DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 2 and 10-15, in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that since all the groups of claims are related to the paper filter for flavor inhalation products it would not be an undue burden to search all of the claims 1-16 in the present application. This is not found persuasive because while the inventions are generally related to paper filters for flavor inhalation products, the examination of each would still require substantially different search strategies, fields of search, and different question of patentability. This would be expected to introduce serious burden into the examination of all inventions presented in this application.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grishchenko (US2024/0156155).
Regarding claim 2, Grishchenko teaches:
A paper filter for flavor inhalation products (body of material 6 for article 1, and the material may be paper [0076]-[0077]), the paper filter comprising:
a rod-shaped filter element (body of material 6, [0087], figures 1-2); and a wrapping paper with which to wrap the filter element (first plug wrap 7, [0087]), wherein the filter element includes a corrugated paper sheet with alternate ridges and grooves extending continuously in a longitudinal direction (sheet material which is crimped, [0071], figures 2A-2B).
a draw resistance of the paper filter in an airflow direction is at least 1mm H20/mm ([0124]). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.2 mm H2O/mm and less than or equal to 1.0 mm H2O/mm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Grishchenko does not appear to disclose where a maximum compressive load measured while the paper filter is being compressed in the longitudinal direction at a compression velocity of 20 mm/min is greater than or equal to 15 N and less than or equal to 30 N.
However, the Applicant teaches that the hardness of the paper filter in the longitudinal direction refers to the maximum compressive load (see [0021] of the instant specification) and that the hardness of the paper filter in the longitudinal direction is adjusted by appropriately setting the basis weight of the raw material sheet and/or the density of the filter element (see [0020] of the instant specification), and further teaches that the basis weight of the raw material sheet is generally greater than or equal to 40 gsm (see [0029] of the instant specification) and the density of the filter element is generally greater than or equal to 0.16 g/cm3 (see [0032] of the instant specification).
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP § 2112.01, I.
Therefore, as Grishchenko teaches that the materials of the filter are paper and comprises wood pulp ([0070]), the materials of the paper filter would be similar to the Applicant’s which describes using wood pulp (see [0027] of the instant specification). Grishchenko further teaches the filter element has structural equivalence with a basis weight of 15 to 80 gsm ([0083]) and a density of about 0.19g/cm3 ([0075]). Therefore as Grishchenko teaches a paper filter that is substantially identical to that of the claims, having both structural and compositional equivalence, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the paper filter would have a compressive load of the claimed range or overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, Grishchenko teaches wherein a difference between a maximum height of the ridges and a maximum depth of the grooves is less than 500 um ([0072]: crimp amplitude).
The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of greater than or equal to 50 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 11, Grishchenko teaches:
wherein the corrugated paper sheet is a creped sheet of a raw material sheet ([0071]: sheet material which is crimped) which has a basis weight of 15 to 80 gsm ([0083]). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of greater than or equal to 40 gsm and less than or equal to 120 gsm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
a thickness of between 50 and 100 um ([0081]) which falls within the claimed range of greater than or equal to 30 µm and less than or equal to 130 µm.
and a width in the range of 120 mm to 200 mm ([0080]) which falls within the claimed range of greater than or equal to 70 mm and less than or equal to 200 mm.
and the width is a length in a direction perpendicular to a direction corresponding to a longitudinal direction of the filter element including the corrugated paper sheet produced from the raw material sheet (as the sheet material is gathered to form the body of material 6 ([0076]) and the width W1 of the body of material 6 corresponds to the diameter ([0112], figure 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Grishchenko teaches wherein a density of the filter element is about 0.19g/cm3 ([0075]: 0.19 mg/mm3). The range taught by the prior art falls within the claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.16 g/cm3 and less than or equal to 0.34 g/cm3.
Regarding claim 13, Grishchenko teaches:
wherein the wrapping paper has a basis weight of less than 50 gsm ([0100], basis weight of first plug wrap 7). The range taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range of greater than or equal to 30 gsm and less than or equal to 100 gsm and is therefore prima facie obvious.
and a thickness of between 30 um and 60 um ([0102]) which falls within the claimed range of greater than or equal to 30 µm and less than or equal to 130 µm.
Regarding claim 14, Grishchenko teaches a filter segment for flavor inhalation products (component of the mouthpiece that includes a component including a body of material 6, [0067], figure 1), the filter segment comprising the paper filter for flavor inhalation products according to claim 2 (body of material 6, [0067], figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Grishchenko teaches a rod-shaped flavor inhalation product (inhaler 1) comprising: a tobacco rod portion (rod of aerosol generating material 3); and a mouthpiece portion (mouthpiece 2), wherein the mouthpiece portion includes the paper filter for flavor inhalation products according to claim 2 (body of material 6, figure 1, [0065]-[0067]).
Conclusion
/N.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755