DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what is meant by “a color difference between a portion where the first transparent film is formed and a portion where the first transparent film is not formed is 1.6 or greater in plan view viewed from a thickness direction of the substrate [emphasis added].” What type of color difference such wavelength, saturation, gamut, color volume, etc. is unclear. Until corrected, art can not be applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 206791844 U (SPASOV, V) in view of JP 2010210343 A (KAWAKAMI ATSUSHI).
Per claims 1-2 and 8-9, Spasov teaches a watch component [see the abstract: a timepiece component, comprising a mother substrate (1)] comprising a region, the region including: a substrate [surface area of the substrate], a multilayer film covering at least a part of the substrate and including a color adjusting film having a function of adjusting a color tone [2, see machine translation: “the substrate 1 may also include a middle layer 2. the middle layer can have multiple functions. it can be used for improving the tungsten oxide layer on a substrate. Another function can adjust the colour reflected by the interference effect. For this purpose, the layer 2 may be a single layer or composed of a plurality of low refractive index layers and high refractive index layers are alternately stacked so as to achieve the desired interference effect, one or more layer of these layers may have absorption capability”], a first transparent film [4].
Spasov lacks the first transparent film having a predetermined refractive index, and formed in a freely selected pattern, and a second transparent film stacked at the first transparent film or the multilayer film, and having a refractive index different from that of the first transparent film by a predetermined difference.
However, Kawakami’s figure 8 teaches first transparent film [211A from the bottom to the first layer without a groove] having a predetermined refractive index [see description of figure 1: “the polarizing plate 21 has a configuration in which two types of polarizing film layers (A layer 211A and B layer 211B) having different refractive indexes in the direction X are alternately stacked”], and formed in a freely selected pattern [see figures 4-6], and a second transparent film stacked at the first transparent film or the multilayer film [layers 211B without the grooves], and having a refractive index different from that of the first transparent film by a predetermined difference [see the description of figure 1: “the refractive index (n .sub.AX ) in the X-axis direction (right direction in FIG. 1) of the A layer 211A is different from the refractive index (n .sub.BX ) in the X-axis direction of the B layer 211B.”]
Kawakami teaches that a timepiece member and a timepiece dial that can form a superior timepiece, with the appearance of the timepiece being full of expensive-looking over a long period of time, and to provide a timepiece that can present superior aesthetic appearance, full of expensive-looking over a long period of time would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kawakami with Spasov.
Regarding method claims 8-9, the method steps are merely a recitation of the product limitations in the form of method steps, and thus, are inherent to the rejection of claim 1.
Per claim 3, Spasov et al. teach the watch component according to claim 1, wherein a freely selected pattern is formed at a surface, of the substrate, covered with the multilayer film [inherent to the combination].
Per claim 4, Spasov et al. teach the watch component according to claim 1, wherein the freely selected pattern of the first transparent film is formed by an inkjet printer [this is a product by process limitation that doesn’t material alter the product, and is thus, inherent to the product, see MPEP 2113].
Per claim 5, Spasov et al. teach the watch component according to claim 1, but lacks wherein an absolute value of a difference in refractive index between the first transparent film and the second transparent film is 0.06 or greater. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to form the first and second transparent layers with a refractive difference of at least 0.06 or greater in order to improve contrast. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 7, Spasov et al. teach a watch configured using the watch component according to claim 1, wherein any one of a dial, an oscillating weight, an abbreviation, a hand, a bezel, or a belt is configured using the watch component [see machine translation: “the substrate is a watch dial”].
Per claim 10, Spasov et al. teach the method for manufacturing a watch component according to claim 8, further comprising a substrate pattern forming step of forming a freely selected pattern at a surface, of the substrate, to be covered with the multilayer film, substrate pattern forming step being performed before the multilayer film forming step [the method steps are merely a recitation of the product limitations in the form of method steps, and thus, are inherent to the rejection of claim 1].
Per claim 11, Spasov et al. teach the method for manufacturing a watch component according to claim 8, but lacks the first transparent film forming step, the first transparent film is formed in a freely selected pattern by an inkjet printer. Official notice is hereby taken that it was common knowledge to form the transparent film selected pattern by an inkjet printer in order to simplify manufacturing. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871