DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
1. This office action is in response to communications filed 2/13/2026 Claims 1, 7, 8, 19, 20 are amended. Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, are original. Claims are previously presented. Claims 4 and 18 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-17, 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102111457 B1, Cho [English Translation Provided] in view of U.S. Patent 8508331 Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) further in view of U.S. Patent 2020/0103963 Kelly et al. (hereinafter Kelly).
2. Regarding Claim 1, Cho discloses A low-power control method (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power) performed in a power control module (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power) in which electronic devices comprising a first electronic device (Fig. 13B: electronic device 200 [e.g. TV]) and one or more second electronic devices are registered (Fig. 13B: mobile terminal 100 [e.g. smartphone]), the low-power (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power, page 23, para 3, user's privacy [i.e., registered]) control method comprising:
in response to receiving an operation signal of the first electronic device outputting a content over a first display (abstract, a user's convenience is provided because content screens output to a plurality of devices are simultaneously displayed on one device according to the user's gaze movement. Page 26 para 10, A wireless signal for converting at least one of the screen and sound of the electronic device 200 into an inactive state. The external electronic device 200 may deactivate at least one of a screen and a sound state according to the received wireless signal);
obtaining interest information including an interest level toward the effective devices (page 26, para 10, when the user's gaze [e.g. interest information] with respect to the connected external electronic device 200 is detected to be moved within a predetermined range based on the display unit 151 [e.g. towards mobile 100 effective device] ,exceeds a preset time [e.g. interest level] , the connected external A wireless signal for converting at least one of the screen and sound of the electronic device 200 into an inactive state may be transmitted to the connected external electronic device) ; and
activating a low-power setting for the first electronic device based on the interest information toward the interested device (page 26 para 10, The external electronic device 200 may deactivate [e.g. power saving, see page 27 para 6] a screen, see fig. 13B).
However, Cho does not explicitly disclose detecting a plural number of effective devices in which an activity change occurs in the service area from among the second electronic devices
determining an interested device as an effective device having a highest interest level from among the detected plural number of effective devices having an interest level;
Lee teaches detecting a plural number of effective devices (Col. 4 line 17, electronic devices, see fig. 2, Lee inherently treats multiple devices as “effective devices” because each is capable of outputting content or entering a power-controlling state) in which an activity change occurs (Col. 1 lines13-14, “electronic device having an energy saving function”) in the service area from among the second electronic devices (see Fig. 2: 100 DTV, fridge, washing machine, etc.)
determining an interested device as an effective device having a highest interest level from among the detected plural number of effective devices having an interest level (Fig. 2, 3; Col. 15 lines 11-14, “the controller 180 may select a replacement electronic device [i.e. ranking mechanism]consuming least power for outputting the contents, a replacement electronic device most often selected by the user [i.e., highest user interest], the portable terminal which is an electronic device designated by the user”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Cho with the teachings of Lee in order to improve device selection and power management among multiple electronic devices.
Lee may not teach effective device having a highest interest level/gaze-based interest ranking
Kelly teaches effective device having a highest interest level/gaze-based interest ranking (Fig. 6A, 6B, Fig. 7: block 704-70; [0203], “the duration of the contact is used in determining the characteristic intensity (e.g., when the characteristic intensity is an average of the intensity of the contact over time).” [0213]-[0214], “duration of the gaze in the direction of electronic device 600 for greater than a non-zero, predetermined period of time (e.g., a couple seconds).” [0253], “the user (e.g., 602) does not break a gaze directed at the electronic device (e.g., 600) for more than a threshold duration (e.g., a non-zero duration) between activation of the digital assistant and the completion of the audio user input request.”
It would have been obvious to utilize the gaze-based attention evaluation of Kelly within the system of Cho and Lee to determine an effective device having a highest interest level, thereby improving prioritization of devices and reducing erroneous or unintended device selection.
3. Regarding Claim 2, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the interest level is determined based on at least one of duration of an input interaction of at least one of a touch input, a remote control input, or a typing input that occurs in the effective device, or an eye gaze detected by the effective device (Page 27 para 3, when the user's gaze is fixed only to the display unit 151 and 10 seconds have elapsed), a power consumption amount of a task performed in the effective device (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power by darkening the brightness of the screen of the video display device 200. Page 27 para 3, the first signal for slightly adjusting the brightness of the screen displayed on the external electronic device 200 is transmitted, and after that, 10 seconds is further increased. When it passes, a second signal for adjusting the brightness of the screen displayed on the external electronic device 200 to be very dark may be transmitted); or a type of a content playing in the effective device (Claimed in the alternative).
4. Regarding Claim 3, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the determining of the effective device comprises:
detecting the effective device in which an activity change occurs in the service area from among the second electronic devices (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power by darkening the brightness of the screen of the video display device 200. Page 27 para 3, the first signal for slightly adjusting the brightness of the screen displayed on the external electronic device 200 is transmitted, and after that, 10 seconds is further increased. When it passes, a second signal for adjusting the brightness of the screen displayed on the external electronic device 200 to be very dark may be transmitted).
5. Regarding Claim 5, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the determining of the interested device based on the number of effective devices comprises:
based on there being one effective device (mobile terminal 100 or electronic device 200 [T.V.]), determining the effective device as the interested device corresponding to the user (Fig. 13B); and
based on there being a plurality of effective devices (mobile terminal 100 or electronic device 200 [T.V.]), determining one of the effective devices as the interested device based on an interest level toward each of the effective devices (page 26, para 10, when the user's gaze [e.g. interest information] with respect to the connected external electronic device 200 is detected to be moved within a predetermined range based on the display unit 151 [e.g. towards mobile 100 effective device]).
6. Regarding Claim 6, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the activating of the low-power setting comprises:
based on there being one effective device (Fig. 13b: user gazing mobile terminal 100), activating the low-power setting for the first electronic device (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power by darkening the brightness of the screen of the video display device 200), irrespective of whether a viewing angle calculated from the interested device through communication between the interested device and the first electronic device matches the first electronic device (claimed in the alternative).
7. Regarding Claim 9, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the activating of the low-power setting comprises: activating the low-power setting by any one of or a combination of a setting to lower backlight of the first display (page 15 para 7, liquid crystal panel having a plurality of backlight lamps), a setting to lower a content playing quality of the content output from the first display, a setting to lower a sound of the first electronic device, a setting to activate a power-saving mode of the first electronic device, and a setting to turn off power of the first electronic device (claimed in the alternatives).
8. Regarding Claim 10, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the activating of the low-power setting comprises:
activating the low-power setting for the first electronic device irrespective of whether a screen timeout time specified for the first display has elapsed (page 26 para 9, The external electronic device 200 may deactivate at least one of a screen [power saving, page 26 para 6] and a sound state according to the received wireless signal.
9. Regarding Claim 11, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the activating of the low-power setting comprises: adjusting at least one of an intensity (page 26, controller 180 adjusts the brightness of the screen) or an application range of the low-power setting for the first electronic device based on the interest information (claimed in the alternative).
10. Regarding Claim 12, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the activating of the low-power setting comprises: determining a level of association between a second content displayed on an interested device (Fig. 10A: content from mobile terminal 100 displayed on TV which user is viewing) and a first content displayed on the first electronic device (Fig. 10A: 1010b content displayed on TV); and determining whether to activate the low-power setting for the first electronic device based on the determined level of association (Page 27 para 3, the first signal for slightly adjusting the brightness of the screen displayed on the external electronic device 200 is transmitted, and after that, 10 seconds is further increased. When it passes, a second signal for adjusting the brightness of the screen displayed on the external electronic device 200 to be very dark may be transmitted).
11. Regarding Claim 13, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 12,
Cho discloses wherein the determining of the level of association comprises: determining the level of association based on at least one of whether meta information of the first content matches a keyword input to the interested device, a similarity between the meta information of the first content and meta information of the second content, or whether the second content is playing on the first electronic device through screen mirroring (Fig. 10a; page 22 para 8, first screen information 1010a and the second screen information 1010b are simultaneously output to the external electronic device 200 connected to the mobile terminal 100, (1011) the contents of the SMS message received in the connected external electronic device (200) are transmitted to the connected electronic device (200) via the message "What are you doing today? 1011 are displayed in the area where the first screen information 1010a is output).
12. Regarding Claim 14, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the activating of the low-power setting comprises:
activating the low-power setting for the first electronic device based on whether a user interaction specified by applying an intent of the user to activate the low-power setting occurs in an interested device (page 26, para 10, when the user's gaze [e.g. interest information] with respect to the connected external electronic device 200 is detected to be moved within a predetermined range based on the display unit 151 [e.g. towards mobile 100 effective device] ,exceeds a preset time [e.g. interest level]).
13. Regarding Claim 15, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses further comprising: based on the low-power setting being activated in the first electronic device Page 26 para 10, A wireless signal for converting at least one of the screen and sound of the electronic device 200 into an inactive state. The external electronic device 200 may deactivate at least one of a screen and a sound state according to the received wireless signal), deactivating the activated low-power setting for the first electronic device, based on whether a specified input occurs in any one of the first electronic device and an interested device ([page 27 para 2, the brightness level of the screen may be set through user input).
14. Regarding Claim 16, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 15,
Cho discloses wherein the specified input comprises at least one of:
a remote control (Fig. 11B: remote control 300) input instructing at least one of a channel change (page 10, para 7, channel selected by a user), a volume change, or a power-saving mode cancel button of the first electronic device (claimed in the alternative); or
an input that occurs in the interested device and requests a change of the activated low-power setting to an inactive state, and a departure of an eye gaze for a specified time or more detected by the interested device (claimed in the alternative).
15. Regarding Claim 19, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that,
when executed by at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Page 27 para 8, code readable by a processor on a medium on which a program is recorded. Examples of the medium readable by the processor include ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, magnetic tape, floppy disk, optical data storage device), cause the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, to perform the operations of claim 1.
16. Regarding Claim 20, Cho discloses A power control module (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power) for low-power control of electronic devices in a service area in which the electronic devices comprising a first electronic device (Fig. 13B: electronic device 200) and one or more second electronic devices ((Fig. 13B: mobile terminal 100) are registered, the power control module (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power) comprising:
a communication interface comprising circuitry configured to receive an operation signal of the first electronic device (electronic device 200 [e.g. TV]) outputting a content over a first display (Fig. 5: tuner 210 of electronic device 200 [e.g. TV]);
at least one processor (Fig. 5: control unit 250) comprising processor circuitry configured individually and/or collectively to:
in response to reception of the operation signal, obtain interest information including an interest level toward the effective device (page 26, para 10, when the user's gaze [e.g. interest information] with respect to the connected external electronic device 200 is detected to be moved within a predetermined range based on the display unit 151 [e.g. towards mobile 100 effective device] ,exceeds a preset time [e.g. interest level] , the connected external A wireless signal for converting at least one of the screen and sound of the electronic device 200 into an inactive state may be transmitted to the connected external electronic device), and
activate a low-power setting for the first electronic device based on the interest information toward the interested device (Fig. 13B; Page 27 para 3, when the user's gaze is fixed [e.g. interest information] only to the display unit 151 and 10 seconds have elapsed, reduce power for TV); and
a memory configured to store the interest information (Page 3 para 10, the mobile terminal 100 may request to transmit pre-stored data to a server or to transmit data to the video display device 200 through a server. Page 26, para 8, mobile terminal to a saving mode based on a user's gaze).
However, Cho does not explicitly disclose detecting a plural number of effective devices in which an activity change occurs in the service area from among the second electronic devices
determining an interested device as an effective device having a highest interest level from among the detected plural number of effective devices having an interest level;
Lee teaches detecting a plural number of effective devices (Col. 4 line 17, electronic devices, see fig. 2, Lee inherently treats multiple devices as “effective devices” because each is capable of outputting content or entering a power-controlling state) in which an activity change occurs (Col. 1 lines13-14, “electronic device having an energy saving function”) in the service area from among the second electronic devices (see Fig. 2: 100 DTV, fridge, washing machine, etc.)
determining an interested device as an effective device having a highest interest level from among the detected plural number of effective devices having an interest level (Fig. 2, 3; Col. 15 lines 11-14, “the controller 180 may select a replacement electronic device [i.e. ranking mechanism]consuming least power for outputting the contents, a replacement electronic device most often selected by the user [i.e., highest user interest], the portable terminal which is an electronic device designated by the user”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Cho with the teachings of Lee in order to improve device selection and power management among multiple electronic devices.
Lee may not teach effective device having a highest interest level/gaze-based interest ranking
Kelly teaches effective device having a highest interest level/gaze-based interest ranking F9g. 6A, 6B, Fig. 7: block 704-70; [0203], “the duration of the contact is used in determining the characteristic intensity (e.g., when the characteristic intensity is an average of the intensity of the contact over time).” [0213]-[0214], “duration of the gaze in the direction of electronic device 600 for greater than a non-zero, predetermined period of time (e.g., a couple seconds).” [0253], “the user (e.g., 602) does not break a gaze directed at the electronic device (e.g., 600) for more than a threshold duration (e.g., a non-zero duration) between activation of the digital assistant and the completion of the audio user input request.”
It would have been obvious to utilize the gaze-based attention evaluation of Kelly within the system of Cho and Lee to determine an effective device having a highest interest level, thereby improving prioritization of devices and reducing erroneous or unintended device selection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application 2003/0105983 Brakmo et al. (hereinafter Brakmo).
18. Regarding Claim 8, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
However, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly does not disclose wherein the activating of the low-power setting comprises:
obtaining approval from the user of the interested device for activation of the low- power setting, before activating the low-power setting for the first electronic device.
Further, Brakmo teaches wherein the activating of the low-power setting (title: “power reduction in computing devices using micro-sleep intervals”) comprises:
obtaining approval from the user of the interested device for activation of the low- power setting, before activating the low-power setting for the first electronic device ([0052], “the processor 12 could engage in a micro-sleep, with the "next scheduled event" being the powering down of the display 20 and the disabling of the touch screen 22, and the subsequent return to the sleep state 102 from the running state 100 as a result of the expiry of the user inactivity timer.” [0057], “user approval may be requested before ignoring timers set by the list of offending application”).
It would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Cho, Lee, and Kelly in view of Brakmo to include obtaining user approval prior to activating a low-power mode. Hence, prevent unintended interruption, improve user control and enhance user usability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed.
Claims 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly discloses The method of claim 1,
Cho discloses wherein the activating of the low-power setting (page 27 para 1, the controller 180 can reduce power) comprises:
based on there being a plurality of effective devices (mobile terminal 100 or electronic device 200 [T.V.]),
Cho in view of Lee further in view of Kelly does not explicitly disclose activating the low-power setting for the first electronic device based on whether a viewing angle of the interested device calculated from the interested device through communication between the interested device and the first electronic device matches the first electronic device.
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422