DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicants are reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the terms “is provided” and “ are also provided” should be deleted. The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. The abstract should be within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Numerous substituents and bonds are unclear and illegible in pages 87-95 and 96-97, for example,
. The compounds need to be darkened and clearer. Appropriate correction is required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Numerous substituents and bonds are unclear and illegible in claim 19, for example,
. The compounds need to be darkened and clearer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is indefinite as the claim refers to LIST 9. However, no such list is defined in the claim. Therefore, identity of such compounds of the list is unclear to the Examiner. Appropriate correction required. Because of indefinites by claim 15, claim 15 is only examined to the extent of generic structure as well as elected species. However, should an amended version of the claims be presented of the next action on the merits, the action may be made final. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/636,452 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending application ‘452 have claims drawn to a compound comprising a first ligand LA of formula 1, which are obvious variants of each other.
The present claims indicated above also cover the consumer product which overlap the claims of copending Application No. 18/636,452, and thus , render the present claims prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/322,843 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and copending application ‘843have claims drawn to a compound comprising a first ligand LA of formula 1, which are obvious variants of each other.
The present claims indicated above also cover the consumer product which overlaps the claims of copending Application No. 18/322,843, and thus render the present claims prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (US 2022/0077409 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1-15 and 17-20, Ji et al. ( see abstract, claims and examples) teach a compound comprising a first ligand LA :
[0060], more specifically a compound represented by
( see page 263) or
( page 328) meeting the limitation of a compound comprising a first ligand LA of Formula I as instantly claimed. Ji et al. also teaches an organic light emitting device ( OLED) comprising: an anode ; a cathode and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprising the compound above and further comprises a host compound meeting the limitation of the host compounds recited by instant claims 18 and 1 ( see claims 17-19) . Ji et al. teach a consumer product comprising an organic light emitting device ( OLED) comprising: an anode ; a cathode and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprising the compound above ( see claim 20).
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (US 12,139,501 B2).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1-15 and 17-20, Ji et al. ( see abstract, claims and examples) teach a compound comprising a first ligand LA :
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Ji et al. (US 2022/0085302 A1; see abstract, claims and examples) teach a compound having a ligand of formula 1.
Conclusion
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737