Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 14-23 and 25 are pending in the application. Claims 3, 9, 12-13 and 24 have been canceled. Preliminary amendment filed 10/26/2023.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CA2022/050626 filed 04/25/2022. This application claims the benefit of 63182187 filed 04/30/2021.
The parent application 63182187 to which priority is claimed is seen to provide adequate support under 35 U.S.C. 112 for claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 14-23 and 25 of this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 5 is fuzzy. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 15 the recitation ‘cross-likers’ should be replaced by the recitation ‘cross-linkers’. The term ‘mixtures’ should be replaced by the term ‘solutions’. The term ‘functions’ should be replaced by ‘functional groups’. Appropriate correction is required. Applicant is requested to check the specification for support for the said recitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10-11, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selmani et al (WO2015/013821 A1; cited in IDS filed 10/26/2023) in view of Muzzarelli et al (Carbohydrate Research, 1982, 107, 199-214) and further in view of Anderson (WO 2009/056602 A1), Hou et al (CN 111363063 A, Machine English Translation, pages 1-2) and Nie et al (Scientific Reports, 25 October, 2016, 1-8).
One of the embodiments of Selmani is a method of preparing a composition comprising dissolving a polyglucosamine in a solution of glycoxylate at a pH between 7 and 8 in water (page 3, para 0009; page 6, para 0040, 0044; page 12, para 0061; Method of claim 1 and charged aldehyde-glyoxylate; pH as in claim 2). The polyglucosamine can be chitosan (page 8, para 0048; chitosan as in claim 1). The amine groups of the chitosan will form an imine bond as shown in the reaction scheme at para 0044 (as in claim 1). Since a sodium salt of glyoxylate is used it is a charged aldehyde salt solution as in claims 1 and 4-6. This also reads on the limitation of claim 8. Even though Selamni does not expressly teach all of the aldehyde salt solutions as in claims 5-6 and 10, one of ordinary skill in the art will find it obvious to use all of the aldehyde salt solutions recited in claims 5-6 and 10 to dissolve the chitosan and form an imine with a reasonable expectation of success.
Selmani et al does not teach the limitations of claims 7, 11, 14-23 and 25.
Muzzarelli et al drawn to product obtained from chitosan and glyoxylate, teaches the formation of a chitosan imine with glyoxylate and reducing it with sodium cyanoborohydride to get the corresponding carboxymethyl chitosan (page 201, third full para through page 202, part (d). This same reduction of imine can be carried out by the artisan using sodium borohydride for obtaining chitosan-N-ethyl phosphate as in claim 11 and the N-ethyltrimethylammonium chitosan as in claim 25.
Anderson teaches crosslinking of chitosan composition (page 18, lines 27-34). Even though Anderson does not expressly teach that the chitosan composition is not one which obtained by the method of instant claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that the crosslinking the instant composition can also be done as in claim 7. The crosslinking of chitosan produces hydrogels (page 18, lines 31-33). In a similar manner the chitosan solutions as in claims 14 and 15 can be transformed into hydrogels. The crosslinking agents that can be used are bifunctional crosslinkers like squaric acid, diepoxides, 1,4-butanediol diglycidylether, etc. (page 21, lines 1-11; limitations as in claims 14-17). This teaching also renders obvious the use of the other bifunctional reagents as in claims 15, 17 and 18.
Hou et al teaches conversion of chitosan to hydroxyethyl chitosan by first adding sodium hydroxide to chitosan, then reacting the alkali chitosan with 2-chloroethanol, and then acidifying it with HCl to get hydroxyethyl chitosan (page 2-Description). In this process, the hydroxide added removes the H from the OH of the chitosan to give the alkalized chitosan which then reacts with the 2-chloroethanol to give the hydroxyethyl derivative. This same reaction can be performed using LiOH instead of NaOH and chloroethanol on chitosan-GNa to generate the alkaline solution as in claim 19, which can then react with chloroethanol to give the O-hydroxyethylchitosan-GNa solution as in claim 20. The O-hydroxyethylchitosan-GNa solution can then be acidified to produce O-hydroxyethylchitosan and GNa as in claim 21.
Nie et al teaches preparation of chitosan hydrogels with multivalent cations like Cu2+ and Ca2+ (page 7, first two full paras; part of the limitations of claims 22 and 23). This same method can be used to further transform the solutions recited in claim 22 into hydrogels.
MPEP 2141 states, "The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusatory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.'" KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) " Obvious to try " choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention."
According to the rationale discussed in KSR above, the rationale in (A) and (B) above are seen to be applicable here since based on the prior art teachings, chitosan has been solubilized in an acid free aqueous solution of charged aldehydes. Analogous solutions are known in the art to be transformed into hydrogels including via crosslinking and using multivalent metal ions. Thus, it is obvious to arrive at the claimed methods in view of the combined teachings of the prior art.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention over the combined teachings of the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art will use the claimed method, also taught by the prior art, since dissolution can be done at physiological pH without the need for an acidic environment and without causing precipitation (Selmani, para 0008).
Conclusion
1. Pending Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 14-23 and 25 are rejected.
2. Claims 3, 9, 12-13, 24 and 26 have been canceled.
/GANAPATHY KRISHNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693