Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 7/31/2026, wherein claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 18, 20 were amended, claims 11-12 are cancelled. Claims 1-10 and 13-20 are pending.
Under 37 C.F.R. 1.121 the text of any deleted matter must be shown either by strike-through or use of double brackets placed before and after the deleted text. Examiner notes that amended claim 10 no longer recites the limitation “storage” but does not show the text as deleted. While the current amendments have been entered for consideration, all further amendments to the claims must comply with the requirements set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.121. Future such issues will accordingly result in a notice of non-compliance.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/31/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the one or more wall rails" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 19-20 directly or indirectly depend from claim 18 and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tisbo (US 5975660 A) in view of Camp (US 20230122425 A1) and Loree (US 20140138332 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Tisbo discloses a storage system comprising: a primary storage component having a first open side (doors open), the primary storage component comprising a body (10) surrounding a storage area, the body comprising; a lid (24), a base (12), and at least two sidewalls (14, 16, 18, 20) extending between the base and the lid; at least one mounting interface on a side of the body opposite the first open side configured to align the primary storage component with one or more wall rails (intended function, can consider side surfaces adjacent back an “interface”, no positive recitation of wall rails); a plurality of support ribs (94) extending from the body, the plurality of support ribs including at least one pair of support ribs on opposing sides of the body; and a secondary storage component (96) configured to be inserted within the storage area of the primary storage component through the at least one open side and aligned with the at least one pair of support ribs.
Tisbo failed to disclose of the at least one mounting interface comprising a pair of adjacent brackets adapted to align the primary storage component with a protrusion of the one or more wall rails. However in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Loree taught of a wall mountable container that is configured to mount to a support surface (item 241). This allows for vertical stability/wall placement (abstract). The adjacent brackets can be considered item 255 of Tisbo. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the container of Tisbo to include at least one mounting interface with a pair of adjacent brackets as taught by Loree in order to allow for wall mounting.
Tisbo failed to disclose of a plurality of cleats formed on an upper surface of the lid and a plurality of recesses formed in a lower surface of the base. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers, Camp taught of a container with a plurality of cleats (protrusions adjacent 156) and recesses (space between 160, figure 17B). These cleats and recesses enable stacking (abstract and figure 3) of each container. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top of Tisbo to include cleats and bottom to include recesses to enable stacking as taught by Camp in order to allow for secure stacking of containers.
With respect to claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Tisbo further discloses wherein a connector (42,44,etc) configured to couple adjacent sidewalls of the at least two sidewalls to each other, one of the at least two sidewalls to the base, or one of the at least two sidewalls to the lid.
With respect to claim 3, the references as applied to claim 2, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Tisbo further discloses wherein the connector is (42, 44,etc) configured for ambidextrous installation.
With respect to claim 4, the references as applied to claim 2, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Tisbo further discloses wherein the connector (42, 44,etc) extends from the base (12) to the lid (24).
With respect to claim 5, the references as applied to claim 2, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Tisbo further discloses wherein the connector (42, 44,etc) is configured to lock the adjacent sidewalls of the body to each other.
With respect to claim 10, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach the adjacent brackets each extend from an outer surface of the body. (Can consider item 255 as brackets/mounting interface and everything else is the body. The brackets 255 extend from surface 250 which can be considered an outer surface of the body) . See claim 1 rejection above for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 13, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the at least one mounting interface comprises negative space (blank space including 253 of Loree) between the adjacent brackets (255 of Loree), the negative space being configured to receive the projection of the one or more wall rails therein.
Examiner Note: The wall rails are not being positively recited as part of the invention. The wall rail and its protrusion are only recited in terms of intended function. As such, the negative space can receive a variety of features, in the present case this includes attachment 240 of Loree.
With respect to claim 15, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the plurality of recesses (taught by Camp reference) extend in a direction towards the storage area, the recesses being configured to receive a complementary cleat. As taught by Camp reference, see claim 1 rejection, above, for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 16, the references as applied to claim 15, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the plurality of recesses each extend in a direction in a direction parallel to a stacking direction of the primary storage component. (see 112 above, additionally it could be said that the recess extend in many directions). As taught by Camp reference, see claim 1 rejection, above, for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 17, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. Tisbo further discloses wherein the secondary storage component comprises an insertion flange (outer most portions of 98/106) configured to be engaged with the at least one pair of support ribs, the secondary storage component selected from the group consisting of: a lidded container (98/106), a panel configured for coupling an item to be stored, an open-sided tray.
With respect to claim 18, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except further comprising the one or more wall rails configured to be mounted to a vertical support surface, the one or more wall rails comprising a plurality of cleats, an alignment protrusion on one side and an alignment recess on an opposite side. This is taught by Loree, with a storage rail (100) that includes a plurality of cleats (177 on 104), an alignment protrusion (top 215), and an alignment recess (226 bottom). See claim 1 rejection for combination rationale.
With respect to claim 19, the references as applied to claim 18, above, disclose all the limitations. The references further disclose wherein the plurality of cleats are arranged in an array including at least two rows and at least two columns of cleats. This is taught by Camp reference, see claim 1 combination rationale. Can consider each overhang material (156d) on item as a cleat. This can also be taught by the configurations in figures 81a and 81b (recess within 440, cleats being 450) of Camp or figures 84A-84B, 91C, 92C.
With respect to claim 20, the references as applied to claim 18, above, disclose all the limitations. The references further disclose wherein the primary storage component and the one or more rails rail each have a length in a longitudinal direction that is approximately equal. This idea can be considered not novel and obvious with regards to Loree. Loree shows items 640 and 595 in figure 15 that extend the length of the wall rail. It would be obvious to have an item extend the length of the wall rail to create an aesthetic appearance.
Examiner Note: Claims 18-20 fail to suggest that there is any relation between the storage rail and primary storage component.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tisbo (US 5975660 A) in view of Camp (US 20230122425 A1) Loree (US 20140138332 A1) and Maitland (US 4261464 A)..
With respect to claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for further comprising a divider (30) inserted within the storage area and aligned with one or more ribs of the plurality of support ribs (ribs between 18), the divider comprising a plurality of ribs (ribs between 30as and 30bs) on a first surface thereof and a plurality of ribs on a second surface thereof, the second surface being opposite the first surface. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely divisible containers, Maitland taught of a container with divide (30) with a plurality of support ribs (30b, 30a) on opposing surfaces which allows for more optionality in divider placement. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dividing system of Tisbo and Camp to include dividers with ribs as taught by Maitland in order to allow for more diverse placement of dividers.
With respect to claim 7, the references as applied to claim 6, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the divider (30 of Maitland) is configured to divide the storage area in a first direction. (see claim 6 rejection above for combination rationale)
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 7, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein further comprising a second divider (C8 of Maitland) configured to divide the storage area in a second direction different from the first direction. (see claim 6 rejection above for combination rationale)
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 8, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims. The references further teach wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction. (inherent relation between 30 and C8) (see claim 6 rejection above for combination rationale)
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tisbo (US 5975660 A) in view of Camp (US 20230122425 A1) Loree (US 20140138332 A1) and Hoppe (US 11338959 B2) .
With respect to claim 14, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except wherein the plurality of cleats are on an outer surface of the lid extending in a direction away from the storage area, the cleats being configured to couple with a complementary recess of another primary storage component stacked on the lid. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely stackable storage, Hoppe taught of stacking cleats and recesses (160, 170 of Hoppe) to allow for stable stacking of similar containers. This is just an alternate way of stacking similar containers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of stackable containers before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the stacking cleats and recesses as taught by Hoppe for the stacking features as disclosed by Tisbo since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, with the difference being the substitution of the elements. In the present case, adding Hoppes cleats and recesses would allow for stacking with the lid and base feature on. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the one known element for the other to produce a predictable result (MPEP 2143).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20030155729-A1 OR US-20210221563-A1 OR US-20140138332-A1 OR US-20230120916-A1 OR US-20220117393-A1 OR US-20250223076-A1 OR US-20100276241-A1 OR US-20090145866-A1 OR US-20050145147-A1 OR US-20050092704-A1 OR US-5975660-A OR US-4261464-A OR US-12036660-B2 OR US-12179335-B2 OR US-9206827-B2 OR US-5915803-A OR US-10029718-B2 OR US-4936068-A OR US-4490064-A OR US-3896743-A OR US-8104850-B2 OR US-7627983-B1 OR US-6935518-B2 OR US-6102217-A OR US-3698565-AOR US-5906381-A OR US-5397006-A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant believes The brackets are now identified as feature 255 of Loree and this was not previously considered. So, applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735