DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 13, 14, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GM global (DE 10 2009 031 042; applicant cited).
Regarding Claim 1, GM discloses a first display 4 configured to irradiate light towards a driver reference position within the vehicle compartment (Fig. 1); and a first micro-louver structure 6 disposed on the first display configured to reduce an angle range of light from the first display passing therethrough and to irradiate reduced angle light (angle located between boundaries 10 and 11; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 2 and 5, the micro-louver structure 6 allows light to be irradiated in multiple different directions having separate axis in the range 9 between the limits 10 and 11 (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, the first direction of light 5 may be perpendicular to the display 4 (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, the micro-louver 6 is on a front edge of the display 4.
Regarding Claim 6, the first portion is disposed at a center of the first display, the second portion of the first micro-louver structure is disposed on an edge of the first display (top edge), and the third portion of the first micro-louver structure is disposed between the first portion and the second portion on the first display (see Fig. 2; lines 32; multiple directions of light dissemination come from the micro-louver 6 including center, upper and lower positions).
Regarding Claim 7, the display is an instrument panel display (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0001).
Regarding Claim 13, GM includes a polarization structure 23, 25 formed on the first display.
Regarding Claims 14 and 18, the polarization structure 23, 25 transmits horizontally polarized light 26 (Fig. 2) while restricting vertically polarized light from passing therethrough.
Regarding Claim 19, GM discloses a display 4 configured to irradiate light towards a driver reference position within the vehicle compartment; and a polarization structure 23, 25 disposed on the display that transmits horizontally polarized light 26 while restricting vertically polarized light from passing therethrough.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GM as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu (US 12,397,623).
Regarding Claims 8 and 11, GM discloses the use of a display, but is unclear as if it is an infotainment display. Han discloses an infotainment system display 1 configured to irradiate light towards the driver reference position (Fig. 1); a micro-louver structure 200 disposed on the infotainment system display and configured to reduce an angle range of light from the infotainment system display passing therethrough. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the infotainment system of Han with the instrument panel display of GM in order to have a fully immersive and electronic display system available for the operator and passengers, and to have that combined system be shielded for directional light radiation as to ensure the driver only received the information they needed and the passenger received the information desired.
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, Zhu discloses the use of a driver’s side window and infotainment display, GM discloses the display is configured to irradiate light towards both the driver reference position and a passenger reference position within the vehicle compartment, and wherein the first micro-louver structure 6 is structured such that none of the reduced angle light irradiated thereby is incident on the driver side window (see translation, paragraph 0001-0003; light is only radiated towards the passenger/driver and not towards the side so as to prevent reflections).
Regarding Claims 10 and 12, the combination of GM and Zhu discloses an instrument panel display (GM) and an infotainment system display (Zhu).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Zhu discloses a driver side window, and an anti-reflective structure 325 formed on the driver side window.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GM Global in view of Han (US 2024/0142773) and further in view of Zhu.
GM Global discloses an instrument panel display 4 configured to irradiate light towards a driver reference position; a first micro-louver structure 6 disposed on the instrument panel display and configured to reduce an angle range of light from the instrument panel display passing therethrough; a first polarization structure 23 disposed on the instrument panel display and configured to transmit horizontally polarized light 26 while restricting vertically polarized light from passing therethrough. It is unclear if GM discloses the use of an infotainment display separate from the instrument panel display. Han discloses a driver seat and a driver side window (Fig. 1), an infotainment system display 1 configured to irradiate light towards the driver reference position (Fig. 1); a second micro-louver structure 200 disposed on the infotainment system display and configured to reduce an angle range of light from the infotainment system display passing therethrough; a second polarization structure disposed on the infotainment system display (paragraph 0061) and configured to transmit horizontally polarized light while restricting vertically polarized light from passing therethrough. Neither GM nor Han appears to disclose the use of an anti-reflective structure on the driver’s side window. Zhu discloses an infotainment display system for a vehicle, including an anti-reflective structure 325 disposed on the driver side window. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the infotainment system of Han with the instrument panel display of GM in order to have a fully immersive and electronic display system available for the operator and passengers, and to have that combined system be shielded for directional light radiation as to ensure the driver only received the information they needed and the passenger received the information desired. Use of the anti-reflective structure on the side window, as taught by Zhu would allow the display of information to the driver to be unfiltered and prevent the reflection of the information which may distract the operator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art relates to displays for vehicles and the associated reflection/dispersion apparatus.
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612