DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the amendments filed 02/05/2026. Amendments received on 02/05/2026 have been entered. As per applicant claims 2 and 10 have been canceled. Accordingly claims 1, 3-9 and 11-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US Pub 2022/0369280) in view of Kuang et al. (US Pub 2024/0031988) in view of Iwamura et al. (US Pub 2010/0297999) and further in view of Chun et al. (US Pub 2019/0021069).
As of claims 1, 6 and 9, Ryu discloses a communication apparatus configured to communicate with a plurality of networks including a first network and a second network by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules (via UE with multiple Sims; see fig. 19), the communication apparatus comprising:
a processor configured to execute processing for transmitting, to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) of the second network, a registration request message including capability information indicating capability of the communication apparatus regarding a paging cause (via UE sending a registration request comprising a request to including paging cause value and indicating Dual Sim capability of the UE to PLMN B (second network; see fig. 27; also see paragraph [0319]); and
a processor configured to execute processing for receiving, from a base station of the second network, a paging massage including the paging cause (via receiving a paging message with a paging cause (via receiving, from a base station, a paging message with a paging cause value; see paragraphs [0348]-[0349]).
Ryu discloses that the mobile device comprises one or more processors that perform the steps of transmitting a non-access stratum process of transmitting registration request message and receiving paging message, hence comprising a Non-Access stratum (NAS) processor and RRC processor. The Examiner further takes official notice that it is known in the art to include a NAS processor and RRC processor (see Iwamura et al. (US Pub 2010/0297999; fig. 3).
Ryu further discloses a base station as claimed in claim 6 (see fig. 3).
However, Ryu does not explicitly disclose that the paging message include a list of paging records.
Kuang discloses a paging indication method wherein a paging message includes a paging record list (see paragraph [0152]).
From the teaching of Kuang it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Ryu to include the function of including a list of paging records in a paging message in order to page a plurality of user equipments (see paragraph [0152]).
Kuang discloses that the RRC processor is configured to provide the NAS processor with the paging cause on a basis of an identifier of the communication apparatus included in the paging records (Kuang discloses that the paging message includes an identifier of the UE, so the RRC protocol layer will notify the NAS protocol layer with the paging cause on a basis of the ID of the UE).
With regards to the limitation of a communication apparatus having NAS processor and RRC processor t it is known in the art to include a NAS processor and RRC processor (see Iwamura et al. (US Pub 2010/0297999; fig. 3).
In order to further support the Examiner’s assertion, Chun discloses the function of providing the NAS layer with the paging cause based on identifier of the UE (communication apparatus) including in the paging message (see paragraph [0234]).
From the teaching of Chun, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Ryu and Kuang to include the function of providing the paging cause to the NAS layer based on an identifier of the UE as taught by Chun to notify the NAS layer of the paging message.
As of claims 3 and 11, Ryu discloses a controller configured to determine, based on the reception of the paging cause, that the base station supports a transmission of the paging cause (in the system of Ryu UE receiving paging message including a paging cause from a base station, so from reception of the message the UE can determine that the base station supports a transmission of the paging cause; see paragraph [0334]).
Kuang further discloses a controller configured to determine, on a basis of the reception of the paging cause, that the base station supports a transmission of the paging cause (see paragraph [0251]- [0252] and [0269])
As of claims 4, 7 and 12, Ryu discloses that the paging cause indicates whether or not a cause of the paging message is a voice call (via paging cause indicating IMS voice, IMS video, IMS SMS; see paragraph [0329]).
As of claims 5, 8 and 13, Ryu discloses that information indicating the paging cause is provided from the AMF to the base station on a basis of the capability information (see paragraph [0321], “AMF may determine whether to include the paging cause value in the paging message to the UE based on one or more of the requests to include a paging cause values”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the previous office action Examiner indicated that Ryu discloses that the paging message includes a UE identifier (see paragraph [0349) and Kuang also discloses the reception of a paging message including the UE identifier (see paragraph [0186]), so the RRC protocol layer will notify the NAS protocol layer with the paging cause on a basis of the ID of the UE. Applicant does not agree with the Examiners’ assertion. In order to support the Examiner’s assertion, Chun discloses the function of providing the NAS layer with the paging cause based on identifier of the UE (communication apparatus) including in the paging message (see paragraph [0234]).
Based on the explanation given above it is the Examiner’s assertion that the combination of the references applied disclose the invention as claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ou et al. (US Pub 2020/0396591) discloses the function of providing the NAS layer with the paging cause based on an identifier of the communication apparatus including in the paging records (see paragraph [0207]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIL H SYED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686