The power control circuit 316 includes voltage circuitry, in one embodiment. Power control circuit 316 may include charge pumps for creating voltages. [Alrod PP 0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak and Linnen to include control circuits located on a control die separate from a memory die, as taught by Alrod, in order to enable integrated memory assembly architectures with charge pump testing capabilities (integrated memory assembly 104 includes two semiconductor die (or more succinctly, “die”). Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 . Memory structure 326 may contain non-volatile memory cells. Control die 304 includes control circuitry 310 [Alrod PP 0050]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak and Linnen's invention.
As per claim 19, Payak does not explicitly “wherein: the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells are located on a memory die; the plurality of charge pumps are located on the memory die; the means for counting is located on the memory die; and the memory die is connected to a testing unit through a host interface of a memory controller connected to the memory die to enable reading of the number of pulses that is stored for each charge pump.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches the memory die is connected to a testing unit through a host interface of a memory controller connected to the memory die to enable reading of the number of pulses that is stored for each charge pump (The host 106 can communicate with the storage system 102 using of a bus 112 that implements any known or after developed communication protocol [Linnen PP 0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
Payak in view of Linnen do not explicitly teach “wherein: the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells are located on a memory die; the plurality of charge pumps are located on the memory die; the means for counting is located on the memory die;”
However, Alrod, in an analogous art, teaches wherein: the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells are located on a memory die (Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 [Alrod PP 0050]);
the plurality of charge pumps are located on the memory die (Power control circuit 316 controls the power and voltages supplied to the word lines, bit lines, and select lines during memory operations. The power control circuit 316 includes voltage circuitry, in one embodiment. Power control circuit 316 may include charge pumps for creating voltages. [Alrod PP 0053]);
the means for counting is located on the memory die (Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 [Alrod PP 0050]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak and Linnen to include control circuits located on a control die separate from a memory die, as taught by Alrod, in order to enable integrated memory assembly architectures with charge pump testing capabilities (integrated memory assembly 104 includes two semiconductor die (or more succinctly, “die”). Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 . Memory structure 326 may contain non-volatile memory cells. Control die 304 includes control circuitry 310 [Alrod PP 0050]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak and Linnen's invention.
As per claim 20, Payak does not explicitly “wherein: the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells are located on a memory die; the plurality of charge pumps are located on a control die that is connected to the memory die in an integrated memory assembly; the means for counting is located on the control die in the integrated memory assembly; and the integrated memory assembly is connected to a testing unit through a host interface of a memory controller connected to the integrated memory assembly to enable reading of the number of pulses that is stored for each charge pump.”
However, Linnen, in an analogous art, teaches the integrated memory assembly is connected to a testing unit through a host interface of a memory controller connected to the integrated memory assembly to enable reading of the number of pulses that is stored for each charge pump (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak to incorporate Linnen's teaching of storing count values in registers that are accessible in response to a command, in order to enable external reading of charge pump performance data for testing and monitoring (The pump clock cycle counter 402 stores a value corresponding to the clock cycle counts in the registers 404 [Linnen PP 0069]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak's invention.
Payak in view of Linnen do not explicitly teach “wherein: the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells are located on a memory die; the plurality of charge pumps are located on a control die that is connected to the memory die in an integrated memory assembly; the means for counting is located on the control die in the integrated memory assembly;”
However, Alrod, in an analogous art, teaches wherein: the plurality of nonvolatile memory cells are located on a memory die (Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 [Alrod PP 0050]);
the plurality of charge pumps are located on a control die that is connected to the memory die in an integrated memory assembly (integrated memory assembly 104 includes two semiconductor die (or more succinctly, “die”). Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 . Memory structure 326 may contain non-volatile memory cells. Control die 304 includes control circuitry 310 [Alrod PP 0050], Power control circuit 316 controls the power and voltages supplied to the word lines, bit lines, and select lines during memory operations. The power control circuit 316 includes voltage circuitry, in one embodiment. Power control circuit 316 may include charge pumps for creating voltages [Alrod PP 0053]);
the means for counting is located on the control die in the integrated memory assembly (Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 [Alrod PP 0050]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charge pump pulse counting system disclosed by Payak and Linnen to include control circuits located on a control die separate from a memory die, as taught by Alrod, in order to enable integrated memory assembly architectures with charge pump testing capabilities (integrated memory assembly 104 includes two semiconductor die (or more succinctly, “die”). Memory die 302 includes include memory structure 326 . Memory structure 326 may contain non-volatile memory cells. Control die 304 includes control circuitry 310 [Alrod PP 0050]). Applying these teachings would have been a predictable variation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to Payak and Linnen's invention.
Conclusion
/KAREEM FUAD ALHWAMDEH/Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112