DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 05/26/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 8-9 and 16-17 are amended. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 05/26/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection has been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Zhang”, US 2015/0370688) in view Kathuria et al. (“Kathuria”, US 2022/0245060).
As per claim 1, Zhang teaches a method comprising:
traversing, by a computing device, during a build stage of an application build pipeline for an application and before execution of test automation of the application, through one or more locators stored in a web elements repository for the application to validate the one or more locators, wherein each locator of the one or more locators is for an element on a page of the application (Zhang, para.21, 29, locators used to find elements for testing/validation); and
responsive to a determination of a failure of a locator to identify a current element on a page of the application (Zhang, para.23, 26, 28, 32, 36, failure to locate element using locator), by the computing device:
identifying a new element on the page of the application, wherein the new element is identified based on the current element (Zhang, para.23-26, 28, 32-33, 36, identify UI elements on same page by comparing to current missing UI element 1 snapshot 121/dimension 321 via image/dimension comparison);
generating a new locator for the failed locator based on the new element (Zhang, para.27-28, 34, 36, new locator generated after missing UI element is located); and
updating a web elements repository for the application with the new locator (Zhang, Figs.1-3, Database 110/201/310, para.22, 31; para.27, 34, 36, new locator replaces previous locator).
However, Zhang does not teach traversing, during a build stage of an application build pipeline for an application and before execution of test automation of the application, through one or more locators stored in a web elements repository for the application. Kathuria teaches a method of application testing that includes traversing, during a build stage of an application build pipeline for an application and before execution of test automation of the application, through one or more locators stored in a web elements repository for the application (Kathuria, para.30-31, 58, smart object recognition process updates smart object repository 54 with every new build, repository provides an ability to traverse DOM to provide database of object locations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Kathuria‘s teaching with Zhang’s method in order to increase testing efficiencies (Kathuria, para.19).
As per claim 2, the method of Zhang and Kathuria teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the new locator includes updating the failed locator with a new value corresponding to the new element (Zhang, Figs.1-3, Database 110/201/310, para.22, 31; para.27, 34, 36, new locator replaces previous locator).
As per claim 3, the method of Zhang and Kathuria teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the new element is identified based on a similarity of the new element to the current element (Zhang, para.23-26, 28, 32-33, 36, identify new UI elements on same page by similarity of current missing UI element 1 snapshot 121/dimension 321 via image/dimension comparison with the new UI elements).
As per claim 8, the method of Zhang and Kathuria teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the web elements repository stores, for each of the plurality of elements of the application, an element attribute and a locator used to identify the element on a page of the application (Zhang, Figs.1-3, Database 110/201/310, para.22, 31; para.27, 34, 36, new locator replaces previous locator; Kathuria, para.30-31, 58, smart object recognition process updates smart object repository 54 with every new build, repository provides an ability to traverse DOM to provide database of object locations).
Claims 9 and 17 are similar in scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 10 and 18 are similar in scope to claim 2, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 11 and 19 are similar in scope to claim 3, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4-5, 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Zhang”, US 2015/0370688) and Kathuria et al. (“Kathuria”, US 2022/0245060) in view of Fernandes et al. (“Fernandes”, US 2020/0249964).
As per claim 4, the method of Zhang and Kathuria teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the new element is identified based on a similarity (Zhang, para.23-26, 28, 32-33, 36, predetermined similarity criteria). However, the method of Zhang and Kathuria does not teach identification based on a similarity score assigned to the new element based on how similar the new element is to the current element. Fernandes teaches a method of application testing wherein elements are identified based on a similarity score assigned to the new element based on how similar the new element is to the current element (Fernandes, para.61, 65, candidate element identified based on matching score with master frame element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Fernandes‘ teaching with the method of Zhang and Kathuria in order to identify elements most likely to be the missing element.
As per claim 5, the method of Zhang, Kathuria and Fernandes teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the similarity score represents a similarity of one or more attributes of the new element to one or more attributes of the current element (Fernandes, para.61, matching attribute values).
Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 13 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 5, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Zhang”, US 2015/0370688) and Kathuria et al. (“Kathuria”, US 2022/0245060) in view of Li et al. (“Li”, US 2024/0264928).
As per claim 6, the method of Zhang and Kathuria teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the new locator replaces the failed locator (Zhang, Figs.1-3, Database 110/201/310, para.22, 31; para.27, 34, 36, new locator replaces previous locator). However, the method of Zhang and Kathuria does not explicitly teach wherein the new locator has a same name as the failed locator. Li teaches a method of application testing wherein the new locator has a same name as the failed locator (Li, para.107, 109-110, 116, 119-120, replacing old attributes/path of located object with new attributes/path). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Li‘s teaching with the method of Zhang and Kathuria in replay the same test without failure.
As per claim 7, the method of Zhang and Kathuria teaches the method of claim 1, however does not explicitly teach wherein the new element has a same name as the current element. Li teaches a method of application testing wherein the new element has a same name as the current element (Li, para.107, 109-110, 116, 119-120, replacing old attributes/path of located object with new attributes/path). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Li‘s teaching with the method of Zhang and Kathuria in order to replay the same test without failure.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ivanova et al. (US 2020/0192967) teaches a method of application build using a page objects library.
Malla et al. (US 2018/0173606) teaches a method of parsing objects and storing results in an object repository.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174