DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 11 of Remarks that “the gNB merely indicates whether the UE should perform PDC, not which type of PDC should be performed. As noted above, LIN does not disclose RTT-based PDC. For example, LIN's "PropagationDelayCompensationCommor" parameter only indicates whether PDC is to be applied at all, and therefore cannot be read on the "PDC initiating indication" that indicates initiation of TA-based PDC, nor on the use of an "RTT time difference of a base station," as recited in claim 11 of the present application”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 11 recites an optional, not required, limitation “transmit a round trip time (RTT) time difference of a base station to the target terminal, wherein the RTT time different of the base station is used to trigger RTT-based PDC at the target terminal”, claim 11 is broad and reads on LIN as long as LIN teaches claim limitation “to transmit propagation delay compensation (PDC) initiating indication to a target terminal, wherein the PDC initiating indication indicates to the target terminal to initiate a timing advance (TA)-based PDC”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., LIN at most addresses whether PDC is performed, but it does not disclose performing different types of PDC. In LIN, once PDC is determined to be performed, the type of PDC is fixed and deterministic-specifically timing-advance-based (TA-based) PDC. LIN does not teach or suggest any RTT-based PDC, nor any selection among multiple PDC types) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIN (US 20230300766).
Regarding claim 11, LIN teaches to transmit propagation delay compensation (PDC) initiating indication to a target terminal, wherein the PDC initiating indication indicates to the target terminal to initiate a timing advance (TA)-based PDC (Fig. 4 and [0054] when the propagation delay compensation indication=1, the UE performs PDC based on the timing advance (or enhanced timing advance). When the propagation delay compensation indication=0, the UE will not perform PDC); or transmit a round trip time (RTT) time difference of a base station to the target terminal, wherein the RTT time different of the base station is used to trigger RTT-based PDC at
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 17-19, 21 and 24 are allowed.
Claims 14, 22, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUNSOOK CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467