DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18/494,929 filed on 10/26/2023.
Claims 1 - 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2024 was fully considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 13, 15 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 20210105942 – Paxinos et al. hereinafter as PAXINOS
Regarding Claim 1 and 11
PAXINOS discloses:
An agricultural system for monitoring plugging of basket assemblies of an agricultural implement, the agricultural system comprising: a basket assembly (para. 0024 - basket assembly ) configured to be supported by a frame( para. 0033 – toolbar) of an agricultural implement for rotation relative to the frame about a rotational axis(para. 0037 - rotation), the basket assembly extending across a lateral width defined between a first lateral end and a second lateral end spaced apart along the rotational axis; ( para. 0036 – lateral width along axis)
a plugging sensor positioned within an interior of the basket assembly such that the plugging sensor is configured to transmit detection signals at different frequencies across a field of detection along the interior of the basket assembly and along the rotational axis, ( wherein each plugging sensor 102 is part of the respective basket assembly, including sensor) the plugging sensor being configured to generate data indicative of return signals received based on reflection of the detection signals at the different frequencies off at least one surface;( para. 0037 – reflection signals) and a computing system configured to: receive the data generated by the plugging sensor; and
determine when the basket assembly is experiencing a plugged condition based at least in part on the data generated by the plugging sensor. (para. 0037 – wherein the basket assembly experiences a plugged condition and notify operator)
Regarding Claim 2
PAXINOS discloses claim 1:
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the plugging sensor is positioned at one of the first and second lateral ends and directs the field of detection towards another of the first and second lateral ends. ( para. 0036 - where in the sensor is positioned along the width of the toolbar and extends along that plane)
Regarding Claim 3 and 12
PAXINOS discloses claim 1 and 11:
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the basket assembly comprises: a plurality of support plates spaced out along the rotational axis, each of the plurality of support plates defining an opening extending therethrough at the rotational axis;( para. 0034 – Wherein the support plates support the blades, the support plates in figure 3 show the openings extending through the rotation axis) and a plurality of blades supported by the plurality of support plates such that blades of the plurality of blades are spaced apart from each other about the rotational axis, wherein the plugging sensor directs the field of detection through a plurality of the openings defined in the plurality of support plates. ( fig. 3 where in the support plates are spaced apart and support the blades along the rolling basket axis.)
Regarding Claim 4 and 13
PAXINOS discloses claim 1 and 11:
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein each of the different frequencies is associated with a respective baseline return signal profile when the basket assembly is not experiencing the plugged condition( para. 0059 – where in the sensors detecting the signals may require different sampling of frequency), and wherein the computing system is configured to determine when the basket assembly is experiencing the plugged condition based on a difference between each of the return signals associated with the different frequencies from the data generated by the plugging sensor and the respective baseline return signal profile. ( para. 0059 and 0060 – where in based on soil conditions, it detects parameters detected during the operation for performance. wherein the sensor can detect through the opening of support plates based upon the field of view detection of the sensor., para. 0063 – wherein the plugging sensors detect a period and determined a plugging condition of value set to zero if signal instance reaches or exceeds a certain value)
Regarding Claim 6 and 15
PAXINOS discloses claim 4 and 13:
The agricultural system of claim 4, wherein each of the different frequencies is also associated with a different distance along the lateral width of the basket assembly when the basket assembly is not experiencing the plugged condition. ( para. 0059 - Where in different rate of sampling frequency for determining a plugged condition)
Regarding Claim 7 and 16
PAXINOS discloses claim 1 and 11:
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the computing system is further configured to perform a control action in response to determining that the basket assembly is experiencing the plugged condition. ( para. 0061 – experience of a plugged condition based on sensor data)
Regarding claim 17:
PAXINOS discloses claim 11:
The agricultural method of claim 11, wherein performing the control action comprises controlling an operation of a user interface associated with the agricultural implement to indicate the plugging condition of the basket assembly when it is identified that the basket assembly is experiencing the plugged condition. ( para. 0061 – experience of a plugged condition based on sensor data, para. 0070 – user interface with plugged condition)
Regarding Claim 8 and 18
PAXINOS discloses claim 1:
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the computing system is further configured to control the plugging sensor to transmit the detection signals at the different frequencies. ( para. 0065 – where in sampled detection signals relative to basket center)
Regarding Claim 9 and 19
PAXINOS discloses claim 1:
The agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the plugging sensor is at least one of a multi-frequency ground penetrating radar sensor, a multi-frequency radar sensor, or a LIDAR device. (para. 0038 - radar based distance sensor)
Regarding Claim 10 and 20
PAXINOS discloses claim 1:
The agricultural system of claim 1, further comprising a soil moisture sensor configured to generate moisture data indicative of soil moisture within a field during an agricultural operation with the agricultural implement, wherein the computing system is further configured to receive the moisture data, and wherein the computing system is configured to determine when the basket assembly is experiencing the plugged condition based at least in part on the data generated by the plugging sensor and the moisture data. ( para. 0059 – moisture data and moisture level of soil and plugging )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG Pub 20210105942 – Paxinos et al. hereinafter as PAXINOS in view of US PG Pub 20210022284 – Glovier et al. hereinafter as GLOVIER
Regarding Claim 5 and 14
PAXINOS discloses claim 4 and 13:
PAXINOS discloses of detecting multiple frequencies, GLOVIER discloses
The agricultural system of claim 4, wherein the difference includes at least one of attenuation (para. 0019 – attenuation of the signals) or phase shift.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for PAXINOS detection of multiple frequencies to utilize the difference includes at least one of attenuation as disclosed by GLOVIER. This would allow PAXINOS to better handle the increase or decrease of the implement in order to reduce material accumulation (GLOVIER - para. 0051)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20190150357 – Wu – monitoring and control for crop improvement
20200128719 – Harmon – detecting accumulation of field materials between ground engaging components
20200355667 – Schoeny – managing material accumulation relative to ground engaging assembly
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676