DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawing of “the wrinkle remover band is configured as multiple separate bands positioned across the bare portion… (claims 10 and 20)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jamadar et al. (hereinafter “Jamadar”) (DE 10 2021 202 067 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jamadar discloses a system for manufacturing electrodes (16), the system comprising:
a top roll press (66);
a bottom roll press (66) separated from the top roll press by a gap (see fig. 6),
the gap comprising a distance selected to accommodate a current collector (24), the current collector comprising a bare portion (30) and a coated portion having thereon an active electrode material (28) (see fig. 6) of a first thickness; and
a wrinkle remover band (50) comprising a second thickness selected, based on the first thickness (fig. 6), to evenly distribute stress across the bare portion and the coated portion of the current collector during a calendering process for forming a pressed electrode (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a band guide roll (76) and a tensioning roll (62 or 64) configured to align the wrinkle remover band with the bare portion of the current collector.
Regarding claim 4, the system of claim 1, wherein the wrinkle remover band (50) comprises a top wrinkle remover band positioned over a top surface of the bare portion (30) of the current collector (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, the system of claim 1, wherein the wrinkle remover band comprises a bottom wrinkle remover band (50) positioned over a bottom surface of the bare portion (30) of the current collector (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, the system of claim 1, wherein the wrinkle remover band comprises one of a top wrinkle remover band (see the left upper band 50 in fig. 6) positioned over a top surface of the bare portion (30) of the current collector and a bottom wrinkle remover band (see the left lower band 50 in fig. 6) positioned over a bottom surface of the bare portion of the current collector (fig. 6), and the system further comprises a second wrinkle remover band comprising the other of the top wrinkle remover band and the bottom wrinkle remover band (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Jamadar discloses a method comprising:
providing a top roll press (66);
providing a bottom roll press (66) separated from the top roll press by a gap (see fig. 6), the gap comprising a distance selected to accommodate a current collector (24), the current collector comprising a bare portion (30) and a coated portion having thereon an active electrode material (28) of a first thickness (fig. 6); and
providing a wrinkle remover band (50) comprising a second thickness selected, based on the first thickness (fig. 6), to evenly distribute stress across the bare portion and the coated portion of the current collector during a calendering process for forming a pressed electrode (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, the method of claim 11, further comprising providing at least one of a band guide roll (76) and a tensioning roll (64) configured to align the wrinkle remover band with the bare portion of the current collector.
Regarding claim 14, the method of claim 11, wherein the wrinkle remover band (50) comprises a top wrinkle remover band positioned over a top surface of the bare portion (30) of the current collector (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 11, wherein the wrinkle remover band comprises a bottom wrinkle remover band (50) positioned over a bottom surface of the bare portion (30) of the current collector (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, the method of claim 11, wherein the wrinkle remover band comprises one of a top wrinkle remover band (see the left upper band 50 in fig. 6) positioned over a top surface of the bare portion (30) of the current collector and a bottom wrinkle remover band (see the left lower band 50 in fig. 6) positioned over a bottom surface of the bare portion of the current collector (fig. 6), and the system further comprises a second wrinkle remover band comprising the other of the top wrinkle remover band and the bottom wrinkle remover band (see fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamadar in view of Hui (CN 110890586A).
Jamadar discloses the band guide roll (76) and the tensioning roll (62, 64) as set forth above, Jamadar further discloses one or more rollers (76) configured to reposition the wrinkle remover band to maintain alignment with the bare portion of the current collector (fig. 4). Jamadar does not expressly disclose the wrinkle remover band is driven by a servo motor.
Hui discloses a feed structure for conveying an electrode sheet, the structure having a guide roll (1.5) for driving a band (1.1), and a guide roller (1.22), wherein the roller is driven by a servo motor (see page 6, the first two paragraphs of the English translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to drive the roller of Jamadar with a servo motor, as taught by Hui for efficiency, and precise feedback control.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamadar in view of Reidgill et al. (hereinafter “Reidgill”) (CN 103032518 B).
Jamadar discloses the wrinkle remover band (50) as set forth above. Jamadar does not disclose the thickness of the wrinkle remover band is tapered.
Reidgill discloses a band is fastened at each end (fig. 2), wherein a thickness of the band is tapered (at 222) (fig. 5) at an end of the band as a part of a fastening system for reducing a bulge at the end of the band (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the band of Jamadar as a connectable band at each end with a tapered thickness for a fastening system, as taught by Reidgill, for reducing a bulge at the end of the band and offering easier installation and quicker replacement of band by removing the fastening system.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamadar.
Jamadar discloses the wrinkle remover band (50) positioned across the bare portion (30) of the current collector (see fig. 6). Jamadar does not disclose the band (50) is configured as multiple separate bands. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention make a single band into multiple separate bands, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involved only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, each of the claims would be allowable because the prior art of record, considered alone or combination, neither anticipated nor renders obvious “the wrinkle remover band is positioned over a top surface of the bare portion of the current collector and the second thickness of the wrinkle remover band comprises a positive taper that increases towards an edge of the current collector”, in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, each of the claims would be allowable because the prior art of record, considered alone or combination, neither anticipated nor renders obvious “the wrinkle remover band is positioned over a bottom surface of the bare portion of the current collector and the second thickness of the wrinkle remover band comprises a positive taper that increases towards an edge of the current collector”, in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show:
CN-110880580A and JP 5390721 B1 discloses rolling system having rollers for applying pressure to a bare portion of a current collector.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725