DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the portion of the substrate" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the portion of the substrate" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the portion of the substrate" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rocha (US 2010/0180407 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rocha discloses a method of altering a portion of a substrate 11 comprising:
providing a first device 15 comprising an outer surface;
providing a second device 13 comprising a source of vibration energy;
forming a nip between the source of vibration energy and the outer surface;
conveying the substrate through the nip; and
intermittently altering the portion of the substrate in the nip to create a pattern of altered areas forming a shape (FIG. 1, 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 49+, 82+).
The process of Rocha implicitly results in a pattern balance (FIG. 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 82, 85+) and wherein the pattern balance comprises at least one of:
an average area of the substrate, altered in the nip being within a threshold range across the portion of the substrate; and
a simple area of integral areas within the altered areas being within a threshold range across the portion of the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Rocha discloses the shape comprises a non-symmetrical shape with respect to one of a cross-machine direction or a machine direction (FIG. 20A-24).
Regarding claim 3, Rocha’s process implicitly results in the pattern balance further comprises at least one of:
a rate of change of the average area of the substrate, altered in the nip being less than a threshold value across the portion of the substrate; and
a rate of change of the simple area of integral areas within the altered area being less than a threshold value across the portion of the substrate (FIG. 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 82, 85+).
Regarding claim 4, Rocha discloses the altered areas are registered on the substrate, in a machine direction and a cross-machine direction (FIG. 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 82, 85+).
Regarding claim 5, Rocha discloses cooling the source of vibrational energy or the first device (¶ 63).
Regarding claim 6, Rocha discloses the second device is a rotary sonotrode 20 or 22, and wherein the vibration energy is ultrasonic energy (FIG. 4-5; ¶¶ 71-72).
Regarding claim 7, Rocha discloses the second device is a blade sonotrode 13 or 54 and wherein the vibration energy is ultrasonic energy (FIG. 1, 14A-B; ¶¶ 49+, 96+).
Regarding claim 8, Rocha discloses a plurality of recesses in the outer surface of the first device, wherein the recesses have a shape configured to produce projections in the altered areas suitable for use in a touch fastener (FIG. 1; abstract, ¶¶ 3+).
Regarding claim 9, Rocha discloses the substrate, comprises more than one layer or more than one material (¶¶ 90-92).
Regarding claim 12, Rocha discloses the altered areas comprise unaltered portions to contribute to the pattern balance (FIG. 1, 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 49+, 82+).
Regarding claim 13, Rocha discloses the altered areas comprise hooks for a touch fastener (abstract; FIG. 1+).
Regarding claim 14, Rocha discloses a method of altering a portion of a substrate 11 comprising:
providing a first device 15 comprising an outer surface;
providing a second device 13 comprising a source of vibration energy;
forming a nip between the source of vibration energy and the outer surface;
conveying the substrate through the nip; and
intermittently altering the portion of the substrate in the nip to create a pattern of altered areas forming a shape (FIG. 1, 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 49+, 82+).
The process of Rocha implicitly results in a pattern balance (FIG. 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 82, 85+) and wherein the pattern balance comprises at least one of:
a rate of change of an average area of the substrate, altered in the nip being less than a threshold value across the portion of the substrate; and
a rate of change of a simple area of integral areas within the altered area being within a threshold range across the portion of the substrate.
Regarding claim 15, Rocha discloses the shape comprises a non-symmetrical shape with respect to one of a cross-machine direction or a machine direction (FIG. 20A-24).
Regarding claim 16, Rocha’s process implicitly results in the pattern balance further comprises at least one of:
the average area of the substrate, altered in the nip being within a threshold range across the portion of the substrate; and
the simple area of integral areas within the altered area being within a threshold range across the portion of the substrate (FIG. 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 82, 85+).
Regarding claim 17, Rocha discloses the altered areas comprise unaltered portions to contribute to the pattern balance (FIG. 1, 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 49+, 82+).
Regarding claim 19, Rocha discloses a method of altering a portion of a substrate 11 comprising:
providing a first device 15 comprising an outer surface;
providing a second device 13 comprising a source of vibration energy;
forming a nip between the source of vibration energy and the outer surface;
conveying the substrate through the nip;
continuously creating the protrusions in the portion of the substrate in the nip to create a continuous area of the protrusions; and
flattening a portion of the continuous area of the protrusions to create intermittent areas of the protrusions in the substrate intermediate flattened portions (FIG. 1, 11, 20A-24; ¶¶ 49+, 82+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rocha (US 2010/0180407 A1) as applied to claims 1, 14, or 19 above, further in view of Rocha (US 10,953,592 B2).
Rocha (US 2010/0180407 A1) does not appear to expressly disclose pre-heating upstream of the nip.
However, Rocha (US 10,953,592 B2) discloses a similar method for forming touch fasteners (title/abstract; FIG. 4) which includes a pre-heater 25 upstream of the nip for heating the substrate just below its melting point (FIG. 4; 17:35+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Rocha (US 2010/0180407 A1) to include the preheater of Rocha (US 10,953,592 B2), in order to improve the ultrasonic molding process with a known means.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rocha (US 2010/0180407 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Fischer (US 4,794,028 A).
Rocha does not appear to explicitly disclose the width of the substrate, but does suggest that the substrate is a fastening tab portion of diaper (¶¶ 49, 79, 83).
However, Fischer discloses a prior method of forming touch fasteners (title/abstract) wherein the overall width of the fastener member is approximately 1 inch (25 mm) which overlaps the claimed range (MPEP § 2144.05).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Rocha to include the widths of Fischer, because such widths are common in the prior art for similar touch fasteners and would be sized similar to a fastening tab portion of diaper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LENSER; Todd Douglas et al.
US 20240216183 A1
Applicant’s related copending Applications
LENSER; Todd Douglas et al.
US 20250143416 A1
LENSER; Todd Douglas et al.
US 20250344813 A1
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742