Detail Action
On 10/26/2023, application 18/495,177 is filed with claims 1-20.
This is Non-Final Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamiya US Publication 2022/0237016.
18/495,177
Kamiya US Publication 2022/0237016
Claim 1
A computer-implemented method comprising:
Kamiya abstract;
obtaining one or more requests for migrating a plurality of workloads, wherein the one or more requests comprise information corresponding to one or more characteristics associated with the plurality of workloads;
Kamiya teaches load balance criteria that trigger virtual machine and/or a volume is migrated. (see Kamiya; p0005-p0006; see Kamiya p0084-p0126);
analyzing the one or more requests by applying one or more migration selection criteria to the one or more characteristics associated with the plurality of workloads; selecting at least one of a plurality of migration services to use for migrating the plurality of workloads based on a result of the analyzing;
Kamiya teaches load characteristic. (see p0083)
Kamiya teaches migration VM or Volume or both based on priority, p109-p126;
generating a set of instructions to migrate the plurality of workloads using the selected at least one migration service; and automatically triggering the migration of the plurality of workloads based at least in part on the set of instructions;
Kamiya p0083-p0126;
wherein the method is performed by at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory.
Kamiya Fig. 1 p0036-p0044;
Claim 2
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of workloads comprises a virtual machine associated with a virtual control station.
Kamiya p0056-p0064;
Claim 3
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more characteristics associated with a given one of the workloads comprise at least one of:
one or more identifiers associated with the given workload;
a source environment that the given workload is to be migrated from;
a target environment that the given workload is to be migrated to;
authentication information associated with the given workload;
operation system information corresponding to the given workload; and
network information corresponding to at least one of the source environment and the target environment.
Kamiya p0084-p0126
Claim 4
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: performing a pre-migration validation process of the selected at least one migration service for migrating the plurality of workloads; and
generating one or more confirmation messages in response to the plurality of workloads being successfully migrated.
Kamiya teaches migration VM or Volume or both based on priority, p109-p126;
Claim 6
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the applying the one or more migration selection criteria for a given one of the plurality of workloads comprises determining that the migration comprises at least one of: at least one physical host being migrated, at least one application being migrated, at least one virtual control station being migrated, at least one datastore being migrated, at least one network adapter being migrated, at least one storage device being migrated, and at least one storage device being upgraded.
Kamiya teaches migration VM or Volume or both based on priority, p109-p126;
Claim 7
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of migration services comprises two or more of: a storage area network migration service; a data replication migration service; a data protection migration service; and a physical host migration service.
Kamiya teaches migration VM or Volume or both based on priority, p109-p126;
Claim 9
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the migration of the plurality of workloads is automatically performed using two or more of the plurality of migration services.
Kamiya teaches migration VM or Volume or both based on priority, p109-p126;
As per claims 10-13 and 15, they are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1-4 and 6. See rejection above.
As per claims 16-19, they are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1-4. See rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya US Publication 2022/0237016 in view of Graham 2009/0138752.
18/495,177
Kamiya US Publication 2022/0237016 in view of Graham 2009/0138752
Claim 5
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
determining that the migration of at least one of the plurality of workloads failed; and automatically re-executing the migration of the failed migration.
Graham teaches detecting error/failure; p0013, p0041;
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Graham’s teaching with method of Kamiya in order provide user with the ability to migrate workload when hardware failure is detected.
As per claim 14, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5. See rejection above.
As per claim 20, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5. See rejection above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya US Publication 2022/0237016 in view of Chang US 2018/0212896.
18/495,177
Kamiya US Publication 2022/0237016 in viw of Chang US 2018/0212896
Claim 8
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a unified migration user interface for managing the migration of the plurality of workloads across the plurality of migration services.
Chang teaches an uniform interface for resource management; see Chang p0021;
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Chang’s teaching with method of Kamiya in order provide user with unified interface.
Related Prior Art
Here is a list of references relates to workload migration:
Nickolov US Publication 2009/0276771: Globally Distributed Utility Computing Cloud.
Ghosh US Patent 9,286,104: Selecting Virtual Machines to be Relocated based on Memory Volatility.
Smith US Publication 2024/0022609: Security and Resiliency for cloud to edge deployments.
Contact Information
PENG KE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2194
/PENG KE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194