Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs received December 13, 2024 and January 10, 2025 have been placed in record and considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4-7, 11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20240049304 A1 (KO et al.) in view of US 20220104261 A1 (Chu).
Regarding claim 1, KO discloses a method for transmitting beacon frames (KO [Abstract]: “Disclosed is a method by which a station (STA) transmits a frame in a wireless communication system”), comprising: sending, by an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) operating as a transmission opportunity (TXOP) holder (KO [0246]: “STA1 may be an AP. […] STA1 may be a TXOP holder ), a first frame before a first delay prior to a next target beacon transmission time (TBTT), (KO [0126]: “the AP may include information on a link to be used for the multi-link operation, a parameter used in each link, etc. in an association response frame allowing the multi-link operation, and transmit the association response frame to the corresponding terminal. The parameter for the multi-link operation may include […] a target beacon transmission time (TBTT)”. The first frame is sent and includes information about the next TBTT that is to be used, so therefore must be sent before a first delay prior to a next TBTT that is to be used.)
wherein the first frame indicates TXOP termination on a first link, (KO [0140]: “in the AP MLD, there may be Link 1 and Link 2 which are multiple links. AP 1 and STA 1 may be associated in Link 1, and AP 2 and STA 2 may be associated in Link 2.” KO [0352]-[0353]: “A scheduled STA of TXOP sharing may signal the termination of the TXOP sharing” KO [0246]: “STA1 may be an AP. […] STA1 may be a TXOP holder. […] The TXOP holder may transmit a frame”. Link 1 or 2 may be a “first link” on which termination of the TXOP sharing may occur) and
the first delay is used by a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (KO [0126]: “The parameter for the multi-link operation may include […] a target beacon transmission time (TBTT)”. KO [0079]: “When a wireless signal having a predetermined strength or more is sensed, it is determined that the corresponding channel is busy and the terminal delays the access to the corresponding channel.” KO [0140]: “there may be a non-AP MLD including STA 1 and STA 2. ”) operating in an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) mode to change a spatial stream on a second link to supporting beacon frame reception; and
sending, by the AP MLD, a beacon frame on the second link at the next TBTT, (KO [0125]: “AP MLD may transmit a beacon frame”. KO [0140]: “in the AP MLD, there may be Link 1 and Link 2 which are multiple links.” KO [0126]: “The parameter for the multi-link operation may include […] a target beacon transmission time (TBTT)”.)
wherein the first link and the second link are located between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD. (KO [0150]: “an MLD operating in Link 1 and Link 2” KO [0155]: “it may be described that STA 1 and STA 2 belong to an MLD, and STA 1 and STA 2 operate in Link 1 and Link 2, respectively.” KO [0140]: “there may be a non-AP MLD including […] STA 2.” KO [0246]: “STA1 may be an AP”)
KO does not expressly disclose: the first delay is used by a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) operating in an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) mode to change a spatial stream on a second link to supporting beacon frame reception;
In an analogous art, Chu discloses: the first delay is used by a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) operating in an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) mode to change a spatial stream (Chu [0090]: “the eMLMR mode may be able to transmit or receive PPDUs subject to the STA's per-link spatial stream capabilities.”) on a second link to supporting beacon frame reception; (Chu [0052]: “if a non-AP MLD indicates a maximum NSS that the non-AP MLD is capable of transmitting/receiving at a time, then each STA of the non-AP MLD that is operating using a link that is included in a specified set of links will support the indicated maximum NSS.”)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly KO discloses wherein a link on which a receiving capability is not limited when the non-AP MLD performs reception by using a single spatial stream is: a link on which an association request frame and an association response frame are exchanged between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD in an association process, (KO [0007]: “In IEEE 802.11be […] development of standards is underway aiming at supporting […] an increased spatial stream”. KO [0120]: “It is possible for STAs included in the MLD to operate in one or more links or channels.” KO [0126]: “Association request and response frames are exchanged between APO and non-AP devices in an association process.” KO [0107]: “Referring to FIG. 8 , a PPDU may include a preamble and a data part, and an EHT PPDU format, that is a PPDU type, may be classified according to a U-SIG field included in the preamble.” One or more spatial streams are disclosed as being used by one or more links/channels to exchange association requests and response frames. The link receiving capability is not limited per Applicant’s [0026] disclosure, e.g., because KO’s spatial streams are not disclosed as being limited in relation to the various PPDU types that can be classified in the preamble.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly KO discloses further comprising: receiving, by the AP MLD, a second frame, wherein the second frame comprises indication information that indicates an identifier of a link on which a receiving capability is not limited (KO [0125]: “a terminal belonging to the STA MLD may transmit a probe request frame including an indicator indicating that a multi-link operation is available”. KO’s indication that a multi-link operation is available indicates one or more links being available (not limited).) when the non-AP MLD performs reception by using a single spatial stream. (KO [0007]: “In IEEE 802.11be […] development of standards is underway aiming at supporting […] an increased spatial stream”. KO [0120]: “It is possible for STAs included in the MLD to operate in one or more links or channels.” KO [0126]: “Association request and response frames are exchanged between APO and non-AP devices in an association process.” KO [0107]: “Referring to FIG. 8 , a PPDU may include a preamble and a data part, and an EHT PPDU format, that is a PPDU type, may be classified according to a U-SIG field included in the preamble.” One or more spatial streams are disclosed as being used by one or more links/channels to exchange association requests and response frames. The link receiving capability is not limited per Applicant’s [0026] disclosure, e.g., because KO’s spatial streams are not disclosed as being limited in relation to the various PPDU types that can be classified in the preamble.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly Chu discloses wherein the indication information is located in a common information field of a multi-link element of the second frame, and a length of the indication information is 4 bits. (Chu [0079]: “Supported EHT-MCS and NSS Set fields indicate […] supports for transmission and reception of frames exchanged”. Chu [0105]: “In some embodiments, a Common Info field of Basic variant ML elements may include fields as described herein.” Chu [0091]: “Supported eMLMR Rx/Tx NSS information may be delivered in a Common Info field of a Multi-Link (ML) element”. Chu [0105]: “In some embodiments, a Common Info field of Basic variant ML elements may include fields as described herein.” Chu [0091]: “Supported eMLMR Rx/Tx NSS information may be delivered in a Common Info field of a Multi-Link (ML) element” Chu [0082]: “In an embodiment, the first subfield 502-1 is four bits (bits B0 to B3) and includes a receiving (Rx) max NSS that supports EHT-MCS 0-7”)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly Chu discloses wherein the indication information (Chu [0079]: “Supported EHT-MCS and NSS Set fields indicate […] supports for transmission and reception of frames exchanged”.) is located in an enhanced multi-link (EML) capabilities field of the common information field. (Chu [0091]: “Supported eMLMR Rx/Tx NSS information may be delivered in a Common Info field of a Multi-Link (ML) element”).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
Regarding claim 7, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly KO discloses further comprising: receiving, by the AP MLD, a second frame, wherein the second frame comprises indication information that is carried in link information of a link, to indicate whether a receiving capability on the link is limited (KO [0125]: “a terminal belonging to the STA MLD may transmit a probe request frame including an indicator indicating that a multi-link operation is available”.) when a single spatial stream is used for reception. (KO [0007]: “In IEEE 802.11be […] development of standards is underway aiming at supporting […] an increased spatial stream”. KO [0120]: “It is possible for STAs included in the MLD to operate in one or more links or channels.” KO [0126]: “Association request and response frames are exchanged between APO and non-AP devices in an association process.” KO [0107]: “Referring to FIG. 8 , a PPDU may include a preamble and a data part, and an EHT PPDU format, that is a PPDU type, may be classified according to a U-SIG field included in the preamble.” One or more spatial streams are disclosed as being used by one or more links/channels to exchange association requests and response frames. The link receiving capability is not limited per Applicant’s [0026] disclosure, e.g., because KO’s spatial streams are not disclosed as being limited in relation to the various PPDU types that can be classified in the preamble.)
Regarding claim 11, KO discloses a method for transmitting beacon frames, comprising: receiving, by a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD), operating in an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) mode, a first frame before a first delay prior to a next target beacon transmission time (TBTT), (KO [0246]: “STA1 may be an AP. […] STA1 may be a TXOP holder. […] The TXOP holder may transmit a frame, which the TXOP holder wants to transmit, during the TXOP.” KO [0023]: “a TXOP set by an AP is shared with a non-AP STA, and thus the non-AP STA may efficiently transmit and receive data.” KO [0126]: “The parameter for the multi-link operation may include […] a target beacon transmission time (TBTT)”. KO [0079]: “When a wireless signal having a predetermined strength or more is sensed, it is determined that the corresponding channel is busy and the terminal delays the access to the corresponding channel.”)
wherein the first frame indicates transmission opportunity (TXOP) termination on a first link, (KO [0352]-[0353]: “A scheduled STA of TXOP sharing may signal the termination of the TXOP sharing”)
and the first delay is used by the non-AP MLD (KO [0126]: “The parameter for the multi-link operation may include […] a target beacon transmission time (TBTT)”. KO [0079]: “When a wireless signal having a predetermined strength or more is sensed, it is determined that the corresponding channel is busy and the terminal delays the access to the corresponding channel.” KO [0140]: “there may be a non-AP MLD including STA 1 and STA 2. ”)
to change a spatial stream on a second link to supporting beacon frame reception; changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, the spatial stream on the second link to supporting beacon frame reception;
and receiving, by the non-AP MLD, a beacon frame by using a spatial stream supported on the second link at the next TBTT,
wherein the first link and the second link are located between an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) operating as a TXOP holder and the non-AP MLD. (KO [0150]: “an MLD operating in Link 1 and Link 2” KO [0155]: “it may be described that STA 1 and STA 2 belong to an MLD, and STA 1 and STA 2 operate in Link 1 and Link 2, respectively.” KO [0140]: “there may be a non-AP MLD including […] STA 2.” KO [0246]: “STA1 may be an AP”).
KO does not expressly disclose: a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD), operating in an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) mode […] to change a spatial stream on a second link to supporting beacon frame reception; changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, the spatial stream on the second link to supporting beacon frame reception; and receiving, by the non-AP MLD, a beacon frame by using a spatial stream supported on the second link at the next TBTT.
In an analogous art, Chu discloses: a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD), operating in an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) mode (Chu [0090]: “the non-AP MLD in the eMLMR mode may be able to transmit or receive”) […] to change a spatial stream (Chu [0090]: “the non-AP MLD in the eMLMR mode may be able to transmit or receive PPDUs subject to the STA's per-link spatial stream capabilities”) on a second link to supporting beacon frame reception; (Chu [0052]: “a non-AP MLD indicates a maximum NSS that the non-AP MLD is capable of transmitting/receiving at a time, then each STA of the non-AP MLD that is operating using a link that is included in a specified set of links will support the indicated maximum NSS.”)
changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, the spatial stream on the second link to supporting beacon frame reception; (Chu [0052]: “a “frame exchange sequence” may be described as occurring within a period (e.g., TXOP) in which a soliciting frame and a solicited frame are transmitted and/or received between two communications devices. […] an “enhanced multi-link operation” may be an eMLSR operation or an eMLMR operation […] In such an example, if a non-AP MLD indicates a maximum NSS that the non-AP MLD is capable of transmitting/receiving at a time, then each STA of the non-AP MLD that is operating using a link that is included in a specified set of links will support the indicated maximum NSS.”)
and receiving, by the non-AP MLD, a beacon frame by using a spatial stream supported on the second link at the next TBTT (Chu [0090]: “the non-AP MLD may receive PPDUs with an NSS up to a value indicated by an eMLMR Rx NSS subfield”. Chu [0052]: “if a non-AP MLD indicates a maximum NSS that the non-AP MLD is capable of transmitting/receiving at a time, then each STA of the non-AP MLD that is operating using a link that is included in a specified set of links will support the indicated maximum NSS”).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
Regarding claim 13, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly Chu discloses wherein a receiving capability is limited when the non-AP MLD performs reception on the second link by using a single spatial stream, (Chu [0071]: “a frame exchange restriction indicating an initial frame has a limitation. For example, the limitation may be that […] an NSS is limited to 1”) and no spatial stream is supported on the second link of the non-AP MLD within the TXOP; (Chu [0057]: “In such an embodiment, announcement of the frame exchange restriction may involve announcing a reception restriction for the initial frame during a TXOP”.) and the changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, the spatial stream on the second link to supporting beacon frame reception comprises: changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, from supporting no spatial stream on the second link to supporting multiple spatial streams. (Chu [0052]: “a non-AP MLD indicates a maximum NSS that the non-AP MLD is capable of transmitting/receiving at a time, then each STA of the non-AP MLD that is operating using a link that is included in a specified set of links will support the indicated maximum NSS.” Chu [0052]: “a “frame exchange sequence” may be described as occurring within a period (e.g., TXOP)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
With respect to claim 14, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly Chu discloses wherein no spatial stream is supported on the second link of the non-AP MLD within the TXOP; (Chu [0057]: “In such an embodiment, announcement of the frame exchange restriction may involve announcing a reception restriction for the initial frame during a TXOP”. Chu [0071]: “In the embodiment shown by FIG. 3A, the AP-MLD received, from the non-AP MLD, an announcement (prior to the frame exchange sequences) that includes a frame exchange restriction indicating an initial frame has a limitation. For example, the limitation may be that only an RTS frame and/or an MU-RTS frame is allowed, that an NSS is limited.”) and the changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, the spatial stream on the second link to supporting beacon frame reception comprises: changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, (Chu [0052]: “a “frame exchange sequence” may be described as occurring within a period (e.g., TXOP)) from supporting no spatial stream on the second link to supporting a single spatial stream, wherein the single spatial stream supported on the second link supports beacon frame reception (Chu [0052]: “In such an example, if a non-AP MLD indicates a maximum NSS that the non-AP MLD is capable of transmitting/receiving at a time, then each STA of the non-AP MLD that is operating using a link that is included in a specified set of links will support the indicated maximum NSS.” Chu [0049]: “In an embodiment, a communication link (e.g., link 1 102-1 or link 2 102-2) may include a BSS operating channel established by an AP (e.g., AP1 106-1 or AP2 106-2) that features multiple 20 MHz channels used to transmit frames (e.g., Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs), Beacon frames, management frames, etc.) between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD.”).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
With respect to claim 15, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly Chu discloses wherein a receiving capability is limited when the non- AP MLD performs reception on the second link by using a single spatial stream, (Chu [0071]: “In the embodiment shown by FIG. 3A, the AP-MLD received, from the non-AP MLD, an announcement (prior to the frame exchange sequences) that includes a frame exchange restriction indicating an initial frame has a limitation. For example, the limitation may be that only an RTS frame and/or an MU-RTS frame is allowed, that an NSS is limited to 1.”) and a spatial stream supported on the second link of the non-AP MLD within the TXOP is a single spatial stream; (Chu [0057]: “In such an embodiment, announcement of the frame exchange restriction may involve announcing a reception restriction for the initial frame during a TXOP”. Chu [0071]: “an NSS is limited to 1.”) and the changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, the spatial stream on the second link to supporting beacon frame reception comprises: changing, by the non-AP MLD within the first delay after the TXOP termination on the first link, the spatial stream supported on the second link from a single spatial stream to multiple spatial streams. (Chu [0052]: “if a non-AP MLD indicates a maximum NSS that the non-AP MLD is capable of transmitting/receiving at a time, then each STA of the non-AP MLD that is operating using a link that is included in a specified set of links will support the indicated maximum NSS.” Chu [0085]: “In such an embodiment, a value that is reserved in the table indicates a max NSS of greater than eight spatial streams.”)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
With respect to claim 16, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly KO discloses wherein a link on which a receiving capability is not limited (KO [0140]: “there may be Link 1 and Link 2 which are multiple links.” KO [0155]: “STA 1 and STA 2 operate in Link 1 and Link 2, respectively. In addition, a frame and a PPDU may be interchangeable indicated.” KO [0095]: “The UL/DL field identifies whether the PPDU is an uplink/downlink PPDU.” Applicant’s Specification [0026]: “It should be understood that "a receiving capability is limited" mentioned in this specification means that only PPDUs of some types (for example, an OFDM type and a non-HT duplicate type) can be received. Correspondingly, "a receiving capability is not limited" mentioned in this specification means that PPDUs of all types can be received.” KO discloses a link which is not disclosed as being limited per the Applicant’s specification definition.) when the non-AP MLD performs reception by using a single spatial stream is: (KO [0005]: “MIMO spatial streams (a maximum of 8)”) a link on which an association request frame and an association response frame are exchanged between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD in an association process, (KO Abstract, [0126], [0140], [0246] : AP and non-AP MLDs can exchange association request and response frames) or a link on which a reassociation request frame and a reassociation response frame are exchanged between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD in a reassociation process.
With respect to claim 17, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly KO discloses 17. The method according to claim 11, further comprising: sending, by the non-AP MLD, a second frame, wherein the second frame comprises indication information that indicates an identifier of a Link on which a receiving capability is not limited (KO [0125]: “a terminal belonging to the STA MLD may transmit a probe request frame including an indicator indicating that a multi-link operation is available”. KO [0095]: “The UL/DL field identifies whether the PPDU is an uplink/downlink PPDU.” Applicant’s Specification [0026]: “It should be understood that "a receiving capability is limited" mentioned in this specification means that only PPDUs of some types (for example, an OFDM type and a non-HT duplicate type) can be received. Correspondingly, "a receiving capability is not limited" mentioned in this specification means that PPDUs of all types can be received.” KO discloses a link which is not disclosed as being limited per the Applicant’s specification definition.) when the non-AP MLD perforns reception by using a single spatial stream. (KO [0005]: “spatial streams (a maximum of 8)”. KO [0180]: “The configuration of the received PPDU may include an MCS of the PPDU, the number of spatial streams”.)
With respect to claim 18, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly Chu discloses 18. The method according to claim 17, wherein the indication information (Chu [0079]: “Supported EHT-MCS and NSS Set fields indicate […] supports for transmission and reception of frames exchanged”.) is located in a common information field (Chu [0105]: “In some embodiments, a Common Info field of Basic variant ML elements may include fields as described herein.” Chu [0091]: “Supported eMLMR Rx/Tx NSS information may be delivered in a Common Info field of a Multi-Link (ML) element”) of a multi-link element of the second frame, (Chu [0105]: “In some embodiments, a Common Info field of Basic variant ML elements may include fields as described herein.” Chu [0091]: “Supported eMLMR Rx/Tx NSS information may be delivered in a Common Info field of a Multi-Link (ML) element”) and a length of the indication information is 4 bits. (Chu [0082]: “In an embodiment, the first subfield 502-1 is four bits (bits B0 to B3) and includes a receiving (Rx) max NSS that supports EHT-MCS 0-7”).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
With respect to claim 19, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly Chu discloses wherein the indication information is located in an enhanced multi-link (EML) capabilities field of the common information field. (Chu [0091]: “Supported eMLMR Rx/Tx NSS information may be delivered in a Common Info field of a Multi-Link (ML) element”).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
With respect to claim 20, the combination of KO and Chu, particularly KO discloses 20. The method according to claim 11, further comprising: sending, by the non-AP MLD, a second frame, (KO [0125]: “a terminal belonging to the STA MLD may transmit a probe request frame”) wherein the second frame comprises indication information that is carried in link information of a link, (KO [0125]: “a terminal belonging to the STA MLD may transmit a probe request frame including an indicator indicating that a multi-link operation is available”.) to indicate whether a receiving capability on the link is limited (KO [0125]: “a terminal belonging to the STA MLD may transmit a probe request frame including an indicator indicating that a multi-link operation is available”.) when a single spatial stream is used for reception. (KO [0005]: “spatial streams (a maximum of 8)”. KO [0180]: “The configuration of the received PPDU may include an MCS of the PPDU, the number of spatial streams”.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO and Chu based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Chu’s, para. [0056] disclosure, e.g., “By identifying whether a non-AP MLD needs more time to switch its RF chains amongst a set of links, multi-link communication systems may be able to improve performance and efficiency in wireless communications.”
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20240049304 A1 (KO) in view of US 20220104261 A1 (Chu) and US 20220330366 A1 (Kwon).
With respect to claim 2,
KO and Chu do not expressly disclose wherein the first delay is one of the following: a period of time taken by the non-AP MLD to change a spatial stream supported on the second link from a single spatial stream to multiple spatial streams; or a period of time taken by the non-AP MLD to change from supporting no spatial stream on the second link to supporting a single spatial stream or multiple streams.
In an analogous art, Kwon discloses: first delay is one of the following: a period of time taken by the non-AP MLD to change a spatial stream supported on the second link from a single spatial stream to multiple spatial streams. (Kwon [0057]: “The enhanced eMLSR capability announcement or the enhanced eMLMR capability announcement indicates[…] a delay time of a radio switch, […] a Number of spatial streams (Nss) supported by the eMLSR mode or the eMLMR mode.” Kwon [0090]: “In such an embodiment, the non-AP MLD may receive PPDUs with an NSS up to a value indicated by an eMLMR Rx NSS subfield of a TBD element at a time on the link for which the initial frame exchange sequence was made.” Kwon discloses the ability to have up to (e.g., change) the quantity of used spatial streams, and it is understood that any action, such as changing spatial streams, necessarily takes times (e.g., a delay).)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO, Chu, and Kwon based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Kwon’s, para. [0045] disclosure, e.g., “by defining operating capabilities using the Reconfiguration ML IE, wireless operations and communications may be performed more efficiently.”
With respect to claim 12, the combination of
KO and Chu do not expressly disclose wherein the first delay is one of the following: a period of time taken by the non-AP MLD to change a spatial stream supported on the second link from a single spatial stream to multiple spatial streams.
In an analogous art, Kwon discloses: wherein the first delay is one of the following: a period of time taken by the non-AP MLD to change a spatial stream supported on the second link from a single spatial stream to multiple spatial streams (Kwon [0057]: “The enhanced eMLSR capability announcement or the enhanced eMLMR capability announcement indicates […] a delay time of a radio switch, […] a Number of spatial streams (Nss) supported by the eMLSR mode or the eMLMR mode.” Kwon [0090]: “In such an embodiment, the non-AP MLD may receive PPDUs with an NSS up to a value indicated by an eMLMR Rx NSS subfield of a TBD element at a time on the link for which the initial frame exchange sequence was made.” Kwon discloses the ability to have up to (e.g., change) the quantity of used spatial streams, and it is understood that any action, such as changing spatial streams, necessarily takes times (e.g., a delay).)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO, Chu, and Kwon based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Kwon’s, para. [0045] disclosure, e.g., “by defining operating capabilities using the Reconfiguration ML IE, wireless operations and communications may be performed more efficiently.”
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20240049304 A1 (KO) in view of US 20220104261 A1 (Chu) and US 20240106585 A1 (Lin).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of
KO and Chu do not expressly disclose wherein the indication information is located in an extremely high throughput (EHT) medium access control (MAC) capabilities information field of the second frame, and a length of the indication information is 1 bit.
In an analogous art, Lin discloses: wherein the indication information is located in an extremely high throughput (EHT) medium access control (MAC) capabilities information field of the second frame (Lin [0281]: “An EHT STA supporting […] PPDU reception may indicate this support by setting the PSR Responder subfield to 1 in the EHT MAC Capabilities Information field in the EHT Capabilities element”.), and a length of the indication information is 1 bit. (Lin [0281]: EHT STA may indicate support for enhanced HE PSR value by setting one or more bits in the […] Capabilities field in the HE Capabilities element.”)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO, Chu, and Lin based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Lin’s, para. [0101] disclosure, e.g., “The EHT Study Group is tasked with exploring the possibilities of further increasing peak throughput and improve efficiency of the IEEE 802.11 networks.”
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 20240049304 A1 (KO) in view of US 20220104261 A1 (Chu) in further view of US 20250193776 A1 US (Choi).
With respect to claim 9, The combination of KO and Chu do not expressly disclose wherein the indication information is located in a per-station (STA) profile of a multi-link element of the second frame, and a length of the indication information is 1 bit.
Choi discloses: wherein the indication information is located in a per-station (STA) profile of a multi-link element of the second frame, and a length of the indication information is 1 bit (Choi [0460]: “Elements or fields can be added later depending on the proposed function. In the Per-STA Profile (x) sub-element, various information about the link can be included.” Choi [0380]: “As another example, 1 bit may be used as a method field/element”.)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO, Chu, Lin, and Choi based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Choi’s, para. [0005] disclosure, e.g., “In a new WLAN standard, an increased number of spatial streams may be used. In this case, in order to properly use the increased number of spatial streams, a signaling technique in the WLAN system may need to be improved.”
With respect to claim 10, KO and Chu do not expressly disclose wherein the indication information is located in a STA control field of the per-STA profile.
In an analogous art, Choi discloses wherein the indication information is located in a STA control field of the per-STA profile. discloses: Choi [0460]: “The Complete Profile in the Per-STA Control sub-element is a field that distinguishes whether the included information is complete information or partial information of the link.”
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KO, Chu, Lin, and Choi based on each reference being in the same or similar fields of endeavor and based on explicit motivations, e.g., Choi’s, para. [0005] disclosure, e.g., “In a new WLAN standard, an increased number of spatial streams may be used. In this case, in order to properly use the increased number of spatial streams, a signaling technique in the WLAN system may need to be improved.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Shafin et al. (US 20250048410 A1) discloses Non-access Point Multi-link Device Associated With A Wireless Network, Has First Non-access Point Station Affiliated With The Non-access Point Multi-link Device, And First Non-access Point Station Setting Up First Link With A First Access Point Affiliated With Access Point Multi-link Device
Huang (US 20230413367 A1) discloses METHODS FOR UPLINK MULTI-USER TRANSMISSION IN WIRELESS LOCAL AREA NETWORK AND ACCESS POINT
Jang (US 20240215070 A1) discloses MULTI-LINK RTS AND CTS TRANSMISSIONS
/C.L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413