Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: "transmmitting" appears to be misspelled. “kMz” appears to also be misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and a(2) as being anticipated by Schumann (US 2016/0154104 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schumann discloses an ultrasonic sensor which measures a distance to an object, the sensor comprising:
a transmitter outputting an ultrasonic signal [[abstract] vehicle includes at least one transceiver unit emitting a frequency-modulated signal and receiving echo signals of the emitted frequency-modulated signal; [0004] ultrasonic-based measuring systems are used for measuring a distance];
a receiver receiving a reflected wave of the output ultrasonic signal as reflected by the object [[0004] echo signal. The distance between the sensor and the object is computed over the measured echo transit time and the speed of sound; [0007] signal reflected by an object and received is fed to a correlator in order to correlate it with the code signal delayed by a delaying element]; and
a signal processor providing an ultrasonic signal command to be output to the transmitter and calculating the distance to the object by using the reflected wave received by the receiver [[0004] distance between the sensor and the object is computed over the measured echo transit time and the speed of sound],
wherein the signal processor controls the transmitter to transmit the ultrasonic signal as a pulse train having a frequency changed based on time [[0012] time-limited pulses (FM pulse, frequency-modulated pulse) are preferred, since the sensor, shortly after sending the pulse on the same signal path, is again ready to receive the echo; [0025] this relates, in particular, to ultrasonic systems, but also to radar systems and Lidar systems. Typically in such systems, sensors are used which are able to emit pulses as well as receive pulses, so-called transceiver units; [0047] emitted frequency-modulated signal 26 includes one first section 30 having an increasing frequency, i.e., having a chirp up. Emitted frequency-modulated signal 26 also includes one second section 32 having a decreasing frequency, i.e., having a chirp-down. Received echo signal 28 at point in time t1 includes one first section 34, which corresponds to first section 30 of emitted frequency-modulated signal 26, and one second section 36, which corresponds to second section 32 of emitted frequency-modulated signal 26].
Regarding claim 4, Schumann teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein: the signal processor includes a first band pass filter (BPF) passing only the reflected wave in a predetermined frequency band, and the first BPF performs filtering by changing a frequency band to be filtered by the first BPF based on reception time of the reflected wave [[0052] time related filter window; [0043] received signals are processed in pre-filter 6, for example, amplified, digitized, sampled, filtered through low-pass, high-pass or band-pass filters and, for example, subjected to signal transformations, such as a Hilbert transform. If a signal encoding of the signal is provided, the signals are decoded in pre-filter 6].
Regarding claim 5, Schumann teaches the sensor of claim 4, wherein the signal processor passes: a frequency only in a range of 40 to 48 kHz when a reception time of the reflected wave is zero to T1, a frequency only in a range of 48 to 60 kHz when the reception time of the reflected wave is T1 to T2, and a frequency in a range of 40 to 60 kHz when the reception time of the reflected wave is greater than T2 [[0061] implementation depicted includes a chirp-up having a pulse duration of 1 ms, one first cutoff frequency 102 of 45 kHz and one second cutoff frequency 104 of 54 kHz, followed by a chirp-down with 1 ms of 54 kHz after 45 kHz. In first section 34, a first slope 98 may be associated with the chirp-up and in second section 36, a second slope 100 may be associated with the chirp-down, which is also referred to as steepness. In the case of an ultrasonic system, ultrasonic transducers having resonance frequencies in the range of 40 kHz to 60 kHz are preferred, for example, as depicted, an ultrasonic transducer having a resonance frequency of 48 kHz. The chirp is preferably formed having cutoff frequencies 102, 104 in the range of 5% to 30%, preferably 5% to 10% below and above the resonance frequency of the ultrasonic transducer. At a resonance frequency of 48 kHz, preferred ranges are, for example, 2.5 kHz to 10 kHz, preferably 2.5 kHz to 5 kHz below and above the resonance frequency].
Regarding claim 6, Schumann teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein the signal processor: transmits intermittent pulse group signals of the pulse train, and controls each of the pulse groups to be changed to a frequency band of 40 to 60 kHz based on the time [[0061] fig. 7 shows, by way of example, the frequency curve over time of a received signal. The frequency curve includes one first section 34 having an increasing frequency and one second section 36 having a decreasing frequency. The implementation depicted includes a chirp-up having a pulse duration of 1 ms, one first cutoff frequency 102 of 45 kHz and one second cutoff frequency 104 of 54 kHz, followed by a chirp-down with 1 ms of 54 kHz after 45 kHz. In first section 34, a first slope 98 may be associated with the chirp-up and in second section 36, a second slope 100 may be associated with the chirp-down, which is also referred to as steepness. In the case of an ultrasonic system, ultrasonic transducers having resonance frequencies in the range of 40 kHz to 60 kHz are preferred, for example, as depicted, an ultrasonic transducer having a resonance frequency of 48 kHz. The chirp is preferably formed having cutoff frequencies 102, 104 in the range of 5% to 30%, preferably 5% to 10% below and above the resonance frequency of the ultrasonic transducer. At a resonance frequency of 48 kHz, preferred ranges are, for example, 2.5 kHz to 10 kHz, preferably 2.5 kHz to 5 kHz below and above the resonance frequency].
Regarding claim 7, Schumann teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein the signal processor includes a signal generator generating a cross-correlation signal to cross-correlate the ultrasonic signal and the reflected wave [[0018] evaluation of the echo signal is essential in determining the useful signal components in the echo signal. After a suitable filtering section, for example, a piece of amplitude information in the form of a cross correlation function xcorr(t) , and a piece of phase information in the form of a cross correlation coefficient R(t), may be provided for an assessment of the signal quality; [0022] e(t) being the received signal, s(t) the expected signal].
Regarding claim 8, Schumann teaches the sensor of claim 7, wherein the signal processor further includes a second band pass filter (BPF) passing only the ultrasonic signal in a predetermined frequency band, and the predetermined frequency band is in common with a frequency band of the reflected wave [[0043] band-pass filters].
Regarding claim 9, Schumann teaches the sensor of claim 7, wherein the signal processor further includes a time of flight (TOF) compensator calculating a TOF compensation value based on Δt, which is a difference between a time when a specific frequency occurs in the ultrasonic signal and a time when the specific frequency is measured in the reflected wave and performing TOF compensation on the cross-correlation signal [[0005-0006] modulated waveform and its time-delayed replica are processed in a correlator in order to determine the distance between the system and an obstacle. In a relative movement between the system and the obstacle, the value of the frequency shift is determined from … the Doppler frequency ωDO is computed from a rate of change of a correlation function; [0054] in the absence of a doppler shift … having a basic time difference; [0055] in the case of a doppler shift … time difference based on total filter response amplitude to frequency curve].
Regarding claim 10, Schumann discloses a signal processing method of an ultrasonic sensor which includes a transmitter, a receiver, and a signal processor, the method comprising: (a) controlling the transmitter by the signal processor for the transmitter to transmit a pulse train having a frequency that is changed based on time [[0004][0007]]; and (b) calculating, by the signal processor, a distance to any object positioned in each of a plurality of predetermined regions by using a reflected wave received from the receiver [[0012][0025][0029] surroundings-detection system according to the present invention permits a rapid and accurate indication of objects in and near the driving path of a vehicle, the driving path normally referring to the area soon to be passed over by the vehicle].
Regarding claim 11, Schumann discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising determining whether signal processing by the ultrasonic sensor is performed for the reflected wave based on a predetermined criterion before calculating distance [[0005] receive filter path; [0052] time related filter window].
Regarding claim 12, Schumann teaches the method of claim 11, wherein t is reception time of receiving the reflected wave, the method further comprising: when t is less than a predetermined maximum reception time, determining that the signal processing by the ultrasonic sensor is performed before calculating distance, and when t is greater than the predetermined maximum reception time, determining that the signal processing by the ultrasonic sensor is not performed before calculating distance [[0044] If an echo is detected, the transit time is then determined by searching for the maximum of the respective filter output and offsetting the two measured times of the outputs of the two FIR filter devices 8, 10. The computation yields the relative speed.].
Regarding claim 14, Schumann teaches the method of claim 10, wherein calculating a distance includes: with a band pass filter (BPF), performing filtering of the reflected wave by passing only a predetermined frequency band and changing a frequency band to be filtered by the band pass filter (BPF) based on reception time of the reflected wave; and filtering the pulse train with a common frequency band as that of the reflected wave [[0060] ne first FIR filter response amplitude 82 to a static object has a first maximum 86 and, as a result, defines a first point in time t1. ne second FIR filter response amplitude 84 to the static object has a second maximum 88 at a second point in time t2. On the basis of points in time t1 and t2, it is possible to ascertain basic time difference 64, which, as described above, is incorporated in the computation of the relative speed. The lower diagram depicted in FIG. 6 includes one first filter response amplitude 90 to a received echo signal in the case of a moving object having a first maximum 94 at a point in time t3. Second FIR filter response amplitude 92 includes a second maximum 96 at a point in time t4. First point in time t3 and second point in time t4 result, via difference formation, in time difference 70, on the basis of which the speed of the moving object relative to the surroundings-detection system may be ascertained. The difference between the time difference and the basic time difference, or also the ratio of the time difference to the basic time difference, may be used as a direct measure for the underlying Doppler velocity].
Regarding claim 15, Schumann teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the BPF is controlled to pass: a frequency only in a range of 40 to 48 kHz when the reception time of the reflected wave is zero to T1, a frequency only in a range of 48 to 60 kHz when the reception time of the reflected wave is T1 to T2, and a frequency in a range of 40 to 60 kHz when the reception time of the reflected wave is greater than T2 [[0061]].
Regarding claim 16, Schumann teaches the method of claim 10, wherein: controlling the transmitter by the signal processor for the transmitter to transmit a pulse train comprises transmitting intermittent pulse group signals of the pulse train, and controlling each of the pulse groups to be transmitted by being changed to a frequency band of 40 to 60 kMz based on the time [[0061]].
Regarding claim 17, Schumann teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising, generating a cross-correlation signal by cross-correlating the filtered pulse train and the reflected wave [[0015] FIR filter device having a first FIR signal, and a first point in time of the best correlation of the received echo signals with the first FIR signals is ascertained. The first FIR signal is configured to filter out the echo signal of the first section of the emitted frequency-modulated signal; [0018] cross correlation function xcorr(t); [0019] amplitude information xcorr(t) is ascertained on the basis of the received echo signals, preferably by computing a convolution of a received or a processed received signal e(t) with an expected signal s(t), for example, according to; [0054][0055]].
Regarding claim 18, Schumann teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: calculating a time of flight (TOF) compensation value based on Δt, which is a difference between a time when a specific frequency occurs in the pulse train and a time when the specific frequency is measured in the reflected wave, and performing TOF compensation on the cross-correlation signal [[0018] cross correlation function xcorr(t); [0019] amplitude information xcorr(t) is ascertained on the basis of the received echo signals, preferably by computing a convolution of a received or a processed received signal e(t) with an expected signal s(t), for example, according to; [0054][0055]].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schumann (US 2016/0154104 A1) and Chen (US 2021/0286075 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Schumann does not explicitly teach and yet Chen teaches the sensor of claim 1, wherein the signal processor calculates each distance to an object reflecting the output ultrasonic signal positioned in any of a plurality of predetermined regions [[0012] magnitudes of echo signals generated by ultrasonic reflection of GS at different distances away from the sensor are different. Generally, the reflection is the strongest from 70 centimeters to 1 meter away from the sensor, and the generated echo signal SAG1 is the strongest (the amplitude is the highest). With the increase in distance, the strengths of echo signals SAG2 . . . SAGn generated by the GS at different distances decrease gradually; [0041] plurality of ultrasonic sensors are divided into gradually decreasing levels from the far end to the near end of the side lane blind area, and the near-end ultrasonic sensor with the lowest level at the nearest end does not produce a ground misdetection and misinformation signal on the ground].
It would have been obvious to modify the ultrasonic sensing of Schumann, with the plurality of divided areas as taught by Chen so that midsections from the ground/ground gravels will be less likely (Chen) [[0011]].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Schumann does not explicitly teach and yet Chen teaches the sensor of claim 2, wherein the signal processor calculates each distance to an object positioned in at least one of a near field, a medium distance, and a far field [[0012][0041]].
It would have been obvious to modify the ultrasonic sensing of Schumann, with the plurality of divided areas as taught by Chen so that midsections from the ground/ground gravels will be less likely (Chen) [[0011]].
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645