DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response to the objections on the claims and the specifications have been withdrawn in view of applicants amendments filed on 06/04/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freud et al (C.N. Pub. No. 105389321) in view of Linder et al. (U.S. Doc. No. 9177082).
Regarding claim 1, Freud discloses an information processing apparatus (paragraph 4, line(s) 1-4, “Exemplary embodiments of the present invention are generally directed to an apparatus, corresponding method and computer-readable storage medium implementing a system for visualization and analysis of a complex system comprising a plurality of elements”) comprising: a processor (paragraph 7, line(s) 1-2, "According to one aspect of the exemplary embodiments, an apparatus includes a processor") configured to: generate a plurality of two-dimensional (2D) projection images from three-dimensional (3D) model data (paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”) that displays product manufacturing information about a shape of a product (paragraph 78, line(s) 8-13, "3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like. This information may convey Engineering Intent (EI), which may reflect the designer's intent on how the complex system should be manufactured, assembled, operated, maintained, etc."), the 2D projection images obtained through projection of the product in a plurality of directions (paragraph 79, line(s) 6-9, "The 2D images may include orthographic projection drawings and each page includes one or more of such drawings. In one example, each page may contain a projection view, a front view, a top view, a right side view, and/or a left side view of the element(s) of the complex system"); generate 2D drawing data by determining, in accordance with a priority order of at least two preset layout rules, a scaling factor, a sheet size, a number of sections of each sheet, and a number of sheets, and placing the generated 2D projection images on sheet regions of the determined number and the determined sheet size, the preset layout rules including (para 113, “In this example, the navigation engine may select a first navigation option for the first layout and a second navigation option for the second layout”; also, para 63, “the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).”; also, para 149, “One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12”): (i) placing, on a first sheet, a 2D projection image including product manufacturing information about a datum target, and (para 78, “3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like “; also, para 143, “page 1004 may depict a projected view of the entire aircraft exterior. Page 1006 may depict the respective wing and wing box, tail, fuselage, landing gear, engine, and door assembly“) (ii) placing, on the first sheet, 2D projection images corresponding to six basic views in accordance with a third angle projection method or a first angle projection method (para 42, “An orthographic view may depict elements in several views, i.e., from one or more angles and/or levels of detail. For example, elements may be described in terms of projection, front, top, bottom, rear, right and/or left views”; also, para 79, “The 2D images may include orthographic projection drawings and each page includes one or more of such drawings. In one example, each page may contain a projection view, a front view, a top view, a right side view, and/or a left side view of the element(s) of the complex system”); 2D projection image including the product manufacturing information about the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views are not accommodatable on the first sheet, not including at least one of the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views until the views are accommodatable on the first sheet.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Linder discloses and when the 2D projection image including the product manufacturing information about the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views are not accommodatable on the first sheet, not including at least one of the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views until the views are accommodatable on the first sheet (col 7, “The system described herein can receive a user selection of 3D models that can be used to automatically generated assembly and detail drawing booklets”; also, col 54, “The system instantiates drawing sheets from the template (step 410)”; also, col 6, “The system performs a view positioning process using the sheets and template (step 415). This step can include adding and orienting views of the drawings, applying any view rules from the template, region processing (including adding any necessary new sheets), and managing any drawing tables that must be updated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Freud's invention of generating 2D projection images from a 3D model and determining a scaling factor, a sheet size, a number of sections, and a number of sheets in accordance with a priority order of layout rules to place a datum-target view and six basic views on a first sheet, with the features of Linder's invention of automatically positioning the views onto drawing sheets and adding any necessary new sheets during region processing, such that, when the datum-target view and the six basic views are not accommodatable on the first sheet, at least one of those views is not included on the first sheet until the views are accommodatable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Freud already teaches determining "a number of sheets" and selecting layout models in which "those pages that are hierarchically higher may dominate those pages that are hierarchically lower, and wherein the width of the hierarchically higher pages may constrain the hierarchically lower pages in the x-direction.", and teaches that "the navigation system may rearrange the layout so that only those page(s) are displayed, or non-relevant page(s) are obscured or made semi-transparent", so Freud already contemplates that not every view is placed on a given sheet and that the number of sheets is determined to fit the content. First, Linder supplies the explicit automated mechanism for this result by teaching a "view positioning process" that performs "region processing (including adding any necessary new sheets)," which directly addresses the situation in which the views to be placed exceed the capacity of a sheet. Second, a person of ordinary skill arranging Freud's prioritized first-sheet views on a finite sheet would recognize that, where the datum-target view and the six basic views cannot all be accommodated, deferring at least one view until the remaining views fit and adding a further sheet as taught by Linder is a predictable application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, yielding the predictable result of a legible drawing whose views fit the available sheet area. Third, both references are directed to automatically generating multi-sheet 2D drawings from 3D models, so combining Freud's prioritized layout determination with Linder's automatic sheet-adding view-positioning process amounts to the use of a known drafting expedient to manage views that do not fit, with no change to the respective functions of either reference.
Regarding claim 2, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 1-2, "According to one aspect of the exemplary embodiments, an apparatus includes a processor") is configured to generate the 2D drawing data (paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”) by determining a scaling factor, a sheet size, a number of sections of each sheet, and a number of sheets in a step-by-step manner in accordance with a priority order of at least two layout rules (Freud: paragraph 113, line(s) 8-10, "In this example, the navigation engine may select a first navigation option for the first layout and a second navigation option for the second layout") and by placing, in accordance with the preset layout rules (Freud: paragraph 63, line(s) 1-10, "the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.)."), the generated 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 9, "generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”) on the sheet regions (Freud: paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12") of the determined number and the determined sheet size (Freud: paragraph 63, line(s) 6-10, "For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).").
Regarding claim 3, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the layout rules comprise a rule (Freud: paragraph 63, line(s) 1-10, "the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).") that the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") including the product manufacturing information (Freud: paragraph 78, line(s) 8-13, "3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like. This information may convey Engineering Intent (EI), which may reflect the designer's intent on how the complex system should be manufactured, assembled, operated, maintained, etc.") about a datum target is placed on a first page (Freud: paragraph 13, line(s) 1-2, "the apparatus may be further caused to receive a user selection of a particular point on the visual representation and transform the particular point to a particular location within a coordinate system of the complex system.").
Regarding claim 4, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the layout rules comprise a rule (Freud: paragraph 63, line(s) 1-10, "the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).") that the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") corresponding to six basic views in an orthographic projection method are placed on a first page in accordance with a third angle projection method or a first angle projection method (Freud: paragraph 42, line(s) 1-12, "An orthographic view may depict elements in several views, i.e., from one or more angles and/or levels of detail. For example, elements may be described in terms of projection, front, top, bottom, rear, right and/or left views. Also, for example, the views of the elements may be full, detailed, or cross-sectional. A full view may be considered a front view of an element and may describe the element at any angle. The detail view may depict only a portion of the element, but in greater detail and scale than the front view, while the cross-sectional view may depict a portion of the element with the remainder of the element being cut away at a cut-away plane. In one example, the portion of the element depicted in the detail view may be circled over the relevant full view; and similarly, in one example, the portion of the element depicted in the cross-sectional view may be indicated by a cut-away line in the associated overall view").
Regarding claim 5, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the layout rules (Freud: paragraph 63, line(s) 1-10, "the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).") is placed on a sheet region (Freud: paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12") having a minimum sheet size that enables each 2D projection image (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") to be accommodated at a set scaling factor (Freud: paragraph 106, line(s) 1-6, ", the highest level page 902 may be at the top and may be sized according to the full resolution of the page with its natural aspect ratio. The next highest page 904 (one or more) may be located directly below the highest page, with a size smaller than the size of the highest page, and the aspect ratio collectively constrains the next highest page (one or more) to the width of the highest page").
Regarding claim 6, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the layout rules (Freud: paragraph 63, line(s) 1-10, "the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).") is placed such that numbers of the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") to be placed on the sheet regions (paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12") of pages are equalized with respect to a predetermined range (Freud: paragraph 125, line(s) 7-9, "the visual effect applied to the theme element may have a property that varies with the value of the interest level within a predetermined range of values").
Regarding claim 7, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the layout rules comprise a rule (Freud: paragraph 63, line(s) 1-10, "the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).") that a cross-sectional view representing a cross section of a 2D projection image and/or a detailed view that is an enlarged view of a portion of the 2D projection image are placed on a sheet region of a page of the 2D projection image (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”; also, paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12").
Regarding claim 8, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 1-2, "According to one aspect of the exemplary embodiments, an apparatus includes a processor") is configured to place each of the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") by applying a plurality of rules included in the layout rules (paragraph 63, line(s) 1-10, "the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).") in accordance with a preset priority order or a priority order specified by a user (paragraph 113, line(s) 5-10, "consider that the navigation engine 502 can receive a layout of a first page and a separate layout of a second page at different times, where each layout includes a panoramic presentation arrangement of the respective pages").
Regarding claim 9, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 1-2, "According to one aspect of the exemplary embodiments, an apparatus includes a processor") is configured to place each of the 2D projection images (paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") in a scale enlarged form if a size of the product represented as a 3D model is equal to or below a predetermined threshold (paragraph 71, line(s) 1-4, "Each sub-image of the page may be generated in any of several different ways. In one example, one of the sub-images (e.g., the full resolution sub-image) may be received by tile expander 210. The tile expander may then be configured to generate further sub-images of lower resolution, for example by downsampling the full resolution sub-image").
Regarding claim 10, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4 ,“The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to generate a detailed drawing (paragraph 40, line(s) 7-12, "the assembly drawing may reflect the relationship between subsystems of a complex system, or the relationship between components of a subsystem. In one example, one or more assembly drawings accompany one or more detailed drawings of one or more components described therein. An exemplary drawing may describe the final position of an element in a complex system.") that results from enlarging a portion of a region (Freud: paragraph 72, line(s) 1-3, "above, the tile expander 210 may be configured to divide the sub-images at various zoom levels into an increasing number of tiles, each tile covering a spatial region of the sub-image at the respective zoom level.") that satisfies a preset condition (Freud: paragraph 96, line(s) 11-14, "the layout engine 408 may be configured to generate the layout according to the selected layout model and/or the dimensions, locations, and/or depths specified by the associated metadata of the pages of the layout") in each of the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") and to place the detailed drawing on the sheet region (Freud: paragraph 40, line(s) 1-7, "The drawings may graphically depict elements in various views with various levels of detail. The drawings may include detail drawings, assembly drawings, and/or installation drawings. For example, a detail drawing may describe a component, while an assembly drawing may describe a complex system or one or more of its subsystems. The assembly drawing may reflect any of several different relationships between the complex system, its subsystems, or components of its subsystems"; also, paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12").
Regarding claim 11, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to place a 2D projection image (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") on the sheet region (Freud: paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12") wherein the 2D projection image (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") is directly generated or is generated from a detailed drawing (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”) that results from enlarging a portion of a region (Freud: paragraph 42, line(s) 6-12, "The detail view may depict only a portion of the element, but in greater detail and scale than the front view, while the cross-sectional view may depict a portion of the element with the remainder of the element being cut away at a cut-away plane. In one example, the portion of the element depicted in the detail view may be circled over the relevant full view; and similarly, in one example, the portion of the element depicted in the cross-sectional view may be indicated by a cut-away line in the associated overall view") satisfying a preset condition in the 3D model data and that is added to the 3D model data (Freud: paragraph 132, line(s) 7-9, "the subject element analysis system 600, and in some examples, the GUI may include a visual representation of the application of a visual effect by the subject element analysis system"; also, paragraph 6, line(s) 1-3, "In some exemplary embodiments, the 3D model to which the visual effect is applied may be generated using multivariate, multisystem, and/or multipart display parameters").
Regarding claim 12, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to generate the detailed drawing as the region satisfying the preset condition (Freud: paragraph 121, line(s) 7-9, "The subject element identifier may then identify subject elements, such as elements having values above a particular threshold, based on the performance-based metric value"; also, paragraph 9, line(s) 1-3, "subject element may be an element of a plurality of elements that has or has had an abnormal condition indicated by data of the physical instance(s) of the complex system"; also, paragraph 42, line(s) 6-9, "The detail view may depict only a portion of the element, but in greater detail and scale than the front view, while the cross-sectional view may depict a portion of the element with the remainder of the element being cut away at a cut-away plane"; also, paragraph 142, line(s) 5-8, "the object(s) of a page at a hierarchical level can be the subject(s) of the page hierarchically below it, in one example the subject(s) are additional details about the object(s).") wherein the region satisfying the preset condition is a region that includes a portion having a reference dimension equal or below a preset value (Freud: paragraph 121, line(s) 7-9, "The subject element identifier may then identify subject elements, such as elements having values above a particular threshold, based on the performance-based metric value"; also, paragraph 127, line(s) 12-14, "Visual effects applicator 610 may assign colors to different ranges of event counts for each part identifier and apply colors to the 3D object of the part to represent the counts"; also, paragraph 137, line(s) 1-12, "The search engine 712 may be configured to identify the page(s) in a number of different manners, such as based on the associated metadata of the pages of the collection described above. As explained above, the metadata of the various pages may include the element(s) they describe, information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element (e.g., its spatial location, volumetric extent, centroid (or center of gravity), etc.) within the coordinate system of the complex system. In one example, the search engine may then identify page(s) describing the element(s), where the volumetric range of the element includes the particular location or is partially or completely near or within a defined volume of the particular location(s). In other examples, the search engine may identify page(s) that describe element(s) having point(s) (e.g., vertex (s)) or centroid(s) or center of gravity at or around the particular location(s) or within a defined volume"; also, paragraph 82, line(s) 1-4, "for each element of the 2D image description, the extracted information may include information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element, such as its spatial position, volumetric range, center of mass (or center of gravity), etc., within the coordinate system of the complex system"), a region that includes a portion having a ratio of the portion to a size of the product having a reference dimension, the ratio being equal to or below a preset value (Freud: paragraph 121, line(s) 7-9, "The subject element identifier may then identify subject elements, such as elements having values above a particular threshold, based on the performance-based metric value"; also, paragraph 137, line(s) 1-12, "The search engine 712 may be configured to identify the page(s) in a number of different manners, such as based on the associated metadata of the pages of the collection described above. As explained above, the metadata of the various pages may include the element(s) they describe, information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element (e.g., its spatial location, volumetric extent, centroid (or center of gravity), etc.) within the coordinate system of the complex system. In one example, the search engine may then identify page(s) describing the element(s), where the volumetric range of the element includes the particular location or is partially or completely near or within a defined volume of the particular location(s). In other examples, the search engine may identify page(s) that describe element(s) having point(s) (e.g., vertex (s)) or centroid(s) or center of gravity at or around the particular location(s) or within a defined volume"; also, paragraph 82, line(s) 1-4, "for each element of the 2D image description, the extracted information may include information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element, such as its spatial position, volumetric range, center of mass (or center of gravity), etc., within the coordinate system of the complex system"), or a region that has a density of a portion having a specified reference dimension, the density being equal to or above a preset value (Freud: paragraph 121, line(s) 7-9, "The subject element identifier may then identify subject elements, such as elements having values above a particular threshold, based on the performance-based metric value"; also, paragraph 82, line(s) 1-4, "for each element of the 2D image description, the extracted information may include information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element, such as its spatial position, volumetric range, center of mass (or center of gravity), etc., within the coordinate system of the complex system").
Regarding claim 13, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to place each of the generated 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”) on the sheet region (Freud: paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12") such that the generated 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”) do not touch each other or do not touch a drawing frame that is printed as an outline frame of the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”; also, paragraph 96, line(s) 2-14, "In the layout arrangement, each of the pages has a specific size, position and/or depth (z-axis order). The size, position, and/or depth of each page of the layout may be absolute or relative to the other page(s) of the layout, and may be specified or determined in a number of different ways. In one example, the above-described size, location, and/or depth may be specified or otherwise determined according to the definition of a selected one of the layout models. Alternatively or additionally, for example, the associated metadata for each page of the layout may provide information specifying the size, position and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page in the layout, as explained above. In these examples, the layout engine 408 may be configured to generate the layout according to the selected layout model and/or the dimensions, locations, and/or depths specified by the associated metadata of the pages of the layout"; also, paragraph 102, line(s) 3-6, "the brick wall layout model may be characterized as: consistent end-to-end orientation, wherein the page size is consistent and/or the aspect ratio is consistent along one or more rows and/or one or more columns.").
Regarding claim 14, Freud as modified by Linder discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to divide the sheet region into a plurality of regions (Freud: paragraph 69, line(s) 1-4, "the tile unfolder 210 may be configured to divide the sub-images at various zoom levels into an increasing number of tiles, each tile covering a spatial region of the sub-image at a respective zoom level"; also, paragraph 74, line(s) 4-9, "a region of a page covered by one tile in one zoom level may be covered by multiple tiles (e.g., four) in an adjacent higher zoom level, resulting in an increase in resolution of the corresponding region of the page. And a region of the page covered by multiple tiles in one zoom level may be covered by one tile in an adjacent lower zoom level, resulting in a reduced resolution of the corresponding region of the page") and place respectively the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 13, line(s) 8-16, "the associated metadata providing structural information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element within a coordinate system of the complex system. And the apparatus may be further caused to generate a layout of the panorama presentation layout image of the document component including the first document component. And the layout may include one or more second document components identified according to associated metadata, the associated metadata providing structural information that further identifies the association between the first document component and the one or more second document components."; also, paragraph 79, line(s) 6-9, "each page may contain a projection view, a front view, a top view, a right side view, and/or a left side view of the element(s) of the complex system"; also, paragraph 143; line(s) 1-3, "page 1004 may depict a projected view of the entire aircraft exterior. Page 1006 may depict the respective wing and wing box, tail, fuselage, landing gear, engine, and door assembly.") on the regions.
Regarding claim 15, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to determine whether the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") have touched each other, by converting graphic components included in a 2D projection image described in a vector code format into image data in a raster format and performing touch determination as to whether touching has occurred in the image data of the graphic components in the raster format (Freud: paragraph 64, line(s) 4, "by detail overlap (overlap depth), by depth master-slave"; also, paragraph 96, line(s) 2-6, "In the layout arrangement, each of the pages has a specific size, position and/or depth (z-axis order). The size, position, and/or depth of each page of the layout may be absolute or relative to the other page(s) of the layout, and may be specified or determined in a number of different ways"; also, paragraph 66, line(s) 13-14, "the relative depth may be given only by an indication that the page is in front of or behind other page(s) in the layout model.": also, paragraph 66, line(s) 6-8, "the absolute position of the page may be given in x and y coordinates across a coordinate system of the layout model and/or the absolute depth may be given in z coordinates of the coordinate system"; also, paragraph 66, line(s) 10-12, "the relative position may be given simply by an indication above, below, to the left, or to the right of a point or other page(s) in the layout model"; also, paragraph 77, line(s) 4-8, "a 3D model may represent a complex system as a set of "primitives," such as a set of edges, faces, points (e.g., vertices), etc., that may be arranged into polygons or other arithmetically-derived structures to reflect the geometry of surfaces, volumetric extents, or elements of the respective complex system"; also, paragraph 79, line(s) 1-3, "The visualization engine 302 can interpret a 3D model of a complex system and is configured to generate one or more pages (electronic document components) containing 2D images describing elements of the complex system"; also, paragraph 30, line(s) 8-14, "Examples of suitable types of documents include computer-aided design documents (e.g., CAD, CATDRAWING, CATPArt, CATPRODUCT, CATPROCESS, cgr, DWG, DXF, DWF, etc.), text-based documents (e.g., ANS, ASC, DOC, DOCX, HTML, PDF, RTF, TXT, WPD, etc.), presentation documents (e.g., PDP, PPT, etc.), graphics documents (e.g., BMP, GIF, JPEG, JP2, PNG, PSD, PSP, RAW, TIFF, etc.), video documents (e.g., AVI, MPEG, QuickTime, WMV, etc.), and so forth.").
Regarding claim 16, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to notify a user of an occurrence of touching of the 2D projection images or eliminate the touching by moving one of the 2D projection images determined as being in touch with each other or by reducing a whole of the 2D projection images in scale or by shortening a portion of the 2D projection images (Freud: paragraph 117, line(s) 1-9, "The prompt options may allow one or more visual effects to be applied to one or more pages to draw the user's attention to those page(s) in the layout. The visual effect may be any of several different effects. Examples of suitable visual effects include an opaque or translucent border of an apparent color (e.g., yellow) around the page(s); an opaque or translucent visual object or shape that is smaller than and covers the page(s); or a translucent visual object or shape equal in size or larger than the page(s) and covering the page, etc. Examples of other suitable visual effects include an increase in the size of the page(s), an animation applied to the page(s), and so forth."; also, paragraph 118, line(s) 1-12, "The visual effect(s) may be triggered in any of a number of different ways, such as may be triggered by the page(s) to which the effect(s) are applied. For example, visual effect(s) may be triggered to indicate selection of one or more pages. In this example, the visual effect(s) may be applied to the selected page(s). Additionally or alternatively, in this example, the visual effect(s) may be applied to the page(s) having a particular logical relationship (e.g., sharing the same document, subject and/or object, adjacency, object-subject, subject-object, parent-child, reference or contact, user designation, etc.) with the selected page(s). In another example, visual effect(s) may be applied to the page(s) to indicate the navigation path followed by the user. For further details regarding these and other examples of suitable navigation options, see at least the aforementioned' 964 application.", also, paragraph 129, line(s) 1-12, "The visual representation of this aspect of the exemplary embodiment and the visual effect of the application can have analytical capabilities, for example, by determining one or more hot spots on a complex system. Particularly the primary location or element of interest is more easily seen visually than in an attempt to visualize them in the form of a textual report. This capability may enable analysts to easily identify patterns, trends, and significant problems. In a suitable surround 3D background, observing the visual effects applied to the visual representation of the 3D model may enable an analyst to more easily identify very subtle logical connections between pieces of information that may not otherwise be apparent. This ability can enhance the ability of analysts to use information and intelligence to troubleshoot, discover improved opportunities for products, and improve product safety, among other things."; also, paragraph 99, line(s) 6-7, "the layout engine may thus be further configured to receive a request to retrieve a different panorama presentation arrangement for the page"; also, paragraph 99, line(s) 10-13, "This may include the layout engine being configured to panoramically rearrange the search pages according to the selected different layout models and associated metadata of the search pages"; also, paragraph 112, line(s) 5-7, "The navigation engine may then be further configured to respond to the request and make an adjustment of the visual representation of the layout in accordance with the request"; also, paragraph 112, line(s) 10-12, "In another example, the navigation engine may be configured to make adjustments to the visual representation, including adjustments to the layout."; also, paragraph 150, line(s) 6-7, "the navigation system may rearrange the layout so that only those page(s) are displayed, or non-relevant page(s) are obscured or made semi-transparent."; also, paragraph 105, line(s) 4-7, "Those pages that are hierarchically higher may dominate those pages that are hierarchically lower, and wherein the width of the hierarchically higher pages may constrain the hierarchically lower pages in the x-direction.").
Regarding to claim 17, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to, if the 2D projection image (Freud: paragraph 79, line(s) 6, "2D images may include orthographic projection") is generated in accordance with the 3D model data (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”), correct in advance a display setting of the product manufacturing information in the 3D model data (Freud: paragraph 78, line(s) 1-15, "The 3D model may include information that may indicate the design type of the model (e.g., artistic concept, preliminary design, release design, etc.). The 3D model may include information (e.g., name, number, quantity, source, location, related elements) similar to the list of information described above regarding the complex system and/or one or more elements thereof. The 3D model may further include additional information, which may constitute model definition (MBD) based additional information for the complex system in some examples using the 3D model. For example, the 3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like. This information may convey Engineering Intent (EI), which may reflect the designer's intent on how the complex system should be manufactured, assembled, operated, maintained, etc. In various examples, this additional information may be provided directly in the 3D model or metadata associated with the 3D model")such that the display setting of the production manufacturing information displayed in the generated 2D projection image is optimized in a 2D drawing (Freud: paragraph 97, line(s) 2-6,"the layout model may specify or otherwise define, for each of the one or more pages, an aspect ratio that is different from the natural aspect ratio of the respective page. In these instances, the layout engine 408 may be further configured to generate the layout according to the different unnatural aspect ratio(s) of the page(s)"; also, paragraph 71, line(s) 3-5, "The tile expander may then be configured to generate further sub-images of lower resolution, for example by downsampling the full resolution sub-image."; also, paragraph 145, line(s) 1-6, "as the user activates control 1110 to focus on portion 1012 of the layout, the size of page 1004 and 1008 may increase, which in one example may include replacing sub-images of page 1004 and 1006 with corresponding higher resolution sub-images. The resolution of the sub-images may allow a user to interpret substantially all of the presented media content").
Regarding claim 18, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to, when the generated 2D drawing data and the 3D model data (Freud: paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”) are displayed and if the product manufacturing information on a first piece of data of the 2D drawing data and the 3D model data is selected, modify a display form of the product manufacturing information on a second piece of data of the 2D drawing data and the 3D model data (Freud: paragraph 28, line(s) 7-10, "the system may include a document collection system 102, a3D model collection system 104, a document layout system 106, a document navigation system 108, a topic element analysis system 110, and/or a space-based search system 112."; also, paragraph 147, line(s) 1-3, "FIG. 13 shows an example of a GUI having a predetermined visible area 1300 in which a visual representation 1302 of a3D model of an aircraft is displayed"; also, paragraph 149, line(s) 1-3, "Fig. 14 and 15 again present the exemplary layouts shown in fig. 10-12, but in another example the layouts are presented along with fields or controls for performing a search (e.g., via a space-based search) of elements of an aircraft"; also, paragraph 149, line(s) 5-8, "One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout, similar to the visible region described above with respect to fig. 10-12"; also, paragraph 49, line(s) 6-11, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model. In one example, the 3D model collection system may then communicate these 2D derivatives to the document collection system as system-related documents "; also, paragraph 95, line(s) 1-5, "In various examples, a layout may include at least some pages of a 2D derivative of a3D model of a complex system without any other pages not generated by the 3D model. In other examples, the layout may include at least some pages of a 2D derivative of a3D model of the complex system, and may also include one or more other pages that are not generated from the 3D model"; also, paragraph 78, line(s) 8-11, "the 3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like"; also, paragraph 81, line(s) 3-8, "the data extractor may be configured to receive a page containing a 2D image describing a complex system element and extract information from the 3D model related to the element(s) described by the respective 2D image(s). The extracted information may include any of a variety of information within the 3D model, as described above."; also, paragraph 83, line(s) 5-7, "the data extractor may be configured to generate 2D derivative(s) of the 3D model, wherein each 2D derivative comprises one or more pages of the 2D image(s) and associated metadata"; also, paragraph 13, line(s) 1-6, "the apparatus may be further caused to receive a user selection of a particular point on the visual representation and transform the particular point to a particular location within a coordinate system of the complex system. In these examples, the apparatus may be further caused to identify a first document component that describes an element of the complex system at, within, or at least partially within a volume proximate to the particular location"; also, paragraph 13, line(s) 10-14, "And the apparatus may be further caused to generate a layout of the panorama presentation layout image of the document component including the first document component. And the layout may include one or more second document components identified according to associated metadata"; also, paragraph 132, line(s) 9-12, "The model viewer may be configured to receive a user selection of a particular point on the visual representation of the 3D model, and to map or otherwise translate the particular point to a particular location on the complex system."; also, paragraph 86, line(s) 5-7, ", in response to the request, the search engine may be configured to search the metadata storage 406 for associated metadata including one or more pages of media content that match or are relevant to the request"; also, paragraph 139, line(s) 1-4, "the layout engine 718 (or the layout engine 408 in communication with the space-based search system 700) may be configured to generate a layout of the retrieved pages of the panoramic presentation arrangement "; also, paragraph 118, line(s) 3-9, "visual effect(s) may be triggered to indicate selection of one or more pages. In this example, the visual effect(s) may be applied to the selected page(s). Additionally or alternatively, in this example, the visual effect(s) may be applied to the page(s) having a particular logical relationship (e.g., sharing the same document, subject and/or object, adjacency, object-subject, subject-object, parent-child, reference or contact, user designation, etc.) with the selected page(s)."; also, paragraph 150, line(s) 9-13, "the search results can contain pages in portion 1406 of the layout, and the user can activate control 1010 to focus on the respective portion. FIG. 15 shows one example of results of navigating a layout in this manner, and where a border may be applied around a corresponding page 1502 of search results"; also, paragraph 13, line(s) 7-10, "the first document component may have associated metadata and may be identified based on the associated metadata, the associated metadata providing structural information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element within a coordinate system of the complex system"; also, paragraph 13, line(s) 12-16, "And the layout may include one or more second document components identified according to associated metadata, the associated metadata providing structural information that further identifies the association between the first document component and the one or more second document components."; also, paragraph 127, line(s) 15-18, "In some examples, there may also be any number of tables and/or databases containing information about the components, at least some of which may be presented with a visual representation of the 3D model including the visual effects of the application").
Regarding claim 19, Freud as modified by Linder discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor (Freud: paragraph 7, line(s) 3-4, “The system may comprise one or more processors”) is configured to, if the product manufacturing information on a first piece data of the 2D drawing data and the 3D model data is selected (Freud: paragraph 13, line(s) 1-4, "the apparatus may be further caused to receive a user selection of a particular point on the visual representation and transform the particular point to a particular location within a coordinate system of the complex system"; also, paragraph 78, line(s) 8-11, "the 3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like"; also, paragraph 81, line(s) 3-8, ", the data extractor may be configured to receive a page containing a 2D image describing a complex system element and extract information from the 3D model related to the element(s) described by the respective 2D image(s). The extracted information may include any of a variety of information within the 3D model, as described above"), output to outside not only information identifying the product manufacturing information on a second piece of data of the 2D drawing data and the 3D model data but also a set of the 2D drawing data and the 3D model data (Freud: paragraph 13, line(s) 4-10, "the apparatus may be further caused to identify a first document component that describes an element of the complex system at, within, or at least partially within a volume proximate to the particular location. In this regard, the first document component may have associated metadata and may be identified based on the associated metadata, the associated metadata providing structural information reflecting the 3D geometry of the element within a coordinate system of the complex system"; also, paragraph 61, line(s) 8-11, "this information may include, for each of one or more elements, information reflecting the 3D geometry of that element (e.g., its spatial location, volumetric extent, centroid (or center of gravity), etc.) within the complex system coordinate system"; also, paragraph 118, line(s) 3-5, "visual effect(s) may be triggered to indicate selection of one or more pages. In this example, the visual effect(s) may be applied to the selected page(s)"; also, paragraph 150, line(s) 11-13, "FIG. 15 shows one example of results of navigating a layout in this manner, and where a border may be applied around a corresponding page 1502 of search results"; also, paragraph 127, line(s) 15-18, ". In some examples, there may also be any number of tables and/or databases containing information about the components, at least some of which may be presented with a visual representation of the 3D model including the visual effects of the application."; also, paragraph 13, line(s) 10-16, ". And the apparatus may be further caused to generate a layout of the panorama presentation layout image of the document component including the first document component. And the layout may include one or more second document components identified according to associated metadata, the associated metadata providing structural information that further identifies the association between the first document component and the one or more second document components"; also, paragraph 94, line(s) 6-8, "The layout engine may then be configured to communicate the layout to a printer, such as a GUI (in which the layout is displayed) or a printout that generates the layout."; also paragraph 147, line(s) 1-3, "FIG. 13 shows an example of a GUI having a predetermined visible area 1300 in which a visual representation 1302 of a3D model of an aircraft is displayed"; also, paragraph 149, line(s) 4-7, "the GUI may divide its entire visible area 1400 into a plurality of panes to present the respective information. One of the panes can be or otherwise contain a visible region 1402 similar to the visible region 1000 used to render the page layout").
Regarding claim 20, Freud as modified by Linder discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process, the process comprising (paragraph 155, line(s) 11-15, "a computer-readable transmission medium as a non-transitory device capable of storing information, such as an electronic short-time signal capable of transmitting information from one place to another. Computer-readable media described herein generally refers to computer-readable storage media or computer-readable transmission media."; also, paragraph 154, line(s) 5-7, "the processor may be configured to execute a computer program, which may be stored on the processor or otherwise in memory "): generating a plurality of two-dimensional (2D) projection images from three-dimensional (3D) model data that displays product manufacturing information about a shape of a product, the 2D projection images obtained through projection of the product in multiple directions (paragraph 49, line(s) 7-9, "The 3D model collection system 104 may generally be configured to receive a digital 3D representation (model) of a complex system and generate one or more two-dimensional (2D) derivatives from the 3D model”; also, paragraph 78, line(s) 8-13, "3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like. This information may convey Engineering Intent (EI), which may reflect the designer's intent on how the complex system should be manufactured, assembled, operated, maintained, etc."; also, paragraph 79, line(s) 6-9, "The 2D images may include orthographic projection drawings and each page includes one or more of such drawings. In one example, each page may contain a projection view, a front view, a top view, a right side view, and/or a left side view of the element(s) of the complex system"); generating 2D drawing data by determining, in accordance with a priority order of at least two preset layout rules, a scaling factor, a sheet size, a number of sections of each sheet, and a number of sheets, and placing the generated 2D projection images on sheet regions of the determined number and the determined sheet size, the preset layout rules including (para 113, “In this example, the navigation engine may select a first navigation option for the first layout and a second navigation option for the second layout”; also, para 63, “the synthesis of pages may further include a synthesizer 204 configured to identify one or more layout models for at least some of the pages. In this example, the associated metadata extracted, generated, or otherwise provided by the integrator for the pages may further include information specifying the arrangement of the respective page in each of one or more of the layout models. For the respective layout model, this information may include, for example, specifying the size, position, and/or depth (Z-axis order) of the page (or more specifically its visual representation). The layout model(s) may be identified and may specify size, location, and/or depth in a number of different manners (e.g., according to one or more business rules, logic, etc.).”): (i) placing, on a first sheet, a 2D projection image including product manufacturing information about a datum target (para 78, “3D model may include Product Manufacturing Information (PMI), such as geometric dimensions and tolerances (GD & T), material specifications, part inventories, process specifications, inspection requirements, and the like”; also, para 143, “page 1004 may depict a projected view of the entire aircraft exterior. Page 1006 may depict the respective wing and wing box, tail, fuselage, landing gear, engine, and door assembly”), and (ii) placing, on the first sheet, 2D projection images corresponding to six basic views in accordance with a third angle projection method or a first angle projection method (para 42, “An orthographic view may depict elements in several views, i.e., from one or more angles and/or levels of detail. For example, elements may be described in terms of projection, front, top, bottom, rear, right and/or left views”; also, para 79, “The 2D images may include orthographic projection drawings and each page includes one or more of such drawings. In one example, each page may contain a projection view, a front view, a top view, a right side view, and/or a left side view of the element(s) of the complex system”); 2D projection image including the product manufacturing information about the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views are not accommodatable on the first sheet, not including at least one of the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views until the views are accommodatable on the first sheet.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Linder discloses and when the 2D projection image including the product manufacturing information about the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views are not accommodatable on the first sheet, not including at least one of the datum target and the 2D projection images corresponding to the six basic views until the views are accommodatable on the first sheet (col 7, “The system described herein can receive a user selection of 3D models that can be used to automatically generated assembly and detail drawing booklets”; also, col 6, “The system instantiates drawing sheets from the template (step 410)”; also, col 6, “The system performs a view positioning process using the sheets and template (step 415). This step can include adding and orienting views of the drawings, applying any view rules from the template, region processing (including adding any necessary new sheets), and managing any drawing tables that must be updated”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Freud's invention of generating 2D projection images from a 3D model and determining a scaling factor, a sheet size, a number of sections, and a number of sheets in accordance with a priority order of layout rules to place a datum-target view and six basic views on a first sheet, with the features of Linder's invention of automatically positioning the views onto drawing sheets and adding any necessary new sheets during region processing, such that, when the datum-target view and the six basic views are not accommodatable on the first sheet, at least one of those views is not included on the first sheet until the views are accommodatable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Freud already teaches determining "a number of sheets" and selecting layout models in which "those pages that are hierarchically higher may dominate those pages that are hierarchically lower, and wherein the width of the hierarchically higher pages may constrain the hierarchically lower pages in the x-direction." (paragraph 105, lines 4-7), and teaches that "the navigation system may rearrange the layout so that only those page(s) are displayed, or non-relevant page(s) are obscured or made semi-transparent" (paragraph 150, lines 6-7), so Freud already contemplates that not every view is placed on a given sheet and that the number of sheets is determined to fit the content. First, Linder supplies the explicit automated mechanism for this result by teaching a "view positioning process" that performs "region processing (including adding any necessary new sheets)," which directly addresses the situation in which the views to be placed exceed the capacity of a sheet. Second, a person of ordinary skill arranging Freud's prioritized first-sheet views on a finite sheet would recognize that, where the datum-target view and the six basic views cannot all be accommodated, deferring at least one view until the remaining views fit and adding a further sheet as taught by Linder is a predictable application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, yielding the predictable result of a legible drawing whose views fit the available sheet area. Third, both references are directed to automatically generating multi-sheet 2D drawings from 3D models, so combining Freud's prioritized layout determination with Linder's automatic sheet-adding view-positioning process amounts to the use of a known drafting expedient to manage views that do not fit, with no change to the respective functions of either reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Freud, Applicant's amendments to independent claims 1 and 20 are persuasive to the extent that Freud does not, by itself, disclose the newly added limitation directed to, when the datum-target view and the six basic views are not accommodatable on the first sheet, not including at least one of those views until the views are accommodatable on the first sheet. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendment, a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Freud in view of Linder is set forth above.
Based on the remarks on pages 7-8, applicant argues that Freud discloses only generic page-layout and page-metadata, and does not teach determining drawing parameters in accordance with a priority order of preset layout rules that specifically include first-sheet placement of a datum-target view and first-sheet placement of six basic views in a third or first angle projection method, nor the fit-adjustment in which at least one view is not included until the views are accommodatable on the first sheet. This argument is not persuasive as applied to the new ground of rejection. As maintained from the prior Office action, Freud discloses determining the size, position, scaling, and number of pages in accordance with selected layout models that are applied per a priority of navigation options, placing on a first page a projected view bearing product manufacturing information including geometric dimensions and tolerances, and placing on a page orthographic views including the front, top, bottom, rear, right, and left views, which under the broadest reasonable interpretation are the six basic views arranged in accordance with a standard first angle or third angle projection convention. The argument does not identify any claim language that distinguishes over these specific teachings, and the generality of an applied reference does not negate its express disclosures.
With respect to the fit-adjustment limitation, Applicant is correct that Freud alone does not expressly recite that result, which is why the rejection is now made under 35 U.S.C. 103 rather than 35 U.S.C. 102. As set forth above in the rejection of claims 1 and 20. Linder teaches an automated view-positioning process that performs "region processing (including adding any necessary new sheets)," and Freud independently teaches determining a number of sheets and displaying only some pages while obscuring others. It would have been obvious, for the reasons given above, to defer at least one of the prioritized first-sheet views and add a further sheet when those views cannot all be accommodated on the first sheet, so that the views are accommodatable. The combination relies on each reference for what it teaches and produces no more than the predictable result of fitting drawing views to available sheet area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAI W LI/Junior Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613