DETAILED ACTION
.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 25 June 2025 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s argument, page 5, line 7-17; clarification in apparatus of the instant application and its intended use on a door latch assembly appears to sufficiently resolve associated 112 rejections concerning intended use and are subsequently withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument, page 5, line 18-22; no discernable “edge” defines a pivot axis which would suffice as a hinge axis about which an element pivots. Broadly, a hinge is present in some form and any hinge will suffice until otherwise structurally clarified. Further, there appears to be no discernable edge that makes contact as a cam surface. As written, the claim is unclear as to what the applicant requires. See also drawing objection as the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined and the claimed language is not depicted in figures.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, 112 rejection is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “extension bar comprises an angled or protruding proximal edge that acts as a hinge or cam surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the extension bar comprises an angled or protruding proximal edge that acts as a hinge or cam surface”.
It is unclear as to what structural relationship or functionality of the extension bar Applicant intends to convey with such limitations; while the extension bar is indeed pivoted about a pivot or “hinge” axis, it unclear as to how a standalone protruding edge of the extension bar itself can constitute a “hinge” or a “cam surface”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brammer, JR.et al. (US 9,528,305).
Regarding claim 1, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses an entry door extension handle cooperable with a door latch assembly, the entry door extension handle comprising:
a main bracket (16) securable to the door latch assembly;
an extension bar (32) connected to the main bracket; and
an auxiliary bracket assembly (30) connected to an end of the extension bar opposite from the main bracket,
wherein the extension bar is pivotable between a closed position (Fig.2) and an open position (Fig.3), wherein in the open position, the extension bar pivots the main bracket to an unlocked position, and wherein the auxiliary bracket assembly includes an auxiliary bracket configured for pivoting with the main bracket and the extension bar (Fig.1), and wherein the extension bar comprises a top end and a bottom end, wherein the main bracket is disposed on the top end of the extension bar, and wherein the main bracket comprises a plate portion that either overlies (sandwiched the handle at 36,38 Fig.3) or replaces a door handle of the door latch assembly.
Figure taken from Brammer, JR.et al. (US 9,528,305)
Regarding claim 4, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle (32), wherein the auxiliary bracket assembly (30) comprises a base plate securable to an entry door (C.4, 30-33), and wherein the auxiliary bracket is coupled with and pivotable relative to the base plate (Fig. 1, 2, and 3).
Regarding claim 11, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle (32), wherein the extension bar comprises an angled or protruding proximal edge that acts as a hinge (hinge about 58) or cam surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brammer, JR.et al. in view of Norris (US 9,145,713).
Regarding claim 2, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle, wherein the door latch assembly comprises a door handle (16), when the main bracket comprises an element that overlies the door handle.
Brammer, JR.et al. fails to disclose wherein the door latch assembly comprises a paddle-style door handle, wherein the main bracket comprises a flat plate.
Norris teaches a paddle-style door handle, main bracket comprises a flat plate for the purpose of operating a latch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension handle disclosed by Brammer, JR.et al. to be used with a paddle-style door handle, wherein main bracket comprises a flat plate, as taught by Norris, for the expected benefit of utilizing the mechanism with a conventional paddle-style door handle, providing for greater utility of the extension handle.
Regarding claim 3, Brammer, JR et al. discloses an entry door extension handle (32), wherein when the door latch assembly comprises a door handle (16), the main bracket comprises a flat plate that replaces the door handle.
Claim 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brammer, JR.et al. in view of Weinerman (US 5,595,076).
Regarding claims 5 Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle (32), wherein when the door latch assembly includes a door latch.
Brammer, JR.et al. does not disclose wherein the door latch assembly comprises a main door latch and an auxiliary door latch spaced from the main door latch, the main bracket is cooperable with the main door latch and the auxiliary bracket is cooperable with the auxiliary door latch.
Weinerman teaches a door latch assembly including a main door latch (1000) and an auxiliary door latch (1100) spaced from the main door latch, a main bracket is cooperable with the main door latch and the auxiliary bracket is cooperable with the auxiliary door latch for the purpose of providing plural point latching.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify extension handle disclosed by Brammer, JR.et al to be used with door latch assembly comprising a main door latch and an auxiliary door latch spaced from the main door latch, as taught by Weinerman, for the expected benefit of utilizing the mechanism with a door latch providing plural point latching, providing for more secure latching of the door.
Regarding claims 6, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle wherein the main bracket (16) and the auxiliary bracket (30) are L-shaped brackets (Fig.4, right angle connection) that connect upper and lower latch-engaging grips (94 upper and lower portions).
Regarding claims 7, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle, wherein the upper and lower latch-engaging grips comprise respective flat plates (90, Fig.8) that overlie (space 38 for handle front and back) the main and auxiliary door latches, respectively.
Regarding claim 8, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle, wherein the upper and lower latch-engaging grips comprise an angled edge (91, Fig.8) that locks into the main and auxiliary door latches, respectively, as an actuation hinge.
Regarding claim 9, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle, wherein the upper and lower latch-engaging grips each comprises an elongated finger (93) that acts as a stopper to limit a pivot range of the extension bar once the extension bar is pivoted to the closed position.
Regarding claims 10, Brammer, JR.et al. fails to disclose the extension handle wherein the upper and lower latch-engaging grips and the extension bar are formed of a monolithic molded or extruded piece.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension handle disclosed by Brammer, JR. et al. wherein the upper and lower grips and the extension bar are a monolithic molded or extruded piece, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1983).
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brammer, JR.et al. in view of Minix et al. (US 2015/0001859).
Regarding claim 12, Brammer, JR.et al. fails to disclose the entry door extension handle wherein the main bracket comprises a cylindrical aperture to accommodate a main latch key lock.
Minix et al. teaches a door handle wherein a main bracket comprises a cylindrical aperture to accommodate a main latch key lock for the purpose of allowing the latch assembly to be securely locked to prevent unauthorized opening of the cargo door without a key, such key lock mechanisms are well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension handle disclosed by Brammer, JR.et al wherein the main bracket comprises a cylindrical aperture to accommodate a main latch key lock, as taught by Minix et al., in order to securely lock and prevent unauthorized opening of the door without a key.
Claims 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brammer, JR.et al. in view of McBain (US 5,193,863) further inview of Minix et al. (US 2015/0001859).
Regarding claim 13-17, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle cooperable with a door latch assembly that locks and unlocks an entry door, the entry door extension handle comprising:
an extension bar (32);
a main bracket (16) securable to the door latch assembly and connected to one end of the extension bar (30), wherein the main bracket is pivotable with the door latch assembly; and
an auxiliary bracket connected to an opposite end of the extension bar, the auxiliary bracket being pivotally securable to the entry door (Fig.1),
wherein the extension bar is pivotable between a closed position(Fig.2) and an open position (Fig.3), wherein in the open position, the extension bar pivots the main bracket to displace the door latch assembly to an unlocked position.
Brammer, JR.et al. does not disclose: wherein the entry door extension handle terminates at one end at the main bracket and at an opposite end at the auxiliary bracket.
McBain teaches wherein the entry door extension handle terminates at one end at the main bracket and at an opposite end at the auxiliary bracket for the purpose of providing convenient attachment to operate a door latch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brammer, JR.et al. with wherein the entry door extension handle terminates at one end at the main bracket and at an opposite end at the auxiliary bracket.as taught by McBain for the expected benefit of providing convenient attachment to operate a door latch.
Regarding claims 14, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle (32), wherein when the door latch assembly includes a door latch.
Brammer, JR.et al. does not disclose wherein the door latch assembly comprises a main door latch and an auxiliary door latch spaced from the main door latch, the main bracket is cooperable with the main door latch and the auxiliary bracket is cooperable with the auxiliary door latch.
Weinerman teaches a door latch assembly including a main door latch (1000) and an auxiliary door latch (1100) spaced from the main door latch, a main bracket is cooperable with the main door latch and the auxiliary bracket is cooperable with the auxiliary door latch for the purpose of providing plural point latching.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify extension handle disclosed by Brammer, JR.et al to be used with door latch assembly comprising a main door latch and an auxiliary door latch spaced from the main door latch, as taught by Weinerman, for the expected benefit of utilizing the mechanism with a door latch providing plural point latching, providing for more secure latching of the door.
Regarding claim, 15 Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle wherein the main bracket (16) and the auxiliary bracket (30) are L-shaped brackets (Fig.4, right angle connection) that connect upper and lower latch-engaging grips (94 upper and lower portions).
Regarding claims 16, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the entry door extension handle, wherein the upper and lower latch-engaging grips comprise respective flat plates (90, Fig.8) that overlie (space 38 for handle front and back) the main and auxiliary door latches, respectively.
Regarding claim 17, Brammer, JR.et al. fails to disclose the extension handle wherein the upper and lower latch-engaging grips and the extension bar are formed of a monolithic molded or extruded piece.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension handle disclosed by Brammer, JR. et al. wherein the upper and lower grips and the extension bar are a monolithic molded or extruded piece, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1983).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brammer, JR.et al. in view of McBain (US 5,193,863).
Regarding claim 18, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses a method of retrofitting an entry door extension handle on an entry door with an existing door latch assembly, the method comprising:
attaching a main bracket (16) to an end of an extension bar (Fig.1);
securing the main bracket to the existing door latch assembly (Fig.1);
attaching an auxiliary bracket (30) to an opposite end of the extension bar (Fig.1);
connecting a base plate to the entry doorFig.1); and
pivotally connecting the auxiliary bracket to the base plate (Fig.2 and 3).
Brammer, JR.et al. does not disclose:
McBain teaches such that the entry door extension handle terminates at one end at the main bracket and at an opposite end at the auxiliary bracket; for the purpose of providing convenient attachment to operate a door latch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brammer, JR.et al. with such that the entry door extension handle terminates at one end at the main bracket and at an opposite end at the auxiliary bracket; as taught by McBain for the expected benefit of providing convenient attachment to operate a door latch.
Regarding claim 19, Brammer, JR.et al. discloses the method wherein the step of connecting the base plate to the entry door comprises drilling holes ( Fig.4, about 52) in the entry door with a template, and securing the base plate with connectors (52 fasteners) through the holes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675