Claim Objections
Claims 9 & 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 3 should recite “a battery management assembly”.
Claim 9, line 7 should recite “a power selection circuit”.
Claim 10, line 4 should recite “a preset voltage”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakao et al. (USGPN 2022/0399734).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakao (Figs.2, 3, 5, & 7) teaches a lithium battery (¶0132: storage cells 222 and 224 may be lithium ion) for a series and parallel battery system supporting zero-voltage charging, comprising:
a battery cell assembly (210);
a main charge and discharge switch circuit (230) provided in series between the battery cell assembly and a power supply end (202), and configured to control an electrical connection between the battery cell assembly and the power supply end in response to receiving a charge/discharge control signal (¶0148: switching unit 230 is switched to charge the storage modules; ¶0149: switching unit 230 is switched to discharge the storage modules); and
a trickle charge switch circuit (320) provided in parallel with the main charge and discharge switch circuit (230), and configured to conduct a path between the battery cell assembly and the power supply end in response to that the main charge and discharge switch circuit disconnects the electrical connection between the battery cell assembly and the power supply end (t4; ¶0234: when measured voltage reaches Vac the switching unit is controlled to disconnect the electric storage unit), so as to trickle charge the battery cell assembly in response to that the power supply end is connected to a charger (Battery voltage continues to rise after t4 which is through trickle charging unit 320).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kang et al. (USPGPN 2012/0043819).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakao (Fig.2) further teaches a battery management assembly (250).
Nakao fails to explicitly teach a power selection circuit, wherein an input end of the power selection circuit is respectively connected to the battery cell assembly and the power supply end, an output end of the power selection circuit is connected to the battery management assembly, and the power selection circuit is configured to select one of the battery cell assembly and the power supply end to supply power to the battery management assembly according to a voltage value of the battery cell assembly.
However, Kang (Fig.4) teaches a power selection circuit (60), wherein an input end of the power selection circuit is respectively connected to the battery cell assembly (40) and the power supply end (Po), an output end of the power selection circuit is connected to the battery management assembly (50), and the power selection circuit is configured to select one of the battery cell assembly and the power supply end to supply power to the battery management assembly according to a voltage value of the battery cell assembly (Fig.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Kang to include a power selection circuit for connecting inputs of the battery cell assembly and the power supply end to the battery management assembly, configured to select one of the input sources to supply power according to a voltage value of the battery cell assembly. Doing so allows the battery management assembly to be operated stably, as evidenced by Kang (¶0075: BMS 50 is stably operated).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kang, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bhardwaj et al. (USPGPN 2014/0019790)
Regarding Claim 3, Nakao fails to explicitly teach a trickle charge detection circuit;
wherein a detection end of the trickle charge detection circuit is connected to the trickle charge switch circuit, an output end of the trickle charge detection circuit is connected to the battery management assembly, and the trickle charge detection circuit is configured to detect a working state of the trickle charge switch circuit and output a corresponding trickle charge detection signal to the battery management assembly; and
the battery management assembly is further configured to identify the working state of the corresponding trickle charge switch circuit according to the trickle charge detection signal.
However, Bhardwaj teaches a trickle charge detection circuit (¶0030: current sense resistor) connected to a trickle charge circuit (¶0031: float current indicates the presence of a trickle charge current) with an output end connected to a battery management assembly (¶0030: BMU 104 measures the float current), and where the trickle charge detection circuit determines a working state and outputs a detection signal to the battery management assembly which identifies the working state of the corresponding trickle charge switch circuit according to the trickle charge detection signal. (¶0030: current sense resistor functions when current is flowing and outputs a signal for BMU to determine the float/trickle current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kang, with Bhardwaj to includes a trickle charge detection circuit for determining a working state of a trickle charge circuit and outputs the determination for a battery management assembly to identify the working state. Doing so allows for safer charging of a battery by reducing the danger to a user or damage to an electronic device, as evidenced by Bhardwaj (¶0004).
Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kang, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (USPGPN 2007/0247107).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein the battery cell assembly comprises a plurality of battery cell assemblies (Fig.2, 222/224).
Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the lithium battery for the series and parallel battery system supporting zero-voltage charging further comprises:
a battery voltage detection circuit connected to the battery cell assembly and configured to detect a voltage of the battery cell assembly to obtain a voltage of the plurality of battery cell assemblies and output a battery voltage detection signal; wherein
the battery management assembly is further configured to communicate with the charger during power-on operation, control the trickle charge switch circuit to operate and output a real-time trickle current request to the charger in response to that the voltage is determined to be lower than a preset voltage according to the battery voltage detection signal, and control the trickle charge switch circuit to stop in response to that the voltage is determined to be higher than or equal to the preset voltage according to the battery voltage detection signal.
However, Wang (Fig.2A) teaches a battery with a battery voltage detection circuit (240) connected to a battery assembly (220) to detect a voltage of the battery assembly and outputs a battery voltage signal (connection from 240 to controller 260); wherein
the battery management assembly is further configured to communicate with the charger during power-on operation (¶0023: controller 260 controls the operating condition of the HBP210, in co-ordination with the charger HIS 100), control the trickle charge switch circuit to operate and output a real-time trickle current request to the charger (¶0023: controller controls the operation condition, indicating a charge request of a constant current; ¶0025: variable resistor 272 in first switch 270 is used to limit the current for trickle charging) in response to that the voltage is determined to be lower than a preset voltage according to the battery voltage detection signal (¶0027: trickle charging is performed when below a fully charged level), and control the trickle charge switch circuit to stop in response to that the voltage is determined to be higher than or equal to the preset voltage according to the battery voltage detection signal (¶0027: trickle charging is performed until a fully charge level is reached).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kang, with Wang to use the design of Wang’s first switch for the trickle charge switch circuit of Nakao, and include a battery voltage detection circuit and configure the battery management assembly to communicate with the charger, and control the trickle charge switch circuit on and off in response to the battery voltage detection signal. Doing so provides a system for improving charging time for rechargeable batteries.
Regarding Claim 5, Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach a current detection circuit;
wherein a detection end of the current detection circuit is connected to the battery cell assembly, and an output end of the current detection circuit is connected to the battery management assembly;
the current detection circuit is configured to detect a current flowing through the battery cell assembly and output a current detection signal; and
the battery management assembly is further configured to output the real-time trickle current request to the charger according to the current detection signal.
However, Wang (Fig.2A) teaches a current detection circuit (current sense resistor 260);
wherein a detection end of the current detection circuit is connected to the battery cell assembly (resistor connected to 220), and an output end of the current detection circuit is connected to the battery management assembly (signal wires to controller 260);
the current detection circuit is configured to detect a current flowing through the battery cell assembly and output a current detection signal (¶0024: current sense resistor 260 to measure current flow through the battery); and
the battery management assembly is further configured to output the real-time trickle current request to the charger according to the current detection signal (¶0024: current sense resistor per path may be provided; Fig. 2B: constant charge current 296 would be measured to ensure proper charge current is provided and trickle charge current 206 would be measured to ensure a low current is provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kang and Wang, with Wang to include a current detection circuit for detecting current flowing through the battery and having the battery management assembly output the real-time trickle current request to the charger according to the output of the current detection circuit. Doing so provides a system for improving charging time for rechargeable batteries with efficient charging.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Wang and Nagai et al. (US Patent 5,576,608 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakao fails to explicitly teach the trickle charge switch circuit comprises a current-limiting resistor, a switching tube and a relay, one end of the current-limiting resistor is connected to the power supply end, a first end of the switching tube is connected to one end of the relay, a second end of the switching tube is connected to the other end of the current-limiting resistor, and the other end of the relay is connected to the battery cell assembly.
However, Wang teaches a trickle charge switch circuit comprising a current-limiting resistor (Fig.2A: Ra) and a switching tube (Fig.2A: MOSFET in 270).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Wang to use the design of Wang’s first switch for the trickle charge switch circuit of Nakao. Doing so provides a system for improving charging time for rechargeable batteries.
Furthermore, Nagai (33) teaches a trickle charge circuit (113) comprising a relay (114) connected to a battery assembly (111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Nagai to include a relay in the trickle charge circuit, and connect the relay to the battery assembly. Doing so provides a well know benefit in the art of ensuring electricity does not flow through an undesired circuit by physically disconnecting the circuit.
Nakao, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for the resistor is taught connected between the relay and the switching tube, instead of between the switching tube and the power supply end. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to reverse the order of these parts so that the connections are in the order of the power supply end, the resistor, the switching tube, the relay, and then the battery assembly, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific connection order of the switching tube and resistor solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the modified connection order of components.
Claim(s) 7 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao.
Regarding Claim 7, Nakao teaches a series and parallel battery system supporting zero-voltage charging, comprising a plurality (¶0044: plurality of modules 130) of lithium batteries for the series and parallel battery system supporting zero-voltage charging of claim 1 (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Nakao discloses the claimed invention except for it does not explicitly disclose the plurality of lithium batteries connected in series and parallel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to connect the plurality of lithium batteries in series and parallel since it was well known in the art that connecting batteries in series and parallel provides a longer runtime of the system with redundancy if a battery fails (parallel connection) and high voltage (series), and a series/parallel connection provides design flexibility, as evidenced by NPL Battery University (Pg. 6, Final paragraph).
Regarding Claim 8, Nakao (Fig.3 & 7) teaches a charging method for the series and parallel battery system supporting zero-voltage charging of claim 7, comprising:
in response to that the main charge and discharge switch circuit disconnects the electrical connection between the power supply end and the battery cell assembly, conducting, by the trickle charge switch circuit, the path between the battery cell assembly and the power supply end, so as to trickle charge the battery cell assembly in response to that the power supply end is connected to the charger (t4; ¶0234: when measured voltage reaches Vac the switching unit is controlled to disconnect the electric storage unit; Battery voltage continues to rise after t4 which is through trickle charging unit 320).
Claim(s) 9 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang and Wang.
Regarding Claim 9, Nakao fails to explicitly teach in response to that the battery management assembly connected to the charger is connected to an auxiliary power supply provided by the charger and powered on, communicating the battery management assembly with the charger and outputting a trickle charge current request to the charger according to the battery voltage detection signal; and
connecting the battery management assembly connected to the power selection circuit to one of the battery cell assembly and the power supply end to power on.
However, Kang (Fig.4) teaches a power selection circuit (60), wherein in response to that a battery management assembly connected to the charger is connected to an auxiliary power supply provided by the charger and powered on, communicating the battery management assembly with the charger (Fig.5); and
connecting the battery management assembly connected to the power selection circuit to one of the battery cell assembly and a power supply end to power on.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Kang to include a power selection circuit for connecting inputs of the battery cell assembly and the power supply end to the battery management assembly, configured to select one of the input sources to supply power according to a voltage value of the battery cell assembly. Doing so allows the battery management assembly to be operated stably, as evidenced by Kang (¶0075: BMS 50 is stably operated).
Furthermore, Wang teaches outputting a trickle charge current request to the charger (¶0023: controller controls the operation condition, indicating a charge request of a constant current; ¶0025: variable resistor 272 in first switch 270 is used to limit the current for trickle charging) according to the battery voltage detection signal (¶0027: trickle charging is performed when below a fully charged level until a fully charge level is reached).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Wang to use the design of Wang’s first switch for the trickle charge switch circuit of Nakao, and include a battery voltage detection circuit and configure the battery management assembly to communicate with the charger, and control the trickle charge switch circuit on and off in response to the battery voltage detection signal. Doing so provides a system for improving charging time for rechargeable batteries.
Regarding Claim 10, Nakao, as modified, further teaches in response to that the voltage of the battery cell assembly connected to the battery management assembly is determined to be higher than or equal to a preset voltage according to the battery voltage detection signal, controlling, by the battery management assembly, the trickle charge switch circuit to stop (Wang-¶0027: trickle charging is performed until a fully charge level is reached) and outputting a charging control signal to the main charge and discharge switch circuit to control the electrical connection between the power supply end and the battery cell assembly (Wang-normal charge or discharge control of the battery).
Conclusion
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859