DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-19, and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20260025722 A1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Zhou et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250317814 A1 (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a network entity (e.g., FIG. 15, base station 1504), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (e.g., FIG. 15, memory 1514); and one or more processors (e.g., FIG. 15, processing systems 1510-1512) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (e.g., ¶ [0233] a memory (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) storing computer program instructions or code that may be executed to carry out one or more of their respective functionalities) to cause the network entity to: transmit control signaling that indicates a plurality of cell groups and a plurality of cell group configurations, each cell group associated with a respective cell group configuration of the plurality of cell group configurations (e.g., ¶ [0289] [0289] A UE-RRC layer may receive an RRC setup message in response to an RRC setup request message, an RRC resume request message or an RRC reestablishment request message. The RRC setup message may comprise a cell group configurations parameters and a radio bearer configuration parameter; e.g., ¶ [0493] L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) may refer to a handover or cell switch (e.g., from a current serving cell to a target cell) that a wireless device initiates, triggers, execute, performs, e.g., in response to receiving an L1 control signaling (e.g., DCI) and/or an L2 control signaling (e.g., MAC CE) according to example embodiments in the present disclosure… LTM may refer to and/or comprise a procedure that the wireless device receives, from a network (e.g., a serving cell or a serving base station) at least two signals. The at least two signals may comprise… configuration parameters of the LTM; e.g., ¶ [0494] one or more configuration for LTM may comprise parameters used for the LTM. For example, each of the one or more configurations may be associated with a respective (candidate) target cell to which the wireless device initiates, executes, triggers, and/or performs an LTM. For example, a configuration (that is associated with a respective target cell) of the one or more configuration for LTM may comprise configuration parameters of LTM to the respective target cell; e.g., ¶ [0555] The LTM configuration in the present disclosure, e.g., in FIG. 28, FIG. 29, FIG. 30, and/or FIG. 32, may use a cell group configuration IE structure, as shown in FIG. 21 and/or FIG. 22. For example, an RRC reconfiguration message transmitted by a base station may comprise one or more cell group configuration IEs. Each cell group configuration IE of the one or more cell group configuration IEs may be associated with a respective LTM configuration. For example, each cell group configuration IE of the one or more cell group configuration IEs comprises a respective LTM configuration); and transmit, via the first cell group, a group triggered mobility message (e.g., ¶ [0493] control signaling from serving cell [i.e., within or from a first cell group]; e.g., ¶ [0533] the base station may transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration messages comprising LTM configuration [comprising] one or more configuration of one or more candidate target cell configured for LTM.. each of the one or more configurations is associated with or indicate a respective candidate target cell for LTM… each configuration… may comprise an RRC reconfiguration comprising cell group configuration IE of the base station) that indicates to UE to transition from the first cell group to one or more second cell groups of the plurality of cell groups, the one or more second cell groups associated with one or more second cell group configurations that are different from the first cell group configuration (e.g., ¶ [0555] each cell group configuration IE of the one or more cell group configuration IEs comprises a respective LTM configuration; e.g., ¶ [0468] the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a configuration of a master cell group (masterCellGroup) for the target base station; e.g., ¶ [0533] each configuration, of the one or more configurations, may comprise an RRC reconfiguration comprising cell group configuration IE of the base station, and/or SpCell configuration IE of the candidate target cell (e.g., a candidate target PCell/SCells of the base station) [i.e., second cell group configuration, for the target cell or base station to which UE(s) should transition]).
Kim does not expressly disclose transmitting a group triggered mobility message that indicates for a plurality of UEs to transition from the first cell group to one or more second cell groups of the plurality of cell groups.
Zhou discloses a network entity configured to transmit, a group triggered mobility message that indicates for the plurality of UEs to transition from the first cell group to one or more second cell groups of the plurality of cell groups (e.g., ¶ [0128] mobility management mechanism [allows] the network to track the UE on a cell-group level so that the paging message may be broadcast over the cells of the cell group that the UE currently resides within; e.g.,¶ [0316] In an example, if a wireless device is provided cellGroupsForSwitchList (e.g., based on example embodiments shown in FIG. 26), indicating one or more groups of serving cells, the embodiments of FIG. 32B may apply to all serving cells within each group; e.g., ¶ [0435] In an example embodiment, a base station transmits, and/or a wireless device receives, an RRC reconfiguration message comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of candidate target cells (e.g., PCells/SCells); e.g., ¶ [0437] a base station may transmit, to a group of wireless devices, a group common DCI to indicate a PCell switching/changing from a current PCell to a target PCell (or a GC PCell) for network energy saving (e.g., according to FIG. 44), e.g., when there are many wireless devices (more than 10, for example) served by the base station. In an example, the GC DCI (for the PCell switching) may be addressed to a group of wireless devices; e.g., ¶ [0551] In an example embodiment, a wireless device receives first parameters indicating a first cell as a PCell. The wireless device receives second parameters indicating second cells as candidate target PCells for PCell switching triggered by a GC downlink control information (DCI) comprising target PCell indications for wireless device groups comprising a first wireless device group comprising the wireless device… The wireless device receives the GC DCI comprising the target PCell indications [i.e., interpretations of these citations are that a group of UEs may receive control signal from serving cell with indicated candidate target cells to transition]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE receiving cell group configurations serving and candidate cell group configurations, as disclosed by Kim, with the disclosure of multiple UEs receiving transition information for a cell group, as disclosed by Zhou. The motivation to combine would have been to support improved handover mechanism (Zhou: e.g., ¶ [0380]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 1.
Kim discloses wherein, to transmit the group triggered mobility message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, via the group triggered mobility message, an indication for the plurality of UEs to transition from the first cell group to a single candidate cell group of the plurality of cell groups (e.g., ¶ [0493] configurations may be associated with a respective (candidate) target cell to which the wireless device… performs an LTM. For example, a configuration (that is associated with a respective target cell) of the one or more configuration for LTM may comprise configuration parameters of LTM to the respective target cell [Examiner reasons that the disclosure in Zhou of multiple UEs in a cell receiving a mobility trigger configuration associated with transition to a target cell may be combined with Kim to suggest the group of UEs transitioning based on the received mobility trigger information]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 1.
Kim discloses wherein, to transmit the group triggered mobility message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, via the group triggered mobility message, a first set of one or more parameters that are common to the plurality of UEs and a second set of one or more parameters that are specific to the first UE (e.g., ¶ [0557] In FIG. 28, FIG. 29, FIG. 30, and/or FIG. 32, for each candidate target cell, a source base station may indicate cell common parameter(s) and/or UE specific parameter(s) (e.g., SSBs/CSI-RSs, BWPs, RACH resources, PDCCH/PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH resources etc.).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 7.
Kim discloses wherein the first set of one or more parameters comprises a bandwidth part identifier associated with the one or more second cell groups, a subset of one or more candidate cell groups from among the plurality of cell groups, a transmission configuration indication state indication associated with the one or more second cell groups, a downlink indication associated with the one or more second cell groups, an uplink indication associated with the one or more second cell groups, or any combination thereof (e.g., ¶ [0509] The L1/L2 signaling may indicate a target cell of the candidate target cell and/or a configuration, associated with the target cell, among the configuration(s) for LTM).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 7.
Kim discloses wherein the second set of one or more parameters indicates at least one cell group configuration of the plurality of cell group configurations associated with the one or more second cell groups, a transmission configuration indication state indication associated with the one or more second cell groups, a timing advance value associated with the one or more second cell groups, or any combination thereof (e.g., ¶ [0541] The TA for the candidate target cell may be transmitted as a part of a RAR or combined together with the L1/L2 signal/command indicating the candidate target cell for switching).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 1.
Kim discloses wherein, to transmit the group triggered mobility message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit the group triggered mobility message that is a group downlink control information message that indicates for the plurality of UEs to transition from the first cell group to the one or more second cell groups (e.g., ¶ [0493] L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) message… L1 control signaling (e.g., DCI)).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 1.
Kim discloses wherein, to transmit the group triggered mobility message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit the group triggered mobility message that is a group medium access control-control element message that indicates for the plurality of UEs to transition from the first cell group to the one or more second cell groups (e.g., ¶ [0493] L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) message… L2 control signaling (e.g., MAC CE)).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 1.
Kim discloses wherein, to transmit the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, to each UE of the plurality of UEs, a respective unicast radio resource control message that indicates the plurality of cell groups and the plurality of cell group configurations (e.g., ¶ [0493] L3 signaling (e.g., an RRC message and/or SIB) comprising configuration parameters of the LTM).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 1.
Kim discloses wherein, to transmit the group triggered mobility message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a group layer one mobility message or a group layer two mobility message (e.g., ¶ [0493] L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) message).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., FIG. 15, wireless device 1502), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (e.g., FIG. 15, memory 1524); and one or more processors (e.g., FIG. 15, processing systems 1520-1522) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (e.g., ¶ [0233] a memory (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) storing computer program instructions or code that may be executed to carry out one or more of their respective functionalities) to cause the UE to perform operations that are functionally similar to those performed by UE in receiving the information that is transmitted by the network entity of claim 1, the information being functionally similar to the information communicated to UEs in claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 18 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim shall be applied to claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 19 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim shall be applied to claim 19.
Regarding Claim 23, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 23 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 13 shall be applied to claim 23.
Regarding Claim 24, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 17.
The functional limitations of Claim 24 are similar to claim 14. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 14 shall be applied to claim 24.
Regarding Claim 25, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 17.
Kim discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit one or more messages for establishing connectivity with a second cell group of the one or more second cell groups based at least in part on the group triggered mobility message (e.g., ¶ [0549] the wireless device may switch a PCell from a serving cell of the serving DU to the candidate target cell of the candidate DU and transmit PUSCH/PUCCH via the candidate target cell (e.g., that becomes a PCell) of the candidate DU based on the TA. Switching the PCell from the serving cell in the serving DU to the candidate target cell may comprise at least one of: applying RRC configuration parameters of the candidate target cell that becomes the PCell, stopping applying RRC configuration parameters of the serving cell of the serving DU, resetting/reconfiguring MAC entity, receiving RRC messages/MIB/SSBs/SIBs/PDCCHs/PDSCHs from the candidate target cell that becomes the PCell and stopping receiving RRC messages/MIB/SSBs/SIBs/PDCCHs/PDSCHs from Cell 0.)
Regarding Claim 26, the claim is directed to a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising operations that are functionally similar to those performed by the network entity of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 26.
Regarding Claim 27, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 26.
The functional limitations of Claim 27 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 27.
Regarding Claim 28, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 26.
The functional limitations of Claim 28 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 3 shall be applied to claim 28.
Regarding Claim 29, the claim is directed to a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising operations that are functionally similar to those performed by the UE of claim 17. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 26.
Regarding Claim 30, Kim in view of Zhou discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 29.
The functional limitations of Claim 30 are similar to claim 2. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 2 shall be applied to claim 30.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 10-12 and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4, dependent from claim 1, and Claim 20, dependent from 17, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations wherein, to transmit the group triggered mobility message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, via the group triggered mobility message, a first index that indicates a subset of candidate cell groups comprising the one or more second cell groups, and a second index that indicates a first candidate cell group from among the subset of candidate cell groups.
Claims 5-6, dependent from claim 4, and Claims 21-22, dependent from claim 20, are also objected.
Regarding Claim 10, dependent from claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations wherein, to transmit the control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, via the control signaling, an indication of one or more bit locations within the group triggered mobility message associated with a respective UE of the plurality of UEs.
Claims 11-12, dependent from claim 10, are also objected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471